Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2001
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 320 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
248
Mixed:
32
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
Trev29Dec 26, 2013
The characters go from fascinating to funny to complete dead weight much like the movie itself. It had moments of great potential, but they are eventually sucked up with a lot of boring weird scenes.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
ScraperJan 27, 2012
For all the detail and production, all the characters are monotone! Even people who LOVE this movie give a "but" to their explanation. Be honest. It's a large glass of rum and coke with mostly coke in it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelL.Feb 26, 2008
Quirky, surprising and off-beat... sounds like a Wes Anderson film, right?... Packed with some solid stars (both comedic and straight-laced), 'The Royal Tenenbaums' is a delightful and much slanted look at the coessential Quirky, surprising and off-beat... sounds like a Wes Anderson film, right?... Packed with some solid stars (both comedic and straight-laced), 'The Royal Tenenbaums' is a delightful and much slanted look at the coessential dysfunctional family that could be from Anywhere, USA. Well, actually it could be from anywhere in the galaxy as you may not come across a more strange slew of characters in one place anywhere on God's green earth. For openers, Gene Hackman plays a hysterical deadbeat dad who had been alienated by the rest of his bizarre family for ignorance to them and vulgarity to others which can include even us the audience. Yet at the same time the viewer will be sympathetic to him and his mischievous routine and rebellious nature given his sly warmheartedness and charm. The trio of the children's life stories (wild and wholly tales portrayed in retrospect and real-time by Ben Stiller, Gwyneth Paltrow & Luke Wilson) surround this rude and complex father shortcomings in spectacular fashion while combative yet dignified mom played by Angelica Houston is a steady presence amongst the chaos. Owen Wilson and Bill Murray round out the supporting cast for this fun-filled comedy. It's a good idea to screen early Anderson efforts like Rushmore and/or Bottle Rocket to prep for the amount of quirkiness thrown at you in this romp but designed to even challenge the zaniest of viewers on its own. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
CharlotteE.Dec 21, 2001
The movie left me cold. Anderson spent too much time on the dressing and forgot about the turkey. It was full of nicely dressed quirky characters with no depth. The result was a boring film that was only mildly amusing. And I loved "Bottle The movie left me cold. Anderson spent too much time on the dressing and forgot about the turkey. It was full of nicely dressed quirky characters with no depth. The result was a boring film that was only mildly amusing. And I loved "Bottle Rocket" and "Rushmore." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
J.McMasterJul 14, 2002
People who vote higher than a 7 are pseudointellectual pedants who pretend to see brilliance where only dullness exists. Cut the pompous crap! The movie had its moments, and Gene Hackman had some truly funny lines, but there was too much People who vote higher than a 7 are pseudointellectual pedants who pretend to see brilliance where only dullness exists. Cut the pompous crap! The movie had its moments, and Gene Hackman had some truly funny lines, but there was too much here that was merely mundane. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JacobSJul 24, 2002
I watched this movie because it had received excellent reviews and also the fact that it featured Ben Stiller. (I had watched the truly superb "Flirting With Disaster" just the week before) . The Royal Tennenbaums was intellectually I watched this movie because it had received excellent reviews and also the fact that it featured Ben Stiller. (I had watched the truly superb "Flirting With Disaster" just the week before) . The Royal Tennenbaums was intellectually pretentious and only mildly funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatC.Jan 5, 2004
I thought it was a very good film. So I watched the second half and saw it dilute itself. But while family dysfunction is in the eye of the beholder, there's something for everybody.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JackD.Dec 24, 2001
Quirky + Different + Dysfunctional = Good....Unfortunately, not always. This movie tries and tries, but it seems to fall short. Hackman is terrific and the rest of the cast is good..but the script seems shallow and contrived.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BradySmithMar 18, 2015
It's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a couple emotionally affecting ones, but the cast is wasted. I didn't mind the characters so much as the wayIt's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a couple emotionally affecting ones, but the cast is wasted. I didn't mind the characters so much as the way they're used. Wilson's and Stiller's characters are funny, but they almost never get a chance to steal the show. I also had a problem with the one character falling in love with his adopted sister. Maybe not actual incest but still weird and uncomfortable. It could have been so much better but Anderson's need for meticulousness completely distracts from the story and not in a good way. I wouldn't call myself either a Wes Anderson fan or hater. Some of his work, like The Grand Budapest Hotel, I really like, and other times it just doesn't. This was one of those times it just didn't do anything for me. I'll eventually re-watch this, and maybe I'll come back with a different opinion, but for now it's a meh for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Family comedy drama. Stylishly shot, but I didn't like the characters enough so it left me feeling unmoved. Quirky is all very well, but it has to have heart to make me like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews