The Sacrament

Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Leigh Clark
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    The found footage format has been milked to death of late... but here it's used to fully immerse the viewer, ensuring that the characters speak directly to the audience and, with the removal of the third wall, throws them straight into the lion's den to create maximum discomfort.
  2. Reviewed by: Guy Lodge
    Dec 10, 2013
    80
    It’s a film that purists might insist isn’t horror in the strictest sense, though this slow-burning investigation of unseemly goings-on at a rural Christian commune is frightening in any genre language.
  3. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Dec 10, 2013
    70
    It makes savvy use of the well-worn found-footage format, modulating its creepy scenario with considerable skill.
  4. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 4, 2014
    67
    West is a talented director and knows how to build suspense. But here’s a case where the truth wasn’t only stranger than his fiction, it was scarier, too.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Keough
    Jun 12, 2014
    63
    West’s film differs from the “Blair Witch” template in that the footage is never actually “found.”
  6. Reviewed by: Glenn Kenny
    Jun 6, 2014
    63
    West is such a technically accomplished filmmaker, and his cast of semi-regulars so committed to the narrative, that the resultant movie gives enough unsettling atmosphere and upsetting gut-level shock that this viewer didn’t mind too much all the stuff he wasn’t getting, such as intellectual coherence, not to mention any kind of profound insight into the cult hive mind.
  7. 63
    The tension fizzles as The Sacrament narrows into predictability, indulging every cliché of found-footage filmmaking and Jonestown-styled cult apocalypticism.
  8. Reviewed by: Chuck Bowen
    Jun 1, 2014
    63
    With The Sacrament, director Ti West has bitten off more of a premise than his classically modest barebones approach to horror movies can presently chew.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Jan 30, 2016
    0
    Horrible boring.Horrible boring. Boring,boring,boring,boring,boring.boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring,boring. Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2016
    7
    Summary: Well-acted and intriguing, The Sacrament is definitely Ti West's least boring horror film to date. 73/100 [B]

    I'm not a huge fan
    Summary: Well-acted and intriguing, The Sacrament is definitely Ti West's least boring horror film to date. 73/100 [B]

    I'm not a huge fan of Ti West's previous work and I was not interested at all in this film, also because the poster is kinda boring; but I like the cast so I decided to see it. It boasts a very talented cast that was also involved in the movie You're Next, such as: Joe Swanberg, AJ Bowen and Amy Seimetz. The Sacrament left me very surprised and satisfied. In my opinion this is the first film directed by Ti West that is not boring. I enjoyed it so much, it is found-footage done well. In my opinion, The House of the Devil and The Innkeepers were two of the most boring horror films I've seen, of course they are good movies, but both of them have too many suspense and nothing interesting happens in 80% of their running time.

    I've seen a lot of crappy found-footage movies this year and most of them sucked, such as: Alien Abduction, Delivery and Mr. Jones. Unlike them, The Sacrament is that rare found-footage film that succeeds. It has huge premise that is very well handled by this talented director. It's based on a true story called "The Jonestown Massacre" and that makes the film scarier. Of course it has some flaws especially in its second half, but the violence and the whole atmosphere of the film compensates for its flaws. I'm glad that I didn't know anything about this flick, I just pressed the play button without knowing anything about the plot and without watching the trailer, I recommend you to do the same.

    The performances during the whole film were superb and believable; my favorite ones came from Gene Jones, AJ Bowen and the best one yet Amy Seimetz! There is actually a tense scene between two siblings, performed by Kentucker Audley and Amy Seimetz, it is one of my favorite scenes in the movie because it was shocking and realistic; the last 30 minutes are wickedly violent, without being too gory. I also like the production value, everything looks good and doesn't look cheap at all. One of the most notable things in The Sacrament is how mysterious and well developed were its characters. Also, "Father" performed by Gene Jones was annoying as hell but in a good way, he holds the greatest moments of the film.

    It is thought-provoking at times, in its first half it makes you think about the way of how we live today's life with all those new technologies and stuff. I mean, it has some social commentary very well explained and all of this was quite interesting to me. I give it a 7/10 because it has some plot holes and the second half of the movie was kinda messy. Found-footage movies may be tiresome for some people but in this film this element is very well handled by West, and the presence of the camera is smart and has sense. The Sacrament is one of the best horror films of the year; it is not perfect at all but it shows the power of a leader and how far will he go. It takes to itself seriously and it is painful to watch at times. I really liked it, Ti West has a new fan. [B]
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 4, 2016
    8
    The Sacrament was surprisingly good. This is the kind of thriller/horror movie I like: realistic, not over-the-top, and compelling. Some ofThe Sacrament was surprisingly good. This is the kind of thriller/horror movie I like: realistic, not over-the-top, and compelling. Some of the critics say the plot moved along too slowly, but as someone who has an extremely short attention span, I was actually thoroughly captivated by this movie. It was really interesting to watch the mystery of this cult unfold, and it seemed like they were first and foremost trying to tell a story rather than trying to shock you, which is much more important in my opinion. Also, for being an obviously low budget film, the production value was really good, and the acting was top notch. I legitimately thought this was a Vice documentary for the first 10 minutes! Full Review »