The Royal Tenenbaums

The Royal Tenenbaums Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 305 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The story of the Tenenbaum family's sudden, unexpected reunion one recent winter. (Touchstone Pictures)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    You'll laugh, you'll cry -- the year's best movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Ron Wells
    90
    A very funny and painfully relevant two hours of entertainment.
  3. Miami Herald
    Reviewed by: Connie Ogle
    88
    Once you're among them, the Tenenbaums -- and Anderson -- cast quite a spell.
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    80
    Hackman gives the con-man lines a simple, straight-ahead urgency that makes the man first hilarious and then, as the pleasures of human company are withdrawn and his resentment begins to bubble up, inexplicably touching. This is a great performance.
  5. Anderson's cinematic style gets more adventurous from one movie to the next, and he begins this story with bursts of originality that leave his respected "Rushmore" far behind.
  6. Over the course of 108 minutes, The Royal Tenenbaums drops downward on the humor scale from hilarious to funny to quirky to pretentiously bizarre to chaotic.
  7. 50
    Anderson's other hallmarks here are brilliant gags that deflate in the execution, potentially interesting characters that end up so flat they feel as if they'd been cut out of paper, a plot that's all setup and no story.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 113
  2. Negative: 29 out of 113
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This is the most down-rated movie ever! Great director, fu**ing good actor and a perfect story. A superb family, who cant evolve because ofThis is the most down-rated movie ever! Great director, fu**ing good actor and a perfect story. A superb family, who cant evolve because of their own fear. Expand
  2. MikeF.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite movies ever made -- hilarious, touching, weird, and beautiful, with great visuals, fantastic music, snappy writing, and One of my favorite movies ever made -- hilarious, touching, weird, and beautiful, with great visuals, fantastic music, snappy writing, and that ephemeral otherness that is the hallmark of true art. I sometimes wish I'd never seen it so I could see it again for the first time. Expand
  3. PatrickB
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    If you want a movie filled with cheap laughs,silly slapstick humor, or fart jokes, don't watch this movie! It's a sophisticated If you want a movie filled with cheap laughs,silly slapstick humor, or fart jokes, don't watch this movie! It's a sophisticated comedy/drama that makes me teary even after watching it dozens of times. The acting is spot on, the soundtrack is superb, and Wes Anderson's directing has never been so flawless. This is my favorite movie and it deserves to be worshiped. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Una película que es difícil de catalogar, ya comienza a generar expectativas. ¿Comedia o drama? Antípodas que raraUna película que es difícil de catalogar, ya comienza a generar expectativas. ¿Comedia o drama? Antípodas que rara vez permiten compartir protagonismo con igual intensidad. The Royal Tenenbaums es una película que se debate entre estos dos géneros, que el ingenioso guión permite deleitarse con impresionantes actuaciones y navegar entre sonrisas pícaras y duelos de vida. Una postura arriesgada que divide al público entre desconcierto y aclamación, un filme que abre el camino de consolidación a un director por su particular propuesta estética y manera de ironizar realidades.
    Reseña completa: http://cineplacebos.webnode.es/news/un-mundo-en-una-familia/
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    At first, I wasn't quite sure what to make of The Royal Tenenbaums, but as you gradually get to know the titular weird and wonderfulAt first, I wasn't quite sure what to make of The Royal Tenenbaums, but as you gradually get to know the titular weird and wonderful dysfunctional clan, and experience the same trials and tribulations that they do, you truly grow to care for them. As always with Wes Anderson's films it's beautifully written, and simple but striking in its visual style. A brilliantly talented ensemble cast perform for your pleasure, and Gene Hackman is simply mesmerising as the complex Tenenbaum patriarch who is far more than another distant father - he's a real puzzle-box of a character whose layers are gradually pealed back as the narrative progresses. Gwyneth Paltrow and Luke Wilson also stand out as the severely depressed adopted daughter and the youngest son who has drifted aimlessly through life since his career as a professional tennis player floundered. The title cards used between narrative segments of the film, presented like chapters of a novel are a little irritating, and tend to break up the flow of the story rather than link this tale to storytelling tropes of classic literature, as was likely the intention. This is a minor gripe though, and The Royal Tenenbaums remains an engrossing, darkly comic tale of short-lived successes and persistent failures, love and hate, joy and depression, and above all else, family. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2015
    5
    It's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a coupleIt's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a couple emotionally affecting ones, but the cast is wasted. I didn't mind the characters so much as the way they're used. Wilson's and Stiller's characters are funny, but they almost never get a chance to steal the show. I also had a problem with the one character falling in love with his adopted sister. Maybe not actual incest but still weird and uncomfortable. It could have been so much better but Anderson's need for meticulousness completely distracts from the story and not in a good way. I wouldn't call myself either a Wes Anderson fan or hater. Some of his work, like The Grand Budapest Hotel, I really like, and other times it just doesn't. This was one of those times it just didn't do anything for me. I'll eventually re-watch this, and maybe I'll come back with a different opinion, but for now it's a meh for me. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    Its absolutely terrible. The acting ,or rather lack of it, is terrible. The entire film is really just poor from start to finish and anIts absolutely terrible. The acting ,or rather lack of it, is terrible. The entire film is really just poor from start to finish and an absolute waste of time. Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Ben Stiller

    All Films Considered: Ben Stiller Image
    Published: March 18, 2010
    The star of the new movie "Greenberg," Ben Stiller has been making audiences laugh -- some of the time -- for two decades. We look at the best and worst movies of his career to date.
  2. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.
  3. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  4. Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/22): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 22, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at The Magnificent Seven, Sausage Party, xXx: Return of Xander Cage, Snowden, The Girl on the Train, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 20, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Star Trek Beyond, Lights Out, Don't Think Twice, Ice Age: Collision Course, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.