The Royal Tenenbaums Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: The story of the Tenenbaum family's sudden, unexpected reunion one recent winter. (Touchstone Pictures)
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. 100
    You'll laugh, you'll cry -- the year's best movie.
  2. Reviewed by: Ron Wells
    90
    A very funny and painfully relevant two hours of entertainment.
  3. 88
    Once you're among them, the Tenenbaums -- and Anderson -- cast quite a spell.
  4. Reviewed by: David Edelstein
    80
    Hackman gives the con-man lines a simple, straight-ahead urgency that makes the man first hilarious and then, as the pleasures of human company are withdrawn and his resentment begins to bubble up, inexplicably touching. This is a great performance.
  5. Anderson's cinematic style gets more adventurous from one movie to the next, and he begins this story with bursts of originality that leave his respected "Rushmore" far behind.
  6. Over the course of 108 minutes, The Royal Tenenbaums drops downward on the humor scale from hilarious to funny to quirky to pretentiously bizarre to chaotic.
  7. 50
    Anderson's other hallmarks here are brilliant gags that deflate in the execution, potentially interesting characters that end up so flat they feel as if they'd been cut out of paper, a plot that's all setup and no story.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 112
  2. Negative: 29 out of 112
  1. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    This is the most down-rated movie ever! Great director, fu**ing good actor and a perfect story. A superb family, who cant evolve because ofThis is the most down-rated movie ever! Great director, fu**ing good actor and a perfect story. A superb family, who cant evolve because of their own fear. Expand
  2. MikeF.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    One of my favorite movies ever made -- hilarious, touching, weird, and beautiful, with great visuals, fantastic music, snappy writing, and One of my favorite movies ever made -- hilarious, touching, weird, and beautiful, with great visuals, fantastic music, snappy writing, and that ephemeral otherness that is the hallmark of true art. I sometimes wish I'd never seen it so I could see it again for the first time. Expand
  3. PatrickB
    Nov 14, 2008
    10
    If you want a movie filled with cheap laughs,silly slapstick humor, or fart jokes, don't watch this movie! It's a sophisticated If you want a movie filled with cheap laughs,silly slapstick humor, or fart jokes, don't watch this movie! It's a sophisticated comedy/drama that makes me teary even after watching it dozens of times. The acting is spot on, the soundtrack is superb, and Wes Anderson's directing has never been so flawless. This is my favorite movie and it deserves to be worshiped. Expand
  4. Jun 25, 2012
    8
    Una película que es difícil de catalogar, ya comienza a generar expectativas. ¿Comedia o drama? Antípodas que raraUna película que es difícil de catalogar, ya comienza a generar expectativas. ¿Comedia o drama? Antípodas que rara vez permiten compartir protagonismo con igual intensidad. The Royal Tenenbaums es una película que se debate entre estos dos géneros, que el ingenioso guión permite deleitarse con impresionantes actuaciones y navegar entre sonrisas pícaras y duelos de vida. Una postura arriesgada que divide al público entre desconcierto y aclamación, un filme que abre el camino de consolidación a un director por su particular propuesta estética y manera de ironizar realidades.
    Reseña completa: http://cineplacebos.webnode.es/news/un-mundo-en-una-familia/
    Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    8
    The Whole thing about the dysfunctional family, that reunites for the sake of a sick family member (Royal Tenenbaun, played by Gene Hackman,The Whole thing about the dysfunctional family, that reunites for the sake of a sick family member (Royal Tenenbaun, played by Gene Hackman, which by the way he was fantastic on the movie), i enjoyed watching it, the final scene I wasn't expecting for that, so that made me like it even more, i do think it was a good movie, with a great cast. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2015
    5
    It's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a coupleIt's not a bad movie. It's pleasant enough, but so much of it is just completely flat. There are a couple funny moments, and a couple emotionally affecting ones, but the cast is wasted. I didn't mind the characters so much as the way they're used. Wilson's and Stiller's characters are funny, but they almost never get a chance to steal the show. I also had a problem with the one character falling in love with his adopted sister. Maybe not actual incest but still weird and uncomfortable. It could have been so much better but Anderson's need for meticulousness completely distracts from the story and not in a good way. I wouldn't call myself either a Wes Anderson fan or hater. Some of his work, like The Grand Budapest Hotel, I really like, and other times it just doesn't. This was one of those times it just didn't do anything for me. I'll eventually re-watch this, and maybe I'll come back with a different opinion, but for now it's a meh for me. Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    Its absolutely terrible. The acting ,or rather lack of it, is terrible. The entire film is really just poor from start to finish and anIts absolutely terrible. The acting ,or rather lack of it, is terrible. The entire film is really just poor from start to finish and an absolute waste of time. Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Ben Stiller

    All Films Considered: Ben Stiller Image
    Published: March 18, 2010
    The star of the new movie "Greenberg," Ben Stiller has been making audiences laugh -- some of the time -- for two decades. We look at the best and worst movies of his career to date.