FilmDistrict | Release Date: October 28, 2011
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 115 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
53
Mixed:
47
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GOUGHOct 28, 2011
Having read the book years ago, and not expecting much, I was pleasantly surprised and ultimately delighted with this honest, real, touching, homage to the memory of the man, whose work and presence on this earth, has meant so much, to soHaving read the book years ago, and not expecting much, I was pleasantly surprised and ultimately delighted with this honest, real, touching, homage to the memory of the man, whose work and presence on this earth, has meant so much, to so many people. The film is light but heavy too. If you just sit back and let it, its charm should engage. It's not for everyone, there can be difficulty, but life's that way, so what? Deal with it. Or maybe not. I can certainly say, I enjoyed it, and will see it again, very soon. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
bottafffMar 3, 2012
"The Rum Diary" I believe is ten times better the movie than critics will admit. Great acting by Johnny Depp in portraying Hunter S Thompson, who is such an iconic figure. Wonderful acting, cinematography, and screen writing. However, the"The Rum Diary" I believe is ten times better the movie than critics will admit. Great acting by Johnny Depp in portraying Hunter S Thompson, who is such an iconic figure. Wonderful acting, cinematography, and screen writing. However, the only thing that doesn't make sense is that Johnny Depp is 48 and Thompson was 23 in 1960. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
AkkharFeb 19, 2012
I wanted to see an Adventure film like The Rum Diary . I like this kind of adventure films and The Rum Diary did good. Robinson's Directing was super !! Johnny was amazing like he always is. Rest of the Cast did good. The Views of PuertoI wanted to see an Adventure film like The Rum Diary . I like this kind of adventure films and The Rum Diary did good. Robinson's Directing was super !! Johnny was amazing like he always is. Rest of the Cast did good. The Views of Puerto Rico was really awesome .I haven't read the book but I felt the script was weak(I don't know its the script or The Book But...) If the story was a bit more wide this could be hell of an Adventure Film.This was one of those films that started slowly and turned out to be freaking crazy . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sir_BrandonNov 6, 2011
Set in 1960, The Rum Diary takes us back to a time when Dr. Hunter S. Thompson wasnâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rdannarOct 30, 2011
â
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
soulprovider12Oct 31, 2011
superb film. thats all that needs to be said. like fresh air to parched lungs. the film does everything it sets out to do! don't be put off by delusional reviewers who have become so blinded by the hollywood blockbuster. the film provides asuperb film. thats all that needs to be said. like fresh air to parched lungs. the film does everything it sets out to do! don't be put off by delusional reviewers who have become so blinded by the hollywood blockbuster. the film provides a welcome change to the film industry that i believe everyone should be a part of Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
N3KR3P0Nov 8, 2011
The Rum Dairy was an excellent film. No, it may not have been as crazy a drugadled experience that was Hunter S. Thompson's "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" but it was not meant to be. That's why I feel its received such low score by critics.The Rum Dairy was an excellent film. No, it may not have been as crazy a drugadled experience that was Hunter S. Thompson's "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas" but it was not meant to be. That's why I feel its received such low score by critics. Yes, it is a similar feel with Depp at lead followed by his adventures "partners". Paul Kemp (Johnny Depp) travels to Puerto Rico for a free lance journalism job at The San Juan Star where he becomes co-worker/ associates with 2 other strange and eccentric drunkards Giovanni Ribisi as Moberg & Michael Rispoli as Bob Sala. The three end up rooming together as the adventure unfolds and become somewhat of a team to bring back the failing San Juan Star as it begins to fail. During his time in Puerto Rico Pual Kemp becomes entranced by his new business partner Aaron Eckhart as Sanderson, a businessman trying to cook up a new money making opportunity and he believes Paul Kemp to be the right man to do some colorful writing for him, but things come to a grinding halt when Paul becomes entranced by Eckhart's mitress Amber Heard as Chenaul. I enjoyed it, kept me interested and gave me more then a few chuckles and as a fan of Hunter S. Thompson and Johnny Depp I felt it more exemplified their true values. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ZumbaongirlNov 7, 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie! Johnny Depp is seriously unappreciated in this critic's opinion! He is thoughtful in choosing his roles and is not willing to compromise his values and artistic integrity for a quick $! His movies are notI thoroughly enjoyed this movie! Johnny Depp is seriously unappreciated in this critic's opinion! He is thoughtful in choosing his roles and is not willing to compromise his values and artistic integrity for a quick $! His movies are not always marketed well, because he is careful to surround himself with writers and producers who tend to be just like him! They are more interested in making thought provoking films which almost always contain a message and make a point of doing so in a manner that may require a little more from it's viewers than just "setting back to be entertained". His films most always make you say, "Hmm." Not too mention his ecclectic, eccentric and very definitely sexy mannerisms! You go, Johnny-keep staying elusive and mysterious-we love that about you! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AlvaradoKTAJun 23, 2012
I don't even know why I watched this. I knew the trailers would prove to be the deceiving, it just seemed right to watch a movie that stars the actors that it does. The cast just don't portray anyone interesting. Nonetheless, this isn't a badI don't even know why I watched this. I knew the trailers would prove to be the deceiving, it just seemed right to watch a movie that stars the actors that it does. The cast just don't portray anyone interesting. Nonetheless, this isn't a bad film. Just a boring one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TomGlosFeb 9, 2012
Id say (if I was going to that... compare that Fear and Loathing was a better adaptation) but as ever [JD], a fitting tribute to one of the 20th Centuries greatest writers.

Critics? Remember Gonzo - as in... Its not about the destination -
Id say (if I was going to that... compare that Fear and Loathing was a better adaptation) but as ever [JD], a fitting tribute to one of the 20th Centuries greatest writers.

Critics?
Remember Gonzo - as in... Its not about the destination - it's about the journey // its not about what you DO, it's about HOW it's done...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
maoriiiMar 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "We're not like the others. We're your friends." Oscar Z. Acosta aka Dr. Gonzo

If you are a Hunter S. Thompson fan, an aspiring writer or just a weirdo freak, then this is one more great movie that will make you feel at home, no matter where you happen to be. Of course, it makes much more sense to actually read nowadays, for all sorts of devious advantages, but, with the main vein strapped into the American Dream Machine, this is a sobering second place for lost souls and harmless maniacs alike. Be warned though fellow traveler in the land of the weird, Johnny Depp does not want to tell you what you want to hear in this movie. HST speaks from the grave through Depp to tell you exactly what you need to hear. As a result, it is little wonder this movie did not receive a wide release but, it is, however, an instant underground classic for swine who prefer to see the world as it is, sans the rose colored glasses of hypocritical greed, clinically depressed decadence and gross debauchery.

A word of caution lest you be of the meek and timid sort. This is a dose of reality seldom seen in a movie or work of literature. This is a story for what Nietzsche referred to as the "Ã
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
misterdogOct 16, 2012
Original and funny movie, with good acting all round. Set on the exotic island of puerto rico our protagonist (Depp) himself is already colourful to begin with; and as to be expected during his adventures there, is surrounded by all sorts ofOriginal and funny movie, with good acting all round. Set on the exotic island of puerto rico our protagonist (Depp) himself is already colourful to begin with; and as to be expected during his adventures there, is surrounded by all sorts of people of the same league.

The story builds up slowly but never gets boring, it's an intelligent way of storytelling and a fresh breeze of air in a movie market, mainly dominated by predictable hollywood action movies.
It reminds me a little of the recent Woody Allen movies in that it contains a original plot, good acting and a a slow but steady storyline mixed with lot's of funny moments.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
audreythomas25Feb 17, 2016
A compelling ride for die-hard fans of the book series, dramatic thriller enthusiasts, as well as anyone who enjoys Fincher's darker works.

Watch here for free
A compelling ride for die-hard fans of the book series, dramatic thriller enthusiasts, as well as anyone who enjoys Fincher's darker works.

Watch here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-276ddf-The-Girl-with-the-Dragon-Tattoo-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Jan 25, 2016
Amusing and well constructed story. Johnny's performance was superb as always.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-428395-The-Rum-Diary-online-free
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews