The Shaggy Dog

The Shaggy Dog Image
Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Tim Allen transforms from family dad to family dog and back again in this fresh update of the Disney comedy classic The Shaggy Dog. (Disney)

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 25
  2. Negative: 6 out of 25
  1. As good as family entertainment gets.
  2. A fast-moving Walt Disney Co. comedy that manages to sail past many of the cliches usually found in this genre while throwing together a wild story line more apt for a new millennium.
  3. 50
    Strictly for the very young who will find giggles in the anthropomorphic mash-ups and won't be too distracted by the predictably mawkish sitcom plot.
  4. 50
    In this serviceable remake of the fondly remembered 1959 Disney comedy (which starred Fred MacMurray), an impressively dexterous Tim Allen plays Dave Douglas.
  5. 50
    For a kids' picture this is relatively funny.
  6. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    40
    This fur-fetched tale is bearable family viewing.
  7. The movie is just this side of terrible. It misses all the charm and fun of the original. Allen's mugging is incorrigibly unfunny.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 15
  2. Negative: 5 out of 15
  1. AndyG.
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Probably the worst movie I have ever seen. Only enjoyable if you enjoy the highest levels of irony.
  2. christosK.
    Mar 25, 2006
    10
    Its Good.
  3. ShellyC.
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    This movie is perfect for the whole family and children love it.
  4. cybrswt
    Aug 1, 2006
    4
    My six year liked it, I thought it was really bad movie is ok for kids.
  5. Jan 10, 2016
    4
    In this second Disney remake directed by Brian Robbins, we learned that this movie's better for Brian Robbins than how he directed *sigh* IIn this second Disney remake directed by Brian Robbins, we learned that this movie's better for Brian Robbins than how he directed *sigh* I bet you know what I'm talking about. Expand
  6. Mar 28, 2015
    4
    I understand these movies aren't supposed to be original. This movie is supposedly for kids. Yet, we've seen that you can make a movie thatI understand these movies aren't supposed to be original. This movie is supposedly for kids. Yet, we've seen that you can make a movie that both kids and adults can enjoy (or kids enjoy and adults ball their eyes out over, I'm looking at you UP and Toy Story 3). But this doesn't even work for kids. If it's for kids, why all the sub plots? Why not more goofy dog CGI hijinx? It's just **** Expand
  7. BillBob
    Mar 23, 2006
    0
    Hopefully, being a dog for a short amount of time will shorten Tim Allen's lifespan. Another flop, Disney. Another flop.

See all 15 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.