Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 3, 2003
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 373 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
319
Mixed:
38
Negative:
16
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Nero97Jan 9, 2012
They couldn't pick anyone better than Jack Black to make the movie. He's funny and a big rock fan. The children are awesome musicians. The acting is pretty good overall. Not incredible but pretty good. The soundtrack is amazing and the wholeThey couldn't pick anyone better than Jack Black to make the movie. He's funny and a big rock fan. The children are awesome musicians. The acting is pretty good overall. Not incredible but pretty good. The soundtrack is amazing and the whole idea for the movie is awesome. Great. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
GrantN.Jan 21, 2006
Jack Black is side-splittingly funny in this comedy about a fake substitute teacher (Black) and his attempt at turning a preppy elementry school class into rockers. A must-see if you like Black or bands like Led Zeppelin.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarieM.Jun 23, 2006
its so funny. jack black is the perfect character. i hope they can do a school of rock 2.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MichaelDJan 9, 2011
Jack Black is awesome in this rock comedy. It's not the best comedy I ever seen though.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
First off, this is a 9 out of 10. Acting is good. Jack black is great in the film. He's real funny. Music is really good throughout the movie. Story is also really good. Overall, this is a really good film. Even with the pg-13, everyoneFirst off, this is a 9 out of 10. Acting is good. Jack black is great in the film. He's real funny. Music is really good throughout the movie. Story is also really good. Overall, this is a really good film. Even with the pg-13, everyone should see it. Highly recommended. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 28, 2015
School of Rock is a film that has a phenomenal performance by Jack Black in a role he was born to play. In the sure hands of Richard Linklater, the film manages to avoid being too formulaic and is incredibly funny throughout. The film managesSchool of Rock is a film that has a phenomenal performance by Jack Black in a role he was born to play. In the sure hands of Richard Linklater, the film manages to avoid being too formulaic and is incredibly funny throughout. The film manages to not just be funny, however. Rather, it is also quite touching, entertaining, and moving, throughout as you see this man be "touched" by these kids and see the way he 'touches" them. Well-written and directed by Linklater, School of Rock also has a good performance from Joan Cusack and very impressive performances from the young kids who show tons of potential in this film. The main drawback is that some of the scenes are really hard to watch due to how uncomfortably awkward they are, but hey, that's just me. Coming into this one, I had pretty low expectations in spite of Linklater and came away quite impressed while also being quite entertained. A comedy film with heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
cameronmorewoodNov 13, 2012
A fun, light-hearted farce that is punctuated by some surprising depth and feeling. School of Rock is a winner, and, to quote Dewy, it kicks ass.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MariofanJun 24, 2015
This movie was great. It was hilarious overall. The acting was great. Jack Black was awesome. The plot was good. The soundtrack was awesome. The School of Rock is an awesome movie and I would recommend that you check it out. If you hate thisThis movie was great. It was hilarious overall. The acting was great. Jack Black was awesome. The plot was good. The soundtrack was awesome. The School of Rock is an awesome movie and I would recommend that you check it out. If you hate this film, you are silly as JB and BieberNinja. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeMar 6, 2016
Some points remind me of the School of Rock. What School of Rock? There's any School of Rock here. Oh, this School of Rock... you know, Jack Black stars in? Eh, not one of his best films, but indeed enjoyable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JesseL.May 17, 2008
it was a very good movie. and yea i agree, the fact that Jack Black was able to tune down his many obsenities for a childrens movie (or pg-13) and Katie (A.K.A the bass guitar) is hot.
4 of 5 users found this helpful
10
NobodyMar 20, 2009
Awesome movie with awesome music!!!! Caitlin Hale is really cute and has a good voice. Too bad, she don't want to proceed as an actress or singer. Joey GAYdos sucks!!! He think he's best guitar player of the world. I listed to a Awesome movie with awesome music!!!! Caitlin Hale is really cute and has a good voice. Too bad, she don't want to proceed as an actress or singer. Joey GAYdos sucks!!! He think he's best guitar player of the world. I listed to a few songs of him and I have to say: they're sounding all the same. He's totally overrated. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TovenaarDec 9, 2014
This is a really fun film - and we all need more of those.
Jack Black can be "over the top" and he's WAY over the top in this but it succeeds by being cute, fun and silly at the same time. The film feels like it's only a few minutes long as
This is a really fun film - and we all need more of those.
Jack Black can be "over the top" and he's WAY over the top in this but it succeeds by being cute, fun and silly at the same time. The film feels like it's only a few minutes long as it zips by. The extras on the DVD are fun too !!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
KyraMar 20, 2004
Hey! Wow,what a fantastic movie. Sure I'm just 1 of those ppl who fall 4 the 1st hott guy in the movie, but Kevin Clark is so lyke WHOA!! Jack Black was hilarious! Top performance from all, can't wait 4 another movie with Kevin!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CassieJ.Oct 9, 2005
I love this movie for many reasons! the gay guy is sooo funny but mainly Kevin u rock! heres my sayin! "guitarists get paid but drummers get layed" fit fit fit! oh and v. funny movie ;P
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillCOct 5, 2005
Great movie great band period!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargieS.Jan 22, 2006
Ilove kevin clark he is the hotest drummer I know i know a lot of drummers to.I have been dreams of him before his movie came out.I just want to know his number so I can call him to tell him about my dreams.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGDec 4, 2006
This is one of the most inspirational and hilarious movie I have seen in a long time. I watched Love Actually for the first time yesterday and I was touched, but School of Rock is WAY more heart warming. Oh God I love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenHOct 27, 2003
Was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. The only reason you wouldn't like this movie would a) be a total stiff and have no sense of humor, b) hate life, or c) don't like to laugh. This is a great movie for anyone who was Was one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. The only reason you wouldn't like this movie would a) be a total stiff and have no sense of humor, b) hate life, or c) don't like to laugh. This is a great movie for anyone who was in, is in, or wants to be in a band. Jack Black's performance was hillarious. School of rock deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AmandaH.Mar 12, 2004
Kevin clark is soooo hott!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrancescaDec 7, 2005
Omg, Zack from the movie (his real name is Joey Gaydos) is really HOT...so amazing, so cool, so talented! and that Caitlin Hale is really cute (i mean Marta from the movie) she's pretty cool too.... i wish i had her voice....hehe!!! Bye bye
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChloepSep 18, 2005
I think this movie was BRILLANT!!!! im so sad i must have watched it 100 times!!! OMG its just so funny, and jack black is a legend, and kevin clarke, boy now he is hottttt!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamMay 31, 2006
You want to know what's scary about this movie? It's so good that, if it weren't for LOTR: The Return of the King, it would be the best movie of 2003.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JacobH.Apr 7, 2007
Funny movie, good music, the clash hell yea, but Jack Black thinks he iz da shit, and is so funny, and he is, but he sux @ guitar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaH.Nov 1, 2003
Kevin clark is soooo hott!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ZeeDec 15, 2003
I think this movie is geared to kids. There were some funny moments but it don't deserve the high rating it is getting. I would give it a 65%.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgiaHDec 17, 2006
I totally agree with Jennifer L Kevin is the hottest guy on earth. He's just turned 18. The movie is amazing!! I do not believe some people gave it a 2. R u nuts??
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamH.May 28, 2006
My parents ALWAYS laugh at just about every second of this movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kimberleyaNov 29, 2004
Omg! this movie so totally rocked...literally!!! the entire cast was amazing. kevin clark is SOOOOOOO HOTT!!!! he looks just like tom felton, and he can act just as great. at first i thought this movie would be bad but a friend convinced me Omg! this movie so totally rocked...literally!!! the entire cast was amazing. kevin clark is SOOOOOOO HOTT!!!! he looks just like tom felton, and he can act just as great. at first i thought this movie would be bad but a friend convinced me to see it and i was soooo not disappointed. if you havent seen it stop reading this and go watch it NOW!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MovieLonely94Nov 7, 2010
not excellent, but Jack Black was funny
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
skyminsterApr 26, 2012
The school of rock, like nacho libre (another Jack Black film), is hilarious, its possibly even better the nacho libre, I love it so much, its a hilarious classic (not all classics are good, but this one is!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dfinn104Mar 17, 2012
Awesome. Jack Black is believable first as a mooch and then as a motivational instructor because as both he's a dreamer and untroubled by the realities of the real world. Joan Cusack is fantastic 'I didn't used to be this tightly wound'. AndAwesome. Jack Black is believable first as a mooch and then as a motivational instructor because as both he's a dreamer and untroubled by the realities of the real world. Joan Cusack is fantastic 'I didn't used to be this tightly wound'. And some of the students were far out talented Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Trev29Sep 3, 2012
This was a really fun movie to watch. Some great funny acting by the adults and by the kids. Great concept that was done pretty damn well. I even enjoyed the music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Marine4GodMay 1, 2012
Jack does an amazing job of bringing it home with a face-melter. Watch this movie and prepare to be rocked, as well as come away with some great one-liners.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysMar 22, 2014
How can you resist the power of The School of Rock? It's charming, funny, entertaining, and enjoyable, making only the occasional misstep. This movie is Jack Black at his best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FreedomFightersOct 31, 2016
Talk about a fun movie! "School of Rock" knows exactly how to have a great time, and thanks largely to Jack Black's performance and an incredibly hilarious script, "School of Rock" is definitely a great film. If you want a fun and exuberantTalk about a fun movie! "School of Rock" knows exactly how to have a great time, and thanks largely to Jack Black's performance and an incredibly hilarious script, "School of Rock" is definitely a great film. If you want a fun and exuberant time with a movie, make it a point to watch "School of Rock." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Jan 30, 2016
Richard Linklater is a guy that can really do anything with the comedy genre every one of his films are different as he has a very good track record. School of Rock is just another example of another solid Linklater film. Jack Black is in theRichard Linklater is a guy that can really do anything with the comedy genre every one of his films are different as he has a very good track record. School of Rock is just another example of another solid Linklater film. Jack Black is in the role he was destined to play and you can sense his true passion for this project throughout the film. Everyone knows that working with kids in film can be hell but it works in School of Rock and they make it look so easy. If Black didn't have a good dynamic with the kids this movie would have been dead in the water and it was excellent. There are some great child actors in this film that are cute, funny and you believe the whole band even if they are all kids. The development is great for Black and the kids grow along with him which is really cute. The ending is really satisfying as well, it will leave you smiling. That's all I will say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RogerEApr 17, 2016
One of my favorite music related movies of all time. Killer duo of Richard Linklater and Jack Black. The music is carefully picked and the supporting cast with all the kids make for a heartwarming movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hanneguacamoleJul 24, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Leo loves School of Rock, and after watching with him, I can't say that I blame him. Jack Black stars as a (lazy?) rock musician that's struggling to get on his feet. His life is about showing it to the MAN but his lack of success in the band and mooching off of his friend dries up most of the paths that lay in his way.

In an extraordinary chain of events, Dewey ends up as a substitute teacher! By know we know that the story's going to be about him beating the odds beating the man and hiding from authority – in a way, acting more childish than the children. This teaching gig was supposed to bail him out, but as it becomes bigger the enthusiasm and love for rock and the kids grows and is infectious. Unrealistic as it may be, it's charming in the creative ways these kids band together and get involved.

School of Rock could have easily fallen multiple levels in quality by stooping to its audience, but instead it expected them to rise to meet the occasion, most of which would look this film straight in the eye and give it "two thumbs up." It's not cheesy, it's not real, it's rock. It doesn't try to be something it's not, and that's admirable. The relationships are real, the people are real, and so is the love of rock & roll. I can feel the passion.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileySep 13, 2016
The School of Rock is becoming a classic that is fun for all ages and enjoyable to watch time and time again. It is very entertaining with some great comedy, good casting and performances, and some kick ass music beats.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews