User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 243 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 243

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Its amazing some of the best martial arts I have ever seen great movie a must see for action and fight fans.
    Non stop action pretty straight forward story left the cinema buzzing.
  2. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    The Raid puts most Western action movies to shame for its sheer energy and and uncompromising fight scenes. It's a frenetic, gritty, brutal, stylish action flick that grabs you from the first minute and doesn't let up till the final frame. Although the plot is about a SWAT team storming a slum apartment block to arrest a gangland boss, it's peppered with Indonesian silat martial art scenes that are breathtaking for their speed, style and creativity -- as well as their brutality. They're some of the most bruising and high-octane punch-ups ever filmed, performed with amazing flair by a host of Indonesian martial artists, including Iko Uwais, the telegenic lead and Yayan Ruhian, the oh-so-evil "Mad Dog", who at times exudes an almost demonic, monster-like quality. The camera is kept so close to the action that you feel you're in the thick of the action at all times and the film never lets you off the hook. It's very violent but I don't think it glamorizes violence in the same way as many films of this genre do. The heroes suffer. They would rather not be there. They don't make jokes after killing people -- killing is not fun but a necessary evil.

    The gangland boss, played Ray Sahetapy, is also worthy of a special mention. He's not your stereotypical baddy, but an aloof, menacing, strangely quiet villain who's devoid of empathy and capable of the most awful atrocity at any moment. Truly scary, and truly new in an Indonesian movie.

