Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1265 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,177
Mixed:
20
Negative:
68
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MuhammadZ.Jun 28, 2008
Quietly moving, yet startlingly beautiful, this tale of a man's quest for redemption and the incontrovertible power of hope is, without a doubt, one of the finest cinematic achievements of the modern age.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
PeterAug 25, 2010
its completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit thatits completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit that forrest gump was a very good movie that i almost cried from watching (because it was sad), but its not better than shawshank. there was 1 thing that the movie didnt need (Brooks out of jail), but it did add a new and important theme, so i guess i take that back. yea, this movie is perfect Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had never seen all the way through. Quality acting throughout from all the cast (Clancy Brown is scary whatever he plays) & it really does drag you in from the start.
It's funny, tragic & heart warming, very well written & a film you could go back to again & again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverOct 7, 2011
Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative.Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative. The cast is perfect with Morgan Freeman as Red completely stealing the show with his soothing narration style while Tim Robbins gives out a really great performance; a falsely convicted man who keeps it to himself. A film about hope and friendship in the toughest of situations, Shawshank is uplifting, provocative and awe inspiring. An absolute must watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JamesNWAFeb 3, 2011
I can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and MorganI can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman were fantastic and were very convincing in their roles. Freeman's voiceovers throughout truly made me, as a viewer, understand what he and the other prisoners were feeling and going through. The story was adapted extremely well from Stephen King's novella and is a story in which many meanings can be taken from it. Easily a film that I will watch over and over again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
reveiwmanmysterFeb 6, 2011
Wow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that theWow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that the director per-trades the way prison is is incredible. The way of how friendship is so powerful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MoeYazAug 11, 2012
This truly is a masterpiece. And not much more needs to be said than that. If you haven't seen this yet, you are missing out on one of filming's finest moments.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CursedKnight187Jul 25, 2012
A beautifully personal film with fantastic acting and a well crafted story makes this film deserved of all the praise it has received over the years. It really should have won Best Picture.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Jay1983Jul 6, 2011
Im not gonna claim this is the best movie ever made, but its close.
The story sucks you in, and yes, it is quite a long movie but you really dont notice it at all. It grips you and doesnt let go until the very end.
This is an absolute
Im not gonna claim this is the best movie ever made, but its close.
The story sucks you in, and yes, it is quite a long movie but you really dont notice it at all. It grips you and doesnt let go until the very end.

This is an absolute classic film and deserves to be seen by anyone even remotely interested in movies.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kldc31Jan 9, 2012
The greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, noThe greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, no matter their crimes, no matter what crazy or illegal things they have to do to survive prison, no matter what the warden does to Tim Robbins, together prison is awesome and they can redeem themselves. Movies like this show what would happen if prisoners accept people's differences and redeem themselves from their crimes and that's good thing because people don't need to act like idiots in prison. Despite the graphic violence in this movie in the beginning, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman used friendship to forget prison and made each other good people and they were great people! Whoever does NOT like this movie is a bully and needs lighten up because this is a light-heart movie of teaching you the lessons of prison. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 30, 2011
This movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write suchThis movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write such an amazing story, so I' am very happy with the final result of this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ChappyStickSep 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. no words that i can think of even comes close of how amazing this movie really is. its funny, thrilling and bone chilling. what i really love about this movie is that you really feel for the characters as if they were family. when brookes committed suicide i was holding on a pillow shouting NOOOOO. best movie i have ever seen. no movie comes close to this masterpiece. not godfarther, LOTR, goodfellas, star wars, or indiana jones. a perfect movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ExTrEmESpAnKzApr 6, 2012
Great movie with fantastic performances by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. My all time favourite and a film that you will not easily forget. If ou really want a film whereas you gain a real connection to the characters than this is the film for you.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Mordovan89Mar 1, 2014
Wonderful, amazing, glorious, are three words to describe this masterpiece. The acting was good, and the plot better. This film shows us the strength of the human spirit, true friendship and especially what we all crave, desire and trustWonderful, amazing, glorious, are three words to describe this masterpiece. The acting was good, and the plot better. This film shows us the strength of the human spirit, true friendship and especially what we all crave, desire and trust dnifíciles situations, hope. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PrincethadonMar 23, 2014
I used to say fight club was my favorite movie but now I say shawshank is my favorite movie. I love a movie about hope. Not many movies can pull hope off like this one. if you are going through a hard time you should watch this movie I sayI used to say fight club was my favorite movie but now I say shawshank is my favorite movie. I love a movie about hope. Not many movies can pull hope off like this one. if you are going through a hard time you should watch this movie I say this is my favorite movie. I give this movie a 10 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesJul 26, 2015
Thanks to remarkable direction, all-star performances from the cast and a powerfully moving script, "The Shawshank Redemption" is not only marvelous entertainment but also a stunning achievement for Hollywood.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
JorisV.Aug 7, 2006
Beautiful. Very good, but not exceptional. 8,5 really.
3 of 8 users found this helpful
6
RoryP.Jul 13, 2008
Overrated.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
10
Tonyiscool111Jun 27, 2012
I felt it was the perfect movie. A great movie to watch with a family. Stephen king knows how to make a story. Filled me with emotion such as anger, sadness, happyness. It should have won best picture in 1994.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
AkelaarDec 13, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion this movie is really overrated. No real emotional scenes and the worst part of this movie is its "Happy End" in its pink colors. I hardly rate it 4/10. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
brieflyJul 22, 2013
I've never understood the love given to this pile of prison cliches. Yes, the leads are good actors, but that doesn't make the movie much better. I read an Esquire poll once that listed this as one of the male voters' top 10 movies of allI've never understood the love given to this pile of prison cliches. Yes, the leads are good actors, but that doesn't make the movie much better. I read an Esquire poll once that listed this as one of the male voters' top 10 movies of all time, and after the listing, Esquire wrote (huh?) couldn't agree more. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
barryAug 2, 2005
Easily the most over-rated movie ever. Wooden, cliched, un-realistic.
2 of 17 users found this helpful
0
andreekaMar 6, 2015
the worst film ever made.the character is dull, the story are pretty mediocre. just pointless for 2.5 hours. it waste my time. i really dont understand why people vote this rubbish so highly
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
3
BennyMFeb 8, 2009
Extremely overrated. Morgan Freeman gave a nice performance however Tim Robbins possessed no emotion whatsoever and I cared little if even at all for any of the characters. Not particularly well written with a warm message that is delivered Extremely overrated. Morgan Freeman gave a nice performance however Tim Robbins possessed no emotion whatsoever and I cared little if even at all for any of the characters. Not particularly well written with a warm message that is delivered over an overly long period of time. Expand
4 of 58 users found this helpful
0
QuinnC.Nov 25, 2007
Freeman is 'red' freedom character searching for nothing but to pace his life in prison. Robins is a robin hood who does more strength than the hero, he becomes a prisoner, also a librarian, teacher, friend, and smart banker who Freeman is 'red' freedom character searching for nothing but to pace his life in prison. Robins is a robin hood who does more strength than the hero, he becomes a prisoner, also a librarian, teacher, friend, and smart banker who reads books. These two characters start off and end off by learning how to live trying and die trying. I do not enjoy a film that drags on, bores, and tells a message with bad wording, a bad script, and badly done lesson, that prisoners get the rights to do many things than sit in a rotting cell and eat disgusting food all day. Expand
1 of 26 users found this helpful
4
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Way too manipulative from start to finish though well-crafted in most aspects. If you want some schlocky moral sermon to be whispered into your ears and want a nice warm hug and a big fat juicy kiss to be reminded that bad guys get their Way too manipulative from start to finish though well-crafted in most aspects. If you want some schlocky moral sermon to be whispered into your ears and want a nice warm hug and a big fat juicy kiss to be reminded that bad guys get their comeuppance and good guys end up in paradise, this is for you. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KraigJ.Jun 1, 2007
An excellent, near perfect film which helps show us that there can be good in anybody, you finish it feeling all warm inside.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SantinoS.May 9, 2003
As good or great as this movie is a lot of people tend to overlook 1 major flaw,i.e the very pc race relations potrayed which make this film a little inauthentic,there isn't even a hint of racism in the movie and considering the timeAs good or great as this movie is a lot of people tend to overlook 1 major flaw,i.e the very pc race relations potrayed which make this film a little inauthentic,there isn't even a hint of racism in the movie and considering the time period this movie is set in,america from the late 40's to the late 60's,it feels the director and writer darabont did not want to bring up the racism issue in order to dilute the feel good factor of the film, hence the race relations in this film feel fake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.May 17, 2004
This film can be summed up in one word (or several similar adjectives): resplendent! It is so well conceived, developed and confirmed that unless you were bored by it (!!!) you could not rate it any other way. A totally immersing and rousing This film can be summed up in one word (or several similar adjectives): resplendent! It is so well conceived, developed and confirmed that unless you were bored by it (!!!) you could not rate it any other way. A totally immersing and rousing movie that is one of the finest films I have seen. My belief in this is strengthened by the fact everyone I know feels the same way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NinjaMafiaNov 10, 2003
[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] I can't remember when I first saw this film but, my god, is it a god damn good film. The film tells the story of a wrongfully imprisoned man trying to live on the inside. He then starts to befriend a lifer that[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] I can't remember when I first saw this film but, my god, is it a god damn good film. The film tells the story of a wrongfully imprisoned man trying to live on the inside. He then starts to befriend a lifer that "knows how to get things". Thus, the wrongfully convicted, Andy Dufresne, begins to live on the inside and try to work on his old hobbies. Andy then helps a guard with some financial trouble which then starts to make other guards want his financial advice. Eventually, The warden wants Dufrenes' help. The warden then starts to launder money but have Andy cover up the tracks by creating a fake person. I don't want to reveal any more of the plot so let me just say this, this is a really good movie about prison, a REALLY good movie. The plot was deep and beleviable. This film could have been a true story for all we know (it isn't but wouldn't that have been awesome). The characters were all deep and showed a lot of human character and emotion except for one guy who played a big part in the role but they didn't work on him a lot. The acting was also really good making every character seem real. The only reason I'm not giving this movie a 10 is for two reasons. 1 Is for the guy who made the movie have a big plot twist but he wasn't developed as much as everyone else. Secondly, the ending was really sappy and didn't fit the movie at all. The ending felt just horrible while the whole movie was a work of art. The Shawshank Redemption is an easily recommendable title with few people actually hating it (but if you do please don't blame me). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BrunoDec 28, 2006
Overhyped socialist movie that tried to convince me that prisoners are better people then us and deserve much better treatment.
0 of 12 users found this helpful
9
ClayJan 25, 2007
Really good movie. Morgan freeman has the perfect narrating voice and it's very well made drama, even if it's a simple prison movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
NF123Sep 1, 2010
A good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe inA good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe in the showers, or the guards are helpful instead of almost comically evil. There are many flaws here but there's also a lot to love. While the ending was smarmy, the middle contains my personal favorite scene, the man released who wants to go back as he has nothing to live for out in the real world. A pigeon who helped him get by in Prison can't help him where he's going and it's a beautiful scene to say the least. A great movie weighed down by it's own obsession to try and tear jerk us would be my summary of my thoughts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
AouzyNov 8, 2011
This movie is about a prisoner Andy Dufresne (Tim Robins) who gets accused of murdering his wife and her lover. He meets another prisoner named 'Red' (Morgan freeman) who says he know how to get things. How ironic, a â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JHangoAug 17, 2011
This is one of my top 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FTWincFeb 24, 2011
This movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 andThis movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 and above reviews. They know what they're talking about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxDec 15, 2011
An 80 overall by critics shows how stupid they are. Shawshank Redemption is an amazing film that is a must see for any film buff. Untouchable performanc by Tim Robbins and a great supporting role by Morgan Freeman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
A delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...EachA delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...Each character was clearly defined. Although, Freeman tends to play well those characters...because he is always performing similar ones.Yet, I would love to see him doing something a bit more daring. That said, I have no doubts that he is an excellent actor, and I applaud his talent! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
impedido10Apr 30, 2013
One of the best movies ever. Period Great movie and story definetly check watching..........................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
crazywaffle124Nov 23, 2012
Action. Comedy. Drama. This movie is absolutely genius, and makes you feel so many emotions. Superb acting. I am enraged that the reviewers gave this less than 100. #1 movie of all time in my opinion
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityNov 5, 2012
Aside from the iconic poster-on-the-wall scene, nothing about this movie is all that memorable. A crowd-pleasing story with a message that comes off like a sermon.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is a story about a man who goes to jail after they accuse him for killing his wife and her lover. At first when he went to that prison he had problems and they raped him all the time after a while he made probably the best friendship he ever had in that prison. It is an interesting tale about friendship despite the differences of each people my opinion as I think the 'white people' used to have problems with the 'black people'. It will amuse the audience and it will touch you. It is interesting and it keeps you. Morgan freeman as usually he is the narrator. Tim Robbins gave a great performance and in overall The Shawshank Redemption it is a must-watch and probably one of the best of its kind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
sivaruthvikJan 19, 2014
It may be one of the best movies ever made.really fine acting from morgan freeman and tim robbins . entire cast have done a good job.frank made a successful experiment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
JLeighJun 25, 2015
The most over rated film of all time, riddled with plot holes and plagued with sloppy scripting. Not terrible, but not worth watching unless you have a morbid curiosity to see what the fuss is all about and certainly not worth a second viewing.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
1
ChristianityOct 10, 2015
This film is awful simply because the bad guy, the prison governor or warden , is a "devout" Christian. A genuine devout Christian would not force the Holy book on anyone or have such a character! This film is to braiwash the masses, this isThis film is awful simply because the bad guy, the prison governor or warden , is a "devout" Christian. A genuine devout Christian would not force the Holy book on anyone or have such a character! This film is to braiwash the masses, this is why it got such a high status among the satanists who run this industry. Typical Holywood industry BS demonising Christianity and none bats an eyelid! Could holywood ve make a film where the Christian is the good guy and the muslim or jew are the bad guy? Oh no, if it was made it wouldnt be released, if it was released there would be a huge cry of lack of PC. Christians all over think this is a good movie! Christians cant not see the wood for the trees because they have been mind programmed to follow the herd of imbeciles bred to comsume and make the 1% theri master. Holywood is evil. Wake up folks. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
scarfakeJan 20, 2016
this is time wasting                                                                                                                                                 
-
         -
this is time wasting                                                                                                                                                 
-
        
-
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
thedaarkbattySep 19, 2016
Eh, this movie honestly deserves a 7/10 at best. but I am giving it a 0/10. I saw it in theaters years ago and really did not think it was THAT good. The acting is bland and the sets are boring. I'm giving it a 0 to balance the score out. Sorry.
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing place where brutality from guards and other prisoners is commonplace. With help from friend Red (the brilliant Morgan Freeman) he is able to gradually win both prisoners and guards over to his side. Above all this movie is a story of hope but the brilliant central relationship between Andy and Red lifts it well above virtually any other film. Add that to top notch production values and a fantastically satisfying ending and you have one of the best movies in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SirLouenDec 12, 2015
Best film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detailBest film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detail of the novel. Considering is pretty impossible to do a film based on a long novel, choosing an epic short story to be filmed is the best choice ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFApr 13, 2013
Perhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a trulyPerhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a truly emotional discovery and, well, redemption.
Everything aside, the film is simply about a friendship under the most unorthodox of circumstances.
Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) is locked up in Shawshank prison in 1947, being convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. He is initially given a hard time as being the new guy, but his generally laid back attitude catch the attention of Red (Morgan Freeman).
As Andy and Red get to know each other, Red soon realises that perhaps there is more than meets the eye with his new acquaintance, as Andy slowly begins to change the lives of the people closest to him. Unfortunately as time goes on, Andy's impatience starts with his life inside starts to show, he seems more reckless and outspoken, regardless of how he has made small but significant changes to the prison itself and of course its inmates.
We are left to watch Andy's journey through the wonderful narration of Morgan Freeman's Red, who is constantly but pleasantly surprised at Andy's personality and reactions to his surroundings. The true friendship lies where these two are completely different, Red has made peace with his situation, accepting his fate and serving life, but Andy is determined to "Get busy living".
Tim Robbins perfectly portrays a character who is purposely isolated from everyone, he can very much take care of himself and show is intelligence and cunning nature at many shining moments in this remarkable film. Morgan Freeman is very much the good guy who followed the wrong path, he gets on with almost everyone who is worth getting on with and doesn't cause trouble, apart from being the "go to' guy in the prison.
The word perfect could indeed give the justice this movie deserves. The cinematography by Roger Deakins is powerful and absorbing, he is always trying to make you become part of the walls that these prisoners call home, his various shots including a few prisoners sitting on top of the roof in the early morning drinking beer and another when Andy manages to play Mozart through the tannoy system speaks waves to the capabilities not necessarily by the actors, but to the scenery that they are surrounded by, and it is truly breathtaking.
It's just a show that is too good to miss, it emerged out of nowhere and really hit home on an emotional level, there is no action in it, simply life lessons that need to be heard, each character has a vibrant role to play that will make us concerning of their situations, and Frank Darabont has created a perfectly diverse cast to blend in with this masterful and commanding film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
This movie so perfect shows a brilliant story of redemption, friendship, hard work and both the beauty and the corruption of the human race, that is hard to understand how making this was humanly possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Feb 23, 2013
Morgan Freeman is in it! What more do you need to want to see this movie? Well besides that it`s a classic! It`s one of those movies you can watch over and over, and still be interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan1980sJun 12, 2013
This film is one of my top 3 or 5 films of all-time. I love everything about it, such as the casting, the performances, the storyline, the directing, etc. If you haven't seen this, you are really missing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HucksterFeb 13, 2013
Easily in the top 100 movies of all time. Brilliant storytelling and a great insight to the horrors of prison life. The ending is one of my all-time favourites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BradySmithJun 12, 2013
Has to be the best prison movie ever. Yes, it's even better than the Green Mile. I've been putting off watching this movie forever, thinking it was going to be boring and sappy. But it's far from it. This movie wraps you up in its storyHas to be the best prison movie ever. Yes, it's even better than the Green Mile. I've been putting off watching this movie forever, thinking it was going to be boring and sappy. But it's far from it. This movie wraps you up in its story and it always feels very real due to superb filmmaking. The acting couldn't get any better, and in the end this is one of the most uplifting movies ever made. Yes it's very long, but it without a doubt justifies its length. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheratonFeb 4, 2013
One of the best films ever watched. Once sentenced as a criminal(guilty or not) you are criminal! Imprison men 10, 20, 30 years, taking away their lifes and the consequences for the people imprisoned and society are greatly demonstrated byOne of the best films ever watched. Once sentenced as a criminal(guilty or not) you are criminal! Imprison men 10, 20, 30 years, taking away their lifes and the consequences for the people imprisoned and society are greatly demonstrated by this film. But also the value of friendship, the will NOT to give up and a big dose of genius makes the film nearly perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheRyanMcNeilOct 11, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The ShawshankThis movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The Shawshank Redemption won no oscars because 1994 was the year of Forrest Gump, and Pulp Fiction. Although those two movies were good in its time. The Shawshank Redemption will always be one of the bets movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ExKingDec 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is easily one of my all time favorite movies,
other than the fact that it's written by stephen king, it's also one of his best works.
tim robins and morgan freeman were born to play these characters, and the story is not just about the life in prison but it's also about friendship and loyalty and you get so attached to these characters that it's leave an impact on you after the movie ends.
also the escape scene is one of the best scenes in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJJul 14, 2015
I remember the first time i watched this movie when i was a kid. Superb movie about hope,intelligence and friendship! So deep,intense and interesting. Masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettSep 1, 2015
I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing,I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing, awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
xXxTHABETxXxMay 28, 2013
The Shawshank Redemption is really overrated it doesn't deserve a 9 it only deserves a 7 and there is a lots of movies that is better than it like Fight club, The prestige etc....
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AGoodReviewerMay 30, 2013
Absolutely brilliant. One of the best movies I have ever seen. Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins were both brilliant in their roles, showing the true meaning of friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobertoBuaJul 1, 2013
Perfection. The benchmark of all dramas, this is as good as cinema gets. Everyone should watch it, if you don't find this film moving you basically have no feelings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KaraokeJul 3, 2013
Few movies can make such an emotional impact on a viewer as this one does. The acting is brilliant and both Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman fit perfectly in their roles. Overall, this is one movie you shouldn't miss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
abhinabJul 6, 2013
The shawshank redemption is a classic drama which revolves around an innocent man who is imprisoned in a dirty prison. The plot is well developed and character are well played out. The theme is clearly displayed and the director has madeThe shawshank redemption is a classic drama which revolves around an innocent man who is imprisoned in a dirty prison. The plot is well developed and character are well played out. The theme is clearly displayed and the director has made very good scenes with symbolic cuts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
r0tan0rtanOct 24, 2013
I never gave myself the time to watch this masterpiece before. It definitely lives up to the hype and praise it got after its release. It deserves a 10 but isn't even the best movie of '94 (see: Pulp Fiction, but it tells a great story. Isn'tI never gave myself the time to watch this masterpiece before. It definitely lives up to the hype and praise it got after its release. It deserves a 10 but isn't even the best movie of '94 (see: Pulp Fiction, but it tells a great story. Isn't that what movies are all about? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
WOW!!! It's without any doubt, one of Darabont's best pictures!!! Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins are brilliant in this film. The only problem is that it didn't win an Oscar. It's nominated for 7. In my opinion, it could have won seven OscarsWOW!!! It's without any doubt, one of Darabont's best pictures!!! Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins are brilliant in this film. The only problem is that it didn't win an Oscar. It's nominated for 7. In my opinion, it could have won seven Oscars and more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MudgeeNov 24, 2014
It's cliche, and many say it, but this movie is truly a masterpiece. Beautiful set pieces, acting and storytelling, especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Both of which play their finest role. It captures everything that makes us humanIt's cliche, and many say it, but this movie is truly a masterpiece. Beautiful set pieces, acting and storytelling, especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Both of which play their finest role. It captures everything that makes us human and draws it over a three-hour feature length film. There aren't many movies in this world, I enjoy watching a second time, let alone 12-15 more times. This being one of them. I would strongly recommend this to any film buff, and let it be known that this is most likely my favourite movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Popcorn12345Jul 16, 2013
A truly sensational movie. Not only is there deep and meaningful messages but the story and film itself is incredible. Definitely one of if not the best films of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
With themes of hope, life, and especially of death, 'Shawshank' is a masterful drama about life in prison and one man's hope that drives him to achieve what he wants; freedom. The performances are both realistic and emotional, with TimWith themes of hope, life, and especially of death, 'Shawshank' is a masterful drama about life in prison and one man's hope that drives him to achieve what he wants; freedom. The performances are both realistic and emotional, with Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both delivering us their greatest on screen. The script is engaging and fits the tone of the movie, which makes the two hours run by so quick you'll have wished you'd seen more of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
I'm not going to go through a whole review, since there are plenty of reviews detailing why this is the greatest movie of all time. I'm just gonna give a quote:

"The Shawshank Redemption is the best movie I have ever seen because of its
I'm not going to go through a whole review, since there are plenty of reviews detailing why this is the greatest movie of all time. I'm just gonna give a quote:

"The Shawshank Redemption is the best movie I have ever seen because of its ability to capture raw emotion."

I'm also going to elaborate on the three biggest reasons people dislike this movie.

1. It's too slow.

The Shawshank Redemption may be a tad slow, but it is justified. I believe director Frank Darabont wanted to show Andy's time at Shawshank by showing how slow prison time really is. Some movies are just slow; this movie does it for a deeper reason, adding to Shawshank's genius.

2. Andy Dufresne barely shows emotion.

Those people obviously didn't get what kind of character Andy was. Tim Robbins did this on purpose. Andy was quiet, mellow, and was obviously quite shocked and angry he was going to prison for a crime he didn't do. Did you really expect the man to jump up and start singing "Kumbaya"? No! So I don't get what the problem is. The fact that he acted like this just added to the realistic atmosphere of the movie.

3. This is not realistic.

Oh yes your right, since these men in prison smoked, cursed, drank, and kept their eyes peeled in the shower room for potential rapists. That is not realistic at all. (sarcastic) Overall, I think some of the hate on Shawshank is solely because it is the highest rated movie on IMDb, for a fact. (User rating is 9.3 to this date). I think some people hate this movie because everyone else loves it, and that is a bad way to think about anything, not just movies.

I would rate it higher if I could.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Dec 25, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies ever made, hands down. The acting is incredible, the script is solid, and a great plot. It shows the life of two inmates who bond together in jail over the course of a few decades or whatever. It has allThis movie is one of the best movies ever made, hands down. The acting is incredible, the script is solid, and a great plot. It shows the life of two inmates who bond together in jail over the course of a few decades or whatever. It has all the drama in it that would destroy any who tried to compete against it. Honestly, this film will never be seen as worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichMartMar 2, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is on top of IMDb, so I think everything about it has already been said.
I have just one thing to add: The brutal scenes aren't a bad thing and demonstrate the terrible place, where Andy and Red have to spend theirs lifes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SQG_SlasherAug 18, 2014
The best prison film I've seen since 'Escape From Alcatraz'. A gripping story, exceptional acting and a brilliant set to film on puts the cherry on top of the cake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jazibkhanJul 15, 2016
it is the best movie i have ever watched.without any flaws and great emotions by characters and a great storyline to tell so i recommended this movie to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
killerguyDec 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way things happen in movie and how they are directed and captured are awesome.An example for every moviemaker. only "MOVIE" I have seen,I must say!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
superricagokuJan 8, 2014
Shawshank Redemption is a movie in which you see the great performances of Tim and Morgan.The struggle of hope over despair. One of the best movies of all time or the best movie. It was a great escape for redemption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueMar 26, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful film on every level, but seriously overrated. The film was good, but not perfect (Certainly not enough for a 9.3) It was very, very good in fact amazing, but just really overrated. Don't let it stop youThe Shawshank Redemption is a powerful film on every level, but seriously overrated. The film was good, but not perfect (Certainly not enough for a 9.3) It was very, very good in fact amazing, but just really overrated. Don't let it stop you from watching the film!---you will find none like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidJul 5, 2014
A beautiful movie about friendship, hope and redemption. It's full of great acting, writing and a nice soundtrack, also nice direction by Frank Darabont. Beautiful Ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 18, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is a very excellent film that is written and directed by Frank Darabont, the man behind The Green Mile and The Walking Dead, and based on a short story by Stephen King.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TikeswarBarihaMar 25, 2014
it is a movie about life ,hope ,friendship, freedom ,,,,its touch my heart and soul ....this is my one of favorite movie of all time ....and one of great movie of all time...HOPE.....HOPE....morgan freeman ..one of my favorite actor...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 27, 2016
It was a really well made movie. Entertaining, well acted and interesting. The Shawshank Redemption definitely deserves it's spot as one of the best movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Viper8787Apr 23, 2014
I can understand why it is one of the highest praised movies of all time because it is one of the best movies of all time. Great cast with amazing chemistry throughout the whole movie. Really well acted and a fantastic storyline keeps youI can understand why it is one of the highest praised movies of all time because it is one of the best movies of all time. Great cast with amazing chemistry throughout the whole movie. Really well acted and a fantastic storyline keeps you into this movie the whole time you watch it. It is one of those feel good stories that you have to like even if you don't like these types of movies. And this movie has one of the best endings in cinema history so this is a definite must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NightFlightMay 30, 2014
In one word, a masterpieceHave come at the wrong time.Nevertheless, still an unforgettable movie.
The story will take in.Great movie with fantastic performances by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoshLuck1995Jul 22, 2014
The best film ever made, hands down, the acting is excellent throughout the whole film, every member of the cast gives a outstanding performance and the story is also very strong. my favourite film of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chocolatebaconJun 29, 2014
A true masterpiece. A film that you can watch many times and never gets old. Suspenseful, touching and sometimes even funny. Also great acting, cinematography and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GantugsJul 24, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption..................................................
Only one word that is PERFECT.................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarickMar 24, 2015
I was expecting something else entirely to a better movie. Sorry not impressed me so even give birth. The only thing I liked was how they interpreted actors. Otherwise ... no comment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
A brilliant story about friendship, hope and redemption. Brings together two talented actors Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbin who create a beautiful movie that is simply a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonnyhudsOct 24, 2014
The only true masterpiece that can be called a masterpiece. The film which upon its release only made 1 million dollars on its production budget of 25 million USD. The film has now gone to be the number one film on IMDB with over a millionThe only true masterpiece that can be called a masterpiece. The film which upon its release only made 1 million dollars on its production budget of 25 million USD. The film has now gone to be the number one film on IMDB with over a million ratings. This 1994 film based on the Stephen King novel in the 1980s, was adapted by Frank Darabont who wrote the screenplay and directed the film got three producers and an ensemble of actors from Morgan freeman who plays Red and Tim Robbins who played Andy Dufrense. The film is based in the 1940s and our main character Andy Dufrense has been wrongly accused of the murder of his wife who was having an affair. While in prison he meets up with Red who helps him along. Andys main mission is to escape the shawshank prison. This is my personal favourite film of all time because this film is about hope an courage and no matter how much you get put down you can get back up. The cinematography by Roger Deakins was superb and they diva score by Thomas Newman is some of the finest work in motion picture history. The acting by our two main leads is deserve of the Oscar they didn't get. A quick mention to James Whitmore who played the librarian in the film and did a superb little role in the film. My favourite film of all time and I don't think it will change any time soon, this film gets 100/100 for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
REDWOUNov 22, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is the BEST Stephen King adaptation. Frank Darabont made a movie most people couldn't pull off since it's based on a short story by Stephen King. Rob Reiner did too, but Stand by Me just wasn't as good as TheThe Shawshank Redemption is the BEST Stephen King adaptation. Frank Darabont made a movie most people couldn't pull off since it's based on a short story by Stephen King. Rob Reiner did too, but Stand by Me just wasn't as good as The Shawshank Redemption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BobSleddFeb 3, 2015
What movie has love, murder, hatred, friendship, corruption. hope, hopelessness, suicide, revenge, injustice and justice all wrapped in a fantastic 2 1/2 hour adventure? Best movie ever!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SubZeroDeathMar 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The greatest movie i have ver seen. it hits so many emotions . love , struggle and pain. One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMay 29, 2016
The Shawshank Redemption delivers a constant anticipating feeling, mostly because of how well Morgan Freeman's script was wrote. A great narrator in a film causes a very realistic notion, as if a viewer feels like the narrator is having aThe Shawshank Redemption delivers a constant anticipating feeling, mostly because of how well Morgan Freeman's script was wrote. A great narrator in a film causes a very realistic notion, as if a viewer feels like the narrator is having a conversation with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
acaiberryMar 19, 2015
Before I start, I have to say whatever I say doesn't speak enough to how good this movie is. The story...thank you so much Mr. Stephen King, you have literally influenced millions who have seen this to pursue life in a different way. (notBefore I start, I have to say whatever I say doesn't speak enough to how good this movie is. The story...thank you so much Mr. Stephen King, you have literally influenced millions who have seen this to pursue life in a different way. (not going into it to avoid any spoiler)

If you haven't seen this and your friends have probably teased and bullied you for not watching it... they are so right because not watching this is hindering your next step in a more mature life. People, it's not that Morgan Freeman is in it (YES He's famous for a reason and this is one of them) but the plot is the greatest element of this movie as all movies should be.

I'll cut to the music score first as I am a music kinda guy, and of course as one of the greatest movies of all time the music itself heavily impacts the movie. You really won't be disappointed unless you're very into movies that have a lot action and splitting plot twists.

This is a straightforward movie that has no BS and it shows that humanity is still alive in a world that refuses to have any. This is okay i guess to watch alone but I like watching movies with friends as you might quote this movie for a very long time. However, don't invite that annoying person that ruins movies. Let him watch it alone
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
The greatest movie based on a novel by Stephen King, its an emotional story about the triumph of the human spirit with lots of depth in story its one of those rare movies were innocence prevails even when in prison where you face yourThe greatest movie based on a novel by Stephen King, its an emotional story about the triumph of the human spirit with lots of depth in story its one of those rare movies were innocence prevails even when in prison where you face your redemption, a movie that shouts for freedom and is as exhilarating and suspenseful since the day its release, standing among films from Citizen Kane to the Godfather its a rare screen gem that is not to be missed!
A A+ film with lots of valuable life lessons and an important certified masterpiece, with lots of great performances
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PedroAragaoApr 10, 2015
Enquanto demoro pra assistir tantos filmes dos anos 80/90, The Shawshank Redemption (Um Sonho De Liberdade) chamou-me diversas vezes para uma visita, seja em canais de redes sociais ou por críticas positivas de amigos. Um Sonho De Liberdade éEnquanto demoro pra assistir tantos filmes dos anos 80/90, The Shawshank Redemption (Um Sonho De Liberdade) chamou-me diversas vezes para uma visita, seja em canais de redes sociais ou por críticas positivas de amigos. Um Sonho De Liberdade é uma estória de amizade, amizade do meu contato com a obra e de amizade entre Dufresne e Red, dois tipos de personagem tão conhecidos quanto complexos. Dufresne tão presente nas películas mais recentes, esguio, introvertido e ousado (ou imprevisível). Red, o desacreditado em viver e se sentir livre, mas disposto a questionar. A química dos dois personagens é tão crível quanto romântica; em parte credencio a intensidade dessa relação em mais uma atuação irretocável de Morgan Freeman. Além destes personagens destaco o ritmo do filme, carregado por um drama clássico, porém completamente livre das amarras de um título homogêneo, enquanto emociona, Um Sonho De Liberdade provoca o riso, a tensão e provoca as mais diversas teorias nos espectadores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
solomsApr 17, 2015
Not my favourite movie, but I have to admit... it is the best movie ever! And don't tell me "godfather" and that kind of movies because this is the most incredible story of friendship and redemption. I love Frank Darabont and for me, all ofNot my favourite movie, but I have to admit... it is the best movie ever! And don't tell me "godfather" and that kind of movies because this is the most incredible story of friendship and redemption. I love Frank Darabont and for me, all of his movies are the best ever. The Mist, Green Mile and The Shawshank Redemption are 3 movies that any director wanna do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EddyGregsApr 19, 2015
US Lawyer is sent to Shawshank prison for life, charts his experiences, friendships and influences on the prison whilst maintaining his innocence.

This movie is based on a novella by Stephen King, but don't let that put you off. It's not a
US Lawyer is sent to Shawshank prison for life, charts his experiences, friendships and influences on the prison whilst maintaining his innocence.

This movie is based on a novella by Stephen King, but don't let that put you off. It's not a horror film, rather a thumpingly good ode to friendship, hope, wit, wiles and wisdom, brimming with crackling characters and topped with the most twisteroo of twists since The Crying Game. Found guilty of killing his unfaithful wife and her lover in a fit of passion, sullen accountant Andy Dufresne (Robbins, casting off his goofball image to display more layers than the proverbial onion) is shipped to the gothic wind-swept corridors of the Shawshank State Prison for life. It is here the movie gracefully unfolds. With a beautifully rounded script, writer/director Darabont conjures up a spellbinding personal odyssey stretching through the years from 1946 to 1967.

If you don't love Shawshank, chances are you're beyond redemption. :D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews