Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1244 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,158
Mixed:
19
Negative:
67
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
JacquiC.Jul 4, 2007
A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high school everything even down to the lighting cues and the heightened sounds resembles power: who can dominate and who can't. Outstanding Movie, stinks that they had to add the extra bit at the end, the original ending was way better. but fine, shows you that critics comments do play vital parts on a movies wellbeing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
ConnorCMar 9, 2010
The greatest movie in the world may have been depressing in some parts, but it has such a good story. The seven ocars it was nominated for, should have been won to it.
5 of 6 users found this helpful
10
RobertDec 30, 2002
One of my personal favorite movies of all time. Far from being boring or slow, this movie made the 2+ hours pass in a flash. Robbins and Freeman are both incredible in their roles.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
PeterJ.May 29, 2002
Perhaps my favourite movie of all time. Absolutely brilliant.
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
VinceB.Apr 6, 2003
I can watch it over and over, great characters.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JacobM.May 22, 2005
An incredible movie, should have gotten better than its 80/100 from critics... I was surprised.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
2
barryAug 2, 2005
Easily the most over-rated movie ever. Wooden, cliched, un-realistic.
2 of 17 users found this helpful
10
LindaC.Mar 4, 2006
Simply the best movie ever. Perfect!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTJan 7, 2008
Brings Stephen King's novella to life and even better. The Shawshank Redemption is a fantastic movie and rightfully belongs in the list of The Greatest Movies of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ReeceDMar 25, 2009
Although it does seem to go on for too long, there is that much to it that you miss some of it on the first time you watch it. The ending isn't clear until it actually happens, whereas in most films you can usually guess what will Although it does seem to go on for too long, there is that much to it that you miss some of it on the first time you watch it. The ending isn't clear until it actually happens, whereas in most films you can usually guess what will happen. The cleverness behind it all still amazes me every time I watch it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
troypJan 2, 2010
The shawshank redemption is a brilliant film that is beautifly acted with and insiring and uplifting message message of hope. in my opiniun the film should have at least one oscar to show for it's brilliance. it is truly sad that know The shawshank redemption is a brilliant film that is beautifly acted with and insiring and uplifting message message of hope. in my opiniun the film should have at least one oscar to show for it's brilliance. it is truly sad that know one could see how superior shawshank is to the wearisome forrest gump. i think that if shawshank had been realeased more recently it would have hands down won best picture it is one of the few films that are worthy of being called perfect Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful
10
NateW.Oct 23, 2002
Incredible.....the music, acting, story, and the overwhelming message that there is always hope in any situation.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
9
raVenNov 2, 2003
(9.5) If you like a movie that makes you hate the world and/or feel stupid for watching it, this movie is not for you. If, on the other hand, you think there might be the teeniest hope for humanity yet--by all means, watch this movie again (9.5) If you like a movie that makes you hate the world and/or feel stupid for watching it, this movie is not for you. If, on the other hand, you think there might be the teeniest hope for humanity yet--by all means, watch this movie again and again. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ZookkJan 18, 2003
One of the most gripping.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
EricS.Aug 1, 2003
My most favorite movie. Never tire seeing it again and again.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
4
YoonC.Sep 15, 2003
Way too manipulative from start to finish though well-crafted in most aspects. If you want some schlocky moral sermon to be whispered into your ears and want a nice warm hug and a big fat juicy kiss to be reminded that bad guys get their Way too manipulative from start to finish though well-crafted in most aspects. If you want some schlocky moral sermon to be whispered into your ears and want a nice warm hug and a big fat juicy kiss to be reminded that bad guys get their comeuppance and good guys end up in paradise, this is for you. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
UterSep 7, 2003
It's one of the best movies ever made, but the dvd extras are lacking. I'm surprised there hasn't been a re-release by now.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Jan 16, 2004
This film is so insistent in its approach and pervasive in its factual appearance that critiquing it would in some manner have to involve cheap shots. It's manipulative, and perhaps Dufresne could have been better played, but the values This film is so insistent in its approach and pervasive in its factual appearance that critiquing it would in some manner have to involve cheap shots. It's manipulative, and perhaps Dufresne could have been better played, but the values the film intends to actualize are presented so precisely that it is my advisory to suspend judgement. Not that it's a perfect film, but as a whole it's so much greater than the sum of its parts. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
D.J.SkippenJun 1, 2004
Good.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RobertH.Jul 20, 2004
The best movie of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DazAug 4, 2004
One of the best movies ever made. I saw this on the day it came out having heard nothing about it except it was nominated for about 7 oscars. It completely blew me away and for weeks i couldn't stop talking about it. If this had been One of the best movies ever made. I saw this on the day it came out having heard nothing about it except it was nominated for about 7 oscars. It completely blew me away and for weeks i couldn't stop talking about it. If this had been properly advertised it would have made 5 times what it did. I'm not surprised that in most recent polls it comes in the top 3 best movies ever. If i could give it 11 out of 10 i would. If i could recommend to you one movie you MUST see before you die it is this one. Beg, borrow, rent or buy but WATCH THIS MOVIE. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JanethMJun 3, 2005
The BEST movie I have ever seen. If you have not seen it, go rent it NOW. Andy Dufresne is the bomb!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
JorisV.Aug 7, 2006
Beautiful. Very good, but not exceptional. 8,5 really.
3 of 8 users found this helpful
10
SophieBOct 7, 2007
This is my favourite movie of all time. I absolutely adore it.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
RobinMay 8, 2007
Lots of different issues can be raised from this one movie; corruption, the judicial system, prison life, life after prison, love, human rights, education, determination, hope, security.....the movie is full of meaning. Dufresne the Lots of different issues can be raised from this one movie; corruption, the judicial system, prison life, life after prison, love, human rights, education, determination, hope, security.....the movie is full of meaning. Dufresne the character, is so interesting, it makes the movie an interesting watch. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KraigJ.Jun 1, 2007
An excellent, near perfect film which helps show us that there can be good in anybody, you finish it feeling all warm inside.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KeirB.Jul 12, 2008
"The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films that ages better with time. People talk about this film more now than when it was released in 1994. The acting, writing, cinematography, direction, music, editing and everything else "The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films that ages better with time. People talk about this film more now than when it was released in 1994. The acting, writing, cinematography, direction, music, editing and everything else makes this as close to a perfect film as you can get. The themes of redemption, fear, and ultimately hope are universal. "Forrest Gump" is a great film, but this SHOULD have won Best Picture. Unforgettable and beautiful. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
CallumWDec 3, 2009
This film is the pinnacle of entertainment. This is raw acting with no special effects yet it's better than most films that come out today because the performances. Completely essential. Plus, I love the ending as it is one of the This film is the pinnacle of entertainment. This is raw acting with no special effects yet it's better than most films that come out today because the performances. Completely essential. Plus, I love the ending as it is one of the greatest twists in cinema. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
3
BennyMFeb 8, 2009
Extremely overrated. Morgan Freeman gave a nice performance however Tim Robbins possessed no emotion whatsoever and I cared little if even at all for any of the characters. Not particularly well written with a warm message that is delivered Extremely overrated. Morgan Freeman gave a nice performance however Tim Robbins possessed no emotion whatsoever and I cared little if even at all for any of the characters. Not particularly well written with a warm message that is delivered over an overly long period of time. Expand
4 of 58 users found this helpful
10
RobSJul 13, 2009
I laugh at people that denote this move, "over-rated." I have seen some high quality movies through my long journey with life, and Shawshank Redemption is by far the best I have ever had the privilege of having a gander at. The twists and I laugh at people that denote this move, "over-rated." I have seen some high quality movies through my long journey with life, and Shawshank Redemption is by far the best I have ever had the privilege of having a gander at. The twists and turns of the movie inspire and transpire emotions that can only be explained through high production values and excellent writing. The musical score is on par with some of the best films every created. It's too bad some folk resort to hating on popular films, no matter how great, for the sake of being rebellious towards the movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
markoJul 16, 2009
Some say it goes on too long, i say it was too short... in a word, beautiful.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JanDSep 7, 2009
"The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films, where you can tell from the opening credits, the first chords of the soundtrack and the first voice-over line from Morgan Freeman, that you're about to witness a movie of "The Shawshank Redemption" is one of those rare films, where you can tell from the opening credits, the first chords of the soundtrack and the first voice-over line from Morgan Freeman, that you're about to witness a movie of exceptional quality. The story, the characters, the accompanying (and at times) solemn soundtrack: each component strengthens and supports the other, the grand total making it an excellent movie. Love it or hate it: It's the stuff that classics are made of. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
zackmJan 2, 2010
The movie is brilliantly acted with and equally well written screenplay and plot. it has an inspiring message of hope and a suprising twist at the end. so benny m. you can screw yourself OKAY!!!!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JackGApr 24, 2010
Shawshank Redemption is one of the greatest films of all time, and certainly the greatest picture I've ever had the pleasure of viewing. The storyline takes you from rock bottom to possibly the most rewarding, perfect ending ever - Shawshank Redemption is one of the greatest films of all time, and certainly the greatest picture I've ever had the pleasure of viewing. The storyline takes you from rock bottom to possibly the most rewarding, perfect ending ever - without being tacky or direct; the film is an eloquent masterpiece, and one you will never forget. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMulroneycakesSavesTheWorldFromTheEvilCurseONov 27, 2002
Wow - a near three-hour movie that bears constant rewatching. A true classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JocelynP.Jan 29, 2002
The best film in the last 10 years. So what if it's a little sentimental?? It's just great storytelling.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkE.Mar 20, 2002
Great movie about prison life, also great characters in Red and Andy Dufresne. Also great acting especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChadH.Jun 1, 2002
No perhaps about it, it IS my favorite movie of all time. Victimized at the box office only by its difficult-to-market name, this should have been more successful. As it worked out, it became hidden gem that really only got respect through No perhaps about it, it IS my favorite movie of all time. Victimized at the box office only by its difficult-to-market name, this should have been more successful. As it worked out, it became hidden gem that really only got respect through word-of-mouth video rentals and on television. There's a reason this one shows up 10 times a week on cable: it's a true classic, a masterfully told story about the human spirit. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Marc-oOct 23, 2003
This deserves more than a rating. i have watched this movie a over 20 times in the 9 years since its release and this movie if no ther shows just how crappy Oscars and other awards are as this should be heralded for what it is: a modern This deserves more than a rating. i have watched this movie a over 20 times in the 9 years since its release and this movie if no ther shows just how crappy Oscars and other awards are as this should be heralded for what it is: a modern cinema classic, i have yet to meet one person who disliked it, Robbins reserved Brilliance and Freeman just seems to be a testament to the wisdom of age. If you haven't seen this film then shame on you. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
SantinoS.May 9, 2003
As good or great as this movie is a lot of people tend to overlook 1 major flaw,i.e the very pc race relations potrayed which make this film a little inauthentic,there isn't even a hint of racism in the movie and considering the timeAs good or great as this movie is a lot of people tend to overlook 1 major flaw,i.e the very pc race relations potrayed which make this film a little inauthentic,there isn't even a hint of racism in the movie and considering the time period this movie is set in,america from the late 40's to the late 60's,it feels the director and writer darabont did not want to bring up the racism issue in order to dilute the feel good factor of the film, hence the race relations in this film feel fake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveM.Jan 27, 2004
It's good.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
RezaI.May 16, 2004
My favorite movie of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.May 17, 2004
This film can be summed up in one word (or several similar adjectives): resplendent! It is so well conceived, developed and confirmed that unless you were bored by it (!!!) you could not rate it any other way. A totally immersing and rousing This film can be summed up in one word (or several similar adjectives): resplendent! It is so well conceived, developed and confirmed that unless you were bored by it (!!!) you could not rate it any other way. A totally immersing and rousing movie that is one of the finest films I have seen. My belief in this is strengthened by the fact everyone I know feels the same way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChanB.May 29, 2004
Amazinnggg!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
MattyG.Aug 11, 2004
A truly superb movie, that is only let down by the over-optimistic ending. True, characters from the novella are condensed, eliminated or changed, but usually for the better. Still, I feel that the movie should have ended about five minutes A truly superb movie, that is only let down by the over-optimistic ending. True, characters from the novella are condensed, eliminated or changed, but usually for the better. Still, I feel that the movie should have ended about five minutes before it did (with Red still on the road). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IanP.Aug 22, 2004
This film is infinitly watchable again & again. Word of mouth made me watch this movie, an A+ classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EricMJan 25, 2005
I saw this movie when it first came out in the theaters and evey since I have considered it my personal favorite movie ever!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JodiC.Dec 6, 2005
Spectacular!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AngelV.May 12, 2005
La mejor película de todos los tiempos (The best film of all time).
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
patrickd.Sep 22, 2005
I didnt enjoy it as much as I should of, but I know this is a great film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Mr.HankeyApr 20, 2006
This movie is beautiful, genius and brutal. It shows what prison life is like at the time which may not be innovative because obviously it has been done before but it still is a movie that is lightened up by the superb and versatile actings This movie is beautiful, genius and brutal. It shows what prison life is like at the time which may not be innovative because obviously it has been done before but it still is a movie that is lightened up by the superb and versatile actings of Tim Robbins (Andy Dufrane) and Morgan Freeman (Redd). The movie is sad and long but shows that if you live in prison you are still just trying to live the life you already had. The movie is a jolly tale of friendship, violence (including torture and isolation) and last but not least genius. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
RobertR.Jun 17, 2006
Just a great inspirational movie about the power of hope. This grown man cries everytime I see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LeeM.Jun 21, 2006
i cant believe this film is not in the all time top 10 this is a truely great film with a great feel good ending, morgan freeman is immense!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
CLSep 11, 2006
This movie is possibly the most moving movie I ever watched. I think Morgan Freeman really made this movie what it is, with one of his best performances ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AimzNov 20, 2007
Grim though an uplifting movie... an amazing like fairytale of incarceration and emancipation. Brillant! Morgan freeman is an absolute legend.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
BlakeO.Mar 28, 2007
The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful and uplifting, not to mention Oscar-worthy film. In 2006, it was ranked as the greatest film ever by Empire, a film magazine. The year it came out it was nominated for 7 academy awards but did not win a The Shawshank Redemption is a powerful and uplifting, not to mention Oscar-worthy film. In 2006, it was ranked as the greatest film ever by Empire, a film magazine. The year it came out it was nominated for 7 academy awards but did not win a single one because of a movie you may all remember, Forrest Gump. The success of Gump may have overshadowed this movie in the 90 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessB.Sep 22, 2007
This movie is the one that if I see a 1/2 second on TV, I can't change the channel. Morgan Freeman is incredible, his best preformance I have seen from him. Tim Robbins plays Andy well as a man suffering the "time and pressure aspect of This movie is the one that if I see a 1/2 second on TV, I can't change the channel. Morgan Freeman is incredible, his best preformance I have seen from him. Tim Robbins plays Andy well as a man suffering the "time and pressure aspect of prison. The supporting cast is so good. They really make the movie a great success. Should be among the top 100 of all time. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
EH.Mar 8, 2008
This is one the most watchable movies of all times. Morgan Freeman is miraculous.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
6
RoryP.Jul 13, 2008
Overrated.
2 of 9 users found this helpful
10
D.J.SkippenSep 16, 2008
Good.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MichaelF.Apr 28, 2002
One the finest motion pictures ever made in the history of cinema.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NinjaMafiaNov 10, 2003
[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] I can't remember when I first saw this film but, my god, is it a god damn good film. The film tells the story of a wrongfully imprisoned man trying to live on the inside. He then starts to befriend a lifer that[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] I can't remember when I first saw this film but, my god, is it a god damn good film. The film tells the story of a wrongfully imprisoned man trying to live on the inside. He then starts to befriend a lifer that "knows how to get things". Thus, the wrongfully convicted, Andy Dufresne, begins to live on the inside and try to work on his old hobbies. Andy then helps a guard with some financial trouble which then starts to make other guards want his financial advice. Eventually, The warden wants Dufrenes' help. The warden then starts to launder money but have Andy cover up the tracks by creating a fake person. I don't want to reveal any more of the plot so let me just say this, this is a really good movie about prison, a REALLY good movie. The plot was deep and beleviable. This film could have been a true story for all we know (it isn't but wouldn't that have been awesome). The characters were all deep and showed a lot of human character and emotion except for one guy who played a big part in the role but they didn't work on him a lot. The acting was also really good making every character seem real. The only reason I'm not giving this movie a 10 is for two reasons. 1 Is for the guy who made the movie have a big plot twist but he wasn't developed as much as everyone else. Secondly, the ending was really sappy and didn't fit the movie at all. The ending felt just horrible while the whole movie was a work of art. The Shawshank Redemption is an easily recommendable title with few people actually hating it (but if you do please don't blame me). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
kloNov 14, 2005
Just great, the same about novel.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MomoKokoDec 23, 2005
The best movie I've seen in years.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidPNov 19, 2006
Simplemente, una narrativa envolvente y unas actuaciones poderosas, facilmente podria seer la mejor pelicula de todos los tiempos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
someonesomeplaceOct 19, 2006
I can watch this movie more than any other. Perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BrunoDec 28, 2006
Overhyped socialist movie that tried to convince me that prisoners are better people then us and deserve much better treatment.
0 of 12 users found this helpful
10
RonnieC.Feb 25, 2006
Beautiful. Moving. Amazing score. Don't listen to any criticism. Watch it for yourself. Period.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JustinC.Jun 26, 2006
One of my favorite movies of all time. I highly recommend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClayJan 25, 2007
Really good movie. Morgan freeman has the perfect narrating voice and it's very well made drama, even if it's a simple prison movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyB.Oct 24, 2008
Best all time. Everytime you watch it you find more to like about it.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MuhammadZ.Jun 28, 2008
Quietly moving, yet startlingly beautiful, this tale of a man's quest for redemption and the incontrovertible power of hope is, without a doubt, one of the finest cinematic achievements of the modern age.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FernandoG.Nov 24, 2003
Masterpeice.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
QuinnC.Nov 25, 2007
Freeman is 'red' freedom character searching for nothing but to pace his life in prison. Robins is a robin hood who does more strength than the hero, he becomes a prisoner, also a librarian, teacher, friend, and smart banker who Freeman is 'red' freedom character searching for nothing but to pace his life in prison. Robins is a robin hood who does more strength than the hero, he becomes a prisoner, also a librarian, teacher, friend, and smart banker who reads books. These two characters start off and end off by learning how to live trying and die trying. I do not enjoy a film that drags on, bores, and tells a message with bad wording, a bad script, and badly done lesson, that prisoners get the rights to do many things than sit in a rotting cell and eat disgusting food all day. Expand
1 of 26 users found this helpful
7
NF123Sep 1, 2010
A good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe inA good Movie no doubt, but a very overrated Movie. There's no moral ambiguity, everyones either good or evil and many people fit into the the stereotypes of prison life. For example will there ever be a prison where you're actually safe in the showers, or the guards are helpful instead of almost comically evil. There are many flaws here but there's also a lot to love. While the ending was smarmy, the middle contains my personal favorite scene, the man released who wants to go back as he has nothing to live for out in the real world. A pigeon who helped him get by in Prison can't help him where he's going and it's a beautiful scene to say the least. A great movie weighed down by it's own obsession to try and tear jerk us would be my summary of my thoughts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
PeterAug 25, 2010
its completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit thatits completely flawless!!! after watching this movie recently on my computer, i cried. i cried not because it was sad, but because it was suck a beautiful and perfect movie. i really dont see why it didnt get best picture, i will admit that forrest gump was a very good movie that i almost cried from watching (because it was sad), but its not better than shawshank. there was 1 thing that the movie didnt need (Brooks out of jail), but it did add a new and important theme, so i guess i take that back. yea, this movie is perfect Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had
Banker gets two life sentences for killing his wife & her lover, quiet in jail, gets beaten up, makes friends with "fixer", does the books for the guards, upsets prison boss, prison boss makes things unpleasant....
Terrific film which I had never seen all the way through. Quality acting throughout from all the cast (Clancy Brown is scary whatever he plays) & it really does drag you in from the start.
It's funny, tragic & heart warming, very well written & a film you could go back to again & again.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
This movie makes being cliche look badass, and is so well constructed on top of that, you pretty much have to give it credit as one of the movie masterpieces of our time. But seriously, it's not the greatest movie ever made *cough*imdb*cough*
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverOct 7, 2011
Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative.Probably one of the best films I have ever seen in my young life. Giving this a 10 won't do it justice. The Shawshank Redemption is just pure story telling at its best. No wasted moments and no pause of time ,just absolute, pure narrative. The cast is perfect with Morgan Freeman as Red completely stealing the show with his soothing narration style while Tim Robbins gives out a really great performance; a falsely convicted man who keeps it to himself. A film about hope and friendship in the toughest of situations, Shawshank is uplifting, provocative and awe inspiring. An absolute must watch. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AlfredNov 3, 2010
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
36 of 40 users found this helpful364
All this user's reviews
10
JamesNWAFeb 3, 2011
I can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and MorganI can see why people have voted this their all-time favourite movie. I was actually amazed that by the time the credits rolled at the end that I had been sitting there for over 2 hours. The time flied by very fast. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman were fantastic and were very convincing in their roles. Freeman's voiceovers throughout truly made me, as a viewer, understand what he and the other prisoners were feeling and going through. The story was adapted extremely well from Stephen King's novella and is a story in which many meanings can be taken from it. Easily a film that I will watch over and over again. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
AouzyNov 8, 2011
This movie is about a prisoner Andy Dufresne (Tim Robins) who gets accused of murdering his wife and her lover. He meets another prisoner named 'Red' (Morgan freeman) who says he know how to get things. How ironic, a â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, so, so good. The adaptation of the Stephen King novel is so entertaining, filled with interesting dialogue and plot twists. A pretty much perfect prison film. Great performances by Robbins and Freeman. One moment really got to me: the moment when Andy crawls out of the sewer tunnel and stares up at the sky in the rain. Such a glorious moment of triumph, I wanted to stand up and scream "Yes!". This movie truly depicted that prison life in the fifties was just as hard for new prisoners as it is implied today. The movie didn't sugar coat Andy's prison life. A great movie full of great writing and performances that the first time you watch it, it will instantly be fortified as a great movie classic. Expand
18 of 19 users found this helpful181
All this user's reviews
9
JHangoAug 17, 2011
This is one of my top 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
reveiwmanmysterFeb 6, 2011
Wow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that theWow. this movie is so good that i can't even describe it. How emotionally attached at the end of the film it almost made me cry. It is by far the best Morgan freeman movie ever. One of the greatest films of all time. They way that the director per-trades the way prison is is incredible. The way of how friendship is so powerful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MoeYazAug 11, 2012
This truly is a masterpiece. And not much more needs to be said than that. If you haven't seen this yet, you are missing out on one of filming's finest moments.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
FTWincFeb 24, 2011
This movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 andThis movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 and above reviews. They know what they're talking about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of my favorite movies of all time. One of the best feel good movies around and also a dramatic masterpiece. A nice break from the horror adaptations of Stephen Kings books.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
CursedKnight187Jul 25, 2012
A beautifully personal film with fantastic acting and a well crafted story makes this film deserved of all the praise it has received over the years. It really should have won Best Picture.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing place where brutality from guards and other prisoners is commonplace. With help from friend Red (the brilliant Morgan Freeman) he is able to gradually win both prisoners and guards over to his side. Above all this movie is a story of hope but the brilliant central relationship between Andy and Red lifts it well above virtually any other film. Add that to top notch production values and a fantastically satisfying ending and you have one of the best movies in cinema history.
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jay1983Jul 6, 2011
Im not gonna claim this is the best movie ever made, but its close.
The story sucks you in, and yes, it is quite a long movie but you really dont notice it at all. It grips you and doesnt let go until the very end.
This is an absolute
Im not gonna claim this is the best movie ever made, but its close.
The story sucks you in, and yes, it is quite a long movie but you really dont notice it at all. It grips you and doesnt let go until the very end.

This is an absolute classic film and deserves to be seen by anyone even remotely interested in movies.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
kldc31Jan 9, 2012
The greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, noThe greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, no matter their crimes, no matter what crazy or illegal things they have to do to survive prison, no matter what the warden does to Tim Robbins, together prison is awesome and they can redeem themselves. Movies like this show what would happen if prisoners accept people's differences and redeem themselves from their crimes and that's good thing because people don't need to act like idiots in prison. Despite the graphic violence in this movie in the beginning, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman used friendship to forget prison and made each other good people and they were great people! Whoever does NOT like this movie is a bully and needs lighten up because this is a light-heart movie of teaching you the lessons of prison. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Spielberg00Nov 14, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bottom Line: #1-ranked masterpiece on IMDbâ Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
FIlmsareawesomeAug 30, 2011
This movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write suchThis movie is completely amazing, everything was perfect, and the ending, the way he escaped jail, just fantastic, original, awesome with great performances, Morgan Freeman just kicked ass in this film, Frank Darabont was able to write such an amazing story, so I' am very happy with the final result of this movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Shawshank Redemption", a sensational movie containing a strong plot, powerful performances, and the ultimate theme of good and evil, is a masterpiece.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
10
ChappyStickSep 24, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. no words that i can think of even comes close of how amazing this movie really is. its funny, thrilling and bone chilling. what i really love about this movie is that you really feel for the characters as if they were family. when brookes committed suicide i was holding on a pillow shouting NOOOOO. best movie i have ever seen. no movie comes close to this masterpiece. not godfarther, LOTR, goodfellas, star wars, or indiana jones. a perfect movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
SirLouenDec 12, 2015
Best film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detailBest film ever. Obviously a film made from the best short script by Stephen King is a safe shot. This is a combination of all the perfect elements to be the best and most perfectionist film, and having a great lenght to focus in every detail of the novel. Considering is pretty impossible to do a film based on a long novel, choosing an epic short story to be filmed is the best choice ever. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ExTrEmESpAnKzApr 6, 2012
Great movie with fantastic performances by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. My all time favourite and a film that you will not easily forget. If ou really want a film whereas you gain a real connection to the characters than this is the film for you.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFApr 13, 2013
Perhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a trulyPerhaps it can be frowned upon to view a prison drama in such high regard, it may indeed paint a false picture of real life situations, but at the end of the day, the entertainment value and lasting effect of The Shawshank Redemption, a truly emotional discovery and, well, redemption.
Everything aside, the film is simply about a friendship under the most unorthodox of circumstances.
Andy Dufresne (Tim Robbins) is locked up in Shawshank prison in 1947, being convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. He is initially given a hard time as being the new guy, but his generally laid back attitude catch the attention of Red (Morgan Freeman).
As Andy and Red get to know each other, Red soon realises that perhaps there is more than meets the eye with his new acquaintance, as Andy slowly begins to change the lives of the people closest to him. Unfortunately as time goes on, Andy's impatience starts with his life inside starts to show, he seems more reckless and outspoken, regardless of how he has made small but significant changes to the prison itself and of course its inmates.
We are left to watch Andy's journey through the wonderful narration of Morgan Freeman's Red, who is constantly but pleasantly surprised at Andy's personality and reactions to his surroundings. The true friendship lies where these two are completely different, Red has made peace with his situation, accepting his fate and serving life, but Andy is determined to "Get busy living".
Tim Robbins perfectly portrays a character who is purposely isolated from everyone, he can very much take care of himself and show is intelligence and cunning nature at many shining moments in this remarkable film. Morgan Freeman is very much the good guy who followed the wrong path, he gets on with almost everyone who is worth getting on with and doesn't cause trouble, apart from being the "go to' guy in the prison.
The word perfect could indeed give the justice this movie deserves. The cinematography by Roger Deakins is powerful and absorbing, he is always trying to make you become part of the walls that these prisoners call home, his various shots including a few prisoners sitting on top of the roof in the early morning drinking beer and another when Andy manages to play Mozart through the tannoy system speaks waves to the capabilities not necessarily by the actors, but to the scenery that they are surrounded by, and it is truly breathtaking.
It's just a show that is too good to miss, it emerged out of nowhere and really hit home on an emotional level, there is no action in it, simply life lessons that need to be heard, each character has a vibrant role to play that will make us concerning of their situations, and Frank Darabont has created a perfectly diverse cast to blend in with this masterful and commanding film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jedi_JettsonDec 23, 2011
The greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, noThe greatest movie set in a prison I've ever seen! Its full of courage from Tim Robbins to survive prison and no matter what the differences between him and Morgan Freeman and all the other prisoners, no matter what violence comes up, no matter their crimes, no matter what crazy or illegal things they have to do to survive prison, no matter what the warden does to Tim Robbins, together prison is awesome and they can redeem themselves. Movies like this show what would happen if prisoners accept people's differences and redeem themselves from their crimes and that's good thing because people don't need to act like idiots in prison. Despite the graphic violence in this movie in the beginning, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman used friendship to forget prison and made each other good people and they were great people! Whoever does NOT like this movie is a bully and needs lighten up because this is a light-heart movie of teaching you the lessons of prison. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews