Dimension Films | Release Date: November 25, 2009
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 302 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
232
Mixed:
50
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
lnformerMar 18, 2011
This movie made me suffer, a lot! If this is what the post-apocalyptic world looks like then release me out of my misery a.s.a.p. I couldn't even survive the few hours this movie lasted, let alone a lifetime. This was pure torture, it gaveThis movie made me suffer, a lot! If this is what the post-apocalyptic world looks like then release me out of my misery a.s.a.p. I couldn't even survive the few hours this movie lasted, let alone a lifetime. This was pure torture, it gave you glimpses and teases of something was going to happen but it never did. The worst part is everything looks and sounds so promising, you actually want to give this movie a chance. You want it to be good and give you that satisfaction. But it doesn't. This movie is the ultimate teaser! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
BradHFeb 4, 2010
Well acted and well filmed, but really rather monotonous and dull when it boils down. And the ending - very poor. Too long with too little going on.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
KevinRNov 27, 2009
Utterly unbearable and not because it's grim. It pastes together every post-apocalyptic cliche into a directionless mishmash. The dialogue is worn and tired when it isn't downright stupid.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
2
rolfoFeb 14, 2010
Oh my God what a lousy, boring movie! You don't fool me by trying to be artistic or artsy farty! This is one sleeping pill of a movie. And that lame kid! How many times can you sa Papa! before the audience puke? Bring back the good old Oh my God what a lousy, boring movie! You don't fool me by trying to be artistic or artsy farty! This is one sleeping pill of a movie. And that lame kid! How many times can you sa Papa! before the audience puke? Bring back the good old days when postapocalypse movies stood for Mohawks, sawed off shot guns and naked barbarian babes. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
1
PeteC.Nov 26, 2009
This is a movie that pretentious people will pretend to enjoy in order to seem artistically savvy. It's really bleak visually and thematically in a tedious way and leaves you wondering why anyone would want to make a movie this This is a movie that pretentious people will pretend to enjoy in order to seem artistically savvy. It's really bleak visually and thematically in a tedious way and leaves you wondering why anyone would want to make a movie this depressing. And I enjoyed Precious. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful
0
GrantP.Nov 27, 2009
I expected it to be half-decent judging by these reviews, yet I was extremely disappointed. The entire movie was just a mesh of plain, thoughtless dialogue with little explanation of what the driving events were.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
3
JoeMFeb 10, 2010
A painfully boring and shallow view of the apocalypse. The plot to this film literally goes nothing by the end of the film nothing is accomplished. It just ends. Viggo does the best he can and the cinematography is top notch. But that A painfully boring and shallow view of the apocalypse. The plot to this film literally goes nothing by the end of the film nothing is accomplished. It just ends. Viggo does the best he can and the cinematography is top notch. But that doesn't change the fact that this movie is overly bleak(not one single questions is answered) and that the story goes nowhere. This is truly painfull to watch. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful
0
kidcoyoteAug 11, 2010
I never read the book (even though I knew it was adapted before hand.) I actually was excited to see this one, boy was I disappointed. No wonder it only stayed in my local theatre for one week. It's a whole lot of boring. Don't get me wrong II never read the book (even though I knew it was adapted before hand.) I actually was excited to see this one, boy was I disappointed. No wonder it only stayed in my local theatre for one week. It's a whole lot of boring. Don't get me wrong I like a psychological movie but this movie didn't really have a point. In any good story you need to create enough tension for you to at least care about what happens to the main characters. This is the first movie (other than the Twilight movies) I literally just turned off and say I'll finish this later. I don't know how this movie ends but from what I watch I got bored just waiting for something to happen. I only got as far as when Viggo's character meets Duvall's. And the grainy cinematography (while I understand why it was chosen, it does fit the film's subject matter) just made the film unwatchable on my wide-screen HDTV. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
From the writer of No Country For Old Men, comes yet another tale about the end of the world. From the previews, I thought this movie had promise, that it would be different from other post-apocalyptic stories, but it wasn't. It's the tale ofFrom the writer of No Country For Old Men, comes yet another tale about the end of the world. From the previews, I thought this movie had promise, that it would be different from other post-apocalyptic stories, but it wasn't. It's the tale of a father and son wondering aimlessly just trying to survive. Nothing is at all explained, there are weird flashbacks, and there are way too many interactions with people. Most of the world is gone, not a single animal survived, yet everywhere you go, you run into people, crazy people, most of whom are cannibals. Viggo Mortensen does give a pretty solid performance, however Kodi Smit-McPhee does not. I've never seen him in anything before, but the whole movie, he's hiding, whining, and screaming papa, it got really annoying! It was awful, I felt like they kept acting out the same scene over and over again in a different location. Nothing happens, there's no plot, and the dialogue is just stupid. This movie is a huge waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
rockonJan 9, 2017
One of the worst movies I've ever seen. Both boring and depressing. Not much of a plot line. If you have a problem with depression don't watch this movie or you'll probably kill yourself. How did Robert Duvall and Viggo Mortensen end upOne of the worst movies I've ever seen. Both boring and depressing. Not much of a plot line. If you have a problem with depression don't watch this movie or you'll probably kill yourself. How did Robert Duvall and Viggo Mortensen end up in this stinker? It's just awful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews