Freestyle Releasing | Release Date: May 11, 2012
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 26 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
14
Mixed:
9
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
1
apexoneloveAug 30, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Overall: Huge was of time.

Writing and acting is completely non-sensical. I never believed any character motivations. Was a combination of poor editing and casting decisions. Location and the road itself was beautiful.

Opportunity for big scares only fall flat.

Feels like "let's make a horror movie"...but then "let's make it artsy". If this were in the vein of other flix that aren't afraid of gore and actually showing the impacts and deaths it would have been highly successful.

**SPOILERS BELOW**
For instance: Why they go on the 'joyride' seems flimsy. Why they go down some weird road instead of just U turning. There's like one cop on the road ahead of them...probably pulling someone else over and nobody else on the road is getting pulled over so you just decide to turn around?

Seems like budget was allocated to the wrong things. Like invest in a badass looking chain that looks like it could hold more than a mouse.

Why would these ghosts lead other innocents to their deaths?

Also, nobody cries this much. Ever. Life and death situation? I'm fighting not crying, Yams. Actually comes off as extremely misogynistic. I guess in this world common trope apply: Ladies cry. Bad boys die.

Putting the 'horrible' in horror.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ILHMJan 31, 2013
Filipino director Yam Laranas mixes atmospheric terror with outright shocks in his latest feature, THE ROAD. An unsolved missing persons case is re-opened when three teens disappear off of the same fateful road twelve years later. What theFilipino director Yam Laranas mixes atmospheric terror with outright shocks in his latest feature, THE ROAD. An unsolved missing persons case is re-opened when three teens disappear off of the same fateful road twelve years later. What the police will discover is more horrifying than anyone could have imagined, with a string of deaths spanning over two decades! Once Laranas has established his dark, oppressive mood, he never lets up, and follows through with a steady stream of haunting images that will chill you to the bone. The story unfolds in three seemingly unrelated stories, which have been carefully tied together in the end to reveal the sinister secret behind each of the mysterious deaths. Laranas takes a timely approach in introducing each new set of characters, allowing his talented cast to bond with the audience before they meet their inevitable demise. The end result is a well-told ghost story that easily stacks up against its Japanese equivalents JU-ON and RINGU in the terror department. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
Nesbitt10Dec 7, 2012
Choosing to go down this road will ultimately lead you to a destination of indifference. Well done psychological thriller with a satisfying story and some genuine chills. Slow moving at times and staying engaged becomes tedious. It's not thatChoosing to go down this road will ultimately lead you to a destination of indifference. Well done psychological thriller with a satisfying story and some genuine chills. Slow moving at times and staying engaged becomes tedious. It's not that it's that bad of a film, I'm just saying it's not that great of one either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DarianJun 9, 2012
The story--and the way it's told--is somewhat interesting, but ultimately for a ghost story, one expects it to be a little more thrilling.

Script: 6/10
Cinematography: 6/10
Sound: 5/10 Acting: 5/10
Production: 4/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
WoodsyMay 15, 2012
A flat-out bore with very little redeeming qualities. I expect most horror films to be, at the very least, entertaining on some level. Even if the performances are underwhelming and the story thin. But The Road has no intention of such. IA flat-out bore with very little redeeming qualities. I expect most horror films to be, at the very least, entertaining on some level. Even if the performances are underwhelming and the story thin. But The Road has no intention of such. I was constantly wondering about casting choices, editing decisions, and pacing issues which pulled me out of my suspension-of-disbelief. I really wanted to feel the tension Yam Laranas was desperately trying to convey. I wanted to feel the edge of my seat so bad I actually considered leaving the theater. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
aaronpaul121May 14, 2012
The way they sequence the story in this movie is very unique...not the usual past to current events sequence, it works and it makes the movie more interesting and makes the development of the story more anxious. It just lacks that (super)The way they sequence the story in this movie is very unique...not the usual past to current events sequence, it works and it makes the movie more interesting and makes the development of the story more anxious. It just lacks that (super) scary moments which will really highlight the movie even more. But if I will look on the overall presentation of the movie, I can say that it is definitely good enough for it to receive high marks from users and critics.... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
ryincaMay 12, 2012
I'm not sure I understand what all the hype is around this movie. It was mildly entertaining, but if there is anyone that was truly surprised by the ending, I'd have your head checked. My wife and I figured it out by the end of Part II andI'm not sure I understand what all the hype is around this movie. It was mildly entertaining, but if there is anyone that was truly surprised by the ending, I'd have your head checked. My wife and I figured it out by the end of Part II and honestly didn't find the scare tactics all that original. Check it out if you want, but don't go expecting the next Cabin in the Woods or Hostel. Collapse
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
GyeahMay 12, 2012
It was a great horror to watch for the first time to watch on its premier here For me it's two thumb ups, it was entertaining,not that scary but it will make me
Jump out where I sit great
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
MegWhiteleyMay 11, 2012
The Year of the horror films, The Innkeepers, The Cabin in the Woods, and The Woman in Black and now the Road, other classic of the horror movies. The trama is really interesting, the development is great, this movie is incredible.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews