The Queen

Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 336 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The Queen takes audiences behind the scenes of one of the most shocking public events of recent times -- providing an illuminating, deeply affecting and dramatic glimpse into what happens in the corridors of power when a tragedy strikes. (Miramax)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. The Queen is the most reverent irreverent comedy imaginable. Or maybe it's the most irreverent reverent comedy. Either way, it's a small masterpiece.
  2. 100
    The Queen is a spellbinding story of opposed passions -- of Elizabeth's icy resolve to keep the royal family separate and aloof from the death of the divorced Diana, who was legally no longer a royal, and of Blair's correct reading of the public mood.
  3. 100
    Politically shrewd, unexpectedly funny yet immaculately tasteful docudrama.
  4. 90
    Helen Mirren's flinty performance as Elizabeth II is getting all the attention, but equally impressive is Peter Morgan's insightful script for this UK drama, which quietly teases out the social, political, and historical implications of the 1997 death of Diana, Princess of Wales.
  5. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    90
    Helen Mirren is a goddess of an actress, and her Queen Elizabeth is maddening, hilarious, and deeply human, galumphing around the Balmoral estate in a tartan raincoat and waders as the Britain she thought she knew crumbles around her.
  6. 88
    Mirren, who's played her share of queens in the past, is hypnotic.
  7. 70
    How could Frears and his cast rise above the sins of the miniseries? One answer is the force of that cast...The other thing that rescues and refines The Queen is one of the basic bonuses of moviegoing, more familiar of late from documentaries like "Touching the Void" and "Capturing the Friedmans": you come out arguing.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 133
  2. Negative: 24 out of 133
  1. PeterM.
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    This was an absolutely fabulous film; a piece of art. Hellen Mirren, and the rest of the cast were incredible.
  2. LawrenceM.
    Dec 23, 2006
    10
    This film is fantastic because the acting is brilliant and it gives the public an insight to the royal family that we've actually never This film is fantastic because the acting is brilliant and it gives the public an insight to the royal family that we've actually never seen before. Whether or not it's a sincere portrayal of what actually happened during those days or not is a question for the ages. But as a motion picture (what this is, not a piece of political propaganda) it was wonderfully acted and the story was well told. Helen Mirren is an amazing and gifted actress. She takes on the role of Queen Elizabeth II and flies with it. Expand
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Helen Mirren as the present Queen Elizabeth II is one of the grandest acting experiences of all-time. I use the term "experience" rather thanHelen Mirren as the present Queen Elizabeth II is one of the grandest acting experiences of all-time. I use the term "experience" rather than performance because she creates this new atmosphere in the role - which sucks you in immediately. Overall, a brilliant look at Great Britain and the Royal Family during the wake of Princess Diana's death. Bravo to Stephen Frears and Peter Morgan! Expand
  4. AnonymousMC
    Sep 27, 2006
    9
    One of the best and liveliest movies of the year - funny and touching in ways you can't predict. Marvelous, and surprisingly intimate.One of the best and liveliest movies of the year - funny and touching in ways you can't predict. Marvelous, and surprisingly intimate. Marvelous, and surprisingly intimate. Tradition and informality collide -- and mutually benefit -- in the deliciously written and expertly played The Queen. A fascinating mix of high-minded gossip and historical perspective, examines the clash of values -- of ritual and traditions versus media savvy and political ambition -- that leads to a crisis for the British monarchy. Helen Mirren's allure lies not in finding what's regal in every woman she plays, but in finding what's womanly in every royal. Expand
  5. JeffS.
    Nov 6, 2006
    7
    I can't imagine why people would dislike the film so much, unless they only bought tickets because they confused it with The Marine. I can't imagine why people would dislike the film so much, unless they only bought tickets because they confused it with The Marine. Hellen Mirren is great to watch, and the movie is fun and fast... though a small movie and intended as such. Not life changing, but entertaining and a change of pace from all the bigger movies as of late. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Feb 15, 2007
    5
    I kept falling asleep during this movie. While the acting was very good, there was nothing that I did not know about this story that was I kept falling asleep during this movie. While the acting was very good, there was nothing that I did not know about this story that was revealed in the movie. Just the same story. I was somewhat bored. Expand
  7. HowardHughes
    Oct 15, 2006
    0
    Horrible. No other word can describe this movie.

See all 133 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree

    When Film Critics and Movie Fans Disagree Image
    Published: August 10, 2011
    Sometimes, movie reviewers as a group appear to be out of sync with Metacritic users. We look at the films with the biggest discrepancies between professional critic scores and the user consensus.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best (and Worst) Movies of the Decade Image
    Published: December 17, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage continues with a look at the past ten years in cinema. While the decade's best-reviewed movie may not have been a commercial blockbuster (or even in English), our lists turn up plenty of recognizable names in addition to obscure gems you may have missed.