Paramount Pictures | Release Date: April 4, 2008
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 93 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
62
Mixed:
15
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GrantZAug 24, 2009
Ignore the haters, The Ruins is probably one of the best movies of recent times. It isn't cliche and it truly is shocking in places, the monster gets into one of the females, causing some of the most disturbing scenes i've ever Ignore the haters, The Ruins is probably one of the best movies of recent times. It isn't cliche and it truly is shocking in places, the monster gets into one of the females, causing some of the most disturbing scenes i've ever seen in a movie. Scenes of amputation, are included. But there isn't too much blood. It instils a sense of fear by making you realize that in the end, we truly are our greatest enemies, when stuck in terrifying situations. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
Tss5078Feb 24, 2013
Based on one of the best selling graphic novels of all-time, The Ruins, has a lot to like, and a lot to dislike. Following the classic horror movie format, there is a ton of eye candy and gore, always a good thing. The plot isn't very strongBased on one of the best selling graphic novels of all-time, The Ruins, has a lot to like, and a lot to dislike. Following the classic horror movie format, there is a ton of eye candy and gore, always a good thing. The plot isn't very strong thou. It was a great book and there was a lot to go on, but sadly the movie ignores it. You see a lot of things, but unlike the book, nothing is really explained. This movie is all visual. They focus almost entirely on the gore, and not the story, making The Ruins just another typical horror movie. A good horror movie mixes a truly scary story, with shock, awe, and beautiful people. That's the formula, and while The Ruins should have been all those things, it really wasn't. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ChadS.Apr 5, 2008
This is no mere ruins, this is "The Little Mayan Ruins of Horror". The menace in the Frank Oz-directed musical sang like an old school-soul stylist from planet Motown, his backup singers were green. In "The Ruins", the adversary is more like This is no mere ruins, this is "The Little Mayan Ruins of Horror". The menace in the Frank Oz-directed musical sang like an old school-soul stylist from planet Motown, his backup singers were green. In "The Ruins", the adversary is more like Kraftwerk than The Four Tops; like a Korg with a built-in sampler. The tourists aren't portrayed as ugly Americans, they're just four young people caught in a situation that's way over their heads. A film like "The Ruins" works better if the audience has a rooting interest in the characters' survival. When Stacy(Laura Ramsey), then Amy(Jena Malone), is lowered into the cavern, "The Ruins" looks like the toughest season of "Survivor" ever. The four Americans are split into two teams, and the German is like Jeff Probst. Stacy wins the battle of the girlfriends after the round of knives. Contrary to most horror films in which a homicidal maniac tortures his victims, in "The Ruins", body parts are hacked off without the stigma of villiany. Torture is disguised as a medical procedure which satisfies genre convention with tongue placed firmly in cheek. Jeff(Jonathan Tucker), the wanna-be doctor, so impassive as he works on the German, makes you draw parallels between surgeons and serial killers. They both have no feelings. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FraierM.Apr 5, 2008
This is the most gory movie ever! Seriously. My date almost threw up at the leg part. This is a high intense movie that really gets under your skin. It follows the book good, except for a few parts and they switched two ppl around... but This is the most gory movie ever! Seriously. My date almost threw up at the leg part. This is a high intense movie that really gets under your skin. It follows the book good, except for a few parts and they switched two ppl around... but other than that, it was a good follower. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MatthewJul 10, 2008
I don't understand all the negativity and derision this film has garnered. I found it to be a very interesting and well-done horror film. One of the better American offerings I have watched in the past 6 months.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TiagoM.Jul 10, 2008
IS really not very original, but the cast is very good, the locations is ok and the tension is great!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaulRJul 18, 2008
Aaaah! A breath of fresh air for once from the horror coal mines. People keep on saying that horror is dead, that it died back in the late 80's and has been slowly trying to pop it's head up for air ever since. The Ruins looks like Aaaah! A breath of fresh air for once from the horror coal mines. People keep on saying that horror is dead, that it died back in the late 80's and has been slowly trying to pop it's head up for air ever since. The Ruins looks like the kind of snuff horror film that you would have seen back in the late 70's, only this film adds a sublte supernatural twist. It is horror that bases its self in the suffering of a group of people slowly withering away while faceing varialble threats. This film is not a slasher film, but a film of intense despair that leaves you glued to the screen. It pulls no punches, it shows you the violence as if you where watching a autopsy video, detailed and precise. Not for the faint of heart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
KittyJ.Apr 5, 2008
The beauty of this film is its ability to transcend simple body-horror to sheer psychological terror. The cast does an incredible job of selling the villain, something that I, myself, was skeptical of when told of the book. As a person The beauty of this film is its ability to transcend simple body-horror to sheer psychological terror. The cast does an incredible job of selling the villain, something that I, myself, was skeptical of when told of the book. As a person heavily affected and in love with the book, I had a lot riding on this film. I think it does a great job of living up to expectations and satisfying the horror lover in all of us. While I'm not entirely sold on the ending and do believe it needed another 15 minutes or so to really drive the terrifying story home, it's a true delight and worth the $10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
J.TunesApr 5, 2008
One of the best Horror/SciFi films I've seen in a long time. My girlfriend read the book and she agreed. Well acted, great special effects and lots of blood. If you can't watch surgeries on TLC this is not the movie for you!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZaneSJul 22, 2008
I really liked this movie, but the novel was like a thousand times better. They really should've followed the novel instead, and the characters were all mixed up & stuff. But I liked the movie, had some intense sense, enough gore, and I really liked this movie, but the novel was like a thousand times better. They really should've followed the novel instead, and the characters were all mixed up & stuff. But I liked the movie, had some intense sense, enough gore, and an antagonist unlike anything you've really seen before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
asylumspadezNov 26, 2011
It was actually pretty good, I know I was suprised to think so as well. Decent acting (I expected worst) and the story was interesting as well. I think it ends rather cliche if you ask me but it was still a good film that is worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeNov 21, 2014
The movie started with a cliche idea.A group of friends in vacancy the they **** and then the get killed.But,the visuals were amazing the script was unpredictable and the acting was great.Sure,some ideas were stupid like the plant who canThe movie started with a cliche idea.A group of friends in vacancy the they **** and then the get killed.But,the visuals were amazing the script was unpredictable and the acting was great.Sure,some ideas were stupid like the plant who can scream like a cell phone but the movie was enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Feb 2, 2016
Really liked this Movie.Like how they made it longer than most so they could cover a lot from the Book.Very original.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-684-The-Ruins-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews