The Raid 2 Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 219 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , ,
  • Summary: Following immediately after the events of The Raid, Ram (Iko Uwais) is forced to reinvent himself as an undercover cop in order to provide protection for his wife and child. Working for the anti-corruption taskforce led by the one person he can trust, Bunawar, he is given a mission to engage himself as an enforcer for a local mob boss, Bangun. Finding a way in through Bangun's son Uco, Rama must hunt for information linking Bangun with police force corruption. All the while, he harbors a dangerous and personal vendetta for revenge and justice that threatens to consume him- and bring both this mission and the organized crime syndicates crashing down. [Sony Pictures Classics] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Apr 3, 2014
    100
    Evans pays careful attention to atmosphere, while giving wide berth to cinematographers Dimas Imam Subhono and Matt Flannery, who find beauty among the mayhem. Everything on screen is crystal clear and vibrant, like a city street right after the rain.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 10, 2014
    88
    Wow. For those with strong constitutions, The Raid 2 offers one of the most intense motion picture experiences available; it may also be the most violent movie ever to be released into theaters.
  3. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Mar 26, 2014
    83
    The Raid 2 will make you feel like Christmas came nine months early. Some action sequels don't know when to say when. But here's one where too much is just the right amount.
  4. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 26, 2014
    75
    Those with a high tolerance for violence and gore — at one point, Rama battles assassins labeled “Baseball Bat Man’’ and “Hammer Girl’’ simultaneously — will eat up The Raid 2.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 27, 2014
    70
    Much as I enjoyed watching most of it, I was deeply grateful when it was over and feel no strong desire to see the inevitable “Raid 3.”
  6. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 10, 2014
    63
    The plot is murky, the acting is melodramatic and the movie is way too long, but the target audience will salivate over the inventively choreographed set-pieces.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Mar 27, 2014
    40
    For better or worse, the blood and bone-crunching remains most prominent.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Mar 29, 2014
    10
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time. In fact I am sure there will be cuts made to retain an R rating. Its raw. It was an amazing theater experience with everyone reacting to every breaking bone, and cheers for every perfectly executed and choreographed fight scene. I really wouldn’t want to spoil anyone’s chance at seeing any of these fights fresh. But that hallway. Oh man that hallway. The beautiful choreography shows off the mastery of everyone involved. The visual effects soaked the audience in blood after the choreography severed our spines. This movie will kick your ass and leave you breathless. If the Raid took action back to basics, The Raid 2 beats the basics to death with a hammer. Gareth Evans seems to be calling out names and taking attendance. Hollywood needs to get on this mans level. A compelling cast. Excruciating fights. A narrative that leaves the audience in complete suspense. The Raid 2 is one you need to see. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Best Action Movie Ever in the History of the Universe! WOW!!
    The fight scenes are so good that I actually thought it was real! Uhmmm..Im still thinking..is it real??? Gosh! You got to tell me now if the actors are still alive after the movie...!!! Well..to be honest I am just not happy with how it end though..definitely there's a third sequel. I'm gonna have to wait for that! (sigh) I feel for the characters its really a twisted game of ass-kicking! I love Rama! Marry me! =)
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    BEST ACTION MOVIE EVER!!! Brutality never looked so good! Makes Expendables 2 and Rambo 4 look like Mr.Rodger's Neighborhood. The mix of martial arts and brutal gun fights is awesome. Moreover, very well acted and a good plot! Redefines "kicking ass" to a new level of brutality! Expand
  4. Jul 26, 2014
    9
    Wow. What a sequel - this is how to do a martial arts movie! Uwais' fighting skills are incomparable. I'm apprehensive about some of the violence.. but most of the time it's all in good fun. Evans' film language is confident, and the ante is upped by adding more locations, with many a wild setpiece, and a colorful cast of memorable characters sport machetes, baseball bats, shotguns, uzis, broken bottles and whatnot. The crazy, energetic action is even buttressed by a pretty decent gangster saga. Expand
  5. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    This is Awesome fighting movies i've seen ever. Brutal, Gore , & Beauty; Can't wait the sequel the raid 3. Congratulations To Gareth Evans & Best Team Work From Indonesian, Salute; keep keeping guys Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2014
    8
    Is good movie but isn't masterpiece for one time is very cool i recommend to si this movie.
    The fight scenes are more brutal this time.
    If
    you like action you need to see this movie. Expand
  7. Aug 28, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I personally was very disappointed with the raid 2.
    Ok the violence is impressive, sort of I suppose, but in 2 as opposed to 1 where it was over the top it still made you want to stay on the side of what you allow or forgive the film for, because it was exciting and tense and the film has you on it's side cheering along in a thrilling roller-coaster ride.
    In 2 the violence is comical in parts( It took 20 men 2 minutes to break a flimsy toilet lock! I mean WTF was that about? The plot is like watching paint dry and is all over the place. Instead of an original exciting film like the raid you get a second rate crime thriller with very few thrills and really bad dialogue and acting.
    The film was too big for all concerned and is an obvious cash in on the raid which was a genuine classic little gem of a film.
    People who are giving this film high marks are kidding themselves.
    Sure if you liked the action of the raid you'll like the action here though it doesn't fit to any plot really, that's if there was a plot but personally I wanted another original thrill ride where all I got was Cliqued silly nonsense with some good action scenes if you took them for what they were, they certainly don't serve the plot as the plot ( laughable ) is only there to serve up the action which is the wrong way round if you want to make great cinema.
    Think of The Hostel and the Hostel 2 and you'll get what I mean by the raid and the raid 2.
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews