Paramount Pictures | Release Date: April 4, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 92 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
61
Mixed:
15
Negative:
16
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
TheMovieCriticAug 19, 2012
The idea of a horror movie set in a mayan ruin is interesting right? Right. It's just that this movie isn't anywhere close to interesting or scary. It is just boring and fails to entertain you, and what was meant to be scary ends up beingThe idea of a horror movie set in a mayan ruin is interesting right? Right. It's just that this movie isn't anywhere close to interesting or scary. It is just boring and fails to entertain you, and what was meant to be scary ends up being plain out annoying. I'm talking about the screaming plants of course. Definitely skip this one. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
GrantZAug 24, 2009
Ignore the haters, The Ruins is probably one of the best movies of recent times. It isn't cliche and it truly is shocking in places, the monster gets into one of the females, causing some of the most disturbing scenes i've ever Ignore the haters, The Ruins is probably one of the best movies of recent times. It isn't cliche and it truly is shocking in places, the monster gets into one of the females, causing some of the most disturbing scenes i've ever seen in a movie. Scenes of amputation, are included. But there isn't too much blood. It instils a sense of fear by making you realize that in the end, we truly are our greatest enemies, when stuck in terrifying situations. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
JayH.Jul 2, 2008
In spite of some tense scenes and a good performance from Jena Malone, this is a tired story, needlessly gory and lacks originality. Well produced, It begins to fall apart after the first half. It does have it's moments though.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikeOct 19, 2008
A very silly, laughable movie. And this was suppose to be a horror?!?
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
ChrisApr 5, 2008
No character development to make you care about the actors, no backstory, and the "monster" is about as lame as I've ever seen. The ending sucked. The only good part was the realism of the gore, which is worth about 3 poknts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
GigiM.Apr 24, 2008
Interesting setting and hot cast, but it lost me when the vines got grabby and the flowers started making noise -- very Little Shop of Horrors. Gory/gross and yet too silly to be great.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Based on one of the best selling graphic novels of all-time, The Ruins, has a lot to like, and a lot to dislike. Following the classic horror movie format, there is a ton of eye candy and gore, always a good thing. The plot isn't very strongBased on one of the best selling graphic novels of all-time, The Ruins, has a lot to like, and a lot to dislike. Following the classic horror movie format, there is a ton of eye candy and gore, always a good thing. The plot isn't very strong thou. It was a great book and there was a lot to go on, but sadly the movie ignores it. You see a lot of things, but unlike the book, nothing is really explained. This movie is all visual. They focus almost entirely on the gore, and not the story, making The Ruins just another typical horror movie. A good horror movie mixes a truly scary story, with shock, awe, and beautiful people. That's the formula, and while The Ruins should have been all those things, it really wasn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
RyencokeApr 8, 2008
This movie was just horrible. Boring, Lame. Plot went nowhere. You don't see no monster/cool thing. Seriously so horrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Apr 5, 2008
This is no mere ruins, this is "The Little Mayan Ruins of Horror". The menace in the Frank Oz-directed musical sang like an old school-soul stylist from planet Motown, his backup singers were green. In "The Ruins", the adversary is more like This is no mere ruins, this is "The Little Mayan Ruins of Horror". The menace in the Frank Oz-directed musical sang like an old school-soul stylist from planet Motown, his backup singers were green. In "The Ruins", the adversary is more like Kraftwerk than The Four Tops; like a Korg with a built-in sampler. The tourists aren't portrayed as ugly Americans, they're just four young people caught in a situation that's way over their heads. A film like "The Ruins" works better if the audience has a rooting interest in the characters' survival. When Stacy(Laura Ramsey), then Amy(Jena Malone), is lowered into the cavern, "The Ruins" looks like the toughest season of "Survivor" ever. The four Americans are split into two teams, and the German is like Jeff Probst. Stacy wins the battle of the girlfriends after the round of knives. Contrary to most horror films in which a homicidal maniac tortures his victims, in "The Ruins", body parts are hacked off without the stigma of villiany. Torture is disguised as a medical procedure which satisfies genre convention with tongue placed firmly in cheek. Jeff(Jonathan Tucker), the wanna-be doctor, so impassive as he works on the German, makes you draw parallels between surgeons and serial killers. They both have no feelings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FraierM.Apr 5, 2008
This is the most gory movie ever! Seriously. My date almost threw up at the leg part. This is a high intense movie that really gets under your skin. It follows the book good, except for a few parts and they switched two ppl around... but This is the most gory movie ever! Seriously. My date almost threw up at the leg part. This is a high intense movie that really gets under your skin. It follows the book good, except for a few parts and they switched two ppl around... but other than that, it was a good follower. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
LevS.Jun 26, 2008
Excellent gore effects. [***SPOILER***] But a cannibalistic vine? Laughable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewJul 10, 2008
I don't understand all the negativity and derision this film has garnered. I found it to be a very interesting and well-done horror film. One of the better American offerings I have watched in the past 6 months.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiagoM.Jul 10, 2008
IS really not very original, but the cast is very good, the locations is ok and the tension is great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulRJul 18, 2008
Aaaah! A breath of fresh air for once from the horror coal mines. People keep on saying that horror is dead, that it died back in the late 80's and has been slowly trying to pop it's head up for air ever since. The Ruins looks like Aaaah! A breath of fresh air for once from the horror coal mines. People keep on saying that horror is dead, that it died back in the late 80's and has been slowly trying to pop it's head up for air ever since. The Ruins looks like the kind of snuff horror film that you would have seen back in the late 70's, only this film adds a sublte supernatural twist. It is horror that bases its self in the suffering of a group of people slowly withering away while faceing varialble threats. This film is not a slasher film, but a film of intense despair that leaves you glued to the screen. It pulls no punches, it shows you the violence as if you where watching a autopsy video, detailed and precise. Not for the faint of heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AnthonyC.Aug 12, 2008
Awful!!!! While the acting is actually pretty decent, there is no plot and the parts just come out of nowhere without any explanation. I don't know how anyone can say this movie is even half-way decent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KittyJ.Apr 5, 2008
The beauty of this film is its ability to transcend simple body-horror to sheer psychological terror. The cast does an incredible job of selling the villain, something that I, myself, was skeptical of when told of the book. As a person The beauty of this film is its ability to transcend simple body-horror to sheer psychological terror. The cast does an incredible job of selling the villain, something that I, myself, was skeptical of when told of the book. As a person heavily affected and in love with the book, I had a lot riding on this film. I think it does a great job of living up to expectations and satisfying the horror lover in all of us. While I'm not entirely sold on the ending and do believe it needed another 15 minutes or so to really drive the terrifying story home, it's a true delight and worth the $10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.TunesApr 5, 2008
One of the best Horror/SciFi films I've seen in a long time. My girlfriend read the book and she agreed. Well acted, great special effects and lots of blood. If you can't watch surgeries on TLC this is not the movie for you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZaneSJul 22, 2008
I really liked this movie, but the novel was like a thousand times better. They really should've followed the novel instead, and the characters were all mixed up & stuff. But I liked the movie, had some intense sense, enough gore, and I really liked this movie, but the novel was like a thousand times better. They really should've followed the novel instead, and the characters were all mixed up & stuff. But I liked the movie, had some intense sense, enough gore, and an antagonist unlike anything you've really seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
czarAug 14, 2008
I enjoyed this horror. It was edgy and suspenseful. As with any horror there are gaps in the story and lots of "why didn't they .." and "if only then" - but that is not the point. We had a good nights viewing and that is what it is about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JessicaT.Apr 13, 2008
Terrible movie. My friends and I just talked throughout the entire movie. There was no excitement, no plot twists, nothing. This movie was a disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
HunterHApr 13, 2008
I rarely watch horror movies. I find them to be poor quality, and reliant on cheap thrills rather than substance. I got dragged to this by some friends, and it merely confirmed my suspicions. Not so much a coherent film as much as an excuse I rarely watch horror movies. I find them to be poor quality, and reliant on cheap thrills rather than substance. I got dragged to this by some friends, and it merely confirmed my suspicions. Not so much a coherent film as much as an excuse to show a number of scenes concerning graphic amateur surgery. There wasn't a single point in the film that was scary, but plenty that were pointlessly gory. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
VC.Jun 12, 2008
Note to writer: If you are going to make a movie about people being trapped on a pyramid by locals who appear out of nowhere as soon as you set foot on the damn thing, please be kind enough to explain why said locals didn't just stop Note to writer: If you are going to make a movie about people being trapped on a pyramid by locals who appear out of nowhere as soon as you set foot on the damn thing, please be kind enough to explain why said locals didn't just stop said people from going there in the first place, especially considering another group of random people had gone to the evil pyramid a few days earlier. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
It was actually pretty good, I know I was suprised to think so as well. Decent acting (I expected worst) and the story was interesting as well. I think it ends rather cliche if you ask me but it was still a good film that is worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 4, 2013
Alcanza a lograr el suspenso, el tema y la idea para una buena pelĂ­cula, sin embargo Las Ruinas se queda atascada en el mismo rollo durante buena parte de la pelicula
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
KivaJun 24, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie starts with a good idea but as the film goes disappointment comes to your eyes. It is not scary it just have some mystery and when something is revealed you are like you have earned nothing from that movie. something with some plants happened i think. ReAlLy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 21, 2014
The movie started with a cliche idea.A group of friends in vacancy the they **** and then the get killed.But,the visuals were amazing the script was unpredictable and the acting was great.Sure,some ideas were stupid like the plant who canThe movie started with a cliche idea.A group of friends in vacancy the they **** and then the get killed.But,the visuals were amazing the script was unpredictable and the acting was great.Sure,some ideas were stupid like the plant who can scream like a cell phone but the movie was enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews