Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: February 17, 2012
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 228 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
195
Mixed:
27
Negative:
6
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
PrinceHamletFeb 24, 2012
I should preface this review with an admission, I love Studio Ghibli's work, all of it, so I am a little biased when it comes to their films. The Secret World of Arrietty is one of their finest works to date, beautifully animated (and byI should preface this review with an admission, I love Studio Ghibli's work, all of it, so I am a little biased when it comes to their films. The Secret World of Arrietty is one of their finest works to date, beautifully animated (and by beautifully I really mean stunning), a wonderful story with great voice acting. You really can't help but smile and be happy at the end, even if the ending is somewhat bittersweet. Certainly more approachable Ghibli film then others for American audiences. Go see it, take yourself, your spose, your children, your friends children, your niece, your nephew, your parents, your grandparents, and anyone else I haven't mentioned. It is truly a beautiful film and should be enjoyed by all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tallmanwritingFeb 22, 2012
This is a beautiful movie, a beautiful story. Our whole family, ranging in age from five to 81 went together and everyone left smiling. Studio Ghibli will rarely do you wrong. Arrietty is precocious and brave. Her father is stoic and kind.This is a beautiful movie, a beautiful story. Our whole family, ranging in age from five to 81 went together and everyone left smiling. Studio Ghibli will rarely do you wrong. Arrietty is precocious and brave. Her father is stoic and kind. Her mother is frantic and devoted. Enjoy the show! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jefflyn90Mar 25, 2012
The secret world of Arrietty is a faithful representation of the source material, focusing mainly on the Clock family and their relationship with a chronically sick boy. Even though it is not directed by Miyazaki there are very clearThe secret world of Arrietty is a faithful representation of the source material, focusing mainly on the Clock family and their relationship with a chronically sick boy. Even though it is not directed by Miyazaki there are very clear influences from Nausica and Totoro. The meeting of two very different worlds and the feeling of post-apocalyptic world even though it is firmly based in our present world. Even though this movie is addressed for the younger generation, it tackles very grown up themes which embody the whole movie. For example there is a sheer presence of loneliness that creates the whole feeling of the movie. Its dark, thematic and vastly detailed, you would be at awe at the incredible detail that the differences between the two worlds are greatly contrasted in way that is purely Ghibli. If you're finding it difficult to watch this because there is no Miyazaki, think again this is an incredible, grown up picture that greatly impresses. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MossyCDLMar 17, 2012
Lush and magical and delightful all at the same time. It may not be as thrilling or epic as Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke or Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, yet it is still ten times better than most animated films that America spews out.Lush and magical and delightful all at the same time. It may not be as thrilling or epic as Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke or Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, yet it is still ten times better than most animated films that America spews out. Like most other Studio Ghibli films, Arrietty treats its audience like intelligent people, making the film exciting not just for the young ones, but for any age. I have never read The Borrowers, but based on what I saw in the film, it appears that Mr. Miyazaki did a decent job adapting the novel for the screenplay. The only thing is, he may have stayed too true to the novel's simple style, and in the process, may have detracted slightly from his studio's usually distinct imaginative qualities. The movie is calm, reserved, ans slow-paced. It's not about action, it's about detail. Feast your eyes and enjoy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
luistuaFeb 17, 2012
Los paisajes, los colores, los dialogos. Da la impresión de que todo vuelve a ser tan hermoso como en todas estas películas pero tras media hora de encanto la película se queda estancada. Al final da laLos paisajes, los colores, los dialogos. Da la impresión de que todo vuelve a ser tan hermoso como en todas estas películas pero tras media hora de encanto la película se queda estancada. Al final da la sensación de que pudo haber tomado más riesgos, que se pudo exprimir más la historia. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
fonsofFeb 26, 2012
Una pelicula realmente interesante, con un tema no muy original, pero si muy bien recreado por parte del estudio ghibli, con un final muy interesante, les recomiendo esta pelicula para que la vean en compañia, y asi poderlaUna pelicula realmente interesante, con un tema no muy original, pero si muy bien recreado por parte del estudio ghibli, con un final muy interesante, les recomiendo esta pelicula para que la vean en compañia, y asi poderla disfrutar mas. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GagaForGhibliMay 28, 2012
Studio Ghibli Does It Again!
Another Great Movie, But The Ending Seems Rushed! It Would Of Been A 10!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheDRauchOct 27, 2012
Another Ghibli success comes in the form of 'The Secret World of Arrietty', a heartwarming and gorgeously animated entry into the studio's already impressive resume of films. The movie fully transports you into the world of the borrowers, aAnother Ghibli success comes in the form of 'The Secret World of Arrietty', a heartwarming and gorgeously animated entry into the studio's already impressive resume of films. The movie fully transports you into the world of the borrowers, a feat that many other films about little people have failed to accomplish. Some may be off-put to this particular release due to its rather deliberate pacing, but it's for that exact reason that I really enjoyed 'Arrietty'. Most animated films are so focused on immediate gratification that they rarely slow down to let us really take in the display of painstakingly constructed visuals and it is in this avoidance of convention that the film really is elevated to greatness. The music for the movie (especially in the scenes where Arrietty travels through the lush garden) is also beautiful and captivating. All of the aesthetic aspects aside, 'The Secret World of Arrietty' never forgets about it's story and characters. There is one particular scene of note where Shawn and Arrietty have a deeply philosophical conversation about living life and the acceptance of death. There is such a reverence for depth in the dialogue in that scene. Overall, a beautiful and wholly enjoyable movie that adults can take pleasure from just as much as their kiddies can. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
star_gazingSep 15, 2013
I was surprisingly delighted while watching the film. Lavishly crafted and detailed environments with not so ordinary characters, beautiful music, there's much to be praised of Arrietty. I'd definitely recommend anyone to watch the film, buyI was surprisingly delighted while watching the film. Lavishly crafted and detailed environments with not so ordinary characters, beautiful music, there's much to be praised of Arrietty. I'd definitely recommend anyone to watch the film, buy it, and share with their children. Keeps a sense of fascination going. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Iky009Nov 21, 2014
The Ghibli Studios can always give your best every animation. The Secret World of Arrietty is a masterpiece of stunning visuals and a well-crafted plot and wonderful characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Jul 3, 2013
Its a Classic, It`s so easy to watch and so peaceful. I like all the characters! Love how detailed they get with the art. I loved the music from the beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
stumalpassFeb 17, 2013
This film is wonderful a beautiful family film that has a breathtaking soundtrack and is a delight to look at. One of the best animated films i have seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SEROJFeb 3, 2016
Probably the most adorable Ghibli movie to date! Absolutely stunning visuals, superb soundtrack and good story, makes this one of the animations no one should miss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mapizarroNov 27, 2013
Studio Ghibli is synonymous with magic, great fantasy and philosophical and inside strength. "Spirited Away" is best, "How's Moving Castle" is better and "Ponyo" is good. "The Secret World of Arrietty" is like "Ponyo", good film but it isStudio Ghibli is synonymous with magic, great fantasy and philosophical and inside strength. "Spirited Away" is best, "How's Moving Castle" is better and "Ponyo" is good. "The Secret World of Arrietty" is like "Ponyo", good film but it is short of vigour and it promises more than it gives. I think that this film, like "The Cat Returns" too, is overrated. Movies with local customs like "From Up on Poppy Hill" and "Only Yesterday" are more undervalued than "The Secret World of Arrietty". "Arrietty" is okay but no more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LanaDelReyMar 23, 2013
A Charming Tale! The Best Animated Film Of 2012!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jeff_reviewsJul 5, 2013
"Ghibli's Arrietty" soars to its expectations, with wonderful new characters and a brand new fun premise. With its take on a "Toy Story" like qualities except with tiny humans, it has fun and enjoyable plot elements that are appealing. While"Ghibli's Arrietty" soars to its expectations, with wonderful new characters and a brand new fun premise. With its take on a "Toy Story" like qualities except with tiny humans, it has fun and enjoyable plot elements that are appealing. While it may lack true depth or an deep climax, the film shines with the bright visuals and fascinating world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeFeb 21, 2016
What a great anime-made Disney movie. Seriously, it looks like anime just by the very minute after I review this movie. You'll probably want to give this movie an 8 or so.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews