Universal Pictures | Release Date: April 19, 2002
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 89 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
29
Mixed:
39
Negative:
21
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JessicaP.Jul 8, 2002
Everybody has to suck at something, well,not only does The Rock suck at wrestling but at acting too. He really needs some help, or do I just hate him?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
LecriticalJun 30, 2003
Now i know that this movie doesent take much grey matter to watch, however, it was very entertaining to me for some reason. it made me feel like a kid again. although the humore was dry, i found the dvd commentary by the rock hillarious.Now i know that this movie doesent take much grey matter to watch, however, it was very entertaining to me for some reason. it made me feel like a kid again. although the humore was dry, i found the dvd commentary by the rock hillarious. check it out. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
SamApr 3, 2006
The real problem with this prequel is in the mummy returns. If it had set a far more interesting and detailed background for the Scorpion King, it would've been really good. Since it didn't you just don't care.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichaelR.Oct 18, 2002
The Rock shows a lot of potential here as an action star. Unfortunately, the screenplay doesn't dig deep enough so that we can have a greater understanding of who the Scorpion King really is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
[Anonymous]May 3, 2002
The Rock is very charismatic, but can't save this positively horrible film. I would rather lick the frost off of a metal pole in the dead of winter then to ever sit through this piece of crap ever again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
spadenxJan 24, 2012
Just like the first Mummy film, The film has that "It" factor and it truely is an enjoyable film. A solid prequel (at least for the Mummy series) and good action through out (I would say the best in the first 3 films). It is a little corny atJust like the first Mummy film, The film has that "It" factor and it truely is an enjoyable film. A solid prequel (at least for the Mummy series) and good action through out (I would say the best in the first 3 films). It is a little corny at times though and that takes away from the film quite a bit. Overall though, It wasnt bad and its worth the watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
imthenoobSep 25, 2013
Entertaining and solid action as well. Certainly worth watching if you are a fan of the Mummy films and it's a pretty solid prequel. Sure it's flawed story wise and all that jazz but it's still worth checking out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
ballpark_frankNov 25, 2012
If we restrict ratings to movies starring former 'rasslers, this might rate 6-7 from me (top honors going to "They Live" with 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper). But, overall, I find this to be below average. It's mildly entertaining, but just doesn'tIf we restrict ratings to movies starring former 'rasslers, this might rate 6-7 from me (top honors going to "They Live" with 'Rowdy' Roddy Piper). But, overall, I find this to be below average. It's mildly entertaining, but just doesn't have that 'special hook'. If you want sword-and-sorcery action, you'd do much better sticking with the "Conan" movies. About the only draw I can see, is 'The Rock', which will no doubt bring in the 'rasslin' fans. Otherwise, the story is tripe. The comedy is forced (sticking with the cowardly side-kick and the smart-ass kid format). I should state that I haven't watched this in a theatre, or the DVD version - merely the televised version(s). However, I really don't sense I'm missing much Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BigZOct 8, 2014
I was fairly young when this came out and since I was a very huge fan of The Rock I thought this movie was the greatest thing ever. Getting older I still consider this a favorite, it is a great action flick for the ancient sword swinging era.I was fairly young when this came out and since I was a very huge fan of The Rock I thought this movie was the greatest thing ever. Getting older I still consider this a favorite, it is a great action flick for the ancient sword swinging era. The big burly muscular presence I think was greatly revitalized by Dwayne Johnson. That being said, I don't think there is a character that had fit him so well as being the scorpion king ever since. Packs the punch you'd expect. well choreographed fight scenes that stay consistent, nothing too impractical, the plot is relatively sound. Only issue being his correlation with a scorpion and why that is significant enough to be his title, and his perceived "destiny" by the sorceress seemed to not be all that dramatic when he was confronted by it could have been more in depth a suspenseful, not too annoying though. They did good with his support, his enemy isn't so much a match of strength but skill, his side-kicks are a funny pansy type guy, an inventor, and a beautiful woman, no one to upstage him...Considering the WWE had a lot to do with this film, they did it well, played to the strengths of a charismatic actor. Worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews