Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 196 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , , , ,
  • Summary: A Swat team arrives at a rundown apartment block with a mission to remove its owner, a notorious drug lord named Tama. The building has never been raided before, never been touched by police. Seen as a no go zone it has since become a sanctuary to killers, gangs, rapists and thieves seeking accommodation in the one place they know they cannot be touched. Making their move in the break of dawn the swat team work their way up the building under cover of silence. But when a chance encounter with a spotter blows their cover and with news of their assault traveling to Tama in his penthouse suite the building is locked down with all lights out and all exits blocked. Stranded on the 6th floor the swat team must fight their way through every floor and every room not just to complete their mission but to survive. (Merantau Films) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 2 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Simon Crook
    May 14, 2012
    100
    Remember your first time with Hard Boiled? Die Hard? This is how it's done - a clean, hard, constant hit of adrenalin. If it's not the best action movie of the year, we'll eat a fridge.
  2. Reviewed by: Shawn Levy
    Mar 29, 2012
    91
    This is the sort of film for which the phrase 'movie-movie' was coined -- and coined as a term of highest praise.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Mar 22, 2012
    90
    It offers some of the best Asian martial-arts choreography of recent years and an electric, claustrophobic puzzle-palace atmosphere that'll leave you wrung out and buzzed.
  4. Reviewed by: Robert Koehler
    Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Taking the genre to a higher level of intensity, the Welsh-born Evans continues what he started in previous Indonesia-set actioner "Merantau," but this picture will seal his cult status.
  5. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Mar 23, 2012
    75
    The action is brutal, bloody and virtually nonstop in this adrenaline-packed riff on "Assault on Precinct 13.''
  6. Reviewed by: Bill Goodykoontz
    Apr 11, 2012
    70
    If you like martial-arts films, it's well worth your while, a non-stop orgy of brilliantly choreographed fight scenes. Eventually it's all too much, a blur of fists, blades and snapped bones that run together. Still, it's a wild ride.
  7. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Mar 21, 2012
    25
    This film is about violence. All violence. Wall-to-wall violence. Against many of those walls, heads are pounded again and again into a pulpy mass. If I estimated the film has 10 minutes of dialogue, that would be generous.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 69
  2. Negative: 4 out of 69
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    Its amazing some of the best martial arts I have ever seen great movie a must see for action and fight fans.
    Non stop action pretty straight
    forward story left the cinema buzzing. Expand
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    Wow, good movie. The Raid: Redemption is a big option after watching The Hunger Games, have an amazing story, great characters, is an amzing film. The movie is a great classic. Expand
  3. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    An intense adrenalin packed movie. It's short on plot, but if you're looking for a pure action film, this is probably one of the best release in years...or even the best. Reminiscent of kinetic gun battles from early John Woo films mixed with intense martial arts scenes and filmed in a style of the better comtemporary action thrillers....this movie is definitely a winner. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2012
    9
    The best film I saw this year. And I think it should please all the people who enjoy martial art. Some parts deserves to be cult. And the photography directing is also pretty good. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2014
    9
    This is easily one of the best action movies to come out in a long time. The action was intense and the fight scenes were some of the best I've seen in a long time. It was your stereotypical fare with the story. Even still it's pretty weak but that's not why you watch this movie. The only knock I'll give this is the fact that they had people do an english version of it and it's beyond bad. I don't mind having to watch the subtitles for a movie like this and I would definitely recommend watching it that way. Skip the english voice over dub completely. Stick with the original Indonesian version with subtitles. Expand
  6. Jun 2, 2012
    8
    The Raid is an amazing martial arts movie. Even though it might sacrifice it's characters and story for more action, at least the action is flawless. I don't think I've ever seen such awe inspiring hand to hand combat. It was very well choreographed, and even though it was pretty much a stage to show of some great fighting, the story and characters proved to be decent ones that kept me invested in the movie. It's sad that very few Americans will see this because of their laziness when it comes to reading subtitles, because it is much better than the typical Hollywood action movie. Expand
  7. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    Mindless violence for mindless chop-saki freaks.

    OK, to fill in the required 150 characters, I'll mention non-stop gratuitous violence,
    weak plot, vapid dialog dubbed into flat English, and no redeeming artistic merit. Expand

See all 69 User Reviews

Trailers