Miramax Films | Release Date: September 30, 2006
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 345 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
229
Mixed:
38
Negative:
78
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
SpangleAug 11, 2016
The Queen is a very well manicured film that may to rise to the level of its technical elements, but is still a solid look at QEII and the early days of Tony Blair after Diana's death. The score from Alexandre Desplat takes centerstage and isThe Queen is a very well manicured film that may to rise to the level of its technical elements, but is still a solid look at QEII and the early days of Tony Blair after Diana's death. The score from Alexandre Desplat takes centerstage and is a truly rapturous and gorgeous score that really sweeps you up into a world of regality. The cinematography is also brilliant, especially the big aerial shots flying over the countryside that are breathtakingly well executed. Helen Mirren is very, very good here in this stoic and reserved role as Queen Elizabeth. Michael Sheen is also very good as Tony Blair. In terms of story, The Queen falters a tad. Though it is well told, it does drag in spots and really never becomes truly engaging. Fortunately, it does a great job creating sympathy for the Queen, even if we think sh is wrong. Instead, we understand her and come to understand her even more as the film progresses. Though, as I said, the film does slack a bit in the middle and can be a bit stiff. On the whole, The Queen is a brilliantly executed film in production and technical elements, but its plot is not nearly as solid. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
beingryanjudeAug 25, 2014
Helen Mirren as the present Queen Elizabeth II is one of the grandest acting experiences of all-time. I use the term "experience" rather than performance because she creates this new atmosphere in the role - which sucks you in immediately.Helen Mirren as the present Queen Elizabeth II is one of the grandest acting experiences of all-time. I use the term "experience" rather than performance because she creates this new atmosphere in the role - which sucks you in immediately. Overall, a brilliant look at Great Britain and the Royal Family during the wake of Princess Diana's death. Bravo to Stephen Frears and Peter Morgan! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
csw12Jul 7, 2013
The movie's shallow depth, uninteresting story and frankly bad editing make for a dull and downright boring film. Helen Mirren's performance was solid but nothing to jump up and down about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AlessandroOdoJul 1, 2013
Perfect movie. Almost all the motion pictures show the point of view of other people, this one shows how Elizabeth II felt at those moments. And I think Mirrer won that Academy Award for an actual & incredible performance.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
worleyjamersJun 2, 2013
A great modern period piece featuring a virtuoso performance from Helen Mirren. I think I would have liked it even more if I were from the UK, but really good film nonetheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
axelkochOct 8, 2012
Helen Mirren's performance is amazing, but you can expect that if she wins an Oscar for it. The rest of the movie is still nice, but just nothing against her acting. Tony Blair is shown excessively kind and the royal family is also overacted.Helen Mirren's performance is amazing, but you can expect that if she wins an Oscar for it. The rest of the movie is still nice, but just nothing against her acting. Tony Blair is shown excessively kind and the royal family is also overacted. Still it's a sophisticated history story, but you are also not missing that much, if you ignore this film (except Mirren's brilliant performance, keep that in mind!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Sep 2, 2012
This is an intelligent film. Helen Mirren really took you inside the thoughts and emotions of the queen. Very well made and was quite a history lesson. Intriguing to see everyone's sides to the story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
joomjim4Jun 18, 2012
The great Helen Mirren is certainly the star of this exceptional biography cinematic film. It portrays reverent image of Queen Elizabeth through such irreverently elegant gimmicks and it is this intelligent usage that makes the movie highlyThe great Helen Mirren is certainly the star of this exceptional biography cinematic film. It portrays reverent image of Queen Elizabeth through such irreverently elegant gimmicks and it is this intelligent usage that makes the movie highly distinctive compared to other royal family films. Regarding this strength, The Queen also considered as a powerful one. It allows us to espy the total opposite side of what the English people think of Queen Elizabeth, the old-tradition lady with classic dignity and duties ahead of herself. Not many times that I've seen a great British film and this masterpiece from Stephen Frears is,without a doubt, considered to be one of those. One of The Savviest Films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
eTurkeyJan 27, 2012
Dame Helen Mirren is simply amazing in her portrayal of Queen of England and Commonwealth of Nations, Elizabeth II in the film, "The Queen". This movie begins with the aftermath of the death of Princess Diana in 1997 and details her majesty'sDame Helen Mirren is simply amazing in her portrayal of Queen of England and Commonwealth of Nations, Elizabeth II in the film, "The Queen". This movie begins with the aftermath of the death of Princess Diana in 1997 and details her majesty's relationship with the current Prime Minister Tony Blair as they both attempt to make sense of angry public sentiment concerning the popular Princess. Although this flick is not quite as good as another recent British royalty feature, "The Kings Speech", it still is quite entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jimmytancrediMay 29, 2011
Indeed, the film is almost all of Helen Mirren, perfect in the role of Queen Elizabeth II. The rest stays average. A story already known to the general public, because it is based on real facts well documented at the time. Personally, IIndeed, the film is almost all of Helen Mirren, perfect in the role of Queen Elizabeth II. The rest stays average. A story already known to the general public, because it is based on real facts well documented at the time. Personally, I really like the director Stephen Frears, but this is not one of his best work. It is worth it to know all about the personality of one of the most famous monarchs of the past decades, sovereign facade of the English monarchy. It really is an odd figure, compassionate through a poor animal slaughtered during a game, but unable to surrender to the greater popularity of the charismatic Princess Diana, all because of the vanity of the royal family, whose still didn't realize that their time changed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
asthobaskoroApr 30, 2011
Mesmerizing potrait. Beautifully filmed, great script and charismatic performance by its two leads, Hellen Mirren as Queen Elizabeth II and electrifying Michael Seen as Tony Blair.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JasonGApr 26, 2011
A very well crafted film that attempts to humanise those that the public see very little human emotion from - The Royal Family. The film is not a rebuttal from those that support the Royal family because they had already regained the faith ofA very well crafted film that attempts to humanise those that the public see very little human emotion from - The Royal Family. The film is not a rebuttal from those that support the Royal family because they had already regained the faith of the public by the time of it's 2006 release. It is instead a touching, sensible and sometimes humorous account of what went on behind the scenes during one memorable week. Another point of note is that the popularity of the main protagonist of this film in Blair was on a slide in 2006, marking the relevant public shallowness for their powerful public action figures. The film itself is very well made, with the acting as exquisite as the Royal decor. It paces itself nicely and doesn't run as long as a film with a title as 'The Queen' could have - a credit due to the filmmakers here. By keeping The Queen to just over an hour and a half, Frears and Morgan have saved it from becoming bland and boring - two terms that on this occasion can be separate from the Royal family. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
You can't argue that Hellen Mirren performance wasn't top notch but the film was dull and never really caught my interest. Didn't care about Diana's death then (sad she died but I would be sad if anyone died) and don't care now either.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Sep 13, 2010
Events based on the aftermath of the death of Diana:Princess of Wales.
Great performances from Helen Mirren, the wonderful Michael Sheen & Mark Bazeley as Alastair Campbell.
Moves along at a decent pace & enjoyed it more than I expected. The
Events based on the aftermath of the death of Diana:Princess of Wales.
Great performances from Helen Mirren, the wonderful Michael Sheen & Mark Bazeley as Alastair Campbell.
Moves along at a decent pace & enjoyed it more than I expected.
The one thing they did get wrong is that Cherie Blair is quite sexy in it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Helen Mirren and James Cromwell bring flooring humanity to their respective roles as Queen Elizabeth II and Tony Blair. It also helps that the dialogue (to me the main draw of the movie aside from the acting) straddles a perfect line betweenHelen Mirren and James Cromwell bring flooring humanity to their respective roles as Queen Elizabeth II and Tony Blair. It also helps that the dialogue (to me the main draw of the movie aside from the acting) straddles a perfect line between dry wit and earnest fervor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
AustinVMay 14, 2009
I was forced to watch this on a plane, talk about a snorefest!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ArielMApr 8, 2009
Hellen Mirren is stunning. I´ve never seen such a natural as well as deep interpretation, so delicate, balanced...just gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
JarrodC.Nov 23, 2008
Immensely boring. I can't understand how anyone's attention could be held for the 104 minutes of this movie. Sentimental pap. Helen Mirren can't save this dull, dire, dirge.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
StanS.Jan 9, 2008
Some movies seem to exist simply in order to win awards. This i feel is one of those movies, and while i did think it did a good job showing why she responded the way she did it did not keep me interested.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CarolD.Jul 12, 2007
Excellent on all levels. I enjoyed it, was amused and I was touched by all of the characters and not just The Queen. Everyone did a magnificent job with a very difficult subject.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
RichardD.Jul 7, 2007
A really boring film. Made for cardboard Brits. Not at all entertaining - I feel asleep 3 or 4 times and then turned it off. I won't be going back.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
TonyB.Jul 6, 2007
"The Queen" shows that in today's film industry there are still intelligent people who make intelligent motion pictures for intelligent audiences.
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
NickA.Jun 29, 2007
Stephen Frears has caught much acclaim for his razor-sharp style of filming and his unwavering demand for his audience
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PatC.Jun 19, 2007
Looks like it's still possible to make a good historical drama while the events that transpired are fresh and the characters involved are still alive. This movie did everything right and nothing wrong. Well crafted with an eye to Looks like it's still possible to make a good historical drama while the events that transpired are fresh and the characters involved are still alive. This movie did everything right and nothing wrong. Well crafted with an eye to historical accuracy and nuances of personality. It perfectly executed its concept, but that's as far as it went. It's refusal to depict more of the previous lives of the characters (including Diana) gives it a limited dimension which after a time begins to weigh on the eyelids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatL.Jun 6, 2007
I wonder if the reviewers would have been less enamored of this film had it been someone other than Queen Elizabeth being portrayed. No argument: Helen Mirren was marvelous in capturing the subtleties and repressed feelings of her character, I wonder if the reviewers would have been less enamored of this film had it been someone other than Queen Elizabeth being portrayed. No argument: Helen Mirren was marvelous in capturing the subtleties and repressed feelings of her character, but to what end? It wasn't particularly interesting, and it certainly wasn't entertaining. To its credit, this film didn't "go Hollywood" with the royal family, but a meandering trip to Dullsville is no better. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
5
bjcMay 28, 2007
This movie was way overrated. I happen to love Princess Diana, so was eager to see this movie. It was just a reply of everything we already know. The man that played Tony Blair was very good, and Helen Mirren did an excellent job of playing This movie was way overrated. I happen to love Princess Diana, so was eager to see this movie. It was just a reply of everything we already know. The man that played Tony Blair was very good, and Helen Mirren did an excellent job of playing the queen, but that was not enough to make this movie anything other than average. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JorT.May 22, 2007
This movie did a great job portraying the main events in the Diana tragedy. It has great acting and has both comedy and adds in the true problems that occurred. Overall it is very good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntonH.May 21, 2007
A fine movie about different generations: the English queen who lived through the horrors of World War II v.s. the English Prime Minister who wasn't alive to experience the hell. Having had a mother who lived in London during the war, I A fine movie about different generations: the English queen who lived through the horrors of World War II v.s. the English Prime Minister who wasn't alive to experience the hell. Having had a mother who lived in London during the war, I could understand the stoic nature of the queen of England. Helen Mirren is absolutely fantastic in her portrayal of the queen. Michael Sheen isn't far behind in his performance of Tony Blair. We know that the death of Princess Diana is the center point of this movie, but the real story is the generation gap between those who remember 1940-1945 and those who don't. Being calm under pressure v.s. running on the emotions of others. While the queen might have taken a beating, time has proven that she was probably correct. Stephen Frears really captures the sentiment of two different British generations, and the supporting cast is well suited for their roles. It was an excellent movie, and could serve one day as a fine history lesson. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickAMay 18, 2007
Helen Mirren is much loved here in the UK and has done some superb work most notably as the lead in Prime Suspect, she surpasses everything however with her brilliant portrayal as the Queen. The remaining cast give great support but its Helen Mirren is much loved here in the UK and has done some superb work most notably as the lead in Prime Suspect, she surpasses everything however with her brilliant portrayal as the Queen. The remaining cast give great support but its Helen Mirren who completely steals the show, as you watch this film you actually forget that shes an actress and begin to view the film as a fly on the wall documentary with the actual Queen before you. Its because of this that I've given this a 10, HM is absolutely sensational. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnonymousMCMay 14, 2007
Anyone who does not like this film cannot appreciate cinematography as the art it truly should be. The screenplay is beautiful. The acting is amazing. Everything happens for a reason. So what that nothing happens? Art isn't aboutAnyone who does not like this film cannot appreciate cinematography as the art it truly should be. The screenplay is beautiful. The acting is amazing. Everything happens for a reason. So what that nothing happens? Art isn't about entertainment. Art is about being honest and getting at some sort of truth. The Queen does this beautifully. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful