User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 193 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 193

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    The Secret World of Arrietty is enduring, beautifully animated, beautifully voice acted, funny, heartwarming film ,and should be a model for other animated movies soon to come. Studio Ghibli creates yet another beauty. I give this movie 98%.
  2. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    The Secret World of Arrietty is a beautiful hands down best animation with great artwork by Studio Ghibi and Disney. The story was based on the novel by Mary Norton's The Burrowers. It's about a young tiny girl who is discovering huge people's objects in a huge house. She spends time with her parents and she meets a huge young boy who is visiting to stay at the caretaker's house for hisThe Secret World of Arrietty is a beautiful hands down best animation with great artwork by Studio Ghibi and Disney. The story was based on the novel by Mary Norton's The Burrowers. It's about a young tiny girl who is discovering huge people's objects in a huge house. She spends time with her parents and she meets a huge young boy who is visiting to stay at the caretaker's house for his operation of his sick heart. She has friendship with the boy and she discovers to become one of the small people known as the burrowers. The characters are interesting and it's been done by great voice acting. Arrietty was portrayed by Bridgit Mendler and she did a great voice with deep heart and strong bravery. Shawn was also portrayed by David Henrie and he did great too with great emotional character development. More characters are fun including Arrietty's mother (Amy Poehler), Arrietty's father (Will Arnett), and the caretaker named Haru (Carol Burnett). The animation is so beautiful with great art by Ghibli. The background is so colorful with flowers, the household items, the characters, and the huge house. Much like Spirited Away and Ponyo, it's phenomenal bright and deep stunning stylish. In my conclusion, The Secret World of Arrietty is a nicely done film and one of my best films of 2012 that I can watch it over and over. It treats us for bigger adults and Ghibli's art fans, but even children will definitely watch. Expand
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Hayao Miyazaki knows exactly what he's doing. If you enjoyed Ponyo and Spirited Away, then you will never once regret spending your money to see this movie. totally worth the ten dollars to see it in the theater.
  4. Apr 29, 2012
    5
    This film isn't really what I was expecting. I found the story extremely boring and must admit it isn't in the usual Disney or Studio Ghibli styles (both of which i like!). The animations are good though, and it is a charming story, but not something I would watch again.
  5. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    Not many movies these days leave you with a tugging feeling of the heart, but this one surely did. Everything is idyllic and picturesque - from the smallest details of a miniature kitchen room to the vast green-scape of the gardens. The characters are overwhelming charming and lovable, and one cannot help but wish that they are real. The story is subtle but strong, and the music isNot many movies these days leave you with a tugging feeling of the heart, but this one surely did. Everything is idyllic and picturesque - from the smallest details of a miniature kitchen room to the vast green-scape of the gardens. The characters are overwhelming charming and lovable, and one cannot help but wish that they are real. The story is subtle but strong, and the music is breathtaking. I agree with some of critics that the pacing may have been a tad slow overall (lulling effect), and that Arrietty and Sho/Shawn as characters may have been a little flat (though I just call it subtlety of the Japanese reserve), but those things shouldn't stop anyone from enjoying this film 110%. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    This movie is classic Ghibli magic. The feel is much like the heroines of My Neighbor Totoro and Kiki's Delivery Service. She's bold, hyper-responsible, and wants very much to take care of everyone. It's a small, quiet story, told with beautiful detail.
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    Having watched The Borrowers as a child, I really looked forward to taking my kids to this film. It was so slow moving... it dragged on forever. Rent this one, but don't expect much.
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    The Secret World of Arrietty is visually stunning. So much detail drawn into every frame just like all movies from Studio Ghibli. In fact, you will swear it is a Hayao Miyazaki film - it certainly has the look and feel. In fact, the master animator wrote the screenplay, but did not direct it, but his handiwork is obvious. The story itself is charming, although predictable for adults.The Secret World of Arrietty is visually stunning. So much detail drawn into every frame just like all movies from Studio Ghibli. In fact, you will swear it is a Hayao Miyazaki film - it certainly has the look and feel. In fact, the master animator wrote the screenplay, but did not direct it, but his handiwork is obvious. The story itself is charming, although predictable for adults. I saw it in a theater with kids, and most children, except for the very young, were quiet and seemingly transfixed. It isn't a classic like "Spirited Away" but if you're a fan of Miyazaki you will like it. Expand
  9. Feb 29, 2012
    9
    A great animation, made with classic Anime techniques, showing that you don't need top CG and computer teams to make a wonderful Job. The story is about a boy who have a heart disease, and ius going to rest in a country house, that was his grandfather house. There, bellow the floor lives a little people family, the called Borrowers, that take from the home above thing to survive. TheA great animation, made with classic Anime techniques, showing that you don't need top CG and computer teams to make a wonderful Job. The story is about a boy who have a heart disease, and ius going to rest in a country house, that was his grandfather house. There, bellow the floor lives a little people family, the called Borrowers, that take from the home above thing to survive. The detailing of the scenarios, voicing and the soundtrack are perfect to transmits the sensation of peace of the place and the live-style of the house (s) - all animation is full of colours and details, with excelent sound effects. A story to all the family, and a masterpiece from Studio Ghibli, that deserve to be one of the top movies (animations) this year. My score: 8,7 / 10,0 Expand
  10. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    I love The Secret World of Arrietty, is an interesting anime film, about a different world, and is perfect this film, this studio never do a terrible work and the secret world of arrietty is fantastic.
  11. Apr 5, 2012
    7
    Stunning visuals and sound abound throughout the film yet I couldn't escape the desire of wanting something to happen up until the end. The film left me wishing they had explored the world they created and found another story to tell in it.
  12. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    There is something magical about the wonderful creations of Japan's Studio Ghibli, and animator Hayao Miyazaki. And although this is not their strongest suit, it is still spellboundingly beautiful.
  13. Feb 22, 2012
    7
    Studio Ghibli is best known for dazzling flights of animation like "Spirited Away," "Mononoke" and "Ponyo." Disney has put its muscle behind this latest, an adaptation of "The Borrowers," about tiny people who live among us. Unfortunately, this is the studio's most earthbound release. The story is told in its simple, quiet style, but lacks the magical wonder and visual imagination of theStudio Ghibli is best known for dazzling flights of animation like "Spirited Away," "Mononoke" and "Ponyo." Disney has put its muscle behind this latest, an adaptation of "The Borrowers," about tiny people who live among us. Unfortunately, this is the studio's most earthbound release. The story is told in its simple, quiet style, but lacks the magical wonder and visual imagination of the earlier films. Don't expect a fast-paced, gag-filled, crazy-character American product. This picture's quality lies it its visual appeal and gentle charm. Expand
  14. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    I kept pausing this film just to take in certain frames, usually sketches the garden. Each frame is an absolute work of art. To add to that the story is very nice and the voiceovers are top notch as always. A lovely film indeed and a great collection to Ghibli's repertoire.
  15. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    To The New York Times Manohla Dargis I say this: Your review is contingent on the quality of the book, not the actual movie, thus I will disregard the score you gave this flick. I personally felt it was fantastic. Brilliant animation, good characters... I didn't really find anything wrong with it, hence the 10.
  16. Feb 21, 2012
    10
    The Secret World of Arrietty is a spectacular film from Ghibli, the story is not really original to me but I guess that's because its adopted, and the visuals are out of world as ever. Should you watch it, yes, there is many reasons why you should watch this. One its from Ghibli, 2 its from Ghibli, 3 yeah I guess you get it by now. The story is very similar to other movies from them, thereThe Secret World of Arrietty is a spectacular film from Ghibli, the story is not really original to me but I guess that's because its adopted, and the visuals are out of world as ever. Should you watch it, yes, there is many reasons why you should watch this. One its from Ghibli, 2 its from Ghibli, 3 yeah I guess you get it by now. The story is very similar to other movies from them, there a boy and a very brave girl who would do anything to help others or to help herself. Expand
  17. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    proof that ghibli still has it's magic and wonder even without miyazaki at the the helm, but instead writing the scripts. this movie is very visually stunning and is a wonderful re imagining of the orignal books, and the best adaptation of them that I have seen
  18. Feb 24, 2012
    9
    When I first heard about this movie I had to see it and I had extremely high expectations, and I was not disappointed, it's beautifully animated with attention to detail everywhere, it just looks gorgeous, and the voice work is fantastic, and the music is perfect for the movie, and every little sound from the borrowers footsteps to the creaking of the floorboards all make the movie feelWhen I first heard about this movie I had to see it and I had extremely high expectations, and I was not disappointed, it's beautifully animated with attention to detail everywhere, it just looks gorgeous, and the voice work is fantastic, and the music is perfect for the movie, and every little sound from the borrowers footsteps to the creaking of the floorboards all make the movie feel more alive, you will find yourself falling in love with the characters, I do wish it ended a little differently, not that it ended badly I just would have liked to have seen it end a little differently, but it's still a masterpiece, this is a perfect family movie and a must watch for everyone, very few movies manage to be this enjoyable and full of magic, a must watch. Expand
  19. Oct 1, 2012
    8
    The Secret World of Arrietty is a fantastic and moving slice of Ghibli anime. It has a delightfully calm tone and a truly excellent soundtrack. There's not too much to say other than this movie is just pure brilliance.
  20. Apr 24, 2012
    8
    I just simply love it! Welcome to the world of Studio Ghibli! If you are familiar with thiz famous studio in Japan, by any chance you must have seen My Neighbor Totoro (1988), Princess of Mononoke (1997), Spirited Away (2001) or my favorite anime Ponyo (2008). Hayao Miyazaki is the mastermind behind those respectable masterpieces. Thiz time he hands over the directing to his experiencedI just simply love it! Welcome to the world of Studio Ghibli! If you are familiar with thiz famous studio in Japan, by any chance you must have seen My Neighbor Totoro (1988), Princess of Mononoke (1997), Spirited Away (2001) or my favorite anime Ponyo (2008). Hayao Miyazaki is the mastermind behind those respectable masterpieces. Thiz time he hands over the directing to his experienced Key Animator, Hiromasa Yonebayashi. 14-year-old Arrietty, mother and father are four-inch-tall people who live in another family residence. The family fulfils their daily needs like bread, sugar, tissue and other things by borrowing them. There is a heart-kinded boy named Shou, just moves into the house and something is going to change forever. The voice Actors are Mirai Shida (Arrietty), Tomokazu Miura (Pod, the father), Shinobu Ohtake (Homily, the mother) and Ryûnosuke Kamiki (Shou). In UK version, the character Arrietty is voiced by Saoirse Ronan. Our mood has been set up to feel the tenderness from the very first moment, the car driving to the house is beautifully described with uplifting music, it reminds me of the opening scene in Spirited Away. The classic hand-drawn animation is at its best. Thiz movie is just like all the other Studio Ghibli productions, it is filled with beauty, elegance and plenty of lovable characters. The details is unbelievably accurate, the sunshine, the rain, the wind blowing, everything is well-crafted. Thiz movie is not an ordinary animation but it is actually a drama in animated form with more mature standpoint. There are a lot of hearts there. See all over every scene, we will have very friendly experiences and down to earth feelings. You will easily find sensitive humanity theme behind it. If nowadays most people go with Pixar. Myself, I am always looking forward for Studio Ghibli productions. I saw you, Arrietty! And I kind of loved it!

    Visit My Blog on JONNY MOVEE: http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
    Expand
  21. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This Movie Is So Amazing! (As Other Ghibli Movies)
    All I Can Say Is The Animation Is So Beautiful, A Great Plot, Overall In My Opinion The Best Animated Movie Of 2012!
    This Needs To Be Nominated For A Acadamy Award! FINGERS CRO$$ED!
  22. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    Arrietty is quite simply a joy to behold. Simultaneously an affectionate and faithful adaptation of Mary Norton's novel The Borrowers and a highly original journey in visual terms, the film captivates you from the very start. Much like Studio Ghibli's last feature Ponyo, Arrietty is sweet, tender and without agenda, other than the environmental subtext that it wouldn't be Ghibli without.Arrietty is quite simply a joy to behold. Simultaneously an affectionate and faithful adaptation of Mary Norton's novel The Borrowers and a highly original journey in visual terms, the film captivates you from the very start. Much like Studio Ghibli's last feature Ponyo, Arrietty is sweet, tender and without agenda, other than the environmental subtext that it wouldn't be Ghibli without. Again like Ponyo, it's a film about growing up, finding your place in the world and truly appreciating the importance of family and friends. Arrietty is visually sumptuous even by Studio Ghibli's standard - everything is drawn and animated beautifully, and it's very easy to get swept up in the colossal domestic and garden environments, all presented from a "Borrower's-eye-view". The voice cast are spot-on, particularly Mirai Shida's inquisitive and adventurous teen Borrower and titular heroine Arrietty and Kirin Kiki's scheming caretaker Haru, who makes a sinister but humorous antagonist. The film's simple but effective score by Cecile Corbel rounds things off nicely, and adds a little extra emotion and magic to proceedings. Arrietty is a truly great animated film, and in a really quite horrifying modern world, it makes a nice change to watch something that is so innocent, that would satisfy a 5 year-old or an 85 year-old in equal measure. Collapse
  23. May 5, 2012
    9
    A studio Ghibli film, what more can I say. Extremely well done, great story. Just an overall Studio Ghibli classic. If you like other films such as, Kiki's Delivery Service, Ponyo, My Neighbor Totoro, Hal's Moving Castle, you should like this film.
  24. j30
    Apr 29, 2012
    6
    The Secret World of Arrietty is sugar coated Hayao Miyazaki (he didn't direct this movie, but he co-wrote the story). If your looking for the wild imagination of Miyazaki's classics like Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke, or Howl's Moving Castle this is not the movie for you. However if you're looking for Pixar, family friendly stuff, here you go.
  25. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    Arrietty is a visual delight with beautifully animated characters and locales, an entertainingly simplistic premise and some great comic timing. It's studio Ghibli at its finest as it not only brings the viewer into Arrietty's tiny world but also makes it seem more beautiful than the one we giants live in. Arrietty instills a great sense of adventure in the viewer as both Arrietty and ShoArrietty is a visual delight with beautifully animated characters and locales, an entertainingly simplistic premise and some great comic timing. It's studio Ghibli at its finest as it not only brings the viewer into Arrietty's tiny world but also makes it seem more beautiful than the one we giants live in. Arrietty instills a great sense of adventure in the viewer as both Arrietty and Sho explore each others worlds and find great joy and enrichment from experiencing both together. It's a film with a wealth of emotion and heart that never lets up, even as the film draws to a close in an unexpected way. The characters are unique with Arrietty being adventurous but incredibly empathetic to both humans and borrowers. Sho is optimistic despite his significant problems and Pod, Arrietty's father is calm, conscientious but constantly fearful of the world he lives in. Sure its darker than most American animation but in comparison to films like The Grave of the Fireflies and Spirited Away, Arrietty is like a ray of sunshine in comparison. Overall the film is not just beautiful and clever it instills a sense of the magical into your everyday life as you secretly wish that there are small people living in the walls, living life to the fullest. Expand
  26. Jun 30, 2012
    5
    Hard to judge this film simply because if it was any normal film it would be decent, but for a Studio Ghibli film it was quite disappointing. I guess they can't pump out Princess Moninoke's or Howls Moving Castle's, but one can dream the next will try harder. I found Ponyo even better than Arrietty, but as I said, as a film in general, this one is still decent.
  27. Feb 18, 2012
    9
    If you're a fan of Miyazaki's movies, don't miss this one! The animation is superb, the story is rich and never loses its smooth pacing, and the characters are likable and entertaining. The movie successfully reminds us of just how huge our own world is and how often we take it for granted. And, thankfully, there IS an epilogue at the end, so no worries about having to guess like at theIf you're a fan of Miyazaki's movies, don't miss this one! The animation is superb, the story is rich and never loses its smooth pacing, and the characters are likable and entertaining. The movie successfully reminds us of just how huge our own world is and how often we take it for granted. And, thankfully, there IS an epilogue at the end, so no worries about having to guess like at the conclusion of Spirited Away (even if that movie was also fantastic). The only thing I can possibly ding it a point for is the music since the original songs were so much better, but they're still not too bad. Now go see the movie! Expand
  28. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    a movie with a very well made as to the emotional, with a sweet and entertaining story that can disfrutat young and old. well done Disney and Studio Gibhi.
  29. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I should preface this review with an admission, I love Studio Ghibli's work, all of it, so I am a little biased when it comes to their films. The Secret World of Arrietty is one of their finest works to date, beautifully animated (and by beautifully I really mean stunning), a wonderful story with great voice acting. You really can't help but smile and be happy at the end, even if theI should preface this review with an admission, I love Studio Ghibli's work, all of it, so I am a little biased when it comes to their films. The Secret World of Arrietty is one of their finest works to date, beautifully animated (and by beautifully I really mean stunning), a wonderful story with great voice acting. You really can't help but smile and be happy at the end, even if the ending is somewhat bittersweet. Certainly more approachable Ghibli film then others for American audiences. Go see it, take yourself, your spose, your children, your friends children, your niece, your nephew, your parents, your grandparents, and anyone else I haven't mentioned. It is truly a beautiful film and should be enjoyed by all. Expand
  30. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    This is a beautiful movie, a beautiful story. Our whole family, ranging in age from five to 81 went together and everyone left smiling. Studio Ghibli will rarely do you wrong. Arrietty is precocious and brave. Her father is stoic and kind. Her mother is frantic and devoted. Enjoy the show!
  31. Mar 25, 2012
    8
    The secret world of Arrietty is a faithful representation of the source material, focusing mainly on the Clock family and their relationship with a chronically sick boy. Even though it is not directed by Miyazaki there are very clear influences from Nausica and Totoro. The meeting of two very different worlds and the feeling of post-apocalyptic world even though it is firmly based in ourThe secret world of Arrietty is a faithful representation of the source material, focusing mainly on the Clock family and their relationship with a chronically sick boy. Even though it is not directed by Miyazaki there are very clear influences from Nausica and Totoro. The meeting of two very different worlds and the feeling of post-apocalyptic world even though it is firmly based in our present world. Even though this movie is addressed for the younger generation, it tackles very grown up themes which embody the whole movie. For example there is a sheer presence of loneliness that creates the whole feeling of the movie. Its dark, thematic and vastly detailed, you would be at awe at the incredible detail that the differences between the two worlds are greatly contrasted in way that is purely Ghibli. If you're finding it difficult to watch this because there is no Miyazaki, think again this is an incredible, grown up picture that greatly impresses. Expand
  32. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    Lush and magical and delightful all at the same time. It may not be as thrilling or epic as Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke or Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, yet it is still ten times better than most animated films that America spews out. Like most other Studio Ghibli films, Arrietty treats its audience like intelligent people, making the film exciting not just for the young ones, butLush and magical and delightful all at the same time. It may not be as thrilling or epic as Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke or Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, yet it is still ten times better than most animated films that America spews out. Like most other Studio Ghibli films, Arrietty treats its audience like intelligent people, making the film exciting not just for the young ones, but for any age. I have never read The Borrowers, but based on what I saw in the film, it appears that Mr. Miyazaki did a decent job adapting the novel for the screenplay. The only thing is, he may have stayed too true to the novel's simple style, and in the process, may have detracted slightly from his studio's usually distinct imaginative qualities. The movie is calm, reserved, ans slow-paced. It's not about action, it's about detail. Feast your eyes and enjoy. Expand
  33. Feb 17, 2012
    7
    Los paisajes, los colores, los dialogos. Da la impresión de que todo vuelve a ser tan hermoso como en todas estas películas pero tras media hora de encanto la película se queda estancada. Al final da la sensación de que pudo haber tomado más riesgos, que se pudo exprimir más la historia.
  34. Feb 19, 2012
    10
    Beautiful artwork, lovable characters and a touching story. A wonderful movie based on one of my favorite childhood books, The Borrowers. Worth watching if you're a fan of the book or Studio Ghibli's films and definitely worth owning if you're a fan of both!
  35. Feb 20, 2012
    9
    What I liked best about this movie is that it didn't have to be obnoxious and filled with gross-out humor to keep the kid's attention. Little scenes like stirring tea, falling raindrops or traveling through the house was mesmerizing, and it didn't need boisterous noises to keep the children awake and alert. The Secret World of Arrietty is another great movie from Studio Ghibli. TheWhat I liked best about this movie is that it didn't have to be obnoxious and filled with gross-out humor to keep the kid's attention. Little scenes like stirring tea, falling raindrops or traveling through the house was mesmerizing, and it didn't need boisterous noises to keep the children awake and alert. The Secret World of Arrietty is another great movie from Studio Ghibli. The animation is stunning, the story is simple but touching (and a bit bittersweet), and I recommend it to any family who is going to the movies sometime soon. 9/10 Expand
  36. Feb 21, 2012
    8
    I like the cartoon elements and the story line. Sort of "The Secret Garden"- like. Showing a strong, brave girl also appeals to my feminist instincts.
  37. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    Una pelicula realmente interesante, con un tema no muy original, pero si muy bien recreado por parte del estudio ghibli, con un final muy interesante, les recomiendo esta pelicula para que la vean en compañia, y asi poderla disfrutar mas.
  38. May 16, 2012
    6
    The Secret World of Arrietty is a pretty and touching cinematic, which will leave you entertained in front of the screen for the whole runtime. Despite the fact that it's a good picture, it doesn't by far compete with the other Ghiblis. The animation is good but not fantastic, the story is nice but not complex, and the characters are cute but not deep. I have not seen or read the originalThe Secret World of Arrietty is a pretty and touching cinematic, which will leave you entertained in front of the screen for the whole runtime. Despite the fact that it's a good picture, it doesn't by far compete with the other Ghiblis. The animation is good but not fantastic, the story is nice but not complex, and the characters are cute but not deep. I have not seen or read the original story but I really think the boy could've been more developed and combined with the theme of loss more. Arrietty is a nice character but I think her behavior is quite unrealistic; someone adolescent like her ought to be eager to know more about the world. She seems to be amazed about the only stuff that's around her, despite her coming-of-age. The lady taking care of the boy could've been more of an antagonist, as the movie lacks proper contrast with the goodwill of the boy. In the end The Secret World of Arrietty merely hints of what Ghibli characters, animation, artwork, wit and story can be and could've been, not what it is to this date. Expand
  39. May 28, 2012
    9
    Studio Ghibli Does It Again!
    Another Great Movie, But The Ending Seems Rushed! It Would Of Been A 10!
  40. Oct 27, 2012
    8
    Another Ghibli success comes in the form of 'The Secret World of Arrietty', a heartwarming and gorgeously animated entry into the studio's already impressive resume of films. The movie fully transports you into the world of the borrowers, a feat that many other films about little people have failed to accomplish. Some may be off-put to this particular release due to its rather deliberateAnother Ghibli success comes in the form of 'The Secret World of Arrietty', a heartwarming and gorgeously animated entry into the studio's already impressive resume of films. The movie fully transports you into the world of the borrowers, a feat that many other films about little people have failed to accomplish. Some may be off-put to this particular release due to its rather deliberate pacing, but it's for that exact reason that I really enjoyed 'Arrietty'. Most animated films are so focused on immediate gratification that they rarely slow down to let us really take in the display of painstakingly constructed visuals and it is in this avoidance of convention that the film really is elevated to greatness. The music for the movie (especially in the scenes where Arrietty travels through the lush garden) is also beautiful and captivating. All of the aesthetic aspects aside, 'The Secret World of Arrietty' never forgets about it's story and characters. There is one particular scene of note where Shawn and Arrietty have a deeply philosophical conversation about living life and the acceptance of death. There is such a reverence for depth in the dialogue in that scene. Overall, a beautiful and wholly enjoyable movie that adults can take pleasure from just as much as their kiddies can. Expand
  41. Sep 15, 2013
    10
    I was surprisingly delighted while watching the film. Lavishly crafted and detailed environments with not so ordinary characters, beautiful music, there's much to be praised of Arrietty. I'd definitely recommend anyone to watch the film, buy it, and share with their children. Keeps a sense of fascination going.
  42. Nov 21, 2014
    8
    The Ghibli Studios can always give your best every animation. The Secret World of Arrietty is a masterpiece of stunning visuals and a well-crafted plot and wonderful characters.
  43. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Its a Classic, It`s so easy to watch and so peaceful. I like all the characters! Love how detailed they get with the art. I loved the music from the beginning to end.
  44. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    This film is wonderful a beautiful family film that has a breathtaking soundtrack and is a delight to look at. One of the best animated films i have seen.
  45. Nov 27, 2013
    7
    Studio Ghibli is synonymous with magic, great fantasy and philosophical and inside strength. "Spirited Away" is best, "How's Moving Castle" is better and "Ponyo" is good. "The Secret World of Arrietty" is like "Ponyo", good film but it is short of vigour and it promises more than it gives. I think that this film, like "The Cat Returns" too, is overrated. Movies with local customs likeStudio Ghibli is synonymous with magic, great fantasy and philosophical and inside strength. "Spirited Away" is best, "How's Moving Castle" is better and "Ponyo" is good. "The Secret World of Arrietty" is like "Ponyo", good film but it is short of vigour and it promises more than it gives. I think that this film, like "The Cat Returns" too, is overrated. Movies with local customs like "From Up on Poppy Hill" and "Only Yesterday" are more undervalued than "The Secret World of Arrietty". "Arrietty" is okay but no more. Expand
  46. Mar 23, 2013
    9
    A Charming Tale! The Best Animated Film Of 2012!
  47. May 15, 2013
    6
    I'm probably being burned already for giving the score I did for this film; made by the god almighty company: Studio Ghibli, but I can't help it this one doesn't have that magic that most of the others do. i saw this with my Grandma near its time of release, we both enjoyed it, but she thought it was a very different type of animated film; she's a Disney type of person. I later saw itI'm probably being burned already for giving the score I did for this film; made by the god almighty company: Studio Ghibli, but I can't help it this one doesn't have that magic that most of the others do. i saw this with my Grandma near its time of release, we both enjoyed it, but she thought it was a very different type of animated film; she's a Disney type of person. I later saw it again in Japanese class with my friends, they thought it was not one of the best ones, and I thought it just wasn't as great as I thought. I think it's about time I start talking about why I think the way I do and stop avoiding the crowd. I think that setting is neat, being that we see everything from a little person's view; you what I mean, so as always the visuals are a pleasure to look at. I think the cast of characters is rather weak, the "borrowers" as they are called are okay, but the humans are just uninteresting. The boy is rather bland, and that can be a problem when he's one of the main characters. The only other one that comes close to being interesting is the nanny/housekeeper, in how she eventually becomes a problem for the "borrowers". now about the Borrowers, the idea is that they take; Oh i'm sorry "borrow", from people and use it for their everyday uses. I think there was a movie around the 80's or 90's named the same thing. We also get the classic cliche of someone who's tired of their everyday living and just wants to get out in the world. I say classic because it's old, I;m not implying that it's good in anyway. Well, there are some funny moments in the film; none that are laugh out loud, but some that're good old knee slappers. I guess I just can't really get with this movie because it's just weird, unlike Howl's moving castle which was weird as well but was interesting too. So, I can say that this is probably a good movie, it's just not for me. Expand
  48. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    "Ghibli's Arrietty" soars to its expectations, with wonderful new characters and a brand new fun premise. With its take on a "Toy Story" like qualities except with tiny humans, it has fun and enjoyable plot elements that are appealing. While it may lack true depth or an deep climax, the film shines with the bright visuals and fascinating world.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 23, 2012
    78
    Although not directed by Hiyao Miyazaki (though he executive-produced and co-wrote it), the film retains the look and feel of the "Spirited Away" master's best work, allowing for huge emotions amidst a world of Lilliputian scope.
  2. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Feb 21, 2012
    75
    The Secret World of Arrietty may be too gentle and meditative to be the studio's breakout hit in this country, but it's another sweet advance, and further evidence that the Ghibli secret must soon out.
  3. Reviewed by: Ben Sachs
    Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Pulses with feeling for childhood and nature and develops a surprising amount of suspense considering it takes place around a single suburban home.