User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 245
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 9, 2013
    9
    The road is not just an ordinary movie, it not about action or anything it's about something deeper, the ambiance created is insane from time to time. The music provided also suited the movie well and served it's purpose well. The story was sometimes really dark but in a really strong way. It is a movie which will not win prizes for the special effects or anything but it really comes closeThe road is not just an ordinary movie, it not about action or anything it's about something deeper, the ambiance created is insane from time to time. The music provided also suited the movie well and served it's purpose well. The story was sometimes really dark but in a really strong way. It is a movie which will not win prizes for the special effects or anything but it really comes close to you, makes you think. This may movie isn't just a movie sometimes is just an artwork. Expand
  2. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    "The Road" is a astonishingly masterful film that greatly succeeds re-imaging the original book. The movie is filled with unexpected tension and profound quietness most films fail to create. It also presents a well made, re-designed future apocalypse that looks realistic. Possibly in this case one of the most thought-provoking films of the year.
  3. LucasC.
    Jan 28, 2010
    9
    truly interesting and memorable movie. Couldn't take my eyes off it from start to finish.
  4. MattW.
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    I agree with Q, loved the book and the film was exactly what I'd pictured it to be. I thought it captured the essence of the story perfectly. Amazing performances too, from Mortenson and Duvall, but especially from the boy, who was an absolute revelation.
  5. DavidJ.
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Awesome book and awesome movie. Not a feel good movie as it is very dark.
  6. MikeyM
    Jun 17, 2010
    9
    This is not for the Avatar crowd. It's bleak but intense and not for everyone. Loved it.
  7. charless.
    Jun 12, 2010
    9
    Left me thinking about it for weeks. That is the mark of an impressive movie!
  8. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Road: A tale of a father and a son making their way across a trechorous wasteland, heading south, hoping to find others whilst being cautious of those around them. First things first: This is a grim film. You can see that just by looking at the surroundings. Corpses swinging from nooses, trees void of life, crashing to the ground one by one, snow stained with blood, water dirty as hell. It is quite the spectacle, yet for something so horrific looking, it is quite beautiful. Striking, how the director has perfectly captured the film's tone. It isn't just the surroundings that are bleak, the characters successfully empthasise this as well. Groups, in order to survive, slautering innocent people. Theres a scene in the film of a woman and her child being chased by a large group of these savages, where the surroundings are skulls displayed on pikes and the aformentioned blood stained snow. Food is scarce in this post-apocalyptic world, so one group keep people chained in a basement, to bring them out and kill them one by one, for sustenence. The father knows that the world is a bleak place, and his one driving point is his son. He teaches his son how to shoot himself in the head, if the time ever comes. He keeps two bullets in a gun specifically for them two, if the time ever comes. He very nearly shoots his son, so that a savage group do not take him to be chained and later eaten. The characters have become paranoid in this world, with the father not trusting any one in case they could be a cannibal, not trusting Ely, refusing to let him come with them for their food wouldn't last long, and he would slow them down. At one point, a woman shoots the man with an arrow and he kills her husband with a flare gun, because they both believe the other was following them. This shows how paranoia has set into these characters lives, how they cannot trust anyone, because it could spell for their end. Kudos to the actors of this piece. They all perform their roles perfectly, from Charlize Therons suicidal mother, not wanting to live in such a terrible world, to The Thief, whom instantly regrets robbing the main characters. Viggo Mortenson and Kodi Smith-Mcfee perfectly play their roles as father and son. You truly believe their roles, and their character relationship. The man's death, whilst his son is curled upto him, is a scene which, i'm not ashamed to say, brought a tear to my eyes. The ending of this film really shows the boys trusting ways paying off, as he now travels with a family, across the trechorous landscape. Conclusion: Quite a bleak film, with many grim moments, but wonderful character interaction makes it all worth while Expand
  9. ChuckN.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    A truly powerful and emotional film. Bleak, depressing (in a good way) and realistic take on the post apocalyptic genre. With next to no real action in the film, it relies heavily on the performances and thankfully all of the main actors do an incredible job of bringing the world to life. Some scenes could have been longer and explored in more depth but given the amazing source material, A truly powerful and emotional film. Bleak, depressing (in a good way) and realistic take on the post apocalyptic genre. With next to no real action in the film, it relies heavily on the performances and thankfully all of the main actors do an incredible job of bringing the world to life. Some scenes could have been longer and explored in more depth but given the amazing source material, there is not much that can be done. Overall an thought provoking and emotional experience that shouldn't be missed. Expand
  10. GregA
    Feb 8, 2010
    9
    I could not stop thinking about this powerful movie the day after I watched it. If I imagined how a post apocalyptic earth would look, and how one would have to survive, then the movie portrayed it brillantly. Probably not one to watch when you are feeling down as it is very depressing and unforgiving, yet the small snippets of happiness you see throughout (though there are not many) kind I could not stop thinking about this powerful movie the day after I watched it. If I imagined how a post apocalyptic earth would look, and how one would have to survive, then the movie portrayed it brillantly. Probably not one to watch when you are feeling down as it is very depressing and unforgiving, yet the small snippets of happiness you see throughout (though there are not many) kind of help keep the faith in man kind's strong desire for survival and hope. Expand
  11. KeatonJ.
    Jun 8, 2010
    9
    The world has been destroyed by natural causes, and the few survivors that are left are mostly insane caravans of cannibals. Sound fun? Maybe for a video game, but the way The Road depicts it sure doesn't look like fun. This movie is based on the novel of the same name by Cormac McCarthy, which I have never read, but if the book is as good as the movie, I'm down for a good The world has been destroyed by natural causes, and the few survivors that are left are mostly insane caravans of cannibals. Sound fun? Maybe for a video game, but the way The Road depicts it sure doesn't look like fun. This movie is based on the novel of the same name by Cormac McCarthy, which I have never read, but if the book is as good as the movie, I'm down for a good reading period. The story follows two main characters as they try to survive in the treacherous wasteland, neither of which is ever named. They are just called "Papa" and "Son". The mother/wife is only shown in series of flashbacks from before the natural disasters and at the very beginning. "Papa" is played by Viggo Mortensen, and it is an incredible performance. Mortensen does an amazing job creating a father that will do anything to keep his son safe. He has to be tough on his son to teach him the harsh realities of this dangerous world. At the same time as this he deals with the loss of his wife. I couldn't imagine a better performance. The kid is acted by Kodi Smit-McPhee, who also does an outstanding job. A very interesting side character also comes in part way through the movie who is acted by Robert Duvall. The story is all together dark and dreary. This movie does not try and make the end of the world look all cool by using a sepia lens filter or slow motion killing. It shows a depressing, scary, and perilous world. A terrifyingly real world. There are really no laughing moments in this movie. The faint of heart should stray away from this road, because they will find nothing to smile about until the end, and that only if the viewer looks hard enough. I'm not going ruin the end for you guys, but I will tell you that it is beautiful. The Road is a tough film, but through all of the cannibalism and death, there is still a small glimmer of optimism seen through the life of a child and through the fact that even in times of severe suffering and distress, all hope is never lost. Expand
  12. jasong.
    Jan 17, 2010
    9
    Bleak sad and powerful brilliant acting really enjoyed it i really don't understand some of poor reviews this film has received.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Apr 24, 2010
    10
    This movie is bleak and the story goes nowhere? An apocalypse movie with no happy ending's certainly a different perspective. Original, haunting, beautiful and provocative. Loved it.
  14. AndrewC
    Jun 2, 2010
    9
    Was almost exactly as I envisioned it when I read the book. Very well done - terrific acting by all involved and a superb, resonating score In the book, I felt there were too many instances where the father and son were eating food, which would occur less often in a post apocalyptic wasteland. Then again, they may not be alive to make the story, but the movie emphasized starvation, so in Was almost exactly as I envisioned it when I read the book. Very well done - terrific acting by all involved and a superb, resonating score In the book, I felt there were too many instances where the father and son were eating food, which would occur less often in a post apocalyptic wasteland. Then again, they may not be alive to make the story, but the movie emphasized starvation, so in that respect it was an improvement. A couple scenes of the murderous chaos following the depletion of food supplies, described briefly by Macarthy, would have been nice, and I agree with others who desired some lingering panoramic shots of devastation, but these quibbles are a trifle. Not much more can be asked of a screen adaptation from an awe inspiring novel - very moving. The crazy thing is that the possibility of Macarthy's world becoming a reality is not beyond comprehension. Expand
  15. SebaW.r
    Jun 3, 2010
    10
    This movie is amazing. It's sad, thrilling and it was a great plot! This is a must see.
  16. ThomT
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I cannot believe some of the reviews. This movie was one of the most powerful things I have ever seen. The book is equally astonishing. They compliment one another adequately. I simply loved it. Bravo to everyone involved.
  17. AlexS.
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    Fantastic film. I was awestruck by this beautiful adaptation of one of my favorite book of all time. Viggo Mortensen and Guy Pearce truly brought the pages to life.
  18. MitchM
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    While I will admit that this flick is not for everyone, I don't see how a better adaptation of the book could be made. It's a masterpiece of sadness. Perhaps the most terrifying moments in the film are the beautiful flashbacks ... glimpses of a paradise that is gone forever - if we had only realized it then. Very very powerful.
  19. QTip
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Captures the tension and conflict of the book perfectly. Incredibly relatable, sad, inspiring, and terrifying all at the same time. I don't understand what all the criticism is about.
  20. DanielleF
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    This film hit a perfect emotional point for me. I haven't yet read the book and therefore am not biased from that foundation, but found the portrayals of love, kindness and relationships to be beautiful. In addition, the cinematography was superb. The small nods to materialism in our society were generally done well too. The two key reasons I did not give this film a 10 were the This film hit a perfect emotional point for me. I haven't yet read the book and therefore am not biased from that foundation, but found the portrayals of love, kindness and relationships to be beautiful. In addition, the cinematography was superb. The small nods to materialism in our society were generally done well too. The two key reasons I did not give this film a 10 were the ridiculous product placements during the scene in the shelter (I refuse to believe that such a thoughtfully stocked cellar would contain a 99c bag of Cheetos and bottles of Vitamin Water) as well as the ending, which had a little too much cheese for my liking (perhaps the Cheetos were resurfacing). Expand
  21. EA
    Feb 23, 2010
    9
    Haunting, depressing, beautiful... One of the best movies of 2010. If you have the change, watch it in theater or alone in dark room, this is one of the coldest visions of nuclear holocaust ever put on film!
  22. adamh
    Mar 25, 2010
    9
    I love this film i love the book i love the soundtrack For me the film was a very close match to the book like most adaptations missing bits out and changing odd things but they have done it well and love it.
  23. BarryC
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    The lukewarm reviews of these critics are an outrage. This is a great film of a great book. It seems these critics don't approve of bleak or, nostalgic for their own nuanced response to the book, they dismiss the nuance of this film. Having recently endured the destructiive and bland Hollywoodification of another fine book, "Blind Side" , the critics should rejoice in a film that so The lukewarm reviews of these critics are an outrage. This is a great film of a great book. It seems these critics don't approve of bleak or, nostalgic for their own nuanced response to the book, they dismiss the nuance of this film. Having recently endured the destructiive and bland Hollywoodification of another fine book, "Blind Side" , the critics should rejoice in a film that so valiantly attempts and succeeds at bringing the experience of a great book to the screen. Expand
  24. christinaS
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Breathtaking performances! One of the greatest films I've ever seen!!!
  25. anned.
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    The book was breathtaking prose, the movie, restrained poetry.
  26. PaulD
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    An amazing story. Any father or son needs to see this.
  27. BrianL
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    I absolutely loved this book. John Hillcoat did a fantastic job of bringing Cormac McCarthy's work to life. It's bleak and haunting, but brings out that ultimate human spirit of survival which was so moving in the novel. I can't figure out why there are so many mixed reviews and why the Weinsteins sandbagged this film with absolutely no marketing whatsoever. A tough story I absolutely loved this book. John Hillcoat did a fantastic job of bringing Cormac McCarthy's work to life. It's bleak and haunting, but brings out that ultimate human spirit of survival which was so moving in the novel. I can't figure out why there are so many mixed reviews and why the Weinsteins sandbagged this film with absolutely no marketing whatsoever. A tough story and yet a great piece of filmmaking. Expand
  28. JeffL
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    Doesn't stray far from the book and most notably maintains the sparse dialogue that is simple yet very powerful in its actual meaning for the characters. The story hinges on the relationship of father and son and has some really great moments where the roles you may expect are actually switched, providing an interesting insight into the destruction and growth of their respective Doesn't stray far from the book and most notably maintains the sparse dialogue that is simple yet very powerful in its actual meaning for the characters. The story hinges on the relationship of father and son and has some really great moments where the roles you may expect are actually switched, providing an interesting insight into the destruction and growth of their respective minds. Otherwise, the movie is appropriately drab. But in that, the brief emergence of fainter colors within the characters and their situation reveal the simpler aspects of what it may be like to live during such a horrible time. Expand
  29. Oli
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    A powerful adaptation of McCarthy's novel. I thought the acting was great all around, and the envisioning of the post-apocalyptic world was near perfect. I can understand how people would be turned off, but for me it worked.
  30. HannahW.
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    Great movie and great acting by Viggo.
  31. KatC.
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    This film has everything a serious movie goer is looking for. Viggo's acting is perfect, the scenery totally believable and the story holds your attention to the very last moment. I waited for this movie to be released for almost a year and it was worth the wait. If you're willing to open your mind and think, run, don't walk to see this film.
  32. LindaL.
    Dec 27, 2009
    9
    What I wanted desperately was for this to be faithful to the book -- and it was. Good acting, too, and yet I agree w/ Ebert that there was a certain emotional resonance that was lacking somehow. I liked "Children of Men" very much, too, but it's unfair/inappropriate to use that as a basis of comparison. Read Cormac McCarthy's novel: It is stunning.
  33. ChrisF
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    This movie... I have been wrecked and extremely reflective over my experience with this film over the past few days. It's absolutely heart wrenching.. the hideous nature of a deplorable remnant of a once great civilization collapsing under its own weight.
  34. DavidS
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    Extremely faithful adaptation of the book. This movie was breathtaking and powerful. Absolutely captivating, this is a surefire Oscar contender.
  35. ClaudiaP
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    While the film is not as resonant as the novel, it is its an honorable adaptation, capturing the essence of the bond between father and son.
  36. DavidZ
    Nov 26, 2009
    9
    A wonderfully realized tale of life at its most trying moments and the things that give it meaning.
  37. CarlY.
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    I think this is up there on my list of favorite movies. The cinematography was great, and the acting was fantastic. I had chills the entire time through the movie. The Road is one of my favorite books and wrote a paper on it even in high school, and they captured a lot of the depth that i found in the novel. Accusations of plot holes is pretty funny because if ones read the book I think this is up there on my list of favorite movies. The cinematography was great, and the acting was fantastic. I had chills the entire time through the movie. The Road is one of my favorite books and wrote a paper on it even in high school, and they captured a lot of the depth that i found in the novel. Accusations of plot holes is pretty funny because if ones read the book there's plenty of plot holes in the book. The book can be seen in a lot of ways and interpreted many ways, the movie captured that and there's still plenty of room for analysis of the movie. Comparing it to zombie movies is an insult. I found it far better than avatar, which i enjoyed as well. This movie was scrutinized to death. Expand
  38. May 26, 2013
    10
    What an amazing movie, I really felt for the characters, A good movie like this doesn't come around often enough. I would go as far to say this is in MY top 5 movies of all time.
  39. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    Great movie, heartbraking and thought provoking, the love between father and son was truly heart-rending throughout. I thought the cast were fantastic.
  40. Mar 11, 2011
    9
    No movie with such less effort has convinced me to dwell in self-examination of the world we're living in than The Road. Pain and hopelessness may be all over the movie from minute 1 towards the end but the single scene where the lead actor's son walks away with strangers gives enough pleasure of living and hope. The movie'shaunting cinematography and art direction blend well with theNo movie with such less effort has convinced me to dwell in self-examination of the world we're living in than The Road. Pain and hopelessness may be all over the movie from minute 1 towards the end but the single scene where the lead actor's son walks away with strangers gives enough pleasure of living and hope. The movie'shaunting cinematography and art direction blend well with the convincing production design and costume. Vigo Mortensen's sharp acting should have been nominated for the Oscars. Expand
  41. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    This is easily the most realistic looking post-apocalyptic world I've seen. This movie does an excellent job of creating an atmosphere of despair as the remaining survivors are starting to lose their humanity in the empty world. Only negative part was that the story seemed a little dull, as if you are expecting some big climax to happen, but it never does.
  42. j30
    Jan 30, 2012
    9
    Cormac McCarthy's adapted novel "The Road" is powerful story telling in some sort of Biblical way. Viggo Mortensen gives a performance of a lifetime. I'm surprised that this film didn't get more recognition from the Academy as CM's other novel No Country For Old Men did. Like NCFOM The Road is filled with underlying meaning and themes that can be discussed long after the credits are done.
  43. Jun 17, 2012
    10
    This is a FANTASTIC film and it is realistic in the way that they have to worry about things like food, shoes and bandits. As it progresses through the film you grow attached to the characters and feel their struggles and triumphs and it is just great.
  44. Jul 8, 2014
    9
    Incredibly powerful, emotional, and it gives a very realistic feeling
    of what could happen to humanity under a worst case scenario.
    It rates far above other disaster films in its portrayal of the human experience and what we are capable of in dire circumstances. In effect it looks like a warning to us if we are not careful in how we conduct our society. It brings out feelings of
    Incredibly powerful, emotional, and it gives a very realistic feeling
    of what could happen to humanity under a worst case scenario.
    It rates far above other disaster films in its portrayal of the human
    experience and what we are capable of in dire circumstances.
    In effect it looks like a warning to us if we are not careful in how
    we conduct our society. It brings out feelings of sadness that few
    films could replicate and displays a full range of powerful emotions
    that emphasize what it means to be human.This is much more than
    a film to entertain you for a few hours; it is a message about the will
    to live, what it means to be human and about how unsympathetic
    this world could be. I could not tear myself away from it though I hadn't
    planned to watch all of it when I started watching it on TV. It is rare that I
    can relate with deep feelings to characters in a film but this one compels you
    to do so. The father-son relationship was so deep it forced me to think
    about my own deceased father and the relations I had with him. More than
    entertainment it is an insight into our souls.
    Expand
  45. Oct 8, 2014
    9
    Excellent movie with good pacing. Characters depict what it would really be like for a father & son struggling to survive the apocalypse. No mutants, cyborgs, or sci-fi creatures like in I am Legend, or the Fallout game series, this is pure survival. Acting is superb and will have you feeling for the characters from beginning to end. A lot of suspense leaves you hanging on the edge ofExcellent movie with good pacing. Characters depict what it would really be like for a father & son struggling to survive the apocalypse. No mutants, cyborgs, or sci-fi creatures like in I am Legend, or the Fallout game series, this is pure survival. Acting is superb and will have you feeling for the characters from beginning to end. A lot of suspense leaves you hanging on the edge of your seat. This movie will leave you wondering if the decisions the main character chooses are right or wrong, or if right or wrong has a place in the wasteland that unveils itself over the course of the movie.. overall this is the only movie I have seen that depicts how hard and realistic it would be to live through an apocalypse. Expand
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. Evocative as it is, The Road comes up short, not because it’s bleak but because it’s monotonous.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark Salisbury
    75
    This might just be a tad too grueling and bleak for everyone’s liking, but it’s a Road that’s definitely well worth traveling.
  3. Reviewed by: Deborah Young
    70
    Director John Hillcoat has performed an admirable job of bringing Cormac McCarthy's Pulitzer Prize-winning novel to the screen as an intact and haunting tale, even at the cost of sacrificing color, big scenes and standard Hollywood imagery of post-apocalyptic America.