User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    Filipino director Yam Laranas mixes atmospheric terror with outright shocks in his latest feature, THE ROAD. An unsolved missing persons case is re-opened when three teens disappear off of the same fateful road twelve years later. What the police will discover is more horrifying than anyone could have imagined, with a string of deaths spanning over two decades! Once Laranas has established his dark, oppressive mood, he never lets up, and follows through with a steady stream of haunting images that will chill you to the bone. The story unfolds in three seemingly unrelated stories, which have been carefully tied together in the end to reveal the sinister secret behind each of the mysterious deaths. Laranas takes a timely approach in introducing each new set of characters, allowing his talented cast to bond with the audience before they meet their inevitable demise. The end result is a well-told ghost story that easily stacks up against its Japanese equivalents JU-ON and RINGU in the terror department. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    Choosing to go down this road will ultimately lead you to a destination of indifference. Well done psychological thriller with a satisfying story and some genuine chills. Slow moving at times and staying engaged becomes tedious. It's not that it's that bad of a film, I'm just saying it's not that great of one either.
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    5
    The story--and the way it's told--is somewhat interesting, but ultimately for a ghost story, one expects it to be a little more thrilling.

    Script: 6/10
    Cinematography: 6/10
    Sound: 5/10 Acting: 5/10
    Production: 4/10
  4. May 15, 2012
    2
    A flat-out bore with very little redeeming qualities. I expect most horror films to be, at the very least, entertaining on some level. Even if the performances are underwhelming and the story thin. But The Road has no intention of such. I was constantly wondering about casting choices, editing decisions, and pacing issues which pulled me out of my suspension-of-disbelief. I really wanted to feel the tension Yam Laranas was desperately trying to convey. I wanted to feel the edge of my seat so bad I actually considered leaving the theater. Expand
  5. May 14, 2012
    7
    The way they sequence the story in this movie is very unique...not the usual past to current events sequence, it works and it makes the movie more interesting and makes the development of the story more anxious. It just lacks that (super) scary moments which will really highlight the movie even more. But if I will look on the overall presentation of the movie, I can say that it is definitely good enough for it to receive high marks from users and critics.... Expand
  6. May 12, 2012
    5
    I'm not sure I understand what all the hype is around this movie. It was mildly entertaining, but if there is anyone that was truly surprised by the ending, I'd have your head checked. My wife and I figured it out by the end of Part II and honestly didn't find the scare tactics all that original. Check it out if you want, but don't go expecting the next Cabin in the Woods or Hostel.
  7. May 12, 2012
    10
    It was a great horror to watch for the first time to watch on its premier here For me it's two thumb ups, it was entertaining,not that scary but it will make me
    Jump out where I sit great
  8. May 11, 2012
    9
    The Year of the horror films, The Innkeepers, The Cabin in the Woods, and The Woman in Black and now the Road, other classic of the horror movies. The trama is really interesting, the development is great, this movie is incredible.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    May 12, 2012
    70
    Laranas does cultivate a mood of distinctive menace and mystery, not to mention a convoluted and ambitious chronology.
  2. Reviewed by: V.A. Musetto
    May 11, 2012
    75
    Director/co-writer/cinematographer, Yam Laranas, still delivers a maximum of suspense and horror, working wonders with a small budget.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    May 10, 2012
    70
    The film's three-pronged narrative does a fair job of laying a spooky groundwork for the revelatory emotional sadism that lies behind most acts of evil; it just takes a bit of clunky exposition to get there.