DreamWorks Distribution | Release Date: October 18, 2002
4.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 314 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
115
Mixed:
45
Negative:
154
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SamOct 20, 2005
A pretty good movie when it comes to plot and acting, but what about the scares? Or should I say, what scares? It's not scary whatsoever, it's just an entertaining, well done dissapointment, because I heard so many people say it A pretty good movie when it comes to plot and acting, but what about the scares? Or should I say, what scares? It's not scary whatsoever, it's just an entertaining, well done dissapointment, because I heard so many people say it was TERRIFYING or PEE-WORTHY and it's not even close to any. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
MJaquesMay 24, 2011
Oh my. I still don't understand why this fascinates people so. I bought this as a special edition DVD after hearing so much about it. And, well. It doesn't really scare. It's got some interesting plot pieces, and it's fine to watch... butOh my. I still don't understand why this fascinates people so. I bought this as a special edition DVD after hearing so much about it. And, well. It doesn't really scare. It's got some interesting plot pieces, and it's fine to watch... but it's really an overproduced, over-hyped, and rather awful horror movie. The Village will give more shock value, and the 'psychological horror' is simply not there. You won't have nightmares. You'll barely bat an eyelid. Most of the film is spent expecting something interesting to happen. It does. Maybe twice. Worth a cheap buy, or a late night boredom-killer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
At the time, I recall an obsession amongst the public. Looking back, it's dated. Largely because of it's VHS nature. The Ring is successful in its thrills, but unfortunately not a Gore Verbinski masterpiece.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonApr 9, 2013
It's a real horror thrilling film with actual goosebumps raising on your arms. And it holds a perfectly gripping story- very horrific and violent though. The film is effective on the mind and is visually brilliant through horror and graphic.It's a real horror thrilling film with actual goosebumps raising on your arms. And it holds a perfectly gripping story- very horrific and violent though. The film is effective on the mind and is visually brilliant through horror and graphic. The tape is very scary as Gore Verbinski has made it. Very gripping and a masterpiece from start to Finish. Now, a normal sensitive person wouldn't watch this movie because its very very scary movie but if you look it by thriller it's very intense and gripping. The tape is very unusual and weird telling the horrific story of Samara Morgan the main focused part of the movie- the villain and the controller of the tape. You wouldn't get the climax and you would with Samara creaking out of the tv that the camera guy is watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
The Ring provides its fail share of thrills but fails to provide enough scares to live up to its "horror" premise, even with its interesting plot and characters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
eagleeyevikingDec 14, 2013
The Ring provides its fail share of thrills but fails to provide enough scares to live up to its "horror" premise, even with its interesting plot and characters.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JivkoNov 30, 2007
Excellent movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GordonM.Jul 24, 2006
This is the best movie of all time! I personally can't see what people are moaning about! I was so scared when Samara came out of the T.V. It is the perfect horror movie, and Naomi Watts played the part perfectly. My friends love it, I This is the best movie of all time! I personally can't see what people are moaning about! I was so scared when Samara came out of the T.V. It is the perfect horror movie, and Naomi Watts played the part perfectly. My friends love it, I love it, so it IS the best movie ever made! Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
2
RyanLopezOct 25, 2010
This is possibly the worst movie I have seen in my 13 years of life!. It's interesting but there is also a lot of things missing. I mean the worst part for me was when the horse was killed. What the hell is in the directors mind shooting thisThis is possibly the worst movie I have seen in my 13 years of life!. It's interesting but there is also a lot of things missing. I mean the worst part for me was when the horse was killed. What the hell is in the directors mind shooting this scene, I am a strong animal lover, so i hated it. TWO THUMBS DOWN Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
9
AristonOct 22, 2005
One of the scariest movies of the last few years - if you've got some imagination, that is. The film delightfully misleads you at the beginning, making you think this will be just another generic teeny slasher flick. It becomes One of the scariest movies of the last few years - if you've got some imagination, that is. The film delightfully misleads you at the beginning, making you think this will be just another generic teeny slasher flick. It becomes something much darker (and better), an intelligent tale about trust, belief and guilt that rightfully centers on Naomi Watts, who delivers a fantastic performance. Gore Verbinski uses a surprisingly light touch and is very economical with his scare tactics. The film does what a good horror film should do: leave a good part of things to the imagination. There are one or two twists that are not quite believable, but on the whole, RING stays true to its formula, which is to provide an intelligent scare for people who truly value the genre. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
1
KevinB.Jul 21, 2006
okey dokey...first off: the only reason it gets a 1 is cause some of the screen shots were pretty cool, being a black & white photographer and all. But as a movie? This was a complete and utter waste of time...sadly most scarey movies are okey dokey...first off: the only reason it gets a 1 is cause some of the screen shots were pretty cool, being a black & white photographer and all. But as a movie? This was a complete and utter waste of time...sadly most scarey movies are like this today: not scarey. A little girl who records herself crawling out of a well, and then gives it to somebody and makes funny noises. The only reason I saw it in the theater? A friend of mine was scared to see it. While alot of people were screaming in fear, me and a few other strangers got together and made fun of it. OMG! a little girl with black hair! AH save me! now i cant sleep for Weeks!!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
AaronMJan 30, 2009
I'd say it's more of a Mystery/suspense than a horror movie. It was interesting finding out what all of the weird stuff was about. Not particularly "scary" but the video is freaking creepy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
8
GavinCJul 28, 2009
It will be difficult to find a modern horror movie quite as scary as this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
YoshinarutoJun 9, 2011
It is scary, it is suspenseful, and it has a great story. The acting was excellent, and you never know how its going to end. It was one of the scariest movies I have seen, although movies don't really scare me that much.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
A haunting and hypnotic show fueled by a flawlessly determined performance from the extraordinarily talented Naomi Watts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
trevortalksNov 14, 2012
Scary as hell.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
horcrux2007Sep 24, 2014
I consider "The Ring" to be a classic now. It's scary, suspenseful, and engaging. The twists and turns of the story keep you guessing even in the slower parts of the film. "The Ring" is really more of a mystery with some elements of horrorI consider "The Ring" to be a classic now. It's scary, suspenseful, and engaging. The twists and turns of the story keep you guessing even in the slower parts of the film. "The Ring" is really more of a mystery with some elements of horror than straight-up horror. There are definitely some very scary scenes such as the opening scene and when Samara comes out of the TV, but the film is really about trying to crack the curse. The fact that the main character, Rachel, only has seven days to break the curse adds an extra level of tension. "The Ring" also has great acting from the entire cast, and the cinematography is amazing. This really isn't the sort of movie that resorts to jump scares and excessive gore to scare the audience; it's all about tension and atmosphere. "The Ring" is definitely one of the better, if not, the best remake of an Asian horror film. It's really one of the best horror movies of the 2000's. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Zanessa250QIJul 24, 2015
Naomi Watts an actress so talented an actress so hot he's boobs in Munholland Drive so beautiful and the hot delicious nipples pinks,and in 21 grams a nipples so hard ...
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Laurens.May 14, 2006
I had to sleep with my parents for three nights. very very terrifying. my friends and i are still scared of samara. compelling, and psychlogical. loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
NathanAOct 27, 2008
Movie was freaking brilliant. Watched it at night with sound turned all the way up on my 32 inch T.V. Scared the living daylights outta me. Story was decent, Special effects was great, music brought the entire movie together nicely and it Movie was freaking brilliant. Watched it at night with sound turned all the way up on my 32 inch T.V. Scared the living daylights outta me. Story was decent, Special effects was great, music brought the entire movie together nicely and it was scary. It did a times become a bit cheesy and rather drawn out but, overall it was a good movie which entertained me a lot. Which in the end, is all that matters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MelNov 11, 2005
Let's face it, this movie is not scary. It draws you in because you wonder what happened to the little girl and why she wants to hurt people, but sleepless nights? I don't think so! 'White Noise' gave me sleepless nights Let's face it, this movie is not scary. It draws you in because you wonder what happened to the little girl and why she wants to hurt people, but sleepless nights? I don't think so! 'White Noise' gave me sleepless nights and is far scarier. This is just an interesting supernatural thriller. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WillJun 27, 2006
I was shocked and appauled when I saw that The Ring only scored a 57 on metacritic.com. Clearly the reviewers presented failed to see not only the cinematic brilliance of the film, but the intelligence of it's winding plotline. Some of I was shocked and appauled when I saw that The Ring only scored a 57 on metacritic.com. Clearly the reviewers presented failed to see not only the cinematic brilliance of the film, but the intelligence of it's winding plotline. Some of the shots in The Ring are simply breathtaking, and the cinematography alone makes it worth seeing. As well, the "evil" tape itself is very sophisticated, and many of the images presented are viewed by many psychologists as "death images" i.e the maggots, the empty chair, and the ladder to nowhere. As for the plot line; it twists and turns always keeps you guessing. Despite it's complexity, their are no loose ends left, and by the end of the movie everything fits together like clockwork. Like other artistic horror movies such as 28 Days Later, The Ring is horrifying in it's imagery and atmosphere, not through blood and guts. It may not be the scariest movie that you'll ever see, but I definitely had goosebumps throughout. I'm VERY dissapointed to see that so many of the above reviews have failed to see the intelligence that Verbinski applies to each and every camera angle. If you have half a brain about you, I recommend The Ring over any other horror movie in recent years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
billrullerFeb 24, 2012
This movie came out when I was about 12 years old and never saw it b/c my older sister said it was too scary. I'm 19 at this time and finally saw the movie. Before I put in my thoughts, I am TERRIFIED of The Grudge. Kayako is by far myThis movie came out when I was about 12 years old and never saw it b/c my older sister said it was too scary. I'm 19 at this time and finally saw the movie. Before I put in my thoughts, I am TERRIFIED of The Grudge. Kayako is by far my biggest fear ever. But a lot of people say this is scarier. When I bought the DVD, I was prepared to be frightened. But honestly, I was wondering if this was the movie they were talking about. I didn't find the movie as scary as The Grudge. It didn't even feel like a horror film, more of a thriller like "The Sixth Sense." It shouldn't be compared to The Grudge, that movie scared me to death. This movie puts me to sleep. It had like 90% dialogue and 10% scare scene. The scene that did make me frightened was the beginning when a teenage girl gets killed. But the scene that did scare me was when Samara crawled out of the TV. But that's all they got? I was wondering if I got the right version, they say this was the scariest movie ever. But I looked it up, and it is the right version. I felt like this was a complete let down, I wanted to be scared **** However, if this is not as scary as people say it is, is it still bad? Possibly....no. The movie did make sense, the characters are likable, and the scenes are perfect. I will give the movie a little credit. But if you didn't see this movie yet and was thinking the same way I was, to be scared **** I would say go see The Grudge, Mirrors, and Insidious if you want to be scared. But still check this movie out if you like The Sixth Sense, you'll like this movie too. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
tvbuffJan 12, 2011
Come on, what are people looking for? One of the scariest lines I've ever heard/seen. "Mom you weren't supposed to help her". I know it's a copied Americanized version but still unique to us. As scary to an adult as a movie can be in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SuperTakashiiMar 12, 2011
A compelling and interesting movie which has unfortunately been mislabelled as a horror movie. It would be more appropriately dubbed a supernatural mystery.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Nick5414Oct 4, 2011
Naomi Watts is great and the movie is incredibly scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AdurApr 11, 2011
First of all I am not a big fan of horror or shock movies, though I'll check one out now and then. I didn't know what to expect with this flick, but it ended up being the first film since the exorcist that had me feeling a steady chill ofFirst of all I am not a big fan of horror or shock movies, though I'll check one out now and then. I didn't know what to expect with this flick, but it ended up being the first film since the exorcist that had me feeling a steady chill of creepiness coursing through my body the whole time. There were a few "gotcha" shock moments, but they didn't hit that hard. The strength of the film is it's mood/aura. I have to knock a few points off though because of some minor plot holes and some things not being explained/fleshed out in a way that would have been proper and satisfying for this movie.

I also don't get what it was about the TV scene that stuck with so many people. The whole scene in the well is the one I'll never forget. Just gave me such an ultra creepy feeling.

Oh and one last note - I really want to impregnate Naomi Watts.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
aaronpaul121Oct 3, 2012
It is definitely NOT a good horror film. It is really scary for me, to be honest. But when it comes to the technical aspects, it wasn't as good as those classic horror films. Overall, this is just average..............
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davenbettridgeJul 10, 2011
I had the chance to watch The Ring again over the weekend as I hadnt seen the movie for several years and had fond memories of it when it first came out. The movie holds up fairly well despite that the flickering creepy visuals which onI had the chance to watch The Ring again over the weekend as I hadnt seen the movie for several years and had fond memories of it when it first came out. The movie holds up fairly well despite that the flickering creepy visuals which on release seemed fresh and original are now very common place in film and television. The tone and the creepy atmosphere are still what the movie does well, its very relieving to watch a horror movie that doesnt rely on violence and gore to get its message out. The acting and characters do their job and the plot holes arent big enough to be too distracting. Overall I would still consider The Ring one of my favourite modern horror movies, still being creepy and intriguing, despite perhaps not standing out of the crowd as much as it once did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
vini1904Aug 14, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A great thriller with a great plot, and several scenes with alarms and can best be left to the final scene where Samara is finally seen coming out of television to make just another victim in his gaze. The film manages to leave you "stuck" until the final minutes and then you wonder what will happen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
savannahrummelDec 24, 2011
Though I am not a huge fan of horror movies, I was pleasantly thrilled by this movie. Unlike a lot of movies, The Ring did not focus solely on sex and violence to sell the plot, nor did it rely on sudden jolts or murderers jumping out at theThough I am not a huge fan of horror movies, I was pleasantly thrilled by this movie. Unlike a lot of movies, The Ring did not focus solely on sex and violence to sell the plot, nor did it rely on sudden jolts or murderers jumping out at the character in order to scare the audience. Instead, most of the horror came from the expectation of something scary, or from the disturbing nature of what was happening; the famous TV-scene was enough to make me avoid my television for a couple of hours. All in all, it was an entertaining movie and piqued my interest in the second one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TTW107Feb 11, 2012
In my opinion The Ring is one of the better scary movies of all time. I saw this at age 11 and I remember having nightmares for weeks about it. I don't care who you are, this sh*t will creep you out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
csw12May 18, 2014
The Ring is too slow with nothing interesting happening for most of the movie. It's a disappointment when comes to being scary and providing any thrills.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29May 24, 2014
The overall idea of the film is great and should provide for interesting movie watching, but the film is a total bore. Who wants to see a movie where the main character is annoying? Some many questions, so little answers.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleOct 25, 2015
There are far scarier films out there than The Ring, but that does not mean it did not scare me at times. There are some truly terrifying moments to be found in The Ring, but really, where it succeeds is a non-reliance on those scares.There are far scarier films out there than The Ring, but that does not mean it did not scare me at times. There are some truly terrifying moments to be found in The Ring, but really, where it succeeds is a non-reliance on those scares. Through a truly creepy atmosphere set by director Gore Verbinski and composer Hans Zimmer, The Ring keeps you on edge without having to terrify you. In this way, The Ring is far more thriller than horror film, rather it is a thriller with horror elements. The way it adds to this with a great mystery/detective component as they try to figure out the backstory to the tape is captivating and truly engaging. I know it is a remake, but it still felt very refreshing in that way. Naomi Watts is great in this one, as are David Dorfman and Brian Cox. There may be scarier horror-type films out there, but not many as well crafted and put together as The Ring. What it lacks in scares, it more than makes up for with great direction, music, acting, and a killer story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
axelkochSep 21, 2012
Gore Verbinski made a highly thrilling movie, although there are almost none of the usual shock effects. It's no masterpiece and sometimes there stay gaps in the plot, but all in all, this is is a great psycho thriller with two really goodGore Verbinski made a highly thrilling movie, although there are almost none of the usual shock effects. It's no masterpiece and sometimes there stay gaps in the plot, but all in all, this is is a great psycho thriller with two really good child actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JacobparkerMay 20, 2013
Not that scary.
Just the last scene, when Samara is coming out of the TV.
In conclusion "The Ring" is not bad, but there are some moments which didn't make sense at all, and it was not as scary as I expected.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Luke_McLaughlinJul 29, 2013
The Ring is a clever script that doesn't quite come through in the clutch. It leaves so many questions unanswered at the end of the film that it is frustrating. However, the entire movie keeps the viewer on the edge of their seat wanting toThe Ring is a clever script that doesn't quite come through in the clutch. It leaves so many questions unanswered at the end of the film that it is frustrating. However, the entire movie keeps the viewer on the edge of their seat wanting to know what will happen next. There are satisfying moments of suspense, tension, thrill, and fear. The film lacks exposition which hurts the main characters like-ability throughout, but despite the writing flaws Watts and Henderson do a decent job. The cinematography is breathtaking for a horror film and the sound mixing is exceptional. I have not indulged in the second of the series yet, but after this strong showing I will absolutely check it out. The Ring is a a few answers away from being a groundbreaking horror hit, and for die hard horror fans is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MuddsjrNov 9, 2014
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Ring feels too lengthy in the solving of the mystery, with not much proper action coming from the girl herself coming out the Telly. It feels a horror story best told by ear, 'you watch a video of this possessed girl and you get a telephone call saying you die 7 days later'. The film as well leaves many plot holes, how did this girl somehow manage to make a video in the first place? Why is it intended to kill whoever watches it 7 days later? Also, did Naomi seriously go into her friend's flat, find his dead body in a chair, then just leave him there and run back to her flat?
It's summed up, a fairly average film with too abrupt an ending, I'll admit, it keeps your attention, but otherwise, I went through this film wanting more horror and consistency.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
youlouzJan 3, 2015
This is my favorite hour movie of all time, I have never seen such an impressive horror movie with jump scares, lost changes, sudden changes, and disturbing imagery. This movie truly leaves you with something to think about in the end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
To describe The Ring, two adjectives leap to mind: spooky and lame. The former refers to the tone and atmosphere, which are about as good as it gets for a ghost story. The latter refers to the storyline, which is about as poorly constructedTo describe The Ring, two adjectives leap to mind: spooky and lame. The former refers to the tone and atmosphere, which are about as good as it gets for a ghost story. The latter refers to the storyline, which is about as poorly constructed as can be imagined – a sad amalgamation of irritating contrivances and gaping plot holes that defy even a generous attempt to suspend disbelief. And, while I normally appreciate open-ended motion pictures, The Ring takes things too far by leaving about 75% of its questions unanswered. This isn't an artistic choice; it's screenwriting sloppiness, and it results in a profoundly dissatisfying experience.

I knew the moment I exited The Ring that I didn't like the movie, but the gloomy atmosphere is so seductive that it took me a while to realize why. The problem lies in the storytelling. The Ring is an incoherent mess, and the more you reflect upon it, the less credible it becomes. (Note: I'm using the word "credible" within the context of the horror/ghost story genre.) The movie seems to have been slapped together without concern about whether anything makes sense. The twist ending feels like something grafted on, and it left me with a question about which was more absurd – the revelation discovered by the main character or the manner in which she makes the discovery.

People who are easily unsettled by ghost stories will be freaked out by The Ring. Director Gore Verbinski has studied the masters and understands exactly what it takes to create the perfect "boo!" moment. The loud noise, the sudden movement, the musical stinger – they're all there, and Verbinski employs them with enough skill to apply the "gotcha!" to even the most jaded, veteran horror fanatic a time or two. Unfortunately, that's about all this movie has going for it – quick, cheap thrills. The Ring is a remake of a Japanese movie that I have not seen. Fans of the original swear by it, which leads me to believe that it must be a lot better than the American version.

Naomi Watts, making her follow-up to David Lynch's Mulholland Drive, is suitably appealing as Rachel. (Is it just me, or does Watts resemble a blond version of her friend, Nicole Kidman?) Martin Henderson is fine as her ex-boyfriend and investigative partner. And Brian Cox has a chilling cameo. Unfortunately, the other key player, child actor David Dorfman, is a blank slate. He comes across as a knockoff of Haley Joel Osment in The Sixth Sense – and that's a performance I wasn't terribly excited by in the first place.

I don't recommend The Ring, but it's the kind of movie that could play well to small groups watching it on TV with all the lights out. At least there's no overload of gore – Verbinski has elected to go the suspense route. Unfortunately, he has such a weak script that his efforts amount to a not-so-triumphant victory of style over substance.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UrbanlistenerNov 24, 2015
Fairly decent adaptation of the original one. Well acted, well paced, interesting and convincing. Some truly disturbing scenes, lots of scary stuff, earned jumpscares, suspense, a good musical theme and an ongoing eerie sensation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
asmanrajOct 3, 2015
I guess this movie got mixed reviews from critics because it's a remake. I saw the American version before the Japanese one, like most Americans. I saw The Ring in theaters when I was 14, and it terrified me to to no end. I lost sleep. II guess this movie got mixed reviews from critics because it's a remake. I saw the American version before the Japanese one, like most Americans. I saw The Ring in theaters when I was 14, and it terrified me to to no end. I lost sleep. I watched it again and it still terrified me. This is the scariest movie I have ever seen. Movies are scarier the younger you are, and they're also scarier in theaters than at home. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
Before you die, you see 'The Ring,' " as the ads for this American remake of a famous Japanese suspense film tell us. With ads like this, the movie has certainly built up a lot of anticipation. But while impressively made, this impassive andBefore you die, you see 'The Ring,' " as the ads for this American remake of a famous Japanese suspense film tell us. With ads like this, the movie has certainly built up a lot of anticipation. But while impressively made, this impassive and cold feature fails, in a spectacular fashion, to deliver the thrills.

The film, which opens nationwide today, is about an urban legend that has come to life: whenever a mysterious, unlabeled videotape is run, its unlucky viewer gets a phone call just after seeing it. The voice on the other end of the phone says simply, "Seven days." It's how long the viewer has to live — and the corpse looks like something out of a Francis Bacon daydream.

When her niece dies after seeing the tape, Rachel (Naomi Watts), a Seattle reporter, decides to investigate the rumors. And that's when "The Ring" begins its downward spiral. She watches the freakout videotape, which looks like a director's cut of "Closer," the video that starred the band Nine Inch Nails, complete with suffering animals, a fly crawling across the screen and static-ridden flash cuts. As music-video effluvia goes, this tape is not even as unnerving as the outfits Lenny Kravitz wears to the VH1 fashion awards.

Much of what follows consists of close-ups of the clues that Rachel, desperate to beat the clock and stay alive, sifts through to solve the mystery. The screen-filling shots of newspaper headlines and photographs chronicling the grisly deaths could be from a different kind of horror movie: "Night of the Working Dead," starring Nancy Drew.

Initially, Ms. Watts, the versatile star of David Lynch's "Mulholland Drive," does a fine job of communicating Rachel's off-putting toughness. Under the best of circumstances, she scares everyone but her son, Aidan (David Dorfman), and based on the dark circles under his eyes and his solemn, old-man's enunciation, he's got problems of his own. But once it becomes clear that tight-jawed anxiety is surprisingly the only note on her piano, the movie feels numbed. Eventually, the phone calls don't even generate the anxiety of telemarketer hits that come during dinnertime.

The director, Gore Verbinski, stages the opening with a tribute to "Scream," which itself was a tribute to "When a Stranger Calls" — the first scam thriller in which every single scare was in the movie's trailer. Perhaps the most puzzling thing about "The Ring" is that it seems to assume that horror-movie audiences have no memory.

David Dorfman, with his "Village of the Damned" haircut and precocious maturity, seems to have studied at the Haley Joel Osment School of Fine Acting. Though there are a few chilling moments — one big scene involving a horse on a ferry is spectacular — everything in "The Ring" feels recycled, including the picture's look and tone, which are reminiscent of "The Blair Witch Project." "Ringu," the Japanese original of "The Ring," preceded and probably inspired "Blair Witch." Copies of the director Hideo Nakata's 1997 cult classic have made the underground circuit like the deadly videotape that fills the center of the plot of "The Ring."

"Ringu" felt like an era-defining scare picture: whispers about its imminent remake have been drifting through chat rooms since word of its existence first made it to America. But the real spark came from the "Closer" video. And "Closer," the director Mark Romanek's grim, romanticized nightmare, with its well-appointed nihilism — honey dripped over Buñuel — was the perfect integration of visuals and the morose showmanship of the Nails leader Trent Reznor.

At least the channeling of "Ringu" in "The Ring" is reverent. Unfortunately, there are other problems. Mr. Verbinski can assemble a movie like a machine, which worked for the scare comedy '`Mouse Hunt." But here, the mechanical assembly simply emphasizes how devoid of feeling the film is. One particular scene is just such a hollow set piece: a mentally handicapped young man pushes himself backward on a carousel while yet another crucial nugget of plot information is delivered. "The Ring" is there to be admired instead of to creep you out. There's also much huffing and puffing to add a psychological underpinning to the plot.

"The Ring" also rejects the fear-of-girls stain that covered its original. The cinematographer Bojan Bazelli does tone up the bleary-eyed interiors — the movie's color scheme is "Exorcist" green and rotting-plaster white — but it doesn't make much difference; rather, it just exaggerates the relentless sameness. The Seattle location must have been chosen for its sunless, drizzly skies; there are so many shots of car windows weeping with rain that theaters should pass out squeegees.

This seems to be the season for horror movies that are basically teases — offering a promise of a good scare and then running away before delivering. "The Ring" is just one more in that cycle.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reviewfrom19842Aug 10, 2016
A pretty good horror movie better then The Grudge. It's scary, fighting and I wanted to see there this has going to go................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
teddywymanJun 10, 2017
I'm perplexed by all of the negative ratings this movie has received. First, the design of the movie is spot on. It's dreary and rainy and everything seems tinted blue, which gives the film an aura of dread and discomfort throughout. This isI'm perplexed by all of the negative ratings this movie has received. First, the design of the movie is spot on. It's dreary and rainy and everything seems tinted blue, which gives the film an aura of dread and discomfort throughout. This is good though, because it complements the story really well and so it puts you in the right mood for the film. Next, I found the story to actually be really interesting. It follows Naomi Watts as she does some investigating into the inexplicable deaths of some kids (one of whom she knows), and so you find out the twists and turns of the plot just as she does. While it obviously has supernatural elements, it operates in a realm that is plausible, where the characters make intelligent decisions, and where there aren't any cheap scares. You actually care about the main characters and you feel as curious as they do. I also like how, as opposed to the original, there isn't a lot of unexplained exposition. Rather, Watts actually has to SEARCH to put her story together, and added plot elements I think clear the story up and make it more compelling. In terms of scares, it doesn't have many, but that doesn't mean it isn't a scary movie. Again, the scares come from how the film is. It just feels creepy and chilling, and so instead of multiples scares with breaks of comic relief, it's just one long drawn-out scare. You still see Samara out of the corner of your eye when you're home alone at night, and you still jump when the phone rings. One of my favorite horror movies. Chilling, smart, entertaining, and well made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews