Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1243 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,157
Mixed:
19
Negative:
67
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
I'm not going to go through a whole review, since there are plenty of reviews detailing why this is the greatest movie of all time. I'm just gonna give a quote:

"The Shawshank Redemption is the best movie I have ever seen because of its
I'm not going to go through a whole review, since there are plenty of reviews detailing why this is the greatest movie of all time. I'm just gonna give a quote:

"The Shawshank Redemption is the best movie I have ever seen because of its ability to capture raw emotion."

I'm also going to elaborate on the three biggest reasons people dislike this movie.

1. It's too slow.

The Shawshank Redemption may be a tad slow, but it is justified. I believe director Frank Darabont wanted to show Andy's time at Shawshank by showing how slow prison time really is. Some movies are just slow; this movie does it for a deeper reason, adding to Shawshank's genius.

2. Andy Dufresne barely shows emotion.

Those people obviously didn't get what kind of character Andy was. Tim Robbins did this on purpose. Andy was quiet, mellow, and was obviously quite shocked and angry he was going to prison for a crime he didn't do. Did you really expect the man to jump up and start singing "Kumbaya"? No! So I don't get what the problem is. The fact that he acted like this just added to the realistic atmosphere of the movie.

3. This is not realistic.

Oh yes your right, since these men in prison smoked, cursed, drank, and kept their eyes peeled in the shower room for potential rapists. That is not realistic at all. (sarcastic) Overall, I think some of the hate on Shawshank is solely because it is the highest rated movie on IMDb, for a fact. (User rating is 9.3 to this date). I think some people hate this movie because everyone else loves it, and that is a bad way to think about anything, not just movies.

I would rate it higher if I could.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
What to say about the "Shawshank Redemption"? I shouldn't really have to say anything because when most people hear about it, they already have a pretty good idea of how incredible it is. This movie is freakin' immaculate. Darabont and Co.What to say about the "Shawshank Redemption"? I shouldn't really have to say anything because when most people hear about it, they already have a pretty good idea of how incredible it is. This movie is freakin' immaculate. Darabont and Co. have created not only the most inspiring film in ages, but one of the most emotionally significant films to date. The movie teaches things to us that we need to know - messages on hope, perserverance, and friendship - and it does it with marvelous eloquency. By far, one of the greatest films I have ever seen - a master work of art. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Shawshank Redemption", a sensational movie containing a strong plot, powerful performances, and the ultimate theme of good and evil, is a masterpiece.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeSep 27, 2016
It was a really well made movie. Entertaining, well acted and interesting. The Shawshank Redemption definitely deserves it's spot as one of the best movie ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
With themes of hope, life, and especially of death, 'Shawshank' is a masterful drama about life in prison and one man's hope that drives him to achieve what he wants; freedom. The performances are both realistic and emotional, with TimWith themes of hope, life, and especially of death, 'Shawshank' is a masterful drama about life in prison and one man's hope that drives him to achieve what he wants; freedom. The performances are both realistic and emotional, with Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both delivering us their greatest on screen. The script is engaging and fits the tone of the movie, which makes the two hours run by so quick you'll have wished you'd seen more of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFApr 13, 2013
Perhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a trulyPerhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a truly emotional discovery and, well, redemption.
Everything aside, the film is simply about a friendship under the most unorthodox of circumstances.
Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) is locked up in Shawshank prison in 1947, being convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. He is initially given a hard time as being the new guy, but his generally laid back attitude catch the attention of Red (Morgan Freeman).
As Andy and Red get to know each other, Red soon realises that perhaps there is more than meets the eye with his new acquaintance, as Andy slowly begins to change the lives of the people closest to him. Unfortunately as time goes on, Andy's impatience starts with his life inside starts to show, he seems more reckless and outspoken, regardless of how he has made small but significant changes to the prison itself and of course its inmates.
We are left to watch Andy's journey through the wonderful narration of Morgan Freeman's Red, who is constantly but pleasantly surprised at Andy's personality and reactions to his surroundings. The true friendship lies where these two are completely different, Red has made peace with his situation, accepting his fate and serving life, but Andy is determined to "Get busy living".
Tim Robbins perfectly portrays a character who is purposely isolated from everyone, he can very much take care of himself and show is intelligence and cunning nature at many shining moments in this remarkable film. Morgan Freeman is very much the good guy who followed the wrong path, he gets on with almost everyone who is worth getting on with and doesn't cause trouble, apart from being the "go to' guy in the prison.
The word perfect could indeed give the justice this movie deserves. The cinematography by Roger Deakins is powerful and absorbing, he is always trying to make you become part of the walls that these prisoners call home, his various shots including a few prisoners sitting on top of the roof in the early morning drinking beer and another when Andy manages to play Mozart through the tannoy system speaks waves to the capabilities not necessarily by the actors, but to the scenery that they are surrounded by, and it is truly breathtaking.
It's just a show that is too good to miss, it emerged out of nowhere and really hit home on an emotional level, there is no action in it, simply life lessons that need to be heard, each character has a vibrant role to play that will make us concerning of their situations, and Frank Darabont has created a perfectly diverse cast to blend in with this masterful and commanding film.
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMay 29, 2016
The Shawshank Redemption delivers a constant anticipating feeling, mostly because of how well Morgan Freeman's script was wrote. A great narrator in a film causes a very realistic notion, as if a viewer feels like the narrator is having aThe Shawshank Redemption delivers a constant anticipating feeling, mostly because of how well Morgan Freeman's script was wrote. A great narrator in a film causes a very realistic notion, as if a viewer feels like the narrator is having a conversation with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesJul 26, 2015
Thanks to remarkable direction, all-star performances from the cast and a powerfully moving script, "The Shawshank Redemption" is not only marvelous entertainment but also a stunning achievement for Hollywood.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 29, 2013
Before, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in theseBefore, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in these unforgettable characters made it even better. From Red to Andy to Norton, they we're all just wonderful and enjoyable characters, especially Red and Andy. The relationship between those two is what really holds the balance of the movie. And putting in characters such as Warden Norton and Captain Hadley makes the story riveting and (in a sense) dark. It's not like any other movie out there. Overall, it's a classic Stephen King story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJJul 14, 2015
I remember the first time i watched this movie when i was a kid. Superb movie about hope,intelligence and friendship! So deep,intense and interesting. Masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing place where brutality from guards and other prisoners is commonplace. With help from friend Red (the brilliant Morgan Freeman) he is able to gradually win both prisoners and guards over to his side. Above all this movie is a story of hope but the brilliant central relationship between Andy and Red lifts it well above virtually any other film. Add that to top notch production values and a fantastically satisfying ending and you have one of the best movies in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Feb 23, 2013
Morgan Freeman is in it! What more do you need to want to see this movie? Well besides that it`s a classic! It`s one of those movies you can watch over and over, and still be interested.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is a story about a man who goes to jail after they accuse him for killing his wife and her lover. At first when he went to that prison he had problems and they raped him all the time after a while he made probably the best friendship he ever had in that prison. It is an interesting tale about friendship despite the differences of each people my opinion as I think the 'white people' used to have problems with the 'black people'. It will amuse the audience and it will touch you. It is interesting and it keeps you. Morgan freeman as usually he is the narrator. Tim Robbins gave a great performance and in overall The Shawshank Redemption it is a must-watch and probably one of the best of its kind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 18, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is a very excellent film that is written and directed by Frank Darabont, the man behind The Green Mile and The Walking Dead, and based on a short story by Stephen King.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had never seen all the way through. Quality acting throughout from all the cast (Clancy Brown is scary whatever he plays) & it really does drag you in from the start.
It's funny, tragic & heart warming, very well written & a film you could go back to again & again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxDec 15, 2011
An 80 overall by critics shows how stupid they are. Shawshank Redemption is an amazing film that is a must see for any film buff. Untouchable performanc by Tim Robbins and a great supporting role by Morgan Freeman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BradySmithJun 12, 2013
Has to be the best prison movie ever. Yes, it's even better than the Green Mile. I've been putting off watching this movie forever, thinking it was going to be boring and sappy. But it's far from it. This movie wraps you up in its storyHas to be the best prison movie ever. Yes, it's even better than the Green Mile. I've been putting off watching this movie forever, thinking it was going to be boring and sappy. But it's far from it. This movie wraps you up in its story and it always feels very real due to superb filmmaking. The acting couldn't get any better, and in the end this is one of the most uplifting movies ever made. Yes it's very long, but it without a doubt justifies its length. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
There are standard ways to stage a prison film and standard ways to tell a story by Stephen King. But "The Shawshank Redemption," based on a King novella and set in the correctional institution of the title, succeeds in avoiding the familiar.There are standard ways to stage a prison film and standard ways to tell a story by Stephen King. But "The Shawshank Redemption," based on a King novella and set in the correctional institution of the title, succeeds in avoiding the familiar.

Without a single riot scene or horrific effect, it tells a slow, gentle story of camaraderie and growth, with an ending that abruptly finds poetic justice in what has come before. The writer and director, Frank Darabont, tells this tale with a surprising degree of loving care.

There are times when "The Shawshank Redemption" comes dangerously close to sounding one of those "triumph of the human spirit" notes. But most of it is eloquently restrained. Despite an excess of voice-over narration and inspirational music, Mr. Darabont's film has a genuine dignity that holds the interest. It is helped greatly by fine, circumspect performances from Morgan Freeman as a rueful lifer named Red and Tim Robbins as Andy, the new kid on the cellblock. The film spans nearly 20 years of friendship between these two.

When Andy is convicted of his wife's murder, the judge pronounces him "a particularly remorseless and icy man." He sustains that chill when he first arrives at Shawshank, remaining aloof from other inmates even when those inmates threaten him with physical harm. "I wish I could tell you that Andy fought the good fight," says Red, who knows Andy has been gang-raped by fellow prisoners, in one of the film's only halfway-brutal episodes. "I wish I could tell you that, but prison is no fairy-tale world."

Needless to say, the heroes of such stories usually do succeed in defending themselves, at least when Hollywood is telling the fairy tale. But "The Shawshank Redemption" has its own brand of iconoclasm, with Mr. Darabont's direction as quiet, purposeful and secretive as Andy is himself.

Eventually Andy begins to fit in, especially after he wows the guards with skills left over from his pre-prison banking career. From the first time he advises one guard to make a one-time-only tax-free gift to his wife, Andy gets a new lease on life as "a convicted murderer who provides sound financial planning."

Andy does special fiscal favors for the warden. ("You know, the funny thing is, on the outside I was an honest man, straight as an arrow," he says about this. "I had to come to prison to be a crook.") He also makes the occasional dramatic gesture, like commandeering the prison's loudspeaker and playing a Mozart aria for all his fellow inmates. The film has a tendency to wax romantic at such moments, but more often it sustains an intelligent reserve.

Mr. Freeman is so quietly impressive here that there's reason to wish Red's role had more range. As written, he spends his time observing Andy fondly and describing prison life. But Mr. Freeman's commanding presence makes him a much stronger figure than that. Mr. Freeman is especially moving when he suggests how dependent Red has become on the prison walls that give shape to his life. Even so, Red has kept his ruefulness. "Only guilty man in Shawshank," he jokes about himself.

Mr. Robbins has the trickier role of someone whose still waters run deep, but whose experience doesn't add up until an exposition-packed denouement. (The film's swift, enjoyably farfetched closing scenes are a sharp reminder of who is the author of this story, after all.) Andy's is the more subdued role, but Mr. Robbins plays it intensely, and he ages effectively from newcomer to father figure during the story. One of Andy's projects is improving the prison library, which once contained nothing but the equivalent of books by Stephen King.

To raise funds for this undertaking, Andy is steady and patient, writing weekly letters to state officials until he gets what he wants. Mr. Darabont, a screenwriter making an impressive directorial debut, works in much the same quietly persistent way. "The Shawshank Conspiracy" takes shape slowly and carefully, displaying an overall subtlety that's surprising in a movie of this genre. In the end, like Andy and Red, it gets to where it wanted to go.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FilmVirtueMar 26, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful film on every level, but seriously overrated. The film was good, but not perfect (Certainly not enough for a 9.3) It was very, very good in fact amazing, but just really overrated. Don't let it stop youThe Shawshank Redemption is a powerful film on every level, but seriously overrated. The film was good, but not perfect (Certainly not enough for a 9.3) It was very, very good in fact amazing, but just really overrated. Don't let it stop you from watching the film!---you will find none like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
This movie makes being cliche look badass, and is so well constructed on top of that, you pretty much have to give it credit as one of the movie masterpieces of our time. But seriously, it's not the greatest movie ever made *cough*imdb*cough*
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
10
SwatiNov 8, 2013
Such a strong narrative. All the ingredients of what makes a good drama in the right proportions. The goodness inside people in the most Godforsaken places, and the moral corruption some of us could suffer from if given power over condemnedSuch a strong narrative. All the ingredients of what makes a good drama in the right proportions. The goodness inside people in the most Godforsaken places, and the moral corruption some of us could suffer from if given power over condemned people.

You have to make your own mind about Andy, whether he is innocent or not. He believes so, but all evidence points to the contrary. Robbins plays him in a subtle, laid-back manner. He's hard to figure out. Then there is Red, played by the masterful Freeman, who is in for the long haul and doesn't know if he is ever going to breathe free air again. These two characters make the heart and soul of the movie.

There may be a message here. Without being overt, we sense as the years of these men's lives are wasted before our eyes, especially Andy since you can't really figure out if he is guilty or not. But the ways he finds to engage himself, do something good.

There is plenty of humour and the drama never exceeds the limit where it might become painful. The action is sparse and is shown in an expository fashion. The tone is objective. And Freeman's voice guides you through every scene. The camera angles used, and the overall cinematography was genius. It was like being guided though a maze by an expert in the field. The dialogue was crisp and refreshing. The score quiet and unobtrusive. The world created, or in this case just the prison, seemed so real and complete. You could feel the inmates' emotions related to the place.

All this may give the impression that it may be hard to sit through it, but quite surprisingly, like all great movies, despite the deep, absorbing discussions about life, the movie speeds through from scene to scene without effort. I had the feeling I have when I'm reading an especially engrossing novel I cannot put down. I guess this is what happens when the work of great directors, screenwriters and cinematographers fuses to deliver a product that exceeds anything that a single department could achieve at its best. This one did not just have effort put into it but also soul.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SeriosityNov 5, 2012
Aside from the iconic poster-on-the-wall scene, nothing about this movie is all that memorable. A crowd-pleasing story with a message that comes off like a sermon.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
MarickMar 24, 2015
I was expecting something else entirely to a better movie. Sorry not impressed me so even give birth. The only thing I liked was how they interpreted actors. Otherwise ... no comment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
A delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...EachA delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...Each character was clearly defined. Although, Freeman tends to play well those characters...because he is always performing similar ones.Yet, I would love to see him doing something a bit more daring. That said, I have no doubts that he is an excellent actor, and I applaud his talent! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Viper8787Apr 23, 2014
I can understand why it is one of the highest praised movies of all time because it is one of the best movies of all time. Great cast with amazing chemistry throughout the whole movie. Really well acted and a fantastic storyline keeps youI can understand why it is one of the highest praised movies of all time because it is one of the best movies of all time. Great cast with amazing chemistry throughout the whole movie. Really well acted and a fantastic storyline keeps you into this movie the whole time you watch it. It is one of those feel good stories that you have to like even if you don't like these types of movies. And this movie has one of the best endings in cinema history so this is a definite must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidJul 5, 2014
A beautiful movie about friendship, hope and redemption. It's full of great acting, writing and a nice soundtrack, also nice direction by Frank Darabont. Beautiful Ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: #1-ranked masterpiece on IMDbâ Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
ExKingDec 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is easily one of my all time favorite movies,
other than the fact that it's written by stephen king, it's also one of his best works.
tim robins and morgan freeman were born to play these characters, and the story is not just about the life in prison but it's also about friendship and loyalty and you get so attached to these characters that it's leave an impact on you after the movie ends.
also the escape scene is one of the best scenes in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
WOW!!! It's without any doubt, one of Darabont's best pictures!!! Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins are brilliant in this film. The only problem is that it didn't win an Oscar. It's nominated for 7. In my opinion, it could have won seven OscarsWOW!!! It's without any doubt, one of Darabont's best pictures!!! Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins are brilliant in this film. The only problem is that it didn't win an Oscar. It's nominated for 7. In my opinion, it could have won seven Oscars and more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
The greatest movie based on a novel by Stephen King, its an emotional story about the triumph of the human spirit with lots of depth in story its one of those rare movies were innocence prevails even when in prison where you face yourThe greatest movie based on a novel by Stephen King, its an emotional story about the triumph of the human spirit with lots of depth in story its one of those rare movies were innocence prevails even when in prison where you face your redemption, a movie that shouts for freedom and is as exhilarating and suspenseful since the day its release, standing among films from Citizen Kane to the Godfather its a rare screen gem that is not to be missed!
A A+ film with lots of valuable life lessons and an important certified masterpiece, with lots of great performances
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Dec 25, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies ever made, hands down. The acting is incredible, the script is solid, and a great plot. It shows the life of two inmates who bond together in jail over the course of a few decades or whatever. It has allThis movie is one of the best movies ever made, hands down. The acting is incredible, the script is solid, and a great plot. It shows the life of two inmates who bond together in jail over the course of a few decades or whatever. It has all the drama in it that would destroy any who tried to compete against it. Honestly, this film will never be seen as worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 1, 2012
This is a 10 out of 10. This is one of the greatest, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Acting is phenomenal. Especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Score is good. The story is really, really good. It can be sad, it can beThis is a 10 out of 10. This is one of the greatest, and one of my favorite movies of all time. Acting is phenomenal. Especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Score is good. The story is really, really good. It can be sad, it can be cheerful, its just great. This movie is the most robbed movie ever in the oscars. Deserved at least a few awards,in my opinion Best picture. Overall, this is an amazing movie. It just breathtaking how good it is. You really, really need to see this movie. You won't be disappointed. This is highly, highly recommended. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettSep 1, 2015
I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing,I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing, awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonDec 23, 2011
The greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, noThe greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, no matter their crimes, no matter what crazy or illegal things they have to do to survive prison, no matter what the warden does to Tim Robbins, together prison is awesome and they can redeem themselves. Movies like this show what would happen if prisoners accept people's differences and redeem themselves from their crimes and that's good thing because people don't need to act like idiots in prison. Despite the graphic violence in this movie in the beginning, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman used friendship to forget prison and made each other good people and they were great people! Whoever does NOT like this movie is a bully and needs lighten up because this is a light-heart movie of teaching you the lessons of prison. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 17, 2013
Very good movie. There are no words to describe how good this movie is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
REDWOUNov 22, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is the BEST Stephen King adaptation. Frank Darabont made a movie most people couldn't pull off since it's based on a short story by Stephen King. Rob Reiner did too, but Stand by Me just wasn't as good as TheThe Shawshank Redemption is the BEST Stephen King adaptation. Frank Darabont made a movie most people couldn't pull off since it's based on a short story by Stephen King. Rob Reiner did too, but Stand by Me just wasn't as good as The Shawshank Redemption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of my favorite movies of all time. One of the best feel good movies around and also a dramatic masterpiece. A nice break from the horror adaptations of Stephen Kings books.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 30, 2011
This movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write suchThis movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write such an amazing story, so I' am very happy with the final result of this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ultimately, the standout actor is the venerable James Whitmore, doing his finest work in years. Whitmore's Brooks is a brilliantly realized character, and the scenes with him attempting to cope with life outside of Shawshank represents one of the film's most moving - and effective - sequences.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEdMar 22, 2016
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

William Sadler (as a fellow prisoner), Clancy Brown (as a sadistic guard), and Bob Gunton (as the corrupt warden) all give fine supporting performances. Newcomer Gil Bellows, in a small but crucial role (that was originally intended for Brad Pitt), brings the poise of a veteran to his portrayal of Tommy Williams, Andy's protege.

Ultimately, the standout actor is the venerable James Whitmore, doing his finest work in years. Whitmore's Brooks is a brilliantly realized character, and the scenes with him attempting to cope with life outside of Shawshank represents one of the film's most moving - and effective - sequences.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZegilgameshDec 28, 2012
This movie so perfect shows a brilliant story of redemption, friendship, hard work and both the beauty and the corruption of the human race, that is hard to understand how making this was humanly possible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverOct 7, 2011
Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative.Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative. The cast is perfect with Morgan Freeman as Red completely stealing the show with his soothing narration style while Tim Robbins gives out a really great performance; a falsely convicted man who keeps it to himself. A film about hope and friendship in the toughest of situations, Shawshank is uplifting, provocative and awe inspiring. An absolute must watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
solomsApr 17, 2015
Not my favourite movie, but I have to admit... it is the best movie ever! And don't tell me "godfather" and that kind of movies because this is the most incredible story of friendship and redemption. I love Frank Darabont and for me, all ofNot my favourite movie, but I have to admit... it is the best movie ever! And don't tell me "godfather" and that kind of movies because this is the most incredible story of friendship and redemption. I love Frank Darabont and for me, all of his movies are the best ever. The Mist, Green Mile and The Shawshank Redemption are 3 movies that any director wanna do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UNARMED_JORDJun 27, 2016
the shawshank redemption truly shows a side of Stephen king you dont usually see, he goes from his usual Horror and jumps to a story with actual meaning and much like the green mile a few tears
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
A brilliant story about friendship, hope and redemption. Brings together two talented actors Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbin who create a beautiful movie that is simply a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EddyGregsApr 19, 2015
US Lawyer is sent to Shawshank prison for life, charts his experiences, friendships and influences on the prison whilst maintaining his innocence.

This movie is based on a novella by Stephen King, but don't let that put you off. It's not a
US Lawyer is sent to Shawshank prison for life, charts his experiences, friendships and influences on the prison whilst maintaining his innocence.

This movie is based on a novella by Stephen King, but don't let that put you off. It's not a horror film, rather a thumpingly good ode to friendship, hope, wit, wiles and wisdom, brimming with crackling characters and topped with the most twisteroo of twists since The Crying Game. Found guilty of killing his unfaithful wife and her lover in a fit of passion, sullen accountant Andy Dufresne (Robbins, casting off his goofball image to display more layers than the proverbial onion) is shipped to the gothic wind-swept corridors of the Shawshank State Prison for life. It is here the movie gracefully unfolds. With a beautifully rounded script, writer/director Darabont conjures up a spellbinding personal odyssey stretching through the years from 1946 to 1967.

If you don't love Shawshank, chances are you're beyond redemption. :D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
r0tan0rtanOct 24, 2013
I never gave myself the time to watch this masterpiece before. It definitely lives up to the hype and praise it got after its release. It deserves a 10 but isn't even the best movie of '94 (see: Pulp Fiction, but it tells a great story. Isn'tI never gave myself the time to watch this masterpiece before. It definitely lives up to the hype and praise it got after its release. It deserves a 10 but isn't even the best movie of '94 (see: Pulp Fiction, but it tells a great story. Isn't that what movies are all about? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
NF123Sep 1, 2010
A good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe inA good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe in the showers, or the guards are helpful instead of almost comically evil. There are many flaws here but there's also a lot to love. While the ending was smarmy, the middle contains my personal favorite scene, the man released who wants to go back as he has nothing to live for out in the real world. A pigeon who helped him get by in Prison can't help him where he's going and it's a beautiful scene to say the least. A great movie weighed down by it's own obsession to try and tear jerk us would be my summary of my thoughts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fear can hold you prisoner. Hope can set you free.

One writer on IMDB made the comment that the best movies "touch the soul." Shawshank Redemption achieves greatness, indeed perfection, not because of special effects or action or violence or any semblance of distraction. It achieves greatness because it touches the soul with a straightforward cinematic experience filled with brilliant dialogue, exemplary performances and a message of hope in the midst of the darkest of times. It is a message that resonates deeply and grows more intense with each subsequent viewing of the film.

The first time I viewed Shawshank Redemption I didn't find it to be anything special. Sure, stars Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman were good BUT their performances weren't anything special...or so I thought at the time.

Frank Darabont directs Shawshank Redemption with a gentle, guiding hand allowing the actors to discover the essence within their characters. Some actors, undoubtedly, would not be up to the task. Robbins and Freeman, however, are not "some actors." They are consummate actors and masterful in their portrayals here.

Based upon Stephen King's novella, Darabont creates a film that never buys into the drama of its story, instead choosing to present the lives of the characters involved without histrionics. I have long felt, in fact, that the film may even improve upon the novella by bringing it into focus and providing it with a pacing that allows a more explicit character development.

I have noticed that many of my favorite films are ensemble pieces, and while Robbins and Freeman shine here it is actually the entire cast that brings this story to life with such grace and beauty. Supporting performances by the likes of James Whitmore, William Sadler, Gil Bellows and others who take what could be caricatures and give them in-depth personalities and thoughts and feelings.

Thomas Newman's score is supremely divine and changes along with the characters. It further enhances Darabont's pacing, as well. There are so many memorable scenes in Shawshank Redemption, however, the closing scene is certainly among one of the best closing scenes ever witnessed.

It is hard to fathom that a "prison" movie could be a source of tremendous hope, light and inspiration. Yet, to call Shawshank Redemption a prison movie is to minimize its greatness. It is a brilliant film, a study of humanity in all its wonder AND it happens to take place within the confines of a prison.

Moving, brilliant, inspirational, hopeful and empowering are all words that describe "The Shawshank Redemption." With outstanding performances from its ensemble cast and a work of tremendous cinematic poetry by director Frank Darabont. "Shawshank Redemption" creates a stellar vision that teaches, challenges, inspires and evokes a wide array of emotions and thoughts that serves to remind us that in the darkest moments of our lives there is always a light that shines within.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BerCJun 14, 2016
The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired worldThe artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

What I Personally Liked About "The Shawshank Redemption":
I want to start off by saying Tim Robbins gave so many wonderful performances in the years leading up to this film that to see the culmination of his charming "every man" character must have been extraordinarily gratifying for him. For fans of his work, it's gratifying as well. Sadly, he seemed content with this peak and would never strive as hard to acquire another in later years. Another note in the casting department is that of Morgan Freeman. A better orator has never existed. His voice is completely recognizable, wholly unforgettable, and delivers narration so spot-on you'd think he was born specifically to breathe life into the words of Ellis Boyd Redding. However, it is not just cast members alone that drive this film. The location used for Shawshank prison is truly a soul-crushing penitentiary that seems to seep the enjoyment of life out of the very bones of the movie's audience members. Roger Deakins's cinematography really helps to emphasize that point with its stark angles and looming panoramic shots. Of course, the story itself plays a big part in the entertainment value. I find it funny that Stephen King has made a memorable name for himself as a master of horror when the most monumental visual accomplishments based off of his work ("Stand by Me," "The Green Mile," this) were all squarely located in the dramatic vein. One has to love the honesty in this motion picture's portrayal of its subject matter as well. It doesn't shy away from its depictions of the brutalities, the horrors, and the corruptible influences of prison life. Frank Darabont's screenplay doesn't seek to glorify incarceration, it only glorifies the indomitable spirit true innocence possesses.

What I Personally Disliked About "The Shawshank Redemption":
Even the best of films can contain a flaw and, for me, the flaw to be found here is in the "fantastic coincidence" (to use the production's own term) of Andy Dufresne's wife and her lover being murdered by someone else the night Andy went to confront them. The level of coincidence is just too great for me and it always seems to take me a few minutes to get past that forced beginning and really sink into the naturalness of the remaining two hours the film provides.

My Overall Impression of "The Shawshank Redemption":
This is a grand testament to the concepts of hope and humanity. It definitely deserves the accolades it has been presented with over the years. Who would have thought that a claustrophobic reformatory drama would be such an essential, such a defining piece of cinematic history?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
acaiberryMar 19, 2015
Before I start, I have to say whatever I say doesn't speak enough to how good this movie is. The story...thank you so much Mr. Stephen King, you have literally influenced millions who have seen this to pursue life in a different way. (notBefore I start, I have to say whatever I say doesn't speak enough to how good this movie is. The story...thank you so much Mr. Stephen King, you have literally influenced millions who have seen this to pursue life in a different way. (not going into it to avoid any spoiler)

If you haven't seen this and your friends have probably teased and bullied you for not watching it... they are so right because not watching this is hindering your next step in a more mature life. People, it's not that Morgan Freeman is in it (YES He's famous for a reason and this is one of them) but the plot is the greatest element of this movie as all movies should be.

I'll cut to the music score first as I am a music kinda guy, and of course as one of the greatest movies of all time the music itself heavily impacts the movie. You really won't be disappointed unless you're very into movies that have a lot action and splitting plot twists.

This is a straightforward movie that has no BS and it shows that humanity is still alive in a world that refuses to have any. This is okay i guess to watch alone but I like watching movies with friends as you might quote this movie for a very long time. However, don't invite that annoying person that ruins movies. Let him watch it alone
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, so, so good. The adaptation of the Stephen King novel is so entertaining, filled with interesting dialogue and plot twists. A pretty much perfect prison film. Great performances by Robbins and Freeman. One moment really got to me: the moment when Andy crawls out of the sewer tunnel and stares up at the sky in the rain. Such a glorious moment of triumph, I wanted to stand up and scream "Yes!". This movie truly depicted that prison life in the fifties was just as hard for new prisoners as it is implied today. The movie didn't sugar coat Andy's prison life. A great movie full of great writing and performances that the first time you watch it, it will instantly be fortified as a great movie classic. Expand
18 of 19 users found this helpful181
All this user's reviews
10
HucksterFeb 13, 2013
Easily in the top 100 movies of all time. Brilliant storytelling and a great insight to the horrors of prison life. The ending is one of my all-time favourites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mordovan89Mar 1, 2014
Wonderful, amazing, glorious, are three words to describe this masterpiece. The acting was good, and the plot better. This film shows us the strength of the human spirit, true friendship and especially what we all crave, desire and trustWonderful, amazing, glorious, are three words to describe this masterpiece. The acting was good, and the plot better. This film shows us the strength of the human spirit, true friendship and especially what we all crave, desire and trust dnifíciles situations, hope. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
andrebarrosoDec 19, 2014
What happens with "the Godfather" happens with "The Shawshank Redemption". Must watch it before and you die and it's impossible that you'll hate this one.
Morgan Freeman brings to the audience possibly the best performance of his career.
What happens with "the Godfather" happens with "The Shawshank Redemption". Must watch it before and you die and it's impossible that you'll hate this one.
Morgan Freeman brings to the audience possibly the best performance of his career.
With Roger Deakins' cinematography and Thomas Newman's score, this might be the best prison-drama inthe history of cinema. Absolutely remarkable.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JamesNWAFeb 3, 2011
I can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and MorganI can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman were fantastic and were very convincing in their roles. Freeman's voiceovers throughout truly made me, as a viewer, understand what he and the other prisoners were feeling and going through. The story was adapted extremely well from Stephen King's novella and is a story in which many meanings can be taken from it. Easily a film that I will watch over and over again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
CursedKnight187Jul 25, 2012
A beautifully personal film with fantastic acting and a well crafted story makes this film deserved of all the praise it has received over the years. It really should have won Best Picture.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MichMartMar 2, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is on top of IMDb, so I think everything about it has already been said.
I have just one thing to add: The brutal scenes aren't a bad thing and demonstrate the terrible place, where Andy and Red have to spend theirs lifes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheRyanMcNeilOct 11, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The ShawshankThis movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The Shawshank Redemption won no oscars because 1994 was the year of Forrest Gump, and Pulp Fiction. Although those two movies were good in its time. The Shawshank Redemption will always be one of the bets movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RainbowDenixAug 5, 2016
Фантазия Стивена Кинга — это феномен. Может он и не воздвиг себе «памятник нерукотворный», однако помнить его будут еще очень долго. Что же сделал Дарабонт? Колоссальный успех был ожидаем. Фрэнк приобрел право на экранизацию данного фильмаФантазия Стивена Кинга — это феномен. Может он и не воздвиг себе «памятник нерукотворный», однако помнить его будут еще очень долго. Что же сделал Дарабонт? Колоссальный успех был ожидаем. Фрэнк приобрел право на экранизацию данного фильма практически бесплатно, по старой дружбе, так сказать. Скажу кратко, что в фильме есть то, чего в книге недоставало. Конечно, рассказ Стивена Кинга назвать постным язык не поворачивается. Но фильм…! Фильм не оставляет конец открытым, и это очень показательно. Не стану говорить о несостыковках сценария с подлинным источником, соблюдено было почти все, даже композиция.

Что касается игры актеров, то Тим Роббинс вовсе не создавал впечатление надменного заключенного. Напротив, Энди Дюфресн показался мне беззащитным малым. А вот Морган Фриман постарался на славу! Пожалуй, лучшая из его ролей! Не знаю, дело ли в симпатии к дедуле Фриману, или его непоколебимый авторитет таким вот образом вуалирует его казусы, но Ред оказался именно таким Редом, каким и должен был стать наяву.

Фильм прекрасен, как бы я хотел пожать руку и Фрэнку Дарабонту, и Стивену Кингу, и Моргану Фриману, и Тиму Роббинсу, но черт возьми, они так далеко.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PrincethadonMar 23, 2014
I used to say fight club was my favorite movie but now I say shawshank is my favorite movie. I love a movie about hope. Not many movies can pull hope off like this one. if you are going through a hard time you should watch this movie I sayI used to say fight club was my favorite movie but now I say shawshank is my favorite movie. I love a movie about hope. Not many movies can pull hope off like this one. if you are going through a hard time you should watch this movie I say this is my favorite movie. I give this movie a 10 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JoshLuck1995Jul 22, 2014
The best film ever made, hands down, the acting is excellent throughout the whole film, every member of the cast gives a outstanding performance and the story is also very strong. my favourite film of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SirLouenDec 12, 2015
Best film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detailBest film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detail of the novel. Considering is pretty impossible to do a film based on a long novel, choosing an epic short story to be filmed is the best choice ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaBlendMay 6, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
OscarOrNotDec 27, 2011
One of the greatest prison movies of all time (along with The Green Mile), and one of the greatest movies of all time in General. The performances are stellar, the plot is sensational and moving. The Shawshank Redemption is Morgan Freeman'sOne of the greatest prison movies of all time (along with The Green Mile), and one of the greatest movies of all time in General. The performances are stellar, the plot is sensational and moving. The Shawshank Redemption is Morgan Freeman's masterpiece. As the cover says, "Fear can hold you prisoner, hope can set you free." Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
brieflyJul 22, 2013
I've never understood the love given to this pile of prison cliches. Yes, the leads are good actors, but that doesn't make the movie much better. I read an Esquire poll once that listed this as one of the male voters' top 10 movies of allI've never understood the love given to this pile of prison cliches. Yes, the leads are good actors, but that doesn't make the movie much better. I read an Esquire poll once that listed this as one of the male voters' top 10 movies of all time, and after the listing, Esquire wrote (huh?) couldn't agree more. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
EleniFeb 2, 2012
www.unsungfilms.com, by Eleni Antonaropoulou
Just to get things straight, when Pandora opened the box, all evils were released into the world but Hope. Hope remained in the box. So, if Pandora wasnâ
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Popcorn12345Jul 16, 2013
A truly sensational movie. Not only is there deep and meaningful messages but the story and film itself is incredible. Definitely one of if not the best films of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sivaruthvikJan 19, 2014
It may be one of the best movies ever made.really fine acting from morgan freeman and tim robbins . entire cast have done a good job.frank made a successful experiment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Bartholomew123Jul 3, 2015
Definitely one of the greatest movies ever put to screen. They must have dipped this film in gold before it came out. Incredibly powerful and emotionally perfect story sends these convicts down a life changing road. A must watch for anyDefinitely one of the greatest movies ever put to screen. They must have dipped this film in gold before it came out. Incredibly powerful and emotionally perfect story sends these convicts down a life changing road. A must watch for any person with eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheMovieDoctorJan 7, 2016
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

William Sadler (as a fellow prisoner), Clancy Brown (as a sadistic guard), and Bob Gunton (as the corrupt warden) all give fine supporting performances. Newcomer Gil Bellows, in a small but crucial role (that was originally intended for Brad Pitt), brings the poise of a veteran to his portrayal of Tommy Williams, Andy's protege.

Ultimately, the standout actor is the venerable James Whitmore, doing his finest work in years. Whitmore's Brooks is a brilliantly realized character, and the scenes with him attempting to cope with life outside of Shawshank represents one of the film's most moving - and effective - sequences.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adamjneveAug 25, 2015
This is the best movie ever made. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are brilliant, and are supported by a full cast of excellent performances. It tells a riveting, emotional, and incredible story of a twenty year friendship and in the scant fewThis is the best movie ever made. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are brilliant, and are supported by a full cast of excellent performances. It tells a riveting, emotional, and incredible story of a twenty year friendship and in the scant few places the narrative asks you to suspend your disbelief, you feel no compulsion to do otherwise. Beautifully shot (which is rare for any movie) and with a masterful pace. It is hard to believe you've been watching for almost 2 and a half hours. This movie would have killed at the Academy Awards had it not been for the more likable, and nearly as good, Forrest Gump. Seeing this movie should be a requirement for citizenship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
thedaarkbattySep 19, 2016
Eh, this movie honestly deserves a 7/10 at best. but I am giving it a 0/10. I saw it in theaters years ago and really did not think it was THAT good. The acting is bland and the sets are boring. I'm giving it a 0 to balance the score out. Sorry.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
Masoud1986Apr 14, 2013
The best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand itThe best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand it and realize it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SQG_SlasherAug 18, 2014
The best prison film I've seen since 'Escape From Alcatraz'. A gripping story, exceptional acting and a brilliant set to film on puts the cherry on top of the cake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
andreekaMar 6, 2015
the worst film ever made.the character is dull, the story are pretty mediocre. just pointless for 2.5 hours. it waste my time. i really dont understand why people vote this rubbish so highly
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
9
JHangoAug 17, 2011
This is one of my top 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
YoussefSaabDec 5, 2013
The story of friendship, redemption and hope, what can I say about this great masterpiece, The Best Movie of all time that teach you lots of the meanings of life, tells you to never fear anything and never lose hope, because hope always setThe story of friendship, redemption and hope, what can I say about this great masterpiece, The Best Movie of all time that teach you lots of the meanings of life, tells you to never fear anything and never lose hope, because hope always set you free... Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
IsayithowitisDec 31, 2013
Needless to say an all time great. One of the few movies you can watch over and over. The acting in incredible, the story is captivating and engaging, and every actor comes through in a big way. A truly wonderful movie. If you have not seenNeedless to say an all time great. One of the few movies you can watch over and over. The acting in incredible, the story is captivating and engaging, and every actor comes through in a big way. A truly wonderful movie. If you have not seen it, you will not be disappointed when you do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Serrao_BrochadoJun 18, 2012
The Shawshank Redemption tells us about friendship and loyalty in a context where nobody can trust anyone because, as we know, in the prisons the fittest are the stronger ones. Our best friend today can be our worst enemy tomorrow. Moreover,The Shawshank Redemption tells us about friendship and loyalty in a context where nobody can trust anyone because, as we know, in the prisons the fittest are the stronger ones. Our best friend today can be our worst enemy tomorrow. Moreover, it is one of those movies that makes clear how far an intelligent man can go. Only the most cynical can remain indifferent! Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
moviefan1980sJun 12, 2013
This film is one of my top 3 or 5 films of all-time. I love everything about it, such as the casting, the performances, the storyline, the directing, etc. If you haven't seen this, you are really missing out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
imjoedavidsonSep 2, 2016
An incredibly touching film. Strong script and a well committed cast, dedicated to telling the story. This film will be remembered and immortalised as a classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
marceliniJan 10, 2016
Muy buena película, pero no tiene lo suficiente para estar dentro de mis mejores, ni menos para ser la mejor según un popular data base (imdb). En uan sola palabra BUENA.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ChappyStickSep 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. no words that i can think of even comes close of how amazing this movie really is. its funny, thrilling and bone chilling. what i really love about this movie is that you really feel for the characters as if they were family. when brookes committed suicide i was holding on a pillow shouting NOOOOO. best movie i have ever seen. no movie comes close to this masterpiece. not godfarther, LOTR, goodfellas, star wars, or indiana jones. a perfect movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
smithbhurricaneSep 9, 2012
This is my all time favorite movie. Great story of redemption and justice.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
3
JLeighJun 25, 2015
The most over rated film of all time, riddled with plot holes and plagued with sloppy scripting. Not terrible, but not worth watching unless you have a morbid curiosity to see what the fuss is all about and certainly not worth a second viewing.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
10
scarfakeJan 20, 2016
this is time wasting                                                                                                                                                 
-
         -
this is time wasting                                                                                                                                                 
-
        
-
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
reveiwmanmysterFeb 6, 2011
Wow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that theWow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that the director per-trades the way prison is is incredible. The way of how friendship is so powerful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
crazywaffle124Nov 23, 2012
Action. Comedy. Drama. This movie is absolutely genius, and makes you feel so many emotions. Superb acting. I am enraged that the reviewers gave this less than 100. #1 movie of all time in my opinion
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
abhinabJul 6, 2013
The shawshank redemption is a classic drama which revolves around an innocent man who is imprisoned in a dirty prison. The plot is well developed and character are well played out. The theme is clearly displayed and the director has madeThe shawshank redemption is a classic drama which revolves around an innocent man who is imprisoned in a dirty prison. The plot is well developed and character are well played out. The theme is clearly displayed and the director has made very good scenes with symbolic cuts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MudgeeNov 24, 2014
It's cliche, and many say it, but this movie is truly a masterpiece. Beautiful set pieces, acting and storytelling, especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Both of which play their finest role. It captures everything that makes us humanIt's cliche, and many say it, but this movie is truly a masterpiece. Beautiful set pieces, acting and storytelling, especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Both of which play their finest role. It captures everything that makes us human and draws it over a three-hour feature length film. There aren't many movies in this world, I enjoy watching a second time, let alone 12-15 more times. This being one of them. I would strongly recommend this to any film buff, and let it be known that this is most likely my favourite movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GantugsJul 24, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption..................................................
Only one word that is PERFECT.................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoveeLandMay 7, 2016
This is easily one of the greatest films of all time. The acting is superb, Morgan Freeman narrates so ill let you figure that out, and the story itself is immaculate. It leaves you speechless at the end and feeling good when you walk away.This is easily one of the greatest films of all time. The acting is superb, Morgan Freeman narrates so ill let you figure that out, and the story itself is immaculate. It leaves you speechless at the end and feeling good when you walk away. It is a shame that you can only truly see it once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
henryesparzaSep 5, 2016
The first time you watch this movie, it is an easy 10/10. No question about it. The relationship the characters build up makes you absolutely love every single one of them. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman blow it out of the park.
10/10 One of
The first time you watch this movie, it is an easy 10/10. No question about it. The relationship the characters build up makes you absolutely love every single one of them. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman blow it out of the park.
10/10 One of my favorite movies of all time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeterAug 25, 2010
its completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit thatits completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit that forrest gump was a very good movie that i almost cried from watching (because it was sad), but its not better than shawshank. there was 1 thing that the movie didnt need (Brooks out of jail), but it did add a new and important theme, so i guess i take that back. yea, this movie is perfect Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AlfredNov 3, 2010
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
36 of 40 users found this helpful364
All this user's reviews
10
impedido10Apr 30, 2013
One of the best movies ever. Period Great movie and story definetly check watching..........................................................................
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Alexanderzx360Sep 26, 2012
Based on the Stephen King novel by the same name, it's simply the best movie ever made, it should had won best picture in 1994, and all characters performances are incredible. If you haven't watch it, just do it without thinking about it twice.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews