The Raid 2 Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Following immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engage himself as an enforcer for a local mob boss, Bangun. Finding a way in through Bangun's son Uco, Rama must hunt for information linking Bangun with police force corruption. All the while, he harbors a dangerous and personal vendetta for revenge and justice that threatens to consume him- and bring both this mission and the organized crime syndicates crashing down. [Sony Pictures Classics] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Evans pays careful attention to atmosphere, while giving wide berth to cinematographers Dimas Imam Subhono and Matt Flannery, who find beauty among the mayhem. Everything on screen is crystal clear and vibrant, like a city street right after the rain.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Wow. For those with strong constitutions, The Raid 2 offers one of the most intense motion picture experiences available; it may also be the most violent movie ever to be released into theaters.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 26, 2014
    83
    The Raid 2 will make you feel like Christmas came nine months early. Some action sequels don't know when to say when. But here's one where too much is just the right amount.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 26, 2014
    75
    Those with a high tolerance for violence and gore — at one point, Rama battles assassins labeled “Baseball Bat Man’’ and “Hammer Girl’’ simultaneously — will eat up The Raid 2.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 27, 2014
    70
    Much as I enjoyed watching most of it, I was deeply grateful when it was over and feel no strong desire to see the inevitable “Raid 3.”
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    The plot is murky, the acting is melodramatic and the movie is way too long, but the target audience will salivate over the inventively choreographed set-pieces.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    For better or worse, the blood and bone-crunching remains most prominent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executed and choreographed fight scene. I really wouldn’t want to spoil anyone’s chance at seeing any of these fights fresh. But that hallway. Oh man that hallway. The beautiful choreography shows off the mastery of everyone involved. The visual effects soaked the audience in blood after the choreography severed our spines. This movie will kick your ass and leave you breathless. If the Raid took action back to basics, The Raid 2 beats the basics to death with a hammer. Gareth Evans seems to be calling out names and taking attendance. Hollywood needs to get on this mans level. A compelling cast. Excruciating fights. A narrative that leaves the audience in complete suspense. The Raid 2 is one you need to see. Collapse
  2. Jul 5, 2014
    10
    Every punch, kick, stab, hit, cut, throw, slam and more are delivered with detail, eye-opening gore and such precision its startling. This movie is not for the weak stomached, it is brutal and unrelenting in its fight sequences. The story was engaging from the get go with many different characters (e.g. Hammer Girl & Baseball Bat Man) to keep you hooked, all of which acted extremely well for their roles. The fighting in this movie is like no other, I can assure you of that. From the beginning of the film to the very end I could not believe how perfect each hit connected and was countered, most of which ended up in a bloody mess, and I loved it! If you love action films with a lot of fighting and gore, this movie is as close to perfect as you can get. Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    This is one of the most awesome films ever made. It'll made you shart in your seat. The deaf hammer girl and funny baseball bat boy could have had more scenes but then again, the movie is already 2 and a half hours of the best fight scenes ever filmed. The acting and story is also surprisingly good! Gareth Evans wrote this story before The Raid: Redemption but producers said it was too epic of a crime thriller that they would need to build a fan base before they could afford to produce it. They build that fan base after the first film. Now we can't get enough. Watch 'Merantau' if you want to see the first film Gareth Evans and his warrior actors were ever in. Also Iko Uwais (Rama) is one of the bad guys in Man of Tai Chi. Expand
  4. May 23, 2014
    10
    in a really long time, i never seen a action movie done this perfectly, specially a action sequel! Gareth Evans is one of the only directors who can pull that off and... oh my god! what a incredible sequel! it's 150 minutes of mind blowing fight scenes with a fantastic story line, great characters, great acting, amazing pacing, gorgeous cinematography and a finale that took my breath away! "The Raid 2" outdoes the first movie in ever way, shape or form. the way the fight scenes are executed and choreographed were crazy! cause usually, in action movies, the fight scenes are good at first, but then they get repetitive and boring. that NEVER happens in "The Raid 2". every single fight scene gets better and better and better as the movie goes on, making it one of the greatest action movies ever made in the history of movies! also, "The Raid 1" - even though it was fantastic - didn't have much of a plot or character development. on the other hand, "The Raid 2" actually has a fantastic story with a really well-written script by Gareth Evans (god bless you, Gareth!). the characters are a lot more developed this time - which means you care about Rama even more - the dialogue's better and the acting's a lot better. every actor brings his greatest performance in this movie, especially Iko Uwais. the fight scenes... oh my god! it's so damn hard for me to get this amazing fight scenes outta my head. "The Raid 2" was absolutely amazing and mind blowing! it's been such a long time that we've ever seen a action sequel done this perfectly. so if you haven't seen it, do yourself a favor and go watch it! Gareth Evans, thanks for everything!
    10/10
    Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    9
    this film was the most brutal movie I ever seen, this movie was great since kill bill series, the story line was not pretty bad, but the violence and gore is so fantastic and so traditional, I like this movie Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    I enjoyed the first Raid very much and hoped that this one would top it. I was right, because this sequel improves from the first one, but still has some flaws. Although I don't think the story is what everyone who came to see this movie were raving about.

    The fight sequences in this film are INCREDIBLE and will take your breath away at how expertly choreographed the fights are. The final one at the end is jaw-dropping and is amazing.

    While the fight sequences are the main highlight of this film, the story is okay. The simple premise is the same as the last one. Although this sequel edges over the first movie with the story, as there is more character development, which is a great improvement.

    Overall, if you're a sucker for action films that have some awesome fight sequences, this is a must-see for you.
    Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    5
    Director Gareth Hwu Evans got ambitious this time around and failed miserably. Iko Uwais is back, but instead of the non-stop occupation of a building, he goes undercover in a gang and there's a wasted hour of dull, predictable mobster plotting…in subtitles, no less. When the action does happen, it's still full of wild, brutal fighting. This 2 1/2 hour film needs to be watched with a remote control, so you can fast forward thru the unnecessary dialogue and savor the fights. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews