The Ring Two

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 185 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 185

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. wossname
    Apr 1, 2005
    6
    Despite the plot holes and predictable 'jumps', Hideo Nakata delivers tension where The Ring delivered boredom and the two leads (Watts and Dorfman) are both far better than in the original. The Ring and The Ring Two are both inferior to the Japanese originals but Nakata has improved the American franchise to a point where he has created a movie worth watching.
  2. becky
    Nov 3, 2005
    5
    Well because only it was disappointing whenRachel closes the well my 2nd mum says there will be a 3rd but i do not think so and when loads of people say that Adian will die and he did not get abused
  3. KevinH.
    Mar 21, 2005
    6
    Even though the movie is slower paced and not nearly as scary as the first, I will never look at deer, as I pass them on the side of the road, the same way again! "DON'T STOP!!"
  4. ClintM
    Mar 22, 2005
    6
    I would say don't go into the movie expecting to walk away with the same creeped out feeling or fear that the first ring left you with. This one is much slower paced and in places feels a little ... anti-climactic? Like all the reviews say, the story of the video tape is basically gone, and the real focus is on Samara and her search for a human body to take over/a mommy of her I would say don't go into the movie expecting to walk away with the same creeped out feeling or fear that the first ring left you with. This one is much slower paced and in places feels a little ... anti-climactic? Like all the reviews say, the story of the video tape is basically gone, and the real focus is on Samara and her search for a human body to take over/a mommy of her own/and of course she's up for creeping us out too with that stringy black hair! There were a few genuine scares, and yes, the deers were more than a little disturbing. But ultimately I left feeling a little let down. I wish the tape would have been more of a focus because it worked so well in the first movie and definitely made me a little afraid of the VCR! Expand
  5. jefff.
    Apr 20, 2005
    4
    A little bit better than the first one but thats not saying much. Not scary. What were all those deer doing in it anyway?
  6. ChrisR.
    May 7, 2005
    5
    The Ring Two is a horror flick and a sequel to 2002 blockbuster The Ring and, although this movie can stand on its own, it's helpful if you've seen the original to understand the background. The premise of the original is based upon an urban legend that if you watch a certain video tape, you will die a gruesome death in 7 days at the hands of an evil spirit .... unless you make The Ring Two is a horror flick and a sequel to 2002 blockbuster The Ring and, although this movie can stand on its own, it's helpful if you've seen the original to understand the background. The premise of the original is based upon an urban legend that if you watch a certain video tape, you will die a gruesome death in 7 days at the hands of an evil spirit .... unless you make a copy of the tape and give it to someone else to watch, in which case you survive and this new person becomes the victim with the clock ticking and the same option. In this way, the tape "lives" through multiple reproduction with more potential victims. The premise in this movie is slightly different ... what happens if you don't watch the video and instead destroy it? Well, ... essentially you really, really anger the evil spirit and it comes after you and your loved ones with a vengeance. Like all sequels, this one tries to capitalize on the success of the original. And falls short. Most of the "scary" parts are the results of "theater tricks", i.e. sudden loud noises, unexpected quick actions (a hand from nowhere suddenly grabs the actor's shoulder, making everyone jump, that type of thing), etc. Wasn't that impressed; give this one a 5. Expand
  7. StanM.
    Oct 20, 2005
    4
    I was a huge fan of the first film so I was really disappointed by this half-baked piece of junk. This movie had none of the scares and definitely none of the creepiness of the first one. There were so many wholes in this story it was ridiculous. First, why the heck would Rachel even have a television in her house let alone a video player? Didn't the writer see Poltergeist and the I was a huge fan of the first film so I was really disappointed by this half-baked piece of junk. This movie had none of the scares and definitely none of the creepiness of the first one. There were so many wholes in this story it was ridiculous. First, why the heck would Rachel even have a television in her house let alone a video player? Didn't the writer see Poltergeist and the all important last seen when the family shoves the television out of their motel room? And what was up with the deers? I mean were we supposed to believe that somehow deers can sense evil or was Aiden actually Damian from the Omen? And finally why didn't they just tell uswho or what Samara was? Maybe they think people will actually pay to see The Ring Three. If you haven't seen the first American version of The Ring see that and if you have don't waste your time on this. Expand
  8. Jake
    Mar 17, 2005
    5
    Tedious the original Ring was not - the mortal urgency of Samara's assured promise upon viewing the tape (seven days...) made sure that the inevitable narrative was as propulsively nervewracking as it was relentlessly inevitable. The Ring 2, while luring us in initially with a scene that neatly echoes and twists the opening of the first film, proceeds to make a complete hash of all Tedious the original Ring was not - the mortal urgency of Samara's assured promise upon viewing the tape (seven days...) made sure that the inevitable narrative was as propulsively nervewracking as it was relentlessly inevitable. The Ring 2, while luring us in initially with a scene that neatly echoes and twists the opening of the first film, proceeds to make a complete hash of all that made the first film a success - momentum being the chief casualty. Ring 2 mostly lurches for one baroque set piece to another, defying even the maddening internal logic of the first. Trying to assemble a purposeful narrative out of its disparate part is mostly a waste of time - it doesn't necessarily have to make SENSE, but I'd like for each scene to proceed with some necessity. This never happens. Ambiguity and uncertainty are also victims here - I won't spoil anything, but you'll probably find out more about Samara than is good for underlying terror of what she is and represents. But the main concern here is a simple one - Ring 2 just isn't very scary. The Ring accomplished a neat bait and switch, luring in you into what you thought was another teenager/urban legend schlockfest, before upending your expectations quite suddenly, transforming itself into a pretty diquieting violation of movie/audience trust. But, and I'll say this for this film, Ring 2 never really purports to be a horror film, and if watched with this in mind, becomes an interesting psychological thriller centering around the maternal anxiety that was merely a peripheral to the original. So...a middling 5, but this might actually be better if you hadn't seen the original and come into it fresh. Expand
  9. Warlok
    Mar 21, 2005
    6
    Worth seeing if you loved the original. Some plot holes and also some silly parts, but still has some of the chilling Samara scares. Not even remotely as scary as the first one, but really, how could it be? Bad: The "air injection" scene is pretty silly. Good: Samara's climbing skills!
  10. SangHeeJ
    Mar 28, 2005
    6
    The original Ringu was much better than the Ring. I personally like the Japanese originals of movies like these. This movie was too predictable. You could tell exactly what was going to happen during the "scary" parts and you could put the puzzle together before the actors on screen had been able to. the movie was trying too hard to par up with the original and made itself too easy to The original Ringu was much better than the Ring. I personally like the Japanese originals of movies like these. This movie was too predictable. You could tell exactly what was going to happen during the "scary" parts and you could put the puzzle together before the actors on screen had been able to. the movie was trying too hard to par up with the original and made itself too easy to figure out. There was too much of the distorted faces than there needed to be and Samara's water-levitating scene looked like it belonged in a martial arts film. It was good for the moment, but I would never go to see it again. Expand
  11. Natalia
    Apr 28, 2005
    4
    The only reason that I am even giving this anytthing above a 1 is because honestly the movie was just plain funny. I really walked out thinking I had just seen a comedy. The whole movie was a joke and the deer attacking the car, I was just hysterically laughing at that part, that's just how random, funny and completely ridiculous that scene was. Other than that nothing of the plot The only reason that I am even giving this anytthing above a 1 is because honestly the movie was just plain funny. I really walked out thinking I had just seen a comedy. The whole movie was a joke and the deer attacking the car, I was just hysterically laughing at that part, that's just how random, funny and completely ridiculous that scene was. Other than that nothing of the plot stood out. It was not intriguing, or scary and just too convoluted and implausible. Collapse
  12. Jul 1, 2012
    6
    Mediocre sequel which takes the originality of the first movie and ruin it with a tired concept which has been done over and over. The actors to their best but part of me still cant help dislike the kid.
  13. Sep 3, 2011
    5
    Naomi Watts acted really well throughout the film, but that's about all that is good about it. The film has plot holes everywhere, and after a while, everything becomes a bore. A huge disappointment, especially compared to the original "The Ring", and the Japanese "Ringu".
  14. Apr 11, 2013
    4
    The Ring Two does have an entertaining opening sequences, but then it because a boring, scare-free and completely dumb sequel with bad CG and a lack of creepy imagery that was used in the first film.
  15. Jun 7, 2015
    6
    It took me too long to finally get around to watching this. Being such a huge fan of the original, and hearing dreadful things about the sequel, my expectations were rather low. While it's nothing exceptional, The Ring Two is a moderately creepy sequel, even if it does seem like a departure from the original's themes. In The Ring Two, Rachel and her son, Aidan, have moved away to Oregon toIt took me too long to finally get around to watching this. Being such a huge fan of the original, and hearing dreadful things about the sequel, my expectations were rather low. While it's nothing exceptional, The Ring Two is a moderately creepy sequel, even if it does seem like a departure from the original's themes. In The Ring Two, Rachel and her son, Aidan, have moved away to Oregon to get away from the terrifying events that occured in Seattle, but Samara has followed them and plans on taking Aidan's life for her own. Something you'll notice from the very first scene is how much different this movie is to its predecessor. Where The Ring used the seven-day time limit to create tension and simple, yet haunting visuals to scare its audience, The Ring Two seems to focus more on big, flashy special effects to overwhelm the viewer. That becomes a huge distraction throughout the entire film, as the CGI looks cheesy and outdated today. This tone of the movie also seems very unfocused. The tone meanders throughout the entire film, going from your average ghost flick to a mystery-thriller like the original to a sort of evil child movie. That's not to say it isn't engaging; The Ring Two is, for the most part, rather entertaining, and it never tries, fortunately, it never tries to be too "intelligent", and then end up being convoluted and confusing. The plot itself is very tight and controlled. It's just tonally inconsistent. I also want to mention the incredible score. It's seriously one of the best and most memorable scores to any horror film in recent memory, and it really adds to the creepy atmosphere of the movie. The Ring Two is certainly not a remarkable film, but it is an entertaining and creepy little supernatural thriller. Expand
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 37
  2. Negative: 9 out of 37
  1. While nearly every shock comes at predictable moments, there is genuine ingenuity behind many, and the movie is surprisingly fresh for one made by a guy on his third go-round with the same material.
  2. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    50
    Half-intriguing, half-tedious.
  3. The scariest thing in the not-scary-enough The Ring Two is the notion that even smart, attractive adults - yikes, even mothers - just never learn, either.