    This is a truly world-class movie and by far the best Indonesian action film I have ever seen. It truly deserves its high score on Metacritic, and is a must-see for all action buffs.
    Expand
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    8
    I'm Indonesian. I am proud that this movie is a local production only for its production values and technical achievement. Other than that, the story is thin (even compared to other movie in the same genre). Good for entertainment, but very violent.
  4. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The amazing fights in this had people cheering in the audience. This movie is such a great mix of blood and balls out action that makes Jason Statham movies look tame. Just don't bring a date - unless her favorites parts from Braveheart were the fight scenes.
  5. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    This movie is amazing, exhausting, exhilarating. Easily the most bad-assed movie I've seen in years. Do NOT bring the girlfriend or wife, but definitely be prepared to be blown away. The NYTimes critic is crazy, this movie has both artistic merit and story without skimping one iota on the action. Sets a relentless pace from very early. And when things kick in - they really kick in!
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    5
    The good of this film is just about action and editing. But the story is very poor and weak. Many plot holes in this movie. Is that bad SWAT team from Indonesia? Oh, please.
    I hope the sequel is better than this one.
    I'm Indonesian and I'm not proud with this movie. Maybe I have higher expectation: Someday there is a movie is better than my last favorite Indonesian movie: Laskar Pelangi. Maybe!
  7. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    The amount of choreography that must have gone into this film is mind-boggling. There's so much gritty, in-your-face action in this sucker that I can't imagine an action fan walking away unsatisfied. The sequence in which the Mad Dog gives away an advantage so he can fight both of the brothers at the same time is incredible - the wildest fight sequence I believe I've ever seen. Machine guns, machetes, breaking bones, busting through walls, caving in floors, jumping through ceilings - this movies has it all. What might have made it perfect is a more compelling back-story that ties it all together in a way that might make you care even more about the lead characters and/or hold the bad guys in greater contempt. Expand
  8. Apr 18, 2012
    10
    If you like violent non-stop fighting (guns, blades and martial arts) this Indonesian import is for you. The wisp of a plot involves a SWAT team occupying a building full of gansters. After a few minutes of setup (subtitled) the action explodes and essentially doesn't let up until it's over. In addition to the inventive brutality and dazzling choreography (think Jackie Chan on steriods), Welsh director Gareth Hwu Evans has crafted a sophisticated and attractive film. Expand
  9. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    An intense adrenalin packed movie. It's short on plot, but if you're looking for a pure action film, this is probably one of the best release in years...or even the best. Reminiscent of kinetic gun battles from early John Woo films mixed with intense martial arts scenes and filmed in a style of the better comtemporary action thrillers....this movie is definitely a winner.
  10. Mar 28, 2012
    9
    Awesome movie with fantastic action sequences and plenty of tense moments that out way any reason to see this for a plot :) The entire theater applauded after several great moments. Not only is the action insanely good, the soundtrack to go along with it shines!
  11. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    This movie is the definition of pure awesome. Gut-wrenching, heart-pounding, gruesome, bloody violence and action all throughout. If you went to see this movie not expecting just that then you clearly didn't watch the trailer or read the synopsis, because that was the whole point of the film, it was to get your heart racing from the nonstop action all throughout and I believe it actually had a pretty good story to it as well. It had its holes because it didn't explain everything too well, but with a movie like this you arent looking for a genius story, you should be looking for action and ALOT of it. Thats exactly what you get from The Raid: Redemption. My jaw was on the floor from start to finish. I fell in love with this movie from the very beginning and i was upset when it ended because I just didn't want it to. Best martial arts/ action film period, in a VERY long time. 10/10 without a doubt! Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    I have watched this movie it's completely incredible. I'm gonna watch this for twice for sure !!!!. this movie is BAD ASS, brutal. worth every cen of it...
  13. May 13, 2012
    10
    I keep seeing the comment that this movie has the best action in years. I disagree. This movie has the best action ever! I saw this in Baltimore and the theater was erupting throughout the film. I was upset when it ended, but almost freaked out a few days later when I found out it's the first of a trilogy. Trust me, Hollywood needs to take serious notes. I've only watched each of the Transformers movies once with all their millions spent on special effects, but Raid Redemption will be on my screen many times in the years to come. If you area dude, let me just put it like this : think of the level of attention you give to a porn as you're watching it for the first 5 minutes. That is how this entire movie grips you. Most entertaining movie I have seen in years, but best action I have seen EVER!! Expand
  14. Apr 27, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, so now I know it was Indonesian. Were they fighting endlessly with Muay Thai? I'm sorry, but, I was SO put off by the poor translation. I don't need to understand the language, obviously, I got most of it, but, what a piss poor translation! Minutes would go by dialogue, talking, and then, "WHAT?" the translation would reveal. LAME! Great fight scenes and loved the over the top gun work, not just the minutes of ammo wasted, but WHAM-WHAM! up close pistol shots to the head! Well done!!! Guess one can't very well pick out the subtext when one doesn't know the language, and should one expect to? Well, who was that long haired guy and why was he such a scary/good fighter? Didn't care, and some translation would have brought that forth, but, missed the boat you did on that one. I'm like, come on. In a real fight: the crush of a windpipe would have you OUT! Lacerate the carotid? DONE! Femoral cut? DOWN! Reality check, most fights, if to the death, would be over in seconds. You wouldn't be dancing around in a room with pvc pipe taped to your neck, dancing for your camera. Expand
  15. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    A pure action movie from start to finish, and an invigorating change from effects heavy and slow 'action movies'. The violence is unrelenting and brutal, and the martial arts fights are an amazing feat to behold. The script is stripped to its core elements, and done very smartly. We have one scene that establishes the hero, one scene that establishes the villain, and within ten minutes the movie starts and doesn't let up. This movie is also a perfect example of 'show don't tell'. We're not told much about these characters, but you know exactly who they are just by their actions and the way they react to things. The editing and fighting are amazing, as is the soundtrack. 'The Raid' is100% amazing action from start to finish. The best action movie since 'The Matrix'. GO SEE IT!!! Expand
  16. May 19, 2012
    10
    I can't fault this film at all. I haven't enjoyed a martial arts film this much since going to see Ong Bak years ago! Excellent fight choreography with some, at times, cringe worthy (and hilarious!) deaths, and a decent story to tie the lengthy fight scenes together.
  17. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    The Raid is an amazing martial arts movie. Even though it might sacrifice it's characters and story for more action, at least the action is flawless. I don't think I've ever seen such awe inspiring hand to hand combat. It was very well choreographed, and even though it was pretty much a stage to show of some great fighting, the story and characters proved to be decent ones that kept me invested in the movie. It's sad that very few Americans will see this because of their laziness when it comes to reading subtitles, because it is much better than the typical Hollywood action movie. Expand
  18. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Wow, good movie. The Raid: Redemption is a big option after watching The Hunger Games, have an amazing story, great characters, is an amzing film. The movie is a great classic.
  19. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    I'm Indonesian and so proud to know film from my country have a great response on site like metacritic.com,
    as you all know Iko Uwais with his 2 film (cooperation with Gareth Evan) make a "high jump" to Indonesia movie industry, first with Merantau, and 2nd with The Raid, oke to the review..

    This movie will make you trapped in so many fight scene, i bet many of you won't open your eyes
    all the time to it's scene, you will shut your eye for while or turn your head off from the screen, so many blood, littlr gore and no mercy at all, just struggle to get put from this heroic mission turn to suicide mission, framed with epic choreografer in form from my country martial art called Silat, But i can't give this movie a perfect score because it's story telling not good, i feel anticlimax in the ending, and after out from cinema i couldn't fully understand, about what this mission exactly for Expand
  20. Mar 27, 2012
    10
    The Raid has a strong story line with great setting and good fight choreography. As Indonesian, I think this movie is totally brutal with lots of blood, bullets, and the sounds of bone fracture. But the best part of this movie, the director and actors can bring the viewer emotions flow when they are fighting. I feel terribly spun after watching the great fighting scene between Rama, Mad Dog, and Andi. The Raid: Redemption is totally must watch movie this year :) worth it! Expand
  21. Apr 14, 2012
    10
    Honestly, The Raid is one of the best movies iv seen in a long time. The movie had me thrilled the whole way. The action is intense, and leaves you in a state of awe. Most action movies are very corny, but The Raid is far from it. It definitely puts western action movies to shame. The martial arts is some of the best iv ever seen in a movie. It has a kick ass style, and the movie is never shy to add brutality, and blood. Expand
  22. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    The Raid is unique. The idea is original and it's always my personal opinion that the "no story, thin plot" is a deliberate strategy of the Director n screenwriter, which make this movie qite refreshing. All in all the Raid is an eye opener in the wake of novel-goes-on-screen and porns-disguised-as-horror-flicks that plague Indonesia today. I think the only drawbacks in that movie is that the Director seems to limit the actors in exploring their personal martial art potential - technically speaking. Joe Taslim, the police who fought mad dog 1 on 1 is a former judo champ and i think mad dog (yayan) is a silat player, yet I see a silat-muay thai-mixed-with-mediocre-bjj/greco roman fightscene instead of a desperate-police-judo-champ vs ruthless-as-hell-silat-madman. Expand
  23. Apr 20, 2012
    10
    This movie starts off good and never slows down from the start. It will keep you on the edge of your seat. Some of the best choreography i have seen in a long time. Sony secured themselves a great foreign film by securing this beast. The fight scenes in this movie among-st the most visceral and stylish in the genre. The way that knees are used in this movie are inspiring.
  24. May 2, 2012
    10
    Jaw Dropping!! excellent visceral fight scene and entertaining thriller !!. the choreography was amazing probably the best action Movie of the year!!. An intense adrenalin packed movie, Gut-wrenching, heart-pounding, gruesome, bloody violence and action all throughout.
  25. Jul 2, 2012
    5
    Vire e mexe surge um título de pancadaria lá pelos lados do oriente que todos dizem ser o máximo do gênero. E foi isso que aconteceu com o recente longa indonésio "The Raid: Redemption". Não me entendam mal, o filme tem sim seu valor, mas acho que o barulho foi alto demais para uma obra que ano que vem pode ser superada por uns caras mais malucos ainda e que se utilizam da mesma fórmula infalível: pouca conversa e muita porrada.

    E de porrada o diretor Gareth Evans entende. Sua direção é extremamente competente na hora de conduzir a câmera junto aos lutadores em espaços confinados. Uma edição esforçada também auxilia no dinamismo das cenas e trucagens feitas "na raça" dão aquele toque especial para a produção. O time de lutadores é excepcional, creio que alguns devem ter morrido para que o filme ficasse tão realista (brincadeira). A verdade é que neste longa não existe muito daquela história de luta coreografada, pois, a sequência deve ser seguida, mas as pancadas são bem reais.

    Outro fator relevante é a violência "gore", que realmente conquista os mais sádicos. Oferecendo um realismo cruel, temos mortes e mais mortes sem aquela censura que parece impregnar os filmes de hoje, ela é gratuita e belíssima. Quando as balas acabam entram as armas brancas, e aí as coisas ficam mais interessantes. Arrisco dizer que "The Raid..." tem algumas das mais explicitas cenas contendo facadas em rostos, pescoços, peitos e pernas. Um festival de sanguinolência ao melhor estilo prisional, entende?! No entanto, o grande problema de "The Raid..." é seu roteiro fraquíssimo, sendo a trama rasa apenas uma desculpa para a ação. Nela, um grupo de 20 soldados de elite invade o QG do maior bandido de Jacarta, afim de desbaratinar toda sua quadrilha. A operação policial é alicerçada por algumas razões escusas e o mocinho tem uma motivação extra para entrar na batalha. E só! Outro ponto negativo é o grupo de atores, que são lutadores apenas. Iko Uwais, estrela máxima da fita (e que faz sucesso em produções do mesmo calibre), tem a profundidade de uma iguana. A atuação em geral vai pelo estilo clássico asiático, caricato e exagerado, um formato que funciona muito bem quando utilizado por bons profissionais. Daí o outro fala: "Porra, quem liga pra isso? Roteiro? Atuação? O filme é 'mor' legal, cheio de pancadaria, tiro pra todo lado, é sensacional", daí eu falo: "Parabéns, você irá gostar muito mesmo do filme se não liga para o básico do cinema."

    Juro que esperava mais desse filme. Me diverti vendo ele? Sim, em alguns poucos momentos. Apesar dos defeitos temos umas quatro ou cinco cenas interessantes. É um bom trabalho? Não, é irregular, simplesmente. Pouco tempo atrás - em 2007 para ser mais exato - surgiu um longa com a mesma proposta de porradaria extrema, o chinês "Flashpoint", com os caras praticamente se matando e por aí vai. Este, por exemplo, é mais filme que o "The Raid..."
    Expand
  26. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Brilliantly choreographed with some truly stunning fight scenes, both hand to hand martial arts and with the use of weapons. It is very brutal and there is plenty of gore so it’s definitely not one for the squeamish. All the performances were excellent, I watched it in its native Indonesian with subtitles so I could better judge and I felt nobody missed a beat. I loved the music, it kept the pace of the film very well and added to the excitement of the fight scenes where needed. The time really flew (which is always a good sign) and, although there were a couple of quiet moments, it’s pretty much full on all the way! I did like the plot as well; there were references to police corruption and also a nice little twist with one of the drug lord’s men. Over all, it’s one of the best martial arts films I’ve seen for quite a while! A definite ‘must see’ for any fan of the genre.

    SteelMonster’s verdict: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    My score: 9.4/10.
    Expand
  27. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    This is a solid martial arts film, among the best I've seen. The fight scene choreography is really something to behold and the music complements it perfectly. Fast, frenetic and possibly the most violent film I've ever seen so be prepared for that. Lots and lots of stabbing and slicing going on, but if you like that kind of thing then you'll be on your element. I've only just finished watching it and I want to watch it again already. Story was pretty decent too, but this is mostly action, visceral, as they say. Expand
  28. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    One of the most brutal and intense action movies I have ever seen. The set up is similar to the Dredd movie. Cops are locked in a building filled to the brim with people trying to kill them and the only way for them to survive is to take out the big honcho in charge. I have to say though with the level of action and brutality this makes Dredd look tame. This makes most action movies look tame. The best part is that it manages to do so without seeming overly gruesome and has a great plot.

    The characters are fantastic and there are enough twists to keep you interested, so you can see that there was thought put into the story and it payed off. Surprisingly enough some of the most tense moments happen when the fists aren't flying. Tense stand offs and moments of cat and mouse will keep you on the edge of your seat in anticipation. Same goes for the fights, which are some of the most adrenaline fueled ones that I've ever seen. All in all this a first class excellent action movie, and one that you shouldn't pass by.
    Expand
  29. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    The Raid is brutal and some say the best action movie of the decade, okay let's say it's only hype. It's mediocre, the plot or acting doesn't seem it's masterclass. But let's forget, the action, direction and score are the exciting. The Raid is the new exciting martial art franchise.
  30. Apr 15, 2012
    8
    There is no genre mixing in The Raid: Redemption. Unlike films which are billed as both comedy and drama or mystery and suspense thriller, The Raid is strictly action and thatâ
  31. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Ignore the fact that it has subtitles (there’s not exactly much dialogue anyway) as the Raid is one of the best pure action films ever made. I can’t even begin to fathom how they shot some of the action sequences and, while it may be perhaps a little too violent for some, this is one movie that really has to be seen to be believed.
  32. Mar 20, 2013
    6
    The story was interesting, albeit completely unrealistic. The action was really fast paced and provided a Westernized take on Asian martial arts they almost nailed it IMHO, but the fight scenes were a bit too old school with the fights going on forever. The gun violence was so gratuitous that it became numbing very quickly
  33. Jul 12, 2012
    9
    The Raid, or: the fine art of ultraviolence, as it really should be subtitled, is the finest martial arts film since Warrior King. Never before has human brutality looked so beautiful, presented in a way which would resemble an intricate dance if it weren't for the copious blood and bone-snapping. It's a joy to see a relatively unknown martial art being practiced on the big screen, and the Indonesian Pencak Silat allows for the choreographing of action unlike any you've ever seen before. The plot, which involves a SWAT team fighting their way through an apartment block controlled by a malicious drug lord flies along, and the film is tense, gritty and pulse-pounding throughout. Iko Uwais plays Rama, the film's primary protagonist, who is a young new addition to the SWAT team, and his almost supernatural skill with Silat is in unquestionable as Rama is forced to undertake the majority of the film's fights against hordes of drug cartel henchmen single-handedly. Uwais is far more than a blunt instrument however, and in the long tradition of strong silent types with a good heart throughout film history, it is established early on in the film that Rama is only committing the acts of brutality he does to provide a safe and financially secure life for his wife and soon-to-be-born child. The drug lord Tama (Ray Sahetapy) is also shown to be the most diabolical of evil-doers, a representation of everything wrong with contemporary Indonesia, and thoroughly deserving of everything that comes to him. Uwais, along with Yayan Ruhian, who plays the terrifying and volatile bodyguard Mad Dog choreographed the film and made the numerous action sequences so explosive and memorable. Though the film in a sense de-sensitises you to violence, such is the extent and frequency of it on screen, you are brought crashing back down to reality by Writer/Director Gareth Evans' human characters and subtextual comments on social problems prevalent in modern Indonesia (poverty, the break-down of family units and the dominance of the illegal drugs trade are all referenced within the film's narrative). Evans is not just incredibly talented as an action director, guiding cinematographer Matt Flannery's stylish camera work, and undertaking the striking, expert film editing himself, but he's also an effective and intelligent, though minimalistic screenwriter, and as a passionate promoter of Indonesian culture, which he clearly has a great love of. He's certainly a real talent to watch, and I am incredibly excited to see how else he can elevate the action genre, and perhaps other areas of cinema in the future. Expand
  34. Jun 30, 2012
    10
    Wall-to-wall action. Reminds me of Bruce Lee films with generous amounts of action and minimal dialogue. Protagonist is likeable and the villain is easy to despise. No superfluous sex scenes. What more could you ask for?
  35. May 27, 2012
    5
    The Raid: Redemption provides its audience with numerous exciting action scenes, but very little else. The movie focuses on an Indonesian special ops team's raid -- and presumed redemption -- of a crime lord's building. Countless criminals live in the rooms and roam the halls. Some pack knives, others carry guns, and one enjoys using his fists and feet. Who says you can't stay fit? Needless to say they're none too happy when spec ops invades, prompting one of the various shoot outs. These sequences are very well done from a technological standpoint, boasting simply stunning stunt work. However, not a single character comes to life as a human being. In this movie people exist primarily to be beaten, shot, and/or stabbed. In fact, many rush forward to do so. One fight scene features around twenty criminals rushing the protagonist, who easily disables or kills each and every one of them. This -- other than his pregnant wife -- is how you can tell he is the protagonist. At no point do any of the criminals look around and say, "Hey, guys, this isn't working like we planned. Do you think maybe we should try something else?" What little plot there is seems to have been lifted from bits and scenes of better action flicks with less impressive action sequences. Still the stunts and technology deserve praise. The Raid: Redemption will appeal to a good number genre fans, but those expecting more than dazzling fights and shoot outs may find themselves oddly disappointed. Expand
  36. Jun 2, 2012
    10
    Its been close to ten years since i saw a film that made me exhausted . The fights and gun/knife play in this film are intense. Its shockingly violent and keeps you mesmerised from start to finish.
  37. May 31, 2012
    6
    The Raid is one of the most visually stunning action films I have ever seen and the fact it was made on a minuscule budget only furthers my amazement. With that said, it is not a perfect film. The story is that of Rama, a rookie police officer who with another 20 or so police officers is taking part in a Raid (to my complete shock) of an apartment building being run by a notorious drug lord. However Rawa has another reason for wanting into that building, something revealed later in the film in one of the films few moments of levity and actual conversation. The film, to almost every male viewers joy, is almost wall to wall violence. It's manic, its fast paced, its incredibly inventive and it takes up almost all of the film. The few moments were there is actual talking it is to progress to the next fight, the next set piece meaning there is little place for emotion of character in the film. It might make me sound greedy but a little more story and dialogue was needed as by the end of the movie I was visually impressed but emotionally anaesthetised. There is no doubt the director is talented and put a considerable amount of passion into the way he presented the movie as the direction is unexpected and at times shocking (but in a good way). He made the film he wanted to make and with very little to spend on it and that is commendable, especially considering the levels of destruction the film brings, but all in all its an action film with no soul, no one to root for as its just two groups of people massacring each other in an old building. Expand
  38. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Thank goodness for RAID: REDEMPTION! While directed by an Englishman, It's one of the best Indonesian movie out there and really shows how capable the Indonesian production teams and actors are. Great action sequences; beautifully staged and shot. The story is a bit simple, but effective. It shows Indonesia's true potential to become the next 'South Korea' or 'Hong Kong'. More of this and less cheapo, exploitative horror flicks please! Expand
  39. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    The best action movie I've seen in years, possibly the best action movie I've ever seen. Sure the story is a bit spartan but it has enough to keep me satisfied and I think it benefits from the tight focus (same as for Gravity).
  40. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    As I smiled gleefully in the cinema, I realized that an Indonesia movie had come that is on par with Hollywood movies, perhaps even better than most in the term of action. In a time of CG, 3D and artificial action sequences, The Raid stands tall as one of the greatest action movies in years, the only things that have the intensity and pure raw violence are Ong Bak and Chocolate from Thailand. The story certainly could've been more polished, but it's undeniably relentlessly gripping from the first thrown punch.

    The Raid is about a police squad that storm into an apartment, which doubles as a nest of criminals / martial artists, in order to apprehend a drug lord. They'll soon find that these thugs are very well trained despite their cryptic outfits. The hoodlums come down pouring in dozens, launching punches, kicks and bullets their way, generally making their lives harder. In a short moment, the raid turns into a struggle for survival. Iko Uwais plays Rama, one of a rookie cop who's trapped in the building, deliver the best visceral combat scenes I've ever seen in Indonesian cinema.

    Highly fast paced and devastating, it's not your usual near-miss exaggerated camera angle shots a la your average action movies, neither it's flying stylish acrobatic wire fu of Hong Kong, The Raid is a beast on its own right. The director, Gareth Evans, cleverly uses pencak silat, an Indonesia traditional martial art, mixes it with many aspects of MMA and also plenty usage of sharp weapons or even handguns. Every movement is designed to hurt, immensely and veraciously, you won't find flashy dashing choreography here.

    Expect plenty faces hammered into the wall, knives introduced to throats and even point blank headshot. All in its uncensored bloodstained glory. The amount and quality of the fights are ridiculously excessive, world class even. This will shock many international audiences, as it already has. Scenes are masterfully done, giving clean shots to dramatic moments, even those without someone getting pummeled. The director has a sense of focus which gives clarity in midst of high octane scenes.

    However it's not without its flaws. Some plot holes remain unchecked as the characters' motivations are a bit vague, maybe for the sequel, I'm not sure. The dialogues can be gritty as I viewed it on my native language, but it can also be a double edge sword. At some points, it becomes unintentionally funny because the delivery of Malay accent is over-the-top. I do hope it wonâ
    Expand
  41. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    This is easily one of the best action movies to come out in a long time. The action was intense and the fight scenes were some of the best I've seen in a long time. It was your stereotypical fare with the story. Even still it's pretty weak but that's not why you watch this movie. The only knock I'll give this is the fact that they had people do an english version of it and it's beyond bad. I don't mind having to watch the subtitles for a movie like this and I would definitely recommend watching it that way. Skip the english voice over dub completely. Stick with the original Indonesian version with subtitles. Expand
  42. Sep 15, 2014
    7
    I'm not sure what the point was, but it was really intense.

    The concept is almost horror-like. A police squad caught in a very hostile apartment complex. The tension of the setup works magnificently to keep the whole story exciting. I'm hesitant in giving it a positive score though, because there is little to take away from the movie, unless you want to become a street fighter. So
    ultimately, it's the standard action-package but the presentation and concept and twisting is all top notch craftsmanship. Expand
  43. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    Mindless violence for mindless chop-saki freaks.

    OK, to fill in the required 150 characters, I'll mention non-stop gratuitous violence, weak plot, vapid dialog dubbed into flat English, and no redeeming artistic merit.
  44. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    This is my new favourite Kung fu/ action movie. It is epic. If you like the genre, even a little you need to watch this. The only reason I didn't rate it higher is that it doesn't have universal appeal. As an action movie it is 10/10. As a movie in general: 8/10.
  45. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    The best film I saw this year. And I think it should please all the people who enjoy martial art. Some parts deserves to be cult. And the photography directing is also pretty good.
  46. Aug 18, 2012
    8
    You can say this is the future of filmmaking: this Indonesian film was made for measly 1,1 m$ by a Welshman! It has some VERY fast and kinetic fight scenes but they leave enough room for the story to unfold and for the characters to develop. A SWAT team has to clear a gangster building floor by floor and the film has a gritty look and feel and the gang members are convincingly vile and agressive. The second one has already gone into production with 3 times the budget, so let's see what they can get out of that! Expand
  47. b3_
    Jul 15, 2012
    7
    I knew this film was all about action and did not expect much character or plot development. The movie had a gritty realism to it and of course the only thing that subtracted from this was the awesome but unbelievable fight scenes. The fight scenes in the movie were explosive, clever, often gory and always satisfying if you appreciate this style in any way. Some of the scenes definitely reminded me of 'Oldboy'. I give the movie a 7/10 as I am not all about action in movies and wanted a little more in other departments, but for what it is I do not really fault this film. Be warned it is extremely violent and is literally about guys fighting for their lives. Expand
  48. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    I had heard this to be the "best action film in decades". For someone to say that just made me wan't to instantly watch it, to see if it does live up to that title. A few minutes into it there was tense in it and I was in suspense. The martial arts are non-stop. There are a lot of scenes where you are in awe and martial art moves you probably have never seen it perform in a movie before. It is satisfying but it never makes you feel as if its repetitive seeing fight after fight. The story is great with a few plot twist, great performances all around. I didn't find a single thing wrong with this movie. Better than a lot of American action movies. It will satisfy any action, martial arts fan. A must watch! Expand
  49. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    A very intense low-tech martial arts action movie full of gritty combat scenes, nice filming, generic stupid action movie story, villains look like crappy hobos, but overall a surprisingly good movie.
  50. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    I didn't understand a word of this film and still don't. Not watching it with subtitles either, It's a great film and kept me entertained for the entirity even though I didn't know what they were saying at all. Would 100% recommend to anybody, give it a chance you wont regret it.
  51. Sep 2, 2012
    10
    The Raid: Redemption truly is action movie of the decade. Only Matrix has come up with so good fighting choreography in these recent years, and that was 13 years ago!
  52. Sep 23, 2012
    6
    A good, entertaining action movie although nothing close to what it's being made out to be. The hand-to-hand action sequences, while brilliantly choreographed, are annoyingly repetitive. And it is hard to imagine that a single person (the protagonist) can engage a hundred people without getting the energy sucked out of him, regardless of his martial arts prowess.
  53. Nov 5, 2012
    8
    Exhilarating. After about 20 minutes of setup it is non-stop balls-to-the-wall action. Is it possible for a movie to have too much action? this comes close.
  54. Sep 28, 2013
    2
    Takes a good 18 minutes to get to some action and a good 30 to get to some actually decent action. Dialogue is horrible. Goes with the ideology of "If i swear a lot people will think it's realistic and thus good writing" at nosium. The directing is pretty bad. The camera bobs around incessantly for seemingly no reason during non action sequences. The writing is downright atrocious. Most characters just exist to be disposable meat sacks to add up pointless bodycount and even the main character seems to be devoid of any development. It shows some moments of promise like the propane tank in the fridge but it's not worth siting through the stupid moments like the part where the entire team lost their firearms for seemingly no reason other than to showcase some of the mediocre kung fu fights, or the part where a character was about to explain why they can't call for backup but stops as if he just realized their really is no reason why they can't. Oh and there's the part where an unarmed character walks past a gun and two tonfas, without picking them up for absolutely no reason, and don't even get me started on the part where a villain who has a guy at gun point drops the gun and gives the cliche "I don't like using guns. I like fist fighting because it provides the audience with an actual action scene-I MEAN I PREFER KILLING WITH MY FISTS OR SOMETHING YEAH THAT'S IT!" Expand
  55. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    The Raid: Redemption isn't exactly the most original for storylines; you can see they may have taken a few pages out of Die Hard and Hard Boiled's books, but it sure packs a lot of action and is easily one of the most thrilling martial arts movies this year.

    Unfortunately, I suffered the horrible English dub of the movie, which for me took out a lot of the emotion and storytelling as I
    couldn't take the dialog too seriously. However, looking past this, I could see a very well made martial arts movie with plenty of violence to keep you begging for more action. If you're a fan of martial arts movies, you cannot afford to miss this. Expand
  56. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    This movie does justice in its own right by making you cringe, and teetering on the edge of your seat with high octane action that seems to never stop. The violence, the fights, and of course the loosely strung together storyline makes Raid Redemption a must see movie. The violence it self is amazing, the gun battles, the hand to hand combat, and the destructive gore is what makes this movie amazing. It's a pure thriller with violence around every corner! Check it out, if you're into violence, gun battles, and plenty of fist to fist combat scenes! Expand
  57. Jul 12, 2014
    6
    The story was so so, felt like a plot that would be more appropriate for a short story. However, the movie still entertaining, its the non stop action that kept me engage.
  58. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    its the best and very amazing.. i liked to watch again and again..
    if will cme a next second version, thats i think tobe liked good..

    and now i know Joe Tsalim go Holywood played in The Fast And the farious next version..

    very very good movie
  59. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Amazing action and martial arts. At first I wasn't sure what to expect, but once this movie gets going it is a non-stop blitz of amazing fight choreography and violence. It gets better and better as it goes along.
  60. Aug 8, 2013
    5
    Despite some brilliantly propulsive action sequences The Raid: Redemption is too threadbare and obvious to truly work as a whole. It's screenplay is so deprived of character, plot, emotion, and logic that it becomes pointless. The basic premise of a raid on a labyrinth building full of gangsters could have been made into a crazy, scary, and tension filled ride, but the apartment complex looks almost exactly the same on every floor, and the main character has about as much vulnerability as the hulk. It works fine as a showcase for some incredibly kinetic martial arts showdowns... for a while. It just becomes so repetitive and sadistically gory that by the end you feel like it was more of a pro wrestling special (if you think they're real you need help) than an actual movie. Every cop is somehow a master at hand to hand combat, and no one wants to pick up any of the machine guns lying around because, squeezing a trigger, that's like ordering take-out." It throws logic out the window purposefully, because otherwise there couldn't be non-stop fighting. I must admit that it's all choreographed amazingly, and can be very exciting at times, but in the end it just feels kinda... stupid. A movie made of nothing but action is just too empty in my opinion. Expand
  61. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    The Raid is the goriest and the most violent movie I have ever seen in years! The Kung fu style makes the movie more interesting, also the Indonesian actors have done well. It's actually the best forgein film I have ever seen. It picks up pace with the ultra violent gory action and the Dredd 3D thing is copied but.... More well done than Pete Travis in a way. If you are a fan of Indonesian, kick ass, gory, super ultra ultra ultra violent films then The Raid is for you. 10/10. So, it's better to leave the kids at home and whether its theatre or DVD/Bluray The Raid is crazy fun. Expand
  62. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    Great martial art fight movie and great work with the camera as well. The story is a bit meh, but I'm quite sure that nobody watched it for a great plot-line. The movie provided a plot twist for people who are fan of them. It's a typical one-watch movie for me, but enjoyed every minute of it.
  63. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    Many people had told me this film is absolutely awesome, and usually I am skeptical of such hype. However having seen the film I was very entertained and very impressed.

    The story is nothing amazing but does give context as to why events are occurring. What we become mostly interested in is the survival of certain characters. And this is heightened by the solid execution of the action
    scenes which are just so good. At the end of each fight I was completely in awe of the precision, brutality and seeming realism depicted. As expected the most impressive fight is the last and it will not disappoint; in fact I was cheering with glee the whole time.

    If you love martial arts and love action films you will be absolutely thrilled.
    Expand
  64. May 28, 2013
    10
    The Raid: Redemption by Gareth Evans, masterpiece, exciting, spectacular, one of the best action films of the past 10 years, Beautiful action scenes, the protagonist good.
  65. Mar 28, 2014
    9
    Action movie with a twist. Most of the new kung fu movies are losing their steam. This one was refreshing in the sense that it kept you entertained and invested in the movie. Definitely recommended
  66. Mar 20, 2014
    3
    A skilfully made, in terms of direction, cinematography and editing, film that does do a serviceable job at throwing action on screen but watching endless sprites get annihilated on screen isn't for me. It lacked substance and a sense of character.
  67. Aug 9, 2014
    8
    Lots of action and blood but a stupid plot and little logic. The raid is to entertain the audience with it from schnelelr Action and much hard scenes. This works very well because I had the 100 minutes continuous fun. More sad it sit that the plot and the logic suffers in the film. But for only $ 2 million budget you have you made ​​a superb film. Part 2 will be even harder and has to offer a better action. Expand
  68. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    Jaw Dropping. Intense from the beginning there's literally only 3 minutes of dialogue and the rest is ACTION...Star Iko Uwais might not be as powerful as Tony Jaa..But this film beats Ong Bak and Tom Yum Goong which are regarded Jaa's best efforts. The primary style used here is Pencak Silat. The man who steals the show is Yayan "Mad Dog" Ruhian in the most epic 2 on 1 fight scenes ever created. He knows a special breathing technique that allows him to feel no pain and every hit in this movie is full contact (Much like Jaa's films). Over all...It goes "The Raid...Ong Bak...Ip Man. Expand
  69. Dec 2, 2013
    10
    Plenty of reviews have come before so I'll keep this short. It is, simply put, the best action film since Die Hard. It is a genuine shame if you let a reluctance to watch a film with subtitles keep you from watching this gem. It is only made all the more impressive given the fact that it was made on a shoestring budget (by Hollywood standards, anyway). A must watch.
  70. Jan 2, 2014
    10
    The best action movie i've ever seen no questions asked.

    The combat scenes are incredible!

    Don't let the language or subtitles stop you from seeing this. They could have made it with no dialogue and you would still know what's going on.
  71. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    What the movie lacks in plot and character development, it more than makes up with some of the best action scenes ever to be filmed. The movie is directed by Gareth Evans and Iko Uwais stars in it. This is their second collaboration. The Raid tops their previous entry (Merantau) in terms of action and violence. I recommend this movie to any one who likes action movies. The movie showcases the Indonesian martial arts called Silat. Expand
  72. May 1, 2014
    8
    HOLY S...! Hollywood Action movies (Even Matrix) must've been sit and cry after seeing how the fight scenes wonderfully executed in this movie. Sure, like every action movie this movie also had some cliches like Main Character's wife being pregnant or overly predictable story twists but it didn't took away from the experience. In most of the Hollywood film the Main Character is practically invincible. You feel that that character can not die. It's not the case in this film. You can feel that the main character in danger and could die. If you are a action movie lover. You should definitely see this movie!!!! Expand
  73. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    Great action, dialogue driven as well. Acting is good, my copy has good translation subtitled. Very decent plot and though unbelievable to Americans, not too crazy for certain places I've lived as far as corruption, gangs and violence are concerned. It is over the top obviously but I've seen and heard of lower scale craziness. The filmography is very well done, doesn't abuse the "shaky Byrne cam" thing. Expand
  74. Aug 6, 2014
    9
    The Raid: Redemption could have used more human element or just character depth, that is where it mostly lacks. Other than that, this is one of the best action movies I have seen in a very long while.
  75. Oct 5, 2014
    8
    4/5★ If you like your action movies with more action and less story, this is the movie for you. Rough, tough and mind-numbingly, amazingly violent, The Raid is non stop adrenalin: Someone is getting hit, kicked, stabbed or shot during most of the incredibly intense fight scenes.
    There is little character development to distract from all the bloodshed; whether that's a good thing or a bad
    thing is up to you!
    Verdict: For the action connoisseur.
    Expand
  76. Nov 10, 2014
    7
    Seen it and it reminded Tony Jaa's The Protector or Tom Yum Goong. And I find what... It's awesome. First I thought of it as a typical shooting film. It satisfies your eyes for believing everything that you're watching. Because Rotten Tomatoes gave it 85% which is pretty high of course, some people said it's overrated type things. I don't believe it, it deserves it.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    May 14, 2012
    100
    Remember your first time with Hard Boiled? Die Hard? This is how it's done - a clean, hard, constant hit of adrenalin. If it's not the best action movie of the year, we'll eat a fridge.
  2. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Apr 14, 2012
    60
    This is a movie to be experienced on a more visceral level. As long as you don't expect anything more, you won't be disappointed.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Apr 13, 2012
    63
    Built on shaky and blood-soaked ground, but if towering technique is all you want from an action movie, then yippee-ki-yay.