Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: December 14, 2001
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 322 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
249
Mixed:
33
Negative:
40
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Family comedy drama. Stylishly shot, but I didn't like the characters enough so it left me feeling unmoved. Quirky is all very well, but it has to have heart to make me like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24May 30, 2016
An indescribably brilliant piece of cinematic storytelling and the first true "Wes Anderson" movie to come out of Wes Anderson. "The Royal Tenenbaums" is high above the audience's heads, but still somehow down to the proverbial earth. It'sAn indescribably brilliant piece of cinematic storytelling and the first true "Wes Anderson" movie to come out of Wes Anderson. "The Royal Tenenbaums" is high above the audience's heads, but still somehow down to the proverbial earth. It's absolutely hilarious in delivering its quirky eccentricities, but also truly heartbreaking when it pauses for its deep moments of reflection. It's both frustrating and endearing, childish and refined, droll and flavorful, ribald and prudish, etc. - all at once. In the film, one of the superbly well-realized characters aptly states, "I always wanted to be a Tenenbaum." And, simply put, after sitting through the entirety of this piece, so do I. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BradySmithMar 18, 2015
It's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a couple emotionally affecting ones, but the cast is wasted. I didn't mind the characters so much as the wayIt's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a couple emotionally affecting ones, but the cast is wasted. I didn't mind the characters so much as the way they're used. Wilson's and Stiller's characters are funny, but they almost never get a chance to steal the show. I also had a problem with the one character falling in love with his adopted sister. Maybe not actual incest but still weird and uncomfortable. It could have been so much better but Anderson's need for meticulousness completely distracts from the story and not in a good way. I wouldn't call myself either a Wes Anderson fan or hater. Some of his work, like The Grand Budapest Hotel, I really like, and other times it just doesn't. This was one of those times it just didn't do anything for me. I'll eventually re-watch this, and maybe I'll come back with a different opinion, but for now it's a meh for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
roastnutSep 14, 2014
This is my favourite Wes Anderson movie, the story telling, cast and everything come together perfectly. Gene Hackman gives one of his best performances and I can't think of anyone else in the cast who didn't also perform perfectly. Funny,This is my favourite Wes Anderson movie, the story telling, cast and everything come together perfectly. Gene Hackman gives one of his best performances and I can't think of anyone else in the cast who didn't also perform perfectly. Funny, stylish and entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 3, 2014
The definitive Wes Anderson masterpiece. The Royal Tenenbaums is one of the quirkiest films of all-time. And yes, quirky does often attribute to quality filmmaking--especially in the hands of Wes Anderson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
heeldavidJul 20, 2014
In my own opinion this has got to be one of the most underrated comedy-dramas of the decade, It has a very unique mood, has a great appropriate and not overused amount of comedy and drama, great writing from Wes Anderson and Owen Wilson,In my own opinion this has got to be one of the most underrated comedy-dramas of the decade, It has a very unique mood, has a great appropriate and not overused amount of comedy and drama, great writing from Wes Anderson and Owen Wilson, Great performances from Hackman, Huston, Stiller, Paltrow, Glover, Murray and the Wilson brothers Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
python2000Feb 20, 2014
The Royal Tenenbaums contains all the usual things Wes Anderson puts in his movies. Quirky effective humor and jokes, unique interesting characters, an unpredictable plot and that bizarre visual flair. The fact that I can always tell when I'mThe Royal Tenenbaums contains all the usual things Wes Anderson puts in his movies. Quirky effective humor and jokes, unique interesting characters, an unpredictable plot and that bizarre visual flair. The fact that I can always tell when I'm watching a Wes Anderson movie just by looking at one frame draws me to his work. The Royal Tenenbaums is one of his best, ever second is enjoyable and I cannot even stress how ridiculously entertaining the last 20 minutes is. One of my favorite comedies, worth watching as long as you understand Anderson's type of humor. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
Trev29Dec 26, 2013
The characters go from fascinating to funny to complete dead weight much like the movie itself. It had moments of great potential, but they are eventually sucked up with a lot of boring weird scenes.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 24, 2013
Wes Anderson is truly on display here. The quirkiness of this family certainly shines through with great acting from the whole cast. Good, fun comedy here without a doubt. But, if you're going to watch this, be ready for it to be weird.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanAug 31, 2012
At first, I wasn't quite sure what to make of The Royal Tenenbaums, but as you gradually get to know the titular weird and wonderful dysfunctional clan, and experience the same trials and tribulations that they do, you truly grow to care forAt first, I wasn't quite sure what to make of The Royal Tenenbaums, but as you gradually get to know the titular weird and wonderful dysfunctional clan, and experience the same trials and tribulations that they do, you truly grow to care for them. As always with Wes Anderson's films it's beautifully written, and simple but striking in its visual style. A brilliantly talented ensemble cast perform for your pleasure, and Gene Hackman is simply mesmerising as the complex Tenenbaum patriarch who is far more than another distant father - he's a real puzzle-box of a character whose layers are gradually pealed back as the narrative progresses. Gwyneth Paltrow and Luke Wilson also stand out as the severely depressed adopted daughter and the youngest son who has drifted aimlessly through life since his career as a professional tennis player floundered. The title cards used between narrative segments of the film, presented like chapters of a novel are a little irritating, and tend to break up the flow of the story rather than link this tale to storytelling tropes of classic literature, as was likely the intention. This is a minor gripe though, and The Royal Tenenbaums remains an engrossing, darkly comic tale of short-lived successes and persistent failures, love and hate, joy and depression, and above all else, family. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
koukledieuAug 14, 2012
This is the most down-rated movie ever! Great director, fu**ing good actor and a perfect story. A superb family, who cant evolve because of their own fear.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
TokyochuchuJul 7, 2012
The Royal Tenenbaums is an extremely funny and devastatingly sad movie from Wes Anderson. With superb acting, exquisite timing and an unbelievably brilliant script, The Royal Tenebaums is perfect in every way. If you want to cry yourself toThe Royal Tenenbaums is an extremely funny and devastatingly sad movie from Wes Anderson. With superb acting, exquisite timing and an unbelievably brilliant script, The Royal Tenebaums is perfect in every way. If you want to cry yourself to sleep, I have five words for you; "I've had a rough year." Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
CinePlaceboJun 25, 2012
Una película que es difícil de catalogar, ya comienza a generar expectativas. ¿Comedia o drama? Antípodas que rara vez permiten compartir protagonismo con igual intensidad. The Royal Tenenbaums es unaUna película que es difícil de catalogar, ya comienza a generar expectativas. ¿Comedia o drama? Antípodas que rara vez permiten compartir protagonismo con igual intensidad. The Royal Tenenbaums es una película que se debate entre estos dos géneros, que el ingenioso guión permite deleitarse con impresionantes actuaciones y navegar entre sonrisas pícaras y duelos de vida. Una postura arriesgada que divide al público entre desconcierto y aclamación, un filme que abre el camino de consolidación a un director por su particular propuesta estética y manera de ironizar realidades.
Reseña completa: http://cineplacebos.webnode.es/news/un-mundo-en-una-familia/
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
csw12Apr 4, 2012
Its absolutely terrible. The acting ,or rather lack of it, is terrible. The entire film is really just poor from start to finish and an absolute waste of time.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloFeb 19, 2012
I have found that this movie polarizes people into two camps. You are either going to hate it or love it. I personally think that it is one of the greatest movies ever made, but I like everything that Wes Anderson has directed. It has one ofI have found that this movie polarizes people into two camps. You are either going to hate it or love it. I personally think that it is one of the greatest movies ever made, but I like everything that Wes Anderson has directed. It has one of the most amazing casts that has ever been assembled, and every actor shines in his/her own unique way in this movie. If you are looking for a laugh out loud comedy that is filled to the brim with sex, farts, and genitals than this is definitely not the movie for you. If, however, you are looking for a subtly funny, and deeply moving movie that has the ability to stay with you for years to come than I recommend this movie to you.

Side note- I don't know what it is exactly, but I am totally in love with Margot Tenenbaum. Maybe it is her wooden ring finger. Perhaps it is her black eyeliner. Maybe it is because she never really smiles. It's weird. She is so not my type, but I just want to . . .

Anyways. Check this one out.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
ScraperJan 27, 2012
For all the detail and production, all the characters are monotone! Even people who LOVE this movie give a "but" to their explanation. Be honest. It's a large glass of rum and coke with mostly coke in it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
FIlmsareawesomeAug 31, 2011
The Whole thing about the dysfunctional family, that reunites for the sake of a sick family member (Royal Tenenbaun, played by Gene Hackman, which by the way he was fantastic on the movie), i enjoyed watching it, the final scene I wasn'tThe Whole thing about the dysfunctional family, that reunites for the sake of a sick family member (Royal Tenenbaun, played by Gene Hackman, which by the way he was fantastic on the movie), i enjoyed watching it, the final scene I wasn't expecting for that, so that made me like it even more, i do think it was a good movie, with a great cast. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TheDaveHimselfJun 26, 2011
I'm actually surprised by the user reviews of this film. This film hits all the right spots. Along with Rushmore, Wes Anderson has already created the new foundation for future comedy-dramas in just his first few films. I'm willing to debateI'm actually surprised by the user reviews of this film. This film hits all the right spots. Along with Rushmore, Wes Anderson has already created the new foundation for future comedy-dramas in just his first few films. I'm willing to debate that what Anderson has done for the "dramedy" is similar to what Martin Scorsese did for the crime drama. In tone and pace (not to mention their use of camera techniques), their work will be copied for decades to come. The Royal Tenenbaums is hilarious, heartbreaking, and if you're paying attention, filled with emotion of all corners. Great ensemble cast, great narration by Alec Baldwin, and for those who call it off-beat, I question your rhythm. Gene Hackman delivers his finest performance to date. The best film of 2001, possibly the decade, and my favorite film of all time. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
0
ALFApr 3, 2011
Reminds me of the bad old days when American comedy exports were not funny they were just appalling. Anyone who found this nonsense funny really needs to get out and get a life. This film was utter dross from beginning to end and a totalReminds me of the bad old days when American comedy exports were not funny they were just appalling. Anyone who found this nonsense funny really needs to get out and get a life. This film was utter dross from beginning to end and a total waste of Gene Hackman and the rest of the cast looked really bored all the way through. Wes Anderson has no sense of humour, no talent and should go back to commercials. The fact this film was put up for awards proves to me professional critics have not got a clue about the film industry and should go and get real jobs as they clearly have no talent as film critics, mainly because I doubt they even see the films they write about. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
TubieNov 2, 2010
With an excellent cast and a very entertaining "style" this movie is lots of fun to watch. I've watched it multiple times and I could watch many scenes in it over and over again. This movie will talk to a lot of young people but at the sameWith an excellent cast and a very entertaining "style" this movie is lots of fun to watch. I've watched it multiple times and I could watch many scenes in it over and over again. This movie will talk to a lot of young people but at the same time it's not for everyone. That should not be hard to figure out though. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
Rarely do the elements of detaching quirkiness and heartbreaking drama combine to create such an irresistible product. Of course at the helm is Wes Andersen whose (borderline OCD) meticulous craft completely pays off for the enjoyment of the viewer.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
davidcraigAug 14, 2010
WORST FILM EVER!!!!!!! Boring, not funny, terrible, everything about it is rubbish, i hate it. Seriously, how it got good reviews is beyond me. There are so many better comedies out there.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PatrickBNov 14, 2008
If you want a movie filled with cheap laughs,silly slapstick humor, or fart jokes, don't watch this movie! It's a sophisticated comedy/drama that makes me teary even after watching it dozens of times. The acting is spot on, the If you want a movie filled with cheap laughs,silly slapstick humor, or fart jokes, don't watch this movie! It's a sophisticated comedy/drama that makes me teary even after watching it dozens of times. The acting is spot on, the soundtrack is superb, and Wes Anderson's directing has never been so flawless. This is my favorite movie and it deserves to be worshiped. Collapse
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
HarrySep 21, 2008
This movie snuck by me and i never knew it was in theaters, but i watched it on comedy central and it was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WesM.Aug 31, 2008
Hipster sensibility wears a bit, but it's consistently funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EmmaG.Aug 24, 2008
Simply delightful! i enjoyed every minute of this splendid film and the splendid acting in it. one of the funniest and best films ive ever seen
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RoyalT.Mar 7, 2008
This movie was a waste of time. A sad commentary that anyone would consider giving this anything higher than a 1. Drivel.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
10
DavidpMar 3, 2008
Perfect. This movie is a perfect example of Wes Anderson's vision coming to life completely through absolute control and superb acting. "You wanna talk some jive?"
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelL.Feb 26, 2008
Quirky, surprising and off-beat... sounds like a Wes Anderson film, right?... Packed with some solid stars (both comedic and straight-laced), 'The Royal Tenenbaums' is a delightful and much slanted look at the coessential Quirky, surprising and off-beat... sounds like a Wes Anderson film, right?... Packed with some solid stars (both comedic and straight-laced), 'The Royal Tenenbaums' is a delightful and much slanted look at the coessential dysfunctional family that could be from Anywhere, USA. Well, actually it could be from anywhere in the galaxy as you may not come across a more strange slew of characters in one place anywhere on God's green earth. For openers, Gene Hackman plays a hysterical deadbeat dad who had been alienated by the rest of his bizarre family for ignorance to them and vulgarity to others which can include even us the audience. Yet at the same time the viewer will be sympathetic to him and his mischievous routine and rebellious nature given his sly warmheartedness and charm. The trio of the children's life stories (wild and wholly tales portrayed in retrospect and real-time by Ben Stiller, Gwyneth Paltrow & Luke Wilson) surround this rude and complex father shortcomings in spectacular fashion while combative yet dignified mom played by Angelica Houston is a steady presence amongst the chaos. Owen Wilson and Bill Murray round out the supporting cast for this fun-filled comedy. It's a good idea to screen early Anderson efforts like Rushmore and/or Bottle Rocket to prep for the amount of quirkiness thrown at you in this romp but designed to even challenge the zaniest of viewers on its own. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
TonyP.May 8, 2007
This is the worst film I have ever seen in my life. Only White Noise and The Weather Man come close to as bad as this.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
RD.Feb 27, 2007
Very funny and touching. It is funnier than sex comedies which have only 6-7 big laughs. This has very consistent small but smart laughs.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MikeF.Jul 25, 2006
One of my favorite movies ever made -- hilarious, touching, weird, and beautiful, with great visuals, fantastic music, snappy writing, and that ephemeral otherness that is the hallmark of true art. I sometimes wish I'd never seen it so One of my favorite movies ever made -- hilarious, touching, weird, and beautiful, with great visuals, fantastic music, snappy writing, and that ephemeral otherness that is the hallmark of true art. I sometimes wish I'd never seen it so I could see it again for the first time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeanR.Apr 13, 2006
If you gave this a zero... then you don't understand wes anderson. His humor is in the characters and it takes a few times of watching to fully apreciate it sometimes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
tonyb.Oct 23, 2005
This is my favorite movie of all time simply because it has the best of both worlds. its an intelligent comedy with good drama and good character study it tells you why these characters are they way they are and u can acctually feel for them This is my favorite movie of all time simply because it has the best of both worlds. its an intelligent comedy with good drama and good character study it tells you why these characters are they way they are and u can acctually feel for them and can acctually see a family being like that. I think wes anderson is one of the greatest director/screen writters ever. great writting great characters an great camera angles in all of his films i havent seen one i havent seen a single film I havent LOVED that wes anderson has created and you poeple are stupid who say you only like this film because you want to feel intelligent you're a moron. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisB.Sep 9, 2005
An astounding film, one of my top 5 of all time! To those who say they dislike it because actors arn't type cast...i have to ask, huh? How can you dislike a film for not conforming to the usual? The casting is EXCELENT, esspecially in An astounding film, one of my top 5 of all time! To those who say they dislike it because actors arn't type cast...i have to ask, huh? How can you dislike a film for not conforming to the usual? The casting is EXCELENT, esspecially in Hackman's case, but also Luke Wilson and whoever played Pagoda. This is the way films should be made. Dont expect the usual Ben Stiller/Owen Wilson esc comedy, because you wont find it here. That in no way makes it a bad film because the press misinformed people about it's true genre. Life Aquatic is the same, its subtle humor, the result of performances with depth and a director unbelievably good considering his relative inexperience. Wes Anderson is becoming a rule onto himself, creating a portfolio of work that is pushed under the title "Comedy", but is really just an Anderson movie. Like life itself, this film has drama and comedy in equal measure and potency. Some may find that boring, I find it beautiful film making. Take your pick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful