Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 193 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Arrietty, a tiny, but tenacious 14-year-old, lives with her parents in the recesses of a suburban garden home, unbeknownst to the homeowner and her housekeeper. Like all little people, Arrietty remains hidden from view, except during occasional covert ventures beyond the floorboards toArrietty, a tiny, but tenacious 14-year-old, lives with her parents in the recesses of a suburban garden home, unbeknownst to the homeowner and her housekeeper. Like all little people, Arrietty remains hidden from view, except during occasional covert ventures beyond the floorboards to "borrow" scrap supplies like sugar cubes from her human hosts. But when 12-year-old Shawn, a human boy who comes to stay in the home, discovers his mysterious housemate one evening, a secret friendship blossoms. If discovered, their relationship could drive Arrietty's family from the home and straight into danger. (Walt Disney Pictures) Expand
  • Director: Gary Rydstrom and Hiromasa Yonebayashi
  • Genre(s): Adventure, Fantasy, Animation, Family
  • Rating: G
  • Runtime: 94 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Feb 17, 2012
    100
    A marvelously captivating animated feature.
  2. Reviewed by: Sam Adams
    Feb 14, 2012
    100
    It's hardly the first movie to deal with thimble-size protagonists, but it's one of few animated fairy tales to genuinely transport the audience into their world and, in the process, let us see our own with fresh awe and respect.
  3. Reviewed by: Steven James Snyder
    Feb 16, 2012
    90
    Arrietty brings the same magic to the mundane, elevating the ordinary confines of everyday life into sumptuous surprises. And while Arrietty lacks the sweep of "Spirited Away," "Princess Mononoke," or "NausicaƤ of the Valley of the Wind," it preserves all the trademark sensitivity to the emotional turmoil of adolescence.
  4. Reviewed by: Amy Joyce
    Feb 16, 2012
    75
    Upon leaving the theater, a girl of about 6 turned to her grandmother and said dreamily, "That.Was.The.Best.Movie.Ever." And that sums up why this little movie is so very big.
  5. Reviewed by: Bob Mondello
    Feb 21, 2012
    75
    The Secret World of Arrietty may be too gentle and meditative to be the studio's breakout hit in this country, but it's another sweet advance, and further evidence that the Ghibli secret must soon out.
  6. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Feb 17, 2012
    75
    A feast for the eyes that will engage the entire family.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Feb 16, 2012
    60
    Sadly suffers from more than a dollop of boredom. Like the ornate dollhouse that plays a part, "Arrietty" is lovely and well-appointed, but filled with only what you bring to it.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
  1. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    I should preface this review with an admission, I love Studio Ghibli's work, all of it, so I am a little biased when it comes to their films.I should preface this review with an admission, I love Studio Ghibli's work, all of it, so I am a little biased when it comes to their films. The Secret World of Arrietty is one of their finest works to date, beautifully animated (and by beautifully I really mean stunning), a wonderful story with great voice acting. You really can't help but smile and be happy at the end, even if the ending is somewhat bittersweet. Certainly more approachable Ghibli film then others for American audiences. Go see it, take yourself, your spose, your children, your friends children, your niece, your nephew, your parents, your grandparents, and anyone else I haven't mentioned. It is truly a beautiful film and should be enjoyed by all. Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Its a Classic, It`s so easy to watch and so peaceful. I like all the characters! Love how detailed they get with the art. I loved the musicIts a Classic, It`s so easy to watch and so peaceful. I like all the characters! Love how detailed they get with the art. I loved the music from the beginning to end. Expand
  3. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    The Secret World of Arrietty is enduring, beautifully animated, beautifully voice acted, funny, heartwarming film ,and should be a model forThe Secret World of Arrietty is enduring, beautifully animated, beautifully voice acted, funny, heartwarming film ,and should be a model for other animated movies soon to come. Studio Ghibli creates yet another beauty. I give this movie 98%. Collapse
  4. May 28, 2012
    9
    Studio Ghibli Does It Again!
    Another Great Movie, But The Ending Seems Rushed! It Would Of Been A 10!
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    The Secret World of Arrietty is visually stunning. So much detail drawn into every frame just like all movies from Studio Ghibli. In fact,The Secret World of Arrietty is visually stunning. So much detail drawn into every frame just like all movies from Studio Ghibli. In fact, you will swear it is a Hayao Miyazaki film - it certainly has the look and feel. In fact, the master animator wrote the screenplay, but did not direct it, but his handiwork is obvious. The story itself is charming, although predictable for adults. I saw it in a theater with kids, and most children, except for the very young, were quiet and seemingly transfixed. It isn't a classic like "Spirited Away" but if you're a fan of Miyazaki you will like it. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    8
    Lush and magical and delightful all at the same time. It may not be as thrilling or epic as Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke or Nausicaa of theLush and magical and delightful all at the same time. It may not be as thrilling or epic as Miyazaki's Princess Mononoke or Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, yet it is still ten times better than most animated films that America spews out. Like most other Studio Ghibli films, Arrietty treats its audience like intelligent people, making the film exciting not just for the young ones, but for any age. I have never read The Borrowers, but based on what I saw in the film, it appears that Mr. Miyazaki did a decent job adapting the novel for the screenplay. The only thing is, he may have stayed too true to the novel's simple style, and in the process, may have detracted slightly from his studio's usually distinct imaginative qualities. The movie is calm, reserved, ans slow-paced. It's not about action, it's about detail. Feast your eyes and enjoy. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2012
    0
    Having watched The Borrowers as a child, I really looked forward to taking my kids to this film. It was so slow moving... it dragged onHaving watched The Borrowers as a child, I really looked forward to taking my kids to this film. It was so slow moving... it dragged on forever. Rent this one, but don't expect much. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Best and Worst Movies of 2012

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2012 Image
    Published: January 7, 2013
    Inside, you'll find our final rankings of the best and worst films of the past year, overall and by individual genre.