Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 422 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Dec 24, 2013
    100
    The story Stiller tells manages to float in a most peculiar, satisfying way.
  2. 75
    It’s a charming, whimsical and ever-so-slight film, a bit of an over-reach but pleasant enough, even when it falls short.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Dec 28, 2013
    75
    In his uniquely funny and unexpectedly tender movie, Stiller takes us on a personal journey of lingering resonance.
  4. Reviewed by: Claudia Puig
    Dec 23, 2013
    50
    By trying to combine fantasy and romance with goofy humor, globe-trotting adventure and feel-good inspiration, Stiller has made Mitty a mixed bag of clashing tones and facile redemption.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Morgenstern
    Dec 28, 2013
    50
    Impressive landscapes, plus Kristen Wiig's appealing Cheryl, the fellow worker who inflames Walter's passion, make the movie enjoyable enough. Yet its style is a constant bafflement.
  6. Reviewed by: Ann Hornaday
    Dec 24, 2013
    50
    The unevenness of The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, and Stiller’s recessive characterization of the title character, keep it from being an all-out crowd-pleaser.
  7. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 25, 2013
    25
    If, while watching The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, you start wondering why Ben Stiller is acting strange, the answer comes during the closing credits: "Directed by Ben Stiller."

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 113
  2. Negative: 7 out of 113
  1. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I can't believe this movie has a metascore of 54. This is one of the best movies of the year. I know this site bases the score on a wide rangeI can't believe this movie has a metascore of 54. This is one of the best movies of the year. I know this site bases the score on a wide range of reviews, but when they get it this wrong I question the value of coming here. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    Этот фильм стоит у меня на первом месте в избранном. В этом фильме я узнал себя, свою скучную жизнь. Этот фильм заставляет задуматься иЭтот фильм стоит у меня на первом месте в избранном. В этом фильме я узнал себя, свою скучную жизнь. Этот фильм заставляет задуматься и сделать что то безумное и веселое, сделать себя счастливым. Об этом фильме можно разговаривать часами и пересматривать снова и снова!
    Просто останьтесь один дома и посмотрите этот фильм, вы не пожалеете!
    Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    9
    Nice looks: both Life Magazine and the adventures to Greenland, Iceland and Afghanistan. Ben Stiller is likeable as ever, and a good matchNice looks: both Life Magazine and the adventures to Greenland, Iceland and Afghanistan. Ben Stiller is likeable as ever, and a good match for the character of Walter Mitty. Sweet performance by Kristen Wiig. Perfect cameo by Sean Penn. Solid comedic performance by Patton Oswald. Nice plot development: he gives up his fantasies for reality. Pleasant romantic comedy thread. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    I really liked this movie! I thought it was sweet and charming and it was shot incredibly well. The cast was all fantastic and I reallyI really liked this movie! I thought it was sweet and charming and it was shot incredibly well. The cast was all fantastic and I really enjoyed Ben Stiller's aesthetics. Expand
  5. Dec 28, 2013
    8
    A decent and up-lifting story with Ben Stiller in the Director's chair AND in the lead, how the hell did I stumble into an alternate universeA decent and up-lifting story with Ben Stiller in the Director's chair AND in the lead, how the hell did I stumble into an alternate universe where he's a good actor?
    This movie is a brilliantly shot-if plot light-take on the old adage 'don't let life pass you by', it's far better than the quote from Ferris Beuler. This film does that in a far more subtle way, it shows you what you're doing every day and then what you could do and the only thing that holds you back is the 'responsibility' we all have.
    A good and warm movie for anyone who wants to enjoy their life, instead of simply living.
    Expand
  6. Jan 23, 2014
    7
    Okay, I personally really liked this movie. Since everyone likes the night at the museum movies this just a small revival to Stiller's careerOkay, I personally really liked this movie. Since everyone likes the night at the museum movies this just a small revival to Stiller's career to get his fans prepped for Night at the Museum 3. All this aside this is a visually good movie but it has too little story development. I Also think this movie should be longer so there is MORE story develop. Overall see when its DVD unless you a visual experience in a theater. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    This is the worst movie that I have seen in years. I can not understand how anyone can claim that it is based on James Thurber's short storyThis is the worst movie that I have seen in years. I can not understand how anyone can claim that it is based on James Thurber's short story by the same title. The only similarity is that both Mittys are day dreamers. The Walter Mitty in Thurber's story had a wife. This movie was just a bunch of garbage and a big waste of money. Expand

See all 113 User Reviews

Trailers