Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: March 28, 2014
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 320 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
286
Mixed:
18
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ThegodfathersonMar 29, 2014
The fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executedThe fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executed and choreographed fight scene. I really wouldn’t want to spoil anyone’s chance at seeing any of these fights fresh. But that hallway. Oh man that hallway. The beautiful choreography shows off the mastery of everyone involved. The visual effects soaked the audience in blood after the choreography severed our spines. This movie will kick your ass and leave you breathless. If the Raid took action back to basics, The Raid 2 beats the basics to death with a hammer. Gareth Evans seems to be calling out names and taking attendance. Hollywood needs to get on this mans level. A compelling cast. Excruciating fights. A narrative that leaves the audience in complete suspense. The Raid 2 is one you need to see. Expand
22 of 27 users found this helpful225
All this user's reviews
10
SubzNov 4, 2014
A true masterpiece in the world of martial arts films. As an absolutely huge martial arts fanatic, I am proud to have seen some of the greatest martial arts films ever created from the old brilliant classics such as One-Armed Swordsman orA true masterpiece in the world of martial arts films. As an absolutely huge martial arts fanatic, I am proud to have seen some of the greatest martial arts films ever created from the old brilliant classics such as One-Armed Swordsman or Seven Samurai to the new timeless treasures such as Ip Man or 13 Assassins.
Having made it my goal to see some of the best martial arts films this world has to offer, I can safely say that this movie goes into my TOP 10 movies of all time list.
The simple yet exciting story from the first Raid film was made a bit more complex and fleshed out in this stimulating and dramatic sequel. Gareth Evans truly outdid himself with his fantastic writing and directing in this piece. The story had the perfect balance of drama and action which isn't easy to accomplish, and when the action did come, it blew me away! The fight choreography and absolutely brutal combat in the first film was fantastic, to be able to go to the next level and still keep it fresh is no small feat! The fighting didn't seem too ridiculous as a lot of martial arts films tend to do (but we still enjoy seeing it), it seemed more realistic and more efficient, which is what Pencak Silat is all about, a wonderful martial art used in creative and spectacular ways. The cinematography and editing in this movie is also something I really enjoyed, everything was perfect in those aspects, used to really make the story telling more clear and thrilling.

There aren't many martial arts films these days that can REALLY impress me these days, but this did it. Can the 3rd Raid film top this? While that seems impossible, knowing Gareth Evans, the brilliant Iko Uwais and the team, they can do it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
raporgiJan 8, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing movie but seems to lose momentum somewhere around the end. I hate that the brother from the last movie is taken out of the picture very early. I found him more interesting than the main character. The fights, blood and guts are what you came to see this movie and that is what you're going to get. i wish there a was bit more background and explanation for some bits of this movie but story takes a backseat to the action. Best action movie of 2014 in my opinion. No cgi robots or turtles in this one just gritty man to man combat! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
aguywhoreviewsMay 24, 2014
Straight up brutal and intense action. You get your moneys worth as the action is some of the best every filmed. The story is actually interesting. An improvement from the first film. Go watch it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
kasperlovborgJul 26, 2014
Wow. What a sequel - this is how to do a martial arts movie! Uwais' fighting skills are incomparable. I'm apprehensive about some of the violence.. but most of the time it's all in good fun. Evans' film language is confident, and the ante isWow. What a sequel - this is how to do a martial arts movie! Uwais' fighting skills are incomparable. I'm apprehensive about some of the violence.. but most of the time it's all in good fun. Evans' film language is confident, and the ante is upped by adding more locations, with many a wild setpiece, and a colorful cast of memorable characters sport machetes, baseball bats, shotguns, uzis, broken bottles and whatnot. The crazy, energetic action is even buttressed by a pretty decent gangster saga. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
oDjentoJan 1, 2015
This film is BADASS. Like some of the best and most beautifully brutal fight choreography i've ever seen! The directing of each fight scene was done very well too, making you feel fully immersed in each fight, with it's dizzying speed andThis film is BADASS. Like some of the best and most beautifully brutal fight choreography i've ever seen! The directing of each fight scene was done very well too, making you feel fully immersed in each fight, with it's dizzying speed and also it's tilted camera action shots make you feel as disorientated as the guy that just got punched! The acting is decent, but there's not much time to fully show anything other than their fighting skills. The plot was pretty standard for an action film and sinplistic, but when there is this much ass kicking in a film it makes it more live ip to it's title of action film! Good film, check it out! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
pnutboyMar 24, 2016
One of the best action films I've ever seen. The fight scenes in this film are NUTS. If you thought the first Raid was crazy, The Raid 2 ups it in every way. Iko Uwais somehow manages to become even more of a badass in some of the best filmedOne of the best action films I've ever seen. The fight scenes in this film are NUTS. If you thought the first Raid was crazy, The Raid 2 ups it in every way. Iko Uwais somehow manages to become even more of a badass in some of the best filmed action I've ever witnessed. The final 45 minutes of this movie are absolutely relentless. Unlike the original Raid, there's a considerable amount of narrative heft here- Gareth Evans manages to tell a really great crime story amidst all of the crazy-ass action. The fight scenes are filmed with long, wide shots. It manages to be an entertaining-as-hell action flick, but it's also a great FILM, with solid performances, great editing, cinematography, and directing. Every action fan, or hell, movie fan needs to check out this masterpiece. It's bloody brilliant. And I mean bloody quite literally. This is one of the most violent movies I've ever seen, and I loved every second of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
quincytheodoreApr 2, 2014
Aiming for "Most Skulls Bashed in a Movie" award, The Raid 2: Berandal unapologetically yet creatively delivers painful display of utter violence. Fights are blazing, choreographed with such precision that each death-inducing blow produces anAiming for "Most Skulls Bashed in a Movie" award, The Raid 2: Berandal unapologetically yet creatively delivers painful display of utter violence. Fights are blazing, choreographed with such precision that each death-inducing blow produces an impact across the cinema. Gareth Evans conducts a cinematic plays stringed by excessive bloodbath, his visions might be over-the-top, but they will leave both fans of the action genre and casual audience cringe breathlessly.

The prequel had some poor unintentionally funny dialogues, even more so if one understood Indonesian. For this movie, the script has been polished and scenes are constructed more consistently. Granted, it's still troubled by some setbacks of usual action movies', but there are more engaging and personal lines to be had. Acting is improved with the addition of Arifin Putra as Uco, the son of mafia boss who is eager to prove himself. The character is ruthless in his actions and also passionately fueled by ambition and greed, Arifin Putra portrays it well with a hint of doubt or maybe even guilt.

Alex Abbad as Bejo is quite harrowing despite his disability. There's a disturbing untrustworthy feel surrounding the character, the fact that he has legion of assassins make him more treacherous. This army of assassins almost seemingly pops out of some Japanese anime, akin to what inspired Kill Bill's or Matrix's. Among them there are not many that stands out in acting department, what makes them memorable are their choice of weapons and the body count they pile with them. A visually impaired girl swinging double hammers in a subway, that's gold.

Iko Uwais as the leading protagonist performs respectably. He's a man with good ideology and equal ill fate; it's easy to sympathize for his cause. He has done a good job playing a difficult role, but his strength lies in the action sequences. To say that the battles are brutal is an understatement; these warriors unleash pure mayhem on each other. Every broken bones and limbs are executed with much gusto, blood sprayed from all angles, this may very well be the most brutal thing one can see on cinema.

Cinematography is splendid, it's apparent that Gareth Evans was motivated by many Hollywood movies. Scenes are slick, utilizing different camera angles for best view of the action and often time follow it in continuous shot. The cameras seem almost glued to the characters as they rush and rip each other apart, yet they will pan or zoom out just in the right moment for the audience to appreciate the intricacy of the movie's complex action choreography. Its particular car chase scene takes the viewer swirling through the vehicles astoundingly; it's the best chase scene since The Matrix Reloaded.

The Raid 2: Berandal has refined the plot from the prequel and in terms of sheer action carnage none can rival it.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
oildboy29Apr 12, 2014
BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!!! Brutality never looked so good! Makes Expendables 2 and Rambo 4 look like Mr.Rodger's Neighborhood. The mix of martial arts and brutal gun fights is awesome. Moreover, very well acted and a good plot! RedefinesBEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!!! Brutality never looked so good! Makes Expendables 2 and Rambo 4 look like Mr.Rodger's Neighborhood. The mix of martial arts and brutal gun fights is awesome. Moreover, very well acted and a good plot! Redefines "kicking ass" to a new level of brutality! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
dti79Apr 24, 2014
Wow wow wow. I was a big fan of the original and couldn't wait for this release. I felt that it topped the original. A big factor were the beautiful visuals, much less possible in the limited dinginess of the first locale, set in a tenement.Wow wow wow. I was a big fan of the original and couldn't wait for this release. I felt that it topped the original. A big factor were the beautiful visuals, much less possible in the limited dinginess of the first locale, set in a tenement. The fight scenes here are incredibly choreographed and filmed. The feeling I had leaving the theater was that I had ridden the scariest roller coaster in the world 50 times in a row. Highly recommended for action aficionados but this movie is not for the squeamish. I had to cover my eyes for one particularly sadistic scene and I can watch most horror movies without batting an eye. Enjoy the ride! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
NikoZguri1997May 23, 2014
in a really long time, i never seen a action movie done this perfectly, specially a action sequel! Gareth Evans is one of the only directors who can pull that off and... oh my god! what a incredible sequel! it's 150 minutes of mind blowingin a really long time, i never seen a action movie done this perfectly, specially a action sequel! Gareth Evans is one of the only directors who can pull that off and... oh my god! what a incredible sequel! it's 150 minutes of mind blowing fight scenes with a fantastic story line, great characters, great acting, amazing pacing, gorgeous cinematography and a finale that took my breath away! "The Raid 2" outdoes the first movie in ever way, shape or form. the way the fight scenes are executed and choreographed were crazy! cause usually, in action movies, the fight scenes are good at first, but then they get repetitive and boring. that NEVER happens in "The Raid 2". every single fight scene gets better and better and better as the movie goes on, making it one of the greatest action movies ever made in the history of movies! also, "The Raid 1" - even though it was fantastic - didn't have much of a plot or character development. on the other hand, "The Raid 2" actually has a fantastic story with a really well-written script by Gareth Evans (god bless you, Gareth!). the characters are a lot more developed this time - which means you care about Rama even more - the dialogue's better and the acting's a lot better. every actor brings his greatest performance in this movie, especially Iko Uwais. the fight scenes... oh my god! it's so damn hard for me to get this amazing fight scenes outta my head. "The Raid 2" was absolutely amazing and mind blowing! it's been such a long time that we've ever seen a action sequel done this perfectly. so if you haven't seen it, do yourself a favor and go watch it! Gareth Evans, thanks for everything!
10/10
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
xtralalaApr 16, 2014
This movie will show you good.. bad ass.. action movie. The storyline not bother me at all.. is as simple as mafia story at least i know what’s going on. The fight scene OMG... if you action movie fans you should watch this
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
smARTmoufJun 8, 2014
If you like action, if you like fighting scenes, if you like violence....Why wouldn't you see this? Seriously, it had to live up to the hype of it's predecessor and it actually did it. If you care about story and character development, whyIf you like action, if you like fighting scenes, if you like violence....Why wouldn't you see this? Seriously, it had to live up to the hype of it's predecessor and it actually did it. If you care about story and character development, why would you want to watch this movie? It's pure awesome, and it's not gunning for any academy awards. Let this masterpiece live. Loved it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
kendredfordJul 13, 2014
I've watched a loooot of action movies over the years and I rarely write reviews, but this film stands so far above the genre that it deserves every accolade it can get. This is what movie-making can aspire to be. In fact, it deserves it'sI've watched a loooot of action movies over the years and I rarely write reviews, but this film stands so far above the genre that it deserves every accolade it can get. This is what movie-making can aspire to be. In fact, it deserves it's own genre - call it poetic carnage...a martial symphony. Just brilliant...from story, to acting, to soundtrack, and most especially, to the greatest fight choreography I have ever seen. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
blue-ninjaMar 30, 2014
This is Awesome fighting movies i've seen ever. Brutal, Gore , & Beauty; Can't wait the sequel the raid 3. Congratulations To Gareth Evans & Best Team Work From Indonesian, Salute; keep keeping guys
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
mattythoburnMar 29, 2014
Critics giving mixed reviews because of violence, yet they defend the first raid movie in the same breath. Even though the violence is the same. It's ultraviolent. How can you defend one movie, and slate the next, when it's just more of theCritics giving mixed reviews because of violence, yet they defend the first raid movie in the same breath. Even though the violence is the same. It's ultraviolent. How can you defend one movie, and slate the next, when it's just more of the same? Ignore the critics on this one. Absolutely outstanding. Like literally breathtaking in parts. The end fight? Unbelievable. See it for yourself. 10/10. Easy. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
TheQuietGamerJul 15, 2014
With some of the most brutal and perfectly shot martial arts action ever put into film this is an action movie unlike any other. It's tense, bloody, and almost unrelenting, barely leaving time for you to breath. It even bests it's alreadyWith some of the most brutal and perfectly shot martial arts action ever put into film this is an action movie unlike any other. It's tense, bloody, and almost unrelenting, barely leaving time for you to breath. It even bests it's already outstanding predecessor, not just in the fight scenes, but with a much more complex plot. The narrative is incredibly tight and keeps the scenes between the action just as enjoyable. This is the new high-bar for action movies and truth be told we might never see another movie reach it. It's an absolute masterpiece and one you need to watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JayyDeanJul 5, 2014
Every punch, kick, stab, hit, cut, throw, slam and more are delivered with detail, eye-opening gore and such precision its startling. This movie is not for the weak stomached, it is brutal and unrelenting in its fight sequences. The story wasEvery punch, kick, stab, hit, cut, throw, slam and more are delivered with detail, eye-opening gore and such precision its startling. This movie is not for the weak stomached, it is brutal and unrelenting in its fight sequences. The story was engaging from the get go with many different characters (e.g. Hammer Girl & Baseball Bat Man) to keep you hooked, all of which acted extremely well for their roles. The fighting in this movie is like no other, I can assure you of that. From the beginning of the film to the very end I could not believe how perfect each hit connected and was countered, most of which ended up in a bloody mess, and I loved it! If you love action films with a lot of fighting and gore, this movie is as close to perfect as you can get. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Slevin310Apr 14, 2014
Please tell me this is the most popular movie out right now. Please, it deserves to be. This movie is without a doubt my favorite fighting film since Bruce Lee's and Tony Jaa's work. This is the best action movie in a long time. To understandPlease tell me this is the most popular movie out right now. Please, it deserves to be. This movie is without a doubt my favorite fighting film since Bruce Lee's and Tony Jaa's work. This is the best action movie in a long time. To understand why this movie is so amazing you really have to be a fan of martial arts or kung fu movies. A movie with a camera positions that's actually zoomed out far enough to see everything. Actors actually punching/kicking each other (not hard obviously) to really make it look legit. Fight choreography, that you can't see being choreographed. Awesome old school car stunts with real stunt men. Man I'm so happy right now, I haven't seen a movie this awesome in a while. The undercover cop isn't anything new but the way they made their spin on it is perfect. I know they are Indonesian but I they seem like Yakuza to me with their traditions, honor, fighting instead of guns and pride for their territory.

So details (no spoilers don't worry) Raid has always been high paced fast gory action. I enjoyed the Raid Redemption but as far as overall cinematic quality goes it was just gory awesome fighting, without context we won't really care who's fighting who. But Raid 2 provides that context and makes you immersed in it's story and characters. Honestly, I don't mean any offense but I'm surprised this was made by the same people. This movie has amazing shots and they give a great sense of character development by showing us who they are. So Raid 2 not only stands on a high leg from it's amazing action but the cinematic quality is just beautiful. The sad moments really are tragic and the actors display raw emotion which help builds the tension and atmosphere of a scene. And when a character is supposed to be blank, cold and brutal you see that too. Baseball bat boy... oh man he's awesome. The imagery in this film is just perfect. I really don't know what else to say. Yes it's a gory film, over gory? Maybe but it's realistic, if you shoot someone in the face with shotgun they won't have a tiny whole in their head... it will be in pieces everywhere. So I don't see over gory as much as somewhat realistic. Oh it has a lot of gory scenes but I don't think it's over the top.

Please go see this movie, it deserves your money. It works hard for your money. It wants you to have a good time. And a good time you will have. Seriously I want to see more movies like this.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
jorockApr 2, 2014
This is Awesome fighting movies i've seen ever. Brutal, Gore , & Beauty;Can't wait the sequel the raid 3. Congratulations To Gareth Evans & Best Team Work From Indonesian, Salute; keep keeping guys
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
addinfxApr 4, 2014
I know what you want to hear. You want to hear that The Raid 2 is bigger, badder and bolder than the first one. That somehow Gareth Evans managed to up his game exponentially in this sequel to one of the most gloriously violent movies of allI know what you want to hear. You want to hear that The Raid 2 is bigger, badder and bolder than the first one. That somehow Gareth Evans managed to up his game exponentially in this sequel to one of the most gloriously violent movies of all time. To his credit, The Raid 2 is in every way a bigger more ambitious movie, offering a more elaborate story, a slew of new characters, and bigger battle ratios. But sometimes more isn't better; it's just more.

The Raid 2 picks up shortly after the story of The Raid: Redemption left off. Rama (Iko Uwais) has brought Lieutenant Wahyu (Pierre Gruno) to the authorities; the wounded Bowo (Tegar Satrya) is promptly excused to receive medical care. Then, a special internal branch of the police force offers Rama a dangerous mission he can't turn down. They want to topple the organized crime of Jakarta, and to do it they need an inside man. So, Rama goes undercover in prison to befriend Uco (Arifin Putra), the spoiled, power-hungry son of a top crime boss. Upon the pair's release, a power struggle ignites that makes Rama's real identity the least of his worries.

First off, it needs to be said that The Raid 2 is a sequel in only the most ornamental of terms. Evans, who wrote and directed the action-packed thriller, races to cut out every surviving character from the first film--save Rama--in the first ten minutes. From there, Rama's arc is overshadowed by the brooding quest of Uco to prove himself as a man/crime boss. Further muddying the waters of this so-called sequel is the recasting of Yayan Ruhian, who memorably played Mad Dog in the first film. He's back as a different hit man named Prakoso, this one cloaked in a ratty beard and bolstered with a tragic backstory. It's great to see him--and his outstanding martial arts skills--again, but it's nonetheless jarring. Really, The Raid 2 could too easily have been an entirely separate Jakarta-set crime drama chock-full of brutal battle scenes and a convoluted plot. But this could have been fine if it weren't so bogged down by too many ideas.

The Raid: Redemption was a slick and satisfying movie that not only offered stupendous and sickening fight scenes but also a tight plot that perfectly fueled the narrative. In the sequel, Evans once more offers jaw-dropping fight scenes full of surprises and lightning fast hand-to-hand combat, plus generous sprays of CGI blood. But they aren't as all-around successful this time. Part of the problem is the settings. In the first film, one battle after another broke out in dingy, grey apartments that were nearly identical. With nothing much to look at in the setting, audiences were able to tune in on the gloriously intense fight choreography. But when Evans throws his fighters in a flashy hibachi restaurant or a sprawling pit of mud packed with rioting prisoners, it's difficult to narrow in on the action, and the impact is lost.

Still, the bigger problem is that these fight scenes are nested in an overly complicated mafia plot that bloats the running time to 150-minutes. As Uco strolls through a predictable pattern of frustration to betrayal, his and Rama's story is staggered by fight scenes, which makes them feel shockingly episodic. Worse yet, because so much attention goes to Uco's lackluster thread, other more intriguing elements--flashy new assassins Prakoso, Hammer Girl, and the less eye-catching Baseball Bat Man --are woefully underdeveloped. Sure, Hammer Girl looks cool as hell in the trailers, but don't expect much more than that.

Don't get me wrong: The Raid 2 offers exactly the kind of pulse-pounding, mind-snapping fight scenes we came to expect because of the sensational original. But Evans had no editing eye when it came to shaping his story, and as such the film feels more like a rant than a cohesive narrative, or a powerful part two to Rama's tale. There are just too many ideas here. Rama's adventure is sidelined for Uco's story. Uco's story eats up tons of screentime, leaving little room for the proper development of the sequel's more compelling characters, or even a solid build for Rama's thread. The lop-sided narrative deadens the emotional impact of the deadly finale. As someone who was positively crazy over The Raid: Redemption, it pains me to say it, but The Raid 2 is half wildly entertaining, and half a slog. BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER !
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
JubilarianApr 12, 2014
I enjoyed the first Raid very much and hoped that this one would top it. I was right, because this sequel improves from the first one, but still has some flaws. Although I don't think the story is what everyone who came to see this movie wereI enjoyed the first Raid very much and hoped that this one would top it. I was right, because this sequel improves from the first one, but still has some flaws. Although I don't think the story is what everyone who came to see this movie were raving about.

The fight sequences in this film are INCREDIBLE and will take your breath away at how expertly choreographed the fights are. The final one at the end is jaw-dropping and is amazing.

While the fight sequences are the main highlight of this film, the story is okay. The simple premise is the same as the last one. Although this sequel edges over the first movie with the story, as there is more character development, which is a great improvement.

Overall, if you're a sucker for action films that have some awesome fight sequences, this is a must-see for you.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TheDarkShadowJun 26, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Best Action Movie Ever in the History of the Universe! WOW!!
The fight scenes are so good that I actually thought it was real! Uhmmm..Im still thinking..is it real??? Gosh! You got to tell me now if the actors are still alive after the movie...!!! Well..to be honest I am just not happy with how it end though..definitely there's a third sequel. I'm gonna have to wait for that! (sigh) I feel for the characters its really a twisted game of ass-kicking! I love Rama! Marry me! =)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Jul 31, 2014
Some Welsh lad went to Indonesia and directed one of the best action movie ever made. He builds tension during the fight scenes, using music and escalating the violence until it becomes, as one critic called it 'probably the most violent filmSome Welsh lad went to Indonesia and directed one of the best action movie ever made. He builds tension during the fight scenes, using music and escalating the violence until it becomes, as one critic called it 'probably the most violent film ever released in theaters.' It will make you wince at points, no doubt, but it's completely beautiful and masterful in it's execution. You really hate the bad guys and don't mind as much when they get brutalised. The choreography and inventiveness of the action scenes are unparallelled in any film. You won't have seen anything like this. The director is a genius in my opinion. The end fight, as you'd expect, is spectacular! I can't stop watching the Raid 1 + 2. Please let there be a 3!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
corrodedJul 16, 2014
My only complaint is that it could do with an action replay sometimes, just so I can savour those 'Oh my days' moments. This sentence is totally irrelevant.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DirtyLilHamsterApr 9, 2014
This is one of the most awesome films ever made. It'll made you shart in your seat. The deaf hammer girl and funny baseball bat boy could have had more scenes but then again, the movie is already 2 and a half hours of the best fight scenesThis is one of the most awesome films ever made. It'll made you shart in your seat. The deaf hammer girl and funny baseball bat boy could have had more scenes but then again, the movie is already 2 and a half hours of the best fight scenes ever filmed. The acting and story is also surprisingly good! Gareth Evans wrote this story before The Raid: Redemption but producers said it was too epic of a crime thriller that they would need to build a fan base before they could afford to produce it. They build that fan base after the first film. Now we can't get enough. Watch 'Merantau' if you want to see the first film Gareth Evans and his warrior actors were ever in. Also Iko Uwais (Rama) is one of the bad guys in Man of Tai Chi. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
knoxvoxJun 14, 2014
One of the best action movies of all time. It made me feel like a kid again as my jaw was left hanging scene after scene - it's insane & really really well made.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
StaticSpineAug 25, 2014
I didn't like the "story" elements, the dialogs were stupid and the "drama" sequences were lame and they took 2/3 of the screen time. I think this attempt to mix awesome action movie with criminal drama failed. On the other hand the fightsI didn't like the "story" elements, the dialogs were stupid and the "drama" sequences were lame and they took 2/3 of the screen time. I think this attempt to mix awesome action movie with criminal drama failed. On the other hand the fights and the filming are still top notch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Bo33yJun 22, 2014
Bigger, Louder, Longer. Better? No! The first was awesome, great. But this was a bigger budgeted rehash lacking by comparison. I really didn't like the plot here at all, it was nonexistent. I didn't like the hammers or the baseball bat,Bigger, Louder, Longer. Better? No! The first was awesome, great. But this was a bigger budgeted rehash lacking by comparison. I really didn't like the plot here at all, it was nonexistent. I didn't like the hammers or the baseball bat, lacking in practical function, some other sequences were quite drawn Although.an enjoyably entertaining ride to be re-watched. But not as thrilling as the first so cannot be rated higher. Expect another franchise here turning into 3D splatter.... Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
LeZeeAug 9, 2014
Much better than the first movie, I mean a lot seriously. Many people liked the first, but I was not because it was not my type. There was no story in it, but a game style of presentation which focused mainly on stunts and I had seen betterMuch better than the first movie, I mean a lot seriously. Many people liked the first, but I was not because it was not my type. There was no story in it, but a game style of presentation which focused mainly on stunts and I had seen better than that. For a sequel to that, I mean this movie was no chance to complain about in any level. The story, stunts, performances, direction all were top notch and easily can surpass to grab the title for 'this year's best martial art/stunt movie'. I had no expectations before a watch and after a watch got so excited for having it.

After completing somewhat a successful rescue mission that took place in a tenement run by a ruthless gangster, now Rama is assigned to a new undercover operation. Temporarily says goodbye to his regular life and to his wife. To get in a position it takes months of hard work and he successfully makes into one of the members of the gang that he's after. Soon the ideas vary like to initiate new techniques to rule the underworld makes crack within the mob family. So the clash happens randomly to take over the top position from one another. In between the cop's role and the final stand brings the result to this story with plenty of awesome stunt sequences.

Worth to spend our time for this 150 minute long movie, especially if you are the greatest fan of the mixed martial arts then you got a solid reason to go for this. For every 10-15 minutes there is one stunt sequence, all I can say is it was very well patterned in a decent story. Yes, the story was not a brand new, it was what we have already seen many times in the Japanese Yakuza, Hollywood, European et cetera undercover cop stories. But to see the new cast from the new region of the earth's surface it was fantastic. I have not seen many Indonesian movies, so probably this could be the best movies from there to the international standards. This country should take cues from this movie to make consistent from now on like what Tony Jaa's movies did for Thai movies.

‘‘We may be after the same thing...
...But I'm not going to follow the path as you to get there.’’

Regarding the undercover cop theme, the lead character Rama was not the superior, but individually, many characters had produced incredible equality by exhibiting breathtaking stunt skills. Truly to say Rama vanishes in between all these guys. He's used only for the opening and the end portions, that's it. So that means this movie is beyond his presence that will definitely surprise the viewers. The gore was very strong, focused too deep details like ripping skin, breaking bones, smashing heads, hammering. Definitely there is going to be another sequel and my expectations rose high for that. There should be no 'I missed it' or 'not seen yet' in the mouths of movie fanatics because it is a must see.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
finnigan37Oct 10, 2014
This was so awesome. The choreography and editing on the fight scenes may be the best that has ever been done in cinema. Insane "finish him" moves throughout. I don't think I've ever exclaimed out loud more times while watching a movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
komarhomesterApr 15, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you are outside your own country be careful some odd things could happen with you or with someone else on the street. Local brigand could start war or other unbelievable stuff.
A lot of fights, death, blood and broken legs or other parts of your body. Only one thing was little bit strange, why you use your fists first than gun and other weapons?
It understandable in prison where hardly you can find weapon, but in real life when you are member of local band it is possible to find one or just few or government not allowed you to have one?
Movie for those who want see the good fights maybe not so real, but still good.

have a good time watching Raid the Second.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJul 10, 2016
The movie was bigger, bloodier but, it was also longer than the first. The movie doesn't have the same energy than the first even though there are a lot of bloody fight sequences and it's also, overall, not as good as the first. The Raid 2The movie was bigger, bloodier but, it was also longer than the first. The movie doesn't have the same energy than the first even though there are a lot of bloody fight sequences and it's also, overall, not as good as the first. The Raid 2 was a disappointment for sure but, it could've been a lot worse. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
mp303Apr 4, 2016
One of the best actions movies I ever saw in my life, definitely the best of 2014, and I saw John Wick lol. This movie doesn't get a 10 because the whole mafia thing wasn't explain enough and didn't have the weight to make me feel "wow, nowOne of the best actions movies I ever saw in my life, definitely the best of 2014, and I saw John Wick lol. This movie doesn't get a 10 because the whole mafia thing wasn't explain enough and didn't have the weight to make me feel "wow, now that is Corleone on Asia!" sort of way.

Highly recomend this movie.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
lordslayerSep 21, 2014
Did you like Ong Bak 1 & 2?
Did you love the moment when the mountain crushed the eyes of the red viper in GOT?
Then you gotta see this! With some of the most brutal and perfectly shot martial arts action ever put into film this is an
Did you like Ong Bak 1 & 2?
Did you love the moment when the mountain crushed the eyes of the red viper in GOT?

Then you gotta see this!

With some of the most brutal and perfectly shot martial arts action ever put into film this is an action movie unlike any other. It's tense, bloody, and almost unrelenting, barely leaving time for you to breath. This is the new high-bar for action movies and truth be told we might never see another movie reach it. It's an absolute masterpiece and one you need to watch.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KenmeiFeb 22, 2015
When I first heard about this movie, I was unsure whether or not it could have been better than the first one and it has definitely surpassed my expectations. Not only does the sequel have better fight scenes, it has more of them, and there'sWhen I first heard about this movie, I was unsure whether or not it could have been better than the first one and it has definitely surpassed my expectations. Not only does the sequel have better fight scenes, it has more of them, and there's more to be involved in the fights here as the movie is not limited to one location.
Now, the story is terrible and the entire goal of the movie that is plainly spelled out for the main character, Rama, in the first 5 mins. However, as the movie goes on, the goal changes and at what point, I couldn't tell you and I don't think the main character could tell you either. The other thing I didn't like about this movie was the fact that they brought back the actor of the villain from the big fight scene in the first one to play another character here. While he doesn't play a huge role in this one, it's still very jarring to see a guy who was such an evil dude in the first one come back to play another character who serves as cannon fodder to the bad plot.
Even still, taking this purely by its action sequences alone, this is easily the best action/kung fu movie I've seen in over a decade. There's more to love here and the creativity alone with some of the fight scenes, especially the ones at the end of the movie, are some of the best I've ever seen. The music goes extremely well with it too and really gives this the extra power it needs to make each and every hit feel painful.
I would compare watching a movie like this to going out and getting fast food. You know what you expect and if you don't get what you expect, it won't be very good. Who cares about plot, or calories in the fast food example, when you are setting out, from the beginning, looking for one thing in particular? I personally love this movie and I can't recommend it enough to people looking for a stellar action/kung fu movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrewmakatsariMar 2, 2017
Picking up almost immediately where the first film left off, our protagonist Rama finds himself a target for both the various mafia organizations in Jakarta as well as the increasingly corrupted state of the police department. To bring bothPicking up almost immediately where the first film left off, our protagonist Rama finds himself a target for both the various mafia organizations in Jakarta as well as the increasingly corrupted state of the police department. To bring both sides to justice, Rama embarks on a mission to infiltrate one of the major gangs in the city as an undercover cop to lure the big fishes out to dry. No badge, no rules. The story in Raid 2 is far more complex and enticing, as there are many upon many characters revealed and developed, all of them having hidden meanings and unique features that make them stand out as well as being integral parts of the story that gives every one of them a part to play in a puzzle drenched in blood. The worries for Rama's survival are retained from the original, as we get more scenes involving him trying to reconnect with his family, that he is forced to abandon for years, but just when it feels like it'd get too soapy, Evans gladly concentrates on other characters as well, in fact one of the most captivating and entertaining parts of The Raid 2 is seeing how so many different characters get their time to shine, and most of them are quite compelling by the end of the film, in fact many of them you start to care about from seemingly small figures such as Assassin Prakoso(played by the previous film's Yayan Ruhian aka Mad Dog) with his own problems and issues in life and family, to big timers such as Indonesian gang leader Bangun played stoically and honorably by Tio Pakusadewo and his arrogant and ambitious, yet understandably so son Uco(Arifin Putra), among many, I mean MANY. The run time of 2 hours and a half is both a great marketing tool for the action but also for this very well-told narrative, that flows as well as all the action.

Speaking of action, there's a LOT more of it here, in fact as indicated by a youtube compilation of all fight scenes featured in the film, there's about an hour of them, HALF OF THE MOVIE basically. And glorious it is, with once again excellent choreography by Uwais and Ruhian as they vary and establish different fighting styles for different characters. Two of my personal favorites being Baseball Bat Man and Hammer Girl, both get terrific introductory action sequences to show of their skills, and it's here where the picture really shines, focusing on the individual characters and building up their personality during the fights, a brilliant little piece of visual storytelling. The other amazing aspect of the film is something that makes it stand over the original's action is the variety of the action found here. From fights in small bathroom cubicles, to massive prison riots, to nightclub dance battles, to **** CAR CHASES WITH FREAKING FIGHTS INSIDE THE CARS, and the epic seemingly never-ending and wishfully never-ending finale showdowns. Evans' direction is once again nothing short of stunning and kinetic, mixing long takes and fluid camerawork, with precise editing to match the pace of the fight and induce gut-wrenching, and jaw-dropping reactions to every bone-break, throat slash, hammering and just annihilating bevy of punches and kicks. Pencak Silat has never looked so brutal, pummeling and fast, while at the same time being graceful and absolutely beautiful, there's something great about the film's approach to violence, it may deter some but for the lookers of vicious, hard-hitting action insanity, The Raid 2 delivers and then some. The final battle between Uwais and Cecep Arif Rahman's Assassin is to this day ONE OF THE BEST final fights I've seen in cinema history, a kitchen and kerambit knives have never been used this creatively for sure, Joe Trapenese and Fajar Yuskemal's score is energizing to the point of an action movie meltdown, just awesome use of drums, and orchestra, that when viewed on its own lasts the length of the fights themselves, meaning every hit is choreographed not only in the performance but also in music, the culmination of the kitchen battle is nothing short of masterful, kerambits cross, stomachs, arms and legs get opened and the score just keeps on rolling like it's cheese trying to carve its way into a hamburger, one that is already tearing its own **** as well. That may be the weirdest and the most graphic food making description you've possibly ever heard, but what can I say, dinner is best served cold and sliced open.

The Raid 2 is simply a masterpiece, a sequel that feels both fresh and true to the original, that makes everything that it did well even better and evens the odds for the things that the original was criticized for, this is something I'll be showing to anyone who ever asks me what my favorite action films of all time is, cause while I can think of many great ones, The Raid 2 always is the best one, for being a combination of everything. A 10/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JalalBlackSep 23, 2014
You have to see it to believe . Garth Evans added some beautiful, non fighting, scenes in this sequel , that managed to balance the violence , and saved the film from an overkill feel . And don't worry , the jaw dropping fights are still hereYou have to see it to believe . Garth Evans added some beautiful, non fighting, scenes in this sequel , that managed to balance the violence , and saved the film from an overkill feel . And don't worry , the jaw dropping fights are still here . Garth Evans has raised the bar on how to make a martial arts film , I wonder how his next film will be , and will he move to Hollywood ? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FlickKidMay 19, 2014
Incredible! I loved this film thoroughly from beginning to end. The fight scenes are amazingly choreographed and the screenplay is great. Go see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kwjduffMay 13, 2016
It has been only 3 years since viewers were graced with the masterful film 'The Raid'. 'The Raid' had came from nowhere and showed exactly how amazing action movies can be (Take note Hollywood). The Raid 2 is fantastic in every way possibleIt has been only 3 years since viewers were graced with the masterful film 'The Raid'. 'The Raid' had came from nowhere and showed exactly how amazing action movies can be (Take note Hollywood). The Raid 2 is fantastic in every way possible and continues what the first film was known for with excellent, realistic fight scenes and masterful cinematography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Zaphod20212Apr 20, 2014
I watched this last night,with some anticipation.I saw the first one twice I liked it so much.Sadly the second one was not quite up to expectations,a bit too long and a little overdramatic at times. Some nice touches though and more violentI watched this last night,with some anticipation.I saw the first one twice I liked it so much.Sadly the second one was not quite up to expectations,a bit too long and a little overdramatic at times. Some nice touches though and more violent than the first one, a good story though. I hope they don't make a third! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
usherd369Apr 29, 2014
Feels very much like other martial arts films of its timeframe of production (Ong Bak, The Protector) comes to mind in terms of balancing story and fight sequences. Not as predictable as the two aforementioned but most certainly not asFeels very much like other martial arts films of its timeframe of production (Ong Bak, The Protector) comes to mind in terms of balancing story and fight sequences. Not as predictable as the two aforementioned but most certainly not as groundbreaking as the first Raid film, primarily because of its imitiation to it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
appoJul 26, 2014
Is good movie but isn't masterpiece for one time is very cool i recommend to si this movie.
The fight scenes are more brutal this time.
If you like action you need to see this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
rafi_haha18May 1, 2014
this film was the most brutal movie I ever seen, this movie was great since kill bill series, the story line was not pretty bad, but the violence and gore is so fantastic and so traditional, I like this movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
waxstaApr 11, 2014
Just watched this movie a few hours ago and all I can say is OMG!!!! Best all round film of the year so far for me. I cannot recommend this movie enough! If you haven't already seen it go see it now!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SilverscreensnoApr 27, 2014
Be aware, this film is The Raid 2, not The Raid the second. The difference being, people should not expect more of the exact same, this franchise has evolved.

The film picks up about half an hour after the first one, with the hero, Rama,
Be aware, this film is The Raid 2, not The Raid the second. The difference being, people should not expect more of the exact same, this franchise has evolved.

The film picks up about half an hour after the first one, with the hero, Rama, now having to go undercover to find more corrupt cops and protect his family.

If The Raid could be likened to films such as Assault on Precinct 13 then the second film can be described as part Infernal Affairs, part The Godfather. The action is still there, extreme and over the top (not a complaint), but Evans has still kept the tension that made the original so extraordinary.
The final fight scene is immense and superior to the confrontation in number one between Rama and Mad Dog. Where that was raw and gritty, The Raid 2 produces an exchange that is technically amazing and visually stunning.

I was worried that stretching the run time from 100 minutes to two and a half hours would damage the film. Although the film could easily be trimmed down by about 30 minutes, I wasn't sitting in my seat praying for the end; the balance between action and tension kept my interest until the very end.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
McgillacuddyApr 12, 2016
Everything that everyone wants in a martial arts film is all jammed into this motion picture spectacular; not just raw action and over-the-top gore, but a great story to add to it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
NotoriousFraudOct 22, 2014
Filled to the brim with intense fight scenes and unique bad guys for the protagonist (Iko Uwais) to fight through, the anticipated sequel to Gareth Evan's "The Raid" or "The Raid: Redemption" is better than the first. The action and fightFilled to the brim with intense fight scenes and unique bad guys for the protagonist (Iko Uwais) to fight through, the anticipated sequel to Gareth Evan's "The Raid" or "The Raid: Redemption" is better than the first. The action and fight scenes are bigger now that the stakes are no longer in a dingy hotel but in the actual city. You will feel motivated to fight the nearest bully closest to you after watching this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nicoricoAug 10, 2014
One of the BEST of all Time and last 2 Decades and MUST SEE!!!!
I saw this movie over 2 months ago when first hit the screens. I was floored then. I sent a Facebook shot out to family and friends to watch this movie (I rarely do that on
One of the BEST of all Time and last 2 Decades and MUST SEE!!!!
I saw this movie over 2 months ago when first hit the screens. I was floored then. I sent a Facebook shot out to family and friends to watch this movie (I rarely do that on movies) I kept prodding my sister to watch so we finally loaded it for another family night movie. ( no children in house )
I am really not sure what in the hell the 11 people so far that had someone bad to say about this movie were actually smoking because this movie has now set the standard so far up on the bar, it will be almost impossible to let alone equal this movie let alone beat it!!!!!!! Lets start with the storyline that was not only genius, fluent and seamlessly continued from the Raid 1. New characters were introduced without any plausibility of why they were in this masterful plot of corruption and revenge. Lets now move on to how the artistic, visual and choreographic masterpiece this brilliant director transferred his imagination to the big screen. TRULY UNMATCHED so far.

Now lets get to the nitty gritty!!! The Beautiful and ( yes Masterful is being used again) Masterful FIGHT SCENES! !! COUNT THEM at lease 10 !! Again, count them!! 10 brilliant awesome non stop action martial arts fight scenes that not even Enter The Dragon (sorry Bruce) could even come close to. The visual angles combined with the brutality and gore of impacts simply left you oooooing and **** after each killer finishing moves!!! There is one fight scene where the director did such a incandescent job at combining rhythmic tribal track with a luminous visual artistry to a brutal fight scene. This movie as said is not for the faint of heart nor children. True action lovers will add this movie to their list of must see , and will always see movie list. Hands down!! This movie is in its own stratosphere! !!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Etienne123Sep 23, 2014
Struggling for words to describe this movie, it must be the new standard against which all martial arts movies are measured. Maybe even the new standard for all action movies. The final scene was literally jaw-dropping, as it blew me away.Struggling for words to describe this movie, it must be the new standard against which all martial arts movies are measured. Maybe even the new standard for all action movies. The final scene was literally jaw-dropping, as it blew me away. The build-up in terms of intrigue, character development and fighting intensity was also outstanding. It was a really good movie, not just a collection of fight-scenes. But then again, even if it was just a collection of fight scenes it would also be OK, because the fight scenes were just beyond anything I have ever seen. Evans has immense talent, he has just made the greatest martial arts movie ever, and I think there is more to come. Wow Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
reellmOct 5, 2014
4/5★ Improves on the prequel in every way. Where Raid: Redemption had great action yet little plot or dialogue, Raid 2 is a twisted crime drama and action packed, with inventively brutal fight sequences that are beautifully shot and4/5★ Improves on the prequel in every way. Where Raid: Redemption had great action yet little plot or dialogue, Raid 2 is a twisted crime drama and action packed, with inventively brutal fight sequences that are beautifully shot and choreographed. There are Tarantinoesque touches that fans will appreciate.
Verdict: Buckle up and enjoy.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
taufikrazorNov 22, 2014
Awesome fights on movie. Brutal, terrifying, dramatic, and cool actions, I like the way its camera rolled. Even with no English, I still can figured it out the stories. Recommended to watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ShaneKeizerJan 19, 2015
This movie has set a very high standard in action movie film making, a standard Hollywood can not achieve. The settings in which the fights occur are also very memorable. With every punch thrown, it really feels like it hurts. On top of that,This movie has set a very high standard in action movie film making, a standard Hollywood can not achieve. The settings in which the fights occur are also very memorable. With every punch thrown, it really feels like it hurts. On top of that, the music makes it much more intense than it already is. Making this one of those action movies hard to forget, and believe me when I say it: no action movie will ever be the same. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
leo007Nov 21, 2015
Two words : BLOODY AWESOME.....Literally...It was a near 10 for me but some factors gave it away...As the movie draws to 2 the hour mark i was like okay great intense action movie with a lot of gore and variety...The rest half hour takes theTwo words : BLOODY AWESOME.....Literally...It was a near 10 for me but some factors gave it away...As the movie draws to 2 the hour mark i was like okay great intense action movie with a lot of gore and variety...The rest half hour takes the word intense to an all new level....Only if they had sustained that level of intensity throughout the whole movie.....You will witness some of the best fighting scenes ever choreographed....I was on the edge of my seat for the last boss fight dodging punches myself......A great sequel for the original movie with a plot set up for Raid 3 which i hope will top it all !!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
sikfukApr 8, 2017
It is a really good film. although i did not much care for the "tarantino" like, goofy, cartoonish, unrealistic absurdity. like the baseball bat guy or the lady who fought wielding 2 hammers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews