Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1263 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,176
Mixed:
19
Negative:
68
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
D-SliceDec 30, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, so, so good. The adaptation of the Stephen King novel is so entertaining, filled with interesting dialogue and plot twists. A pretty much perfect prison film. Great performances by Robbins and Freeman. One moment really got to me: the moment when Andy crawls out of the sewer tunnel and stares up at the sky in the rain. Such a glorious moment of triumph, I wanted to stand up and scream "Yes!". This movie truly depicted that prison life in the fifties was just as hard for new prisoners as it is implied today. The movie didn't sugar coat Andy's prison life. A great movie full of great writing and performances that the first time you watch it, it will instantly be fortified as a great movie classic. Expand
19 of 20 users found this helpful191
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Shawshank Redemption", a sensational movie containing a strong plot, powerful performances, and the ultimate theme of good and evil, is a masterpiece.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
10
AlfredNov 3, 2010
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
38 of 42 users found this helpful384
All this user's reviews
10
PeterJ.May 29, 2002
Perhaps my favourite movie of all time. Absolutely brilliant.
6 of 6 users found this helpful
10
smithbhurricaneSep 9, 2012
This is my all time favorite movie. Great story of redemption and justice.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
RobertDec 30, 2002
One of my personal favorite movies of all time. Far from being boring or slow, this movie made the 2+ hours pass in a flash. Robbins and Freeman are both incredible in their roles.
4 of 4 users found this helpful
10
VinceB.Apr 6, 2003
I can watch it over and over, great characters.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
JacobM.May 22, 2005
An incredible movie, should have gotten better than its 80/100 from critics... I was surprised.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
NateW.Oct 23, 2002
Incredible.....the music, acting, story, and the overwhelming message that there is always hope in any situation.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
UterSep 7, 2003
It's one of the best movies ever made, but the dvd extras are lacking. I'm surprised there hasn't been a re-release by now.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
PatC.Jan 16, 2004
This film is so insistent in its approach and pervasive in its factual appearance that critiquing it would in some manner have to involve cheap shots. It's manipulative, and perhaps Dufresne could have been better played, but the values This film is so insistent in its approach and pervasive in its factual appearance that critiquing it would in some manner have to involve cheap shots. It's manipulative, and perhaps Dufresne could have been better played, but the values the film intends to actualize are presented so precisely that it is my advisory to suspend judgement. Not that it's a perfect film, but as a whole it's so much greater than the sum of its parts. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DaveM.Jan 27, 2004
It's good.
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
YoussefSaabDec 5, 2013
The story of friendship, redemption and hope, what can I say about this great masterpiece, The Best Movie of all time that teach you lots of the meanings of life, tells you to never fear anything and never lose hope, because hope always setThe story of friendship, redemption and hope, what can I say about this great masterpiece, The Best Movie of all time that teach you lots of the meanings of life, tells you to never fear anything and never lose hope, because hope always set you free... Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
raVenNov 2, 2003
(9.5) If you like a movie that makes you hate the world and/or feel stupid for watching it, this movie is not for you. If, on the other hand, you think there might be the teeniest hope for humanity yet--by all means, watch this movie again (9.5) If you like a movie that makes you hate the world and/or feel stupid for watching it, this movie is not for you. If, on the other hand, you think there might be the teeniest hope for humanity yet--by all means, watch this movie again and again. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
DazAug 4, 2004
One of the best movies ever made. I saw this on the day it came out having heard nothing about it except it was nominated for about 7 oscars. It completely blew me away and for weeks i couldn't stop talking about it. If this had been One of the best movies ever made. I saw this on the day it came out having heard nothing about it except it was nominated for about 7 oscars. It completely blew me away and for weeks i couldn't stop talking about it. If this had been properly advertised it would have made 5 times what it did. I'm not surprised that in most recent polls it comes in the top 3 best movies ever. If i could give it 11 out of 10 i would. If i could recommend to you one movie you MUST see before you die it is this one. Beg, borrow, rent or buy but WATCH THIS MOVIE. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JanethMJun 3, 2005
The BEST movie I have ever seen. If you have not seen it, go rent it NOW. Andy Dufresne is the bomb!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMulroneycakesSavesTheWorldFromTheEvilCurseONov 27, 2002
Wow - a near three-hour movie that bears constant rewatching. A true classic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
JocelynP.Jan 29, 2002
The best film in the last 10 years. So what if it's a little sentimental?? It's just great storytelling.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MarkE.Mar 20, 2002
Great movie about prison life, also great characters in Red and Andy Dufresne. Also great acting especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChadH.Jun 1, 2002
No perhaps about it, it IS my favorite movie of all time. Victimized at the box office only by its difficult-to-market name, this should have been more successful. As it worked out, it became hidden gem that really only got respect through No perhaps about it, it IS my favorite movie of all time. Victimized at the box office only by its difficult-to-market name, this should have been more successful. As it worked out, it became hidden gem that really only got respect through word-of-mouth video rentals and on television. There's a reason this one shows up 10 times a week on cable: it's a true classic, a masterfully told story about the human spirit. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Marc-oOct 23, 2003
This deserves more than a rating. i have watched this movie a over 20 times in the 9 years since its release and this movie if no ther shows just how crappy Oscars and other awards are as this should be heralded for what it is: a modern This deserves more than a rating. i have watched this movie a over 20 times in the 9 years since its release and this movie if no ther shows just how crappy Oscars and other awards are as this should be heralded for what it is: a modern cinema classic, i have yet to meet one person who disliked it, Robbins reserved Brilliance and Freeman just seems to be a testament to the wisdom of age. If you haven't seen this film then shame on you. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RezaI.May 16, 2004
My favorite movie of all time.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ChanB.May 29, 2004
Amazinnggg!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
catmanSep 27, 2012
Shawshank Redemption is easily one of the best movies I have ever seen in my life. The movie has a great message to it, the acting and filming were fantastic.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
What to say about the "Shawshank Redemption"? I shouldn't really have to say anything because when most people hear about it, they already have a pretty good idea of how incredible it is. This movie is freakin' immaculate. Darabont and Co.What to say about the "Shawshank Redemption"? I shouldn't really have to say anything because when most people hear about it, they already have a pretty good idea of how incredible it is. This movie is freakin' immaculate. Darabont and Co. have created not only the most inspiring film in ages, but one of the most emotionally significant films to date. The movie teaches things to us that we need to know - messages on hope, perserverance, and friendship - and it does it with marvelous eloquency. By far, one of the greatest films I have ever seen - a master work of art. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
WiesyJan 17, 2013
Very good movie. There are no words to describe how good this movie is.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 29, 2013
Before, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in theseBefore, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in these unforgettable characters made it even better. From Red to Andy to Norton, they we're all just wonderful and enjoyable characters, especially Red and Andy. The relationship between those two is what really holds the balance of the movie. And putting in characters such as Warden Norton and Captain Hadley makes the story riveting and (in a sense) dark. It's not like any other movie out there. Overall, it's a classic Stephen King story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Masoud1986Apr 14, 2013
The best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand itThe best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand it and realize it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
nitr0Nov 12, 2013
"HOPE IS A GOOD THING. MAYBE THE BEST OF THINGS. AND NO GOOD THING EVER DIES"

Casting was spotty, with Tim Robbins a great choice for the lead character, Dufresne. Robbins maintains viewer interest anytime he is the focus of attention,
"HOPE IS A GOOD THING. MAYBE THE BEST OF THINGS. AND NO GOOD THING EVER DIES"

Casting was spotty, with Tim Robbins a great choice for the lead character, Dufresne. Robbins maintains viewer interest anytime he is the focus of attention, unfortunately a lot of the screen time is devoted to the narrator, “Red,” (Morgan Freeman) who drops pearls of cracker barrel wisdom a la Waylon Jennings’ narration of The Dukes of Hazzard. Morgan Freeman, while a decent enough actor in no way can stimulate my interest for very long with his bland, long-winded, homespun observations on the Dufresne character and prison life in general. I feel that Freeman’s performance was not strong enough to carry the amount of screen time assigned by the director. Bob Gunton, as Warden Norton the bible thumping hypocrite who runs Shawshank is a great asset to the film with his sly characterization of the unlikable tyrant. One of the best supporting roles I’ve seen lately was essayed by James Whitmore, as Brooks, the librarian at Shawshank. Brooks had a pet crow, much like the animal character Mr. Jingles Darabont used in The Green Mile. Brooks was released from Shawshank after about a half-century. Unfortunately, he was unable to adapt to life on the outside.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MattyG.Aug 11, 2004
A truly superb movie, that is only let down by the over-optimistic ending. True, characters from the novella are condensed, eliminated or changed, but usually for the better. Still, I feel that the movie should have ended about five minutes A truly superb movie, that is only let down by the over-optimistic ending. True, characters from the novella are condensed, eliminated or changed, but usually for the better. Still, I feel that the movie should have ended about five minutes before it did (with Red still on the road). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful