Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 1, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1265 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,177
Mixed:
20
Negative:
68
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TheRyanMcNeilOct 11, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The ShawshankThis movie is one of the best movies of all time. Amazing acting by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins, not to mention the story was written by Stephen King. It's sad that this movie didn't get any of the oscars it deserved. The Shawshank Redemption won no oscars because 1994 was the year of Forrest Gump, and Pulp Fiction. Although those two movies were good in its time. The Shawshank Redemption will always be one of the bets movies of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SEROJJul 14, 2015
I remember the first time i watched this movie when i was a kid. Superb movie about hope,intelligence and friendship! So deep,intense and interesting. Masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Movie1997Apr 29, 2013
Before, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in theseBefore, I never understood why this movie was #1 on the imdb top 250s list, but now i understand why. This movie was a beautifully crafted story on friendship, redemption and hope. The storyline was really well-crafted, and putting in these unforgettable characters made it even better. From Red to Andy to Norton, they we're all just wonderful and enjoyable characters, especially Red and Andy. The relationship between those two is what really holds the balance of the movie. And putting in characters such as Warden Norton and Captain Hadley makes the story riveting and (in a sense) dark. It's not like any other movie out there. Overall, it's a classic Stephen King story. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Masoud1986Apr 14, 2013
The best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand itThe best. Astonishing. Superb. Well-acted, well-directed movie by one of my favorite directors was supposed to win much more awards. It deserved much more attention at the time but, no matter at all. Day by day people know it, understand it and realize it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettSep 1, 2015
I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing,I understand why this movie is top-1 on IMDB. This is really the best movie of all times. Great, perfect, incredibly good acting, perfect actors group, unimaginable plot. You feel every emotion catching every step of characters. Just amazing, awesome movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RobertoBuaJul 1, 2013
Perfection. The benchmark of all dramas, this is as good as cinema gets. Everyone should watch it, if you don't find this film moving you basically have no feelings.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
r0tan0rtanOct 24, 2013
I never gave myself the time to watch this masterpiece before. It definitely lives up to the hype and praise it got after its release. It deserves a 10 but isn't even the best movie of '94 (see: Pulp Fiction, but it tells a great story. Isn'tI never gave myself the time to watch this masterpiece before. It definitely lives up to the hype and praise it got after its release. It deserves a 10 but isn't even the best movie of '94 (see: Pulp Fiction, but it tells a great story. Isn't that what movies are all about? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 31, 2013
WOW!!! It's without any doubt, one of Darabont's best pictures!!! Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins are brilliant in this film. The only problem is that it didn't win an Oscar. It's nominated for 7. In my opinion, it could have won seven OscarsWOW!!! It's without any doubt, one of Darabont's best pictures!!! Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins are brilliant in this film. The only problem is that it didn't win an Oscar. It's nominated for 7. In my opinion, it could have won seven Oscars and more! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MudgeeNov 24, 2014
It's cliche, and many say it, but this movie is truly a masterpiece. Beautiful set pieces, acting and storytelling, especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Both of which play their finest role. It captures everything that makes us humanIt's cliche, and many say it, but this movie is truly a masterpiece. Beautiful set pieces, acting and storytelling, especially by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins. Both of which play their finest role. It captures everything that makes us human and draws it over a three-hour feature length film. There aren't many movies in this world, I enjoy watching a second time, let alone 12-15 more times. This being one of them. I would strongly recommend this to any film buff, and let it be known that this is most likely my favourite movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Popcorn12345Jul 16, 2013
A truly sensational movie. Not only is there deep and meaningful messages but the story and film itself is incredible. Definitely one of if not the best films of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PeterIsAwesomeAug 21, 2014
I have very little to say about this movie that has not been said to death. An unwaveringly inspirational story of perseverance in the face of hardship, this movie will teach you how to hope again. Not only does the story never fail to moveI have very little to say about this movie that has not been said to death. An unwaveringly inspirational story of perseverance in the face of hardship, this movie will teach you how to hope again. Not only does the story never fail to move me, but the acting performances were terrific as well, as Tim Robbins shows us a man who has everything, only to lose it, and Morgan Freeman turns from a callous murderer to a deeper thinking more mature and repentant man. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
imjoedavidsonSep 2, 2016
An incredibly touching film. Strong script and a well committed cast, dedicated to telling the story. This film will be remembered and immortalised as a classic.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticJul 9, 2014
With themes of hope, life, and especially of death, 'Shawshank' is a masterful drama about life in prison and one man's hope that drives him to achieve what he wants; freedom. The performances are both realistic and emotional, with TimWith themes of hope, life, and especially of death, 'Shawshank' is a masterful drama about life in prison and one man's hope that drives him to achieve what he wants; freedom. The performances are both realistic and emotional, with Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both delivering us their greatest on screen. The script is engaging and fits the tone of the movie, which makes the two hours run by so quick you'll have wished you'd seen more of it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AmenophisFeb 23, 2014
Ive always been an action packaged movie watcher, or always watch those movie with mind blowing plot twist, Se7en, Inception, Akira, Seven Samurai, etc. but the first time my mom told me about this movie, i watched at 10 years old, i wasn'tIve always been an action packaged movie watcher, or always watch those movie with mind blowing plot twist, Se7en, Inception, Akira, Seven Samurai, etc. but the first time my mom told me about this movie, i watched at 10 years old, i wasn't prepared to see a movie that good, now im 22 i looked for the name of this movie for decades, i never knew the name of the movie was THE SHAWNSHANK REDEMPTION, the movie my mom always rated at the best of all times, and guess what, is my favorite too and is by far the best movie ever Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
I'm not going to go through a whole review, since there are plenty of reviews detailing why this is the greatest movie of all time. I'm just gonna give a quote:

"The Shawshank Redemption is the best movie I have ever seen because of its
I'm not going to go through a whole review, since there are plenty of reviews detailing why this is the greatest movie of all time. I'm just gonna give a quote:

"The Shawshank Redemption is the best movie I have ever seen because of its ability to capture raw emotion."

I'm also going to elaborate on the three biggest reasons people dislike this movie.

1. It's too slow.

The Shawshank Redemption may be a tad slow, but it is justified. I believe director Frank Darabont wanted to show Andy's time at Shawshank by showing how slow prison time really is. Some movies are just slow; this movie does it for a deeper reason, adding to Shawshank's genius.

2. Andy Dufresne barely shows emotion.

Those people obviously didn't get what kind of character Andy was. Tim Robbins did this on purpose. Andy was quiet, mellow, and was obviously quite shocked and angry he was going to prison for a crime he didn't do. Did you really expect the man to jump up and start singing "Kumbaya"? No! So I don't get what the problem is. The fact that he acted like this just added to the realistic atmosphere of the movie.

3. This is not realistic.

Oh yes your right, since these men in prison smoked, cursed, drank, and kept their eyes peeled in the shower room for potential rapists. That is not realistic at all. (sarcastic) Overall, I think some of the hate on Shawshank is solely because it is the highest rated movie on IMDb, for a fact. (User rating is 9.3 to this date). I think some people hate this movie because everyone else loves it, and that is a bad way to think about anything, not just movies.

I would rate it higher if I could.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cag11Dec 25, 2013
This movie is one of the best movies ever made, hands down. The acting is incredible, the script is solid, and a great plot. It shows the life of two inmates who bond together in jail over the course of a few decades or whatever. It has allThis movie is one of the best movies ever made, hands down. The acting is incredible, the script is solid, and a great plot. It shows the life of two inmates who bond together in jail over the course of a few decades or whatever. It has all the drama in it that would destroy any who tried to compete against it. Honestly, this film will never be seen as worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichMartMar 2, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is on top of IMDb, so I think everything about it has already been said.
I have just one thing to add: The brutal scenes aren't a bad thing and demonstrate the terrible place, where Andy and Red have to spend theirs lifes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SQG_SlasherAug 18, 2014
The best prison film I've seen since 'Escape From Alcatraz'. A gripping story, exceptional acting and a brilliant set to film on puts the cherry on top of the cake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nitr0Nov 12, 2013
"HOPE IS A GOOD THING. MAYBE THE BEST OF THINGS. AND NO GOOD THING EVER DIES"

Casting was spotty, with Tim Robbins a great choice for the lead character, Dufresne. Robbins maintains viewer interest anytime he is the focus of attention,
"HOPE IS A GOOD THING. MAYBE THE BEST OF THINGS. AND NO GOOD THING EVER DIES"

Casting was spotty, with Tim Robbins a great choice for the lead character, Dufresne. Robbins maintains viewer interest anytime he is the focus of attention, unfortunately a lot of the screen time is devoted to the narrator, “Red,” (Morgan Freeman) who drops pearls of cracker barrel wisdom a la Waylon Jennings’ narration of The Dukes of Hazzard. Morgan Freeman, while a decent enough actor in no way can stimulate my interest for very long with his bland, long-winded, homespun observations on the Dufresne character and prison life in general. I feel that Freeman’s performance was not strong enough to carry the amount of screen time assigned by the director. Bob Gunton, as Warden Norton the bible thumping hypocrite who runs Shawshank is a great asset to the film with his sly characterization of the unlikable tyrant. One of the best supporting roles I’ve seen lately was essayed by James Whitmore, as Brooks, the librarian at Shawshank. Brooks had a pet crow, much like the animal character Mr. Jingles Darabont used in The Green Mile. Brooks was released from Shawshank after about a half-century. Unfortunately, he was unable to adapt to life on the outside.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jazibkhanJul 15, 2016
it is the best movie i have ever watched.without any flaws and great emotions by characters and a great storyline to tell so i recommended this movie to watch
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shankmfsDec 3, 2013
I made my mind to watch this movie in 2012 as most of users recommended on IMDb. I always wonder what could be one thing that makes Shawshank legend of Hollywood movies. Well, I gotta say I found my favorite actor of lifetime after watchingI made my mind to watch this movie in 2012 as most of users recommended on IMDb. I always wonder what could be one thing that makes Shawshank legend of Hollywood movies. Well, I gotta say I found my favorite actor of lifetime after watching it: Morgan Freeman. Every single thing in the movie is 10/10. Story of Stephen King, screenplay, dialogs, drama, suspense, crime and action. I compare Morgan to Amitabh Bachchan of Hollywood. The brief voice of Freeman moves me whenever I heard him. I never gets tired watching it again and again, its that kind of out of this world picture. I still sit back in ave and can't help myself from watching it again and again. Thanks to strong direction and support staff, this makes to top my list all-time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
YoussefSaabDec 5, 2013
The story of friendship, redemption and hope, what can I say about this great masterpiece, The Best Movie of all time that teach you lots of the meanings of life, tells you to never fear anything and never lose hope, because hope always setThe story of friendship, redemption and hope, what can I say about this great masterpiece, The Best Movie of all time that teach you lots of the meanings of life, tells you to never fear anything and never lose hope, because hope always set you free... Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
killerguyDec 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The way things happen in movie and how they are directed and captured are awesome.An example for every moviemaker. only "MOVIE" I have seen,I must say!!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
IsayithowitisDec 31, 2013
Needless to say an all time great. One of the few movies you can watch over and over. The acting in incredible, the story is captivating and engaging, and every actor comes through in a big way. A truly wonderful movie. If you have not seenNeedless to say an all time great. One of the few movies you can watch over and over. The acting in incredible, the story is captivating and engaging, and every actor comes through in a big way. A truly wonderful movie. If you have not seen it, you will not be disappointed when you do. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
superricagokuJan 8, 2014
Shawshank Redemption is a movie in which you see the great performances of Tim and Morgan.The struggle of hope over despair. One of the best movies of all time or the best movie. It was a great escape for redemption.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sivaruthvikJan 19, 2014
It may be one of the best movies ever made.really fine acting from morgan freeman and tim robbins . entire cast have done a good job.frank made a successful experiment.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Mordovan89Mar 1, 2014
Wonderful, amazing, glorious, are three words to describe this masterpiece. The acting was good, and the plot better. This film shows us the strength of the human spirit, true friendship and especially what we all crave, desire and trustWonderful, amazing, glorious, are three words to describe this masterpiece. The acting was good, and the plot better. This film shows us the strength of the human spirit, true friendship and especially what we all crave, desire and trust dnifíciles situations, hope. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
PrincethadonMar 23, 2014
I used to say fight club was my favorite movie but now I say shawshank is my favorite movie. I love a movie about hope. Not many movies can pull hope off like this one. if you are going through a hard time you should watch this movie I sayI used to say fight club was my favorite movie but now I say shawshank is my favorite movie. I love a movie about hope. Not many movies can pull hope off like this one. if you are going through a hard time you should watch this movie I say this is my favorite movie. I give this movie a 10 out of 10. Thanks for reading. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 18, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is a very excellent film that is written and directed by Frank Darabont, the man behind The Green Mile and The Walking Dead, and based on a short story by Stephen King.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TikeswarBarihaMar 25, 2014
it is a movie about life ,hope ,friendship, freedom ,,,,its touch my heart and soul ....this is my one of favorite movie of all time ....and one of great movie of all time...HOPE.....HOPE....morgan freeman ..one of my favorite actor...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
diogomendesJul 26, 2015
Thanks to remarkable direction, all-star performances from the cast and a powerfully moving script, "The Shawshank Redemption" is not only marvelous entertainment but also a stunning achievement for Hollywood.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Viper8787Apr 23, 2014
I can understand why it is one of the highest praised movies of all time because it is one of the best movies of all time. Great cast with amazing chemistry throughout the whole movie. Really well acted and a fantastic storyline keeps youI can understand why it is one of the highest praised movies of all time because it is one of the best movies of all time. Great cast with amazing chemistry throughout the whole movie. Really well acted and a fantastic storyline keeps you into this movie the whole time you watch it. It is one of those feel good stories that you have to like even if you don't like these types of movies. And this movie has one of the best endings in cinema history so this is a definite must watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NightFlightMay 30, 2014
In one word, a masterpieceHave come at the wrong time.Nevertheless, still an unforgettable movie.
The story will take in.Great movie with fantastic performances by Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins..
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JoshLuck1995Jul 22, 2014
The best film ever made, hands down, the acting is excellent throughout the whole film, every member of the cast gives a outstanding performance and the story is also very strong. my favourite film of all time
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chocolatebaconJun 29, 2014
A true masterpiece. A film that you can watch many times and never gets old. Suspenseful, touching and sometimes even funny. Also great acting, cinematography and music.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GantugsJul 24, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption..................................................
Only one word that is PERFECT.................................................
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SonnyhudsOct 24, 2014
The only true masterpiece that can be called a masterpiece. The film which upon its release only made 1 million dollars on its production budget of 25 million USD. The film has now gone to be the number one film on IMDB with over a millionThe only true masterpiece that can be called a masterpiece. The film which upon its release only made 1 million dollars on its production budget of 25 million USD. The film has now gone to be the number one film on IMDB with over a million ratings. This 1994 film based on the Stephen King novel in the 1980s, was adapted by Frank Darabont who wrote the screenplay and directed the film got three producers and an ensemble of actors from Morgan freeman who plays Red and Tim Robbins who played Andy Dufrense. The film is based in the 1940s and our main character Andy Dufrense has been wrongly accused of the murder of his wife who was having an affair. While in prison he meets up with Red who helps him along. Andys main mission is to escape the shawshank prison. This is my personal favourite film of all time because this film is about hope an courage and no matter how much you get put down you can get back up. The cinematography by Roger Deakins was superb and they diva score by Thomas Newman is some of the finest work in motion picture history. The acting by our two main leads is deserve of the Oscar they didn't get. A quick mention to James Whitmore who played the librarian in the film and did a superb little role in the film. My favourite film of all time and I don't think it will change any time soon, this film gets 100/100 for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
REDWOUNov 22, 2014
The Shawshank Redemption is the BEST Stephen King adaptation. Frank Darabont made a movie most people couldn't pull off since it's based on a short story by Stephen King. Rob Reiner did too, but Stand by Me just wasn't as good as TheThe Shawshank Redemption is the BEST Stephen King adaptation. Frank Darabont made a movie most people couldn't pull off since it's based on a short story by Stephen King. Rob Reiner did too, but Stand by Me just wasn't as good as The Shawshank Redemption. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andrebarrosoDec 19, 2014
What happens with "the Godfather" happens with "The Shawshank Redemption". Must watch it before and you die and it's impossible that you'll hate this one.
Morgan Freeman brings to the audience possibly the best performance of his career.
What happens with "the Godfather" happens with "The Shawshank Redemption". Must watch it before and you die and it's impossible that you'll hate this one.
Morgan Freeman brings to the audience possibly the best performance of his career.
With Roger Deakins' cinematography and Thomas Newman's score, this might be the best prison-drama inthe history of cinema. Absolutely remarkable.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
BobSleddFeb 3, 2015
What movie has love, murder, hatred, friendship, corruption. hope, hopelessness, suicide, revenge, injustice and justice all wrapped in a fantastic 2 1/2 hour adventure? Best movie ever!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SubZeroDeathMar 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The greatest movie i have ver seen. it hits so many emotions . love , struggle and pain. One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
acaiberryMar 19, 2015
Before I start, I have to say whatever I say doesn't speak enough to how good this movie is. The story...thank you so much Mr. Stephen King, you have literally influenced millions who have seen this to pursue life in a different way. (notBefore I start, I have to say whatever I say doesn't speak enough to how good this movie is. The story...thank you so much Mr. Stephen King, you have literally influenced millions who have seen this to pursue life in a different way. (not going into it to avoid any spoiler)

If you haven't seen this and your friends have probably teased and bullied you for not watching it... they are so right because not watching this is hindering your next step in a more mature life. People, it's not that Morgan Freeman is in it (YES He's famous for a reason and this is one of them) but the plot is the greatest element of this movie as all movies should be.

I'll cut to the music score first as I am a music kinda guy, and of course as one of the greatest movies of all time the music itself heavily impacts the movie. You really won't be disappointed unless you're very into movies that have a lot action and splitting plot twists.

This is a straightforward movie that has no BS and it shows that humanity is still alive in a world that refuses to have any. This is okay i guess to watch alone but I like watching movies with friends as you might quote this movie for a very long time. However, don't invite that annoying person that ruins movies. Let him watch it alone
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WillyWildeMar 25, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. How does this movie score an 80? Are you kidding me? Apparently these '' Critics '' aren't fans of Astonishing Nostalgic masterpieces. This movie will always be the G.O.A.T. Simply because of the power of friendship and hope outweighs everything. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 30, 2015
The greatest movie based on a novel by Stephen King, its an emotional story about the triumph of the human spirit with lots of depth in story its one of those rare movies were innocence prevails even when in prison where you face yourThe greatest movie based on a novel by Stephen King, its an emotional story about the triumph of the human spirit with lots of depth in story its one of those rare movies were innocence prevails even when in prison where you face your redemption, a movie that shouts for freedom and is as exhilarating and suspenseful since the day its release, standing among films from Citizen Kane to the Godfather its a rare screen gem that is not to be missed!
A A+ film with lots of valuable life lessons and an important certified masterpiece, with lots of great performances
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
solomsApr 17, 2015
Not my favourite movie, but I have to admit... it is the best movie ever! And don't tell me "godfather" and that kind of movies because this is the most incredible story of friendship and redemption. I love Frank Darabont and for me, all ofNot my favourite movie, but I have to admit... it is the best movie ever! And don't tell me "godfather" and that kind of movies because this is the most incredible story of friendship and redemption. I love Frank Darabont and for me, all of his movies are the best ever. The Mist, Green Mile and The Shawshank Redemption are 3 movies that any director wanna do. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fear can hold you prisoner. Hope can set you free.

One writer on IMDB made the comment that the best movies "touch the soul." Shawshank Redemption achieves greatness, indeed perfection, not because of special effects or action or violence or any semblance of distraction. It achieves greatness because it touches the soul with a straightforward cinematic experience filled with brilliant dialogue, exemplary performances and a message of hope in the midst of the darkest of times. It is a message that resonates deeply and grows more intense with each subsequent viewing of the film.

The first time I viewed Shawshank Redemption I didn't find it to be anything special. Sure, stars Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman were good BUT their performances weren't anything special...or so I thought at the time.

Frank Darabont directs Shawshank Redemption with a gentle, guiding hand allowing the actors to discover the essence within their characters. Some actors, undoubtedly, would not be up to the task. Robbins and Freeman, however, are not "some actors." They are consummate actors and masterful in their portrayals here.

Based upon Stephen King's novella, Darabont creates a film that never buys into the drama of its story, instead choosing to present the lives of the characters involved without histrionics. I have long felt, in fact, that the film may even improve upon the novella by bringing it into focus and providing it with a pacing that allows a more explicit character development.

I have noticed that many of my favorite films are ensemble pieces, and while Robbins and Freeman shine here it is actually the entire cast that brings this story to life with such grace and beauty. Supporting performances by the likes of James Whitmore, William Sadler, Gil Bellows and others who take what could be caricatures and give them in-depth personalities and thoughts and feelings.

Thomas Newman's score is supremely divine and changes along with the characters. It further enhances Darabont's pacing, as well. There are so many memorable scenes in Shawshank Redemption, however, the closing scene is certainly among one of the best closing scenes ever witnessed.

It is hard to fathom that a "prison" movie could be a source of tremendous hope, light and inspiration. Yet, to call Shawshank Redemption a prison movie is to minimize its greatness. It is a brilliant film, a study of humanity in all its wonder AND it happens to take place within the confines of a prison.

Moving, brilliant, inspirational, hopeful and empowering are all words that describe "The Shawshank Redemption." With outstanding performances from its ensemble cast and a work of tremendous cinematic poetry by director Frank Darabont. "Shawshank Redemption" creates a stellar vision that teaches, challenges, inspires and evokes a wide array of emotions and thoughts that serves to remind us that in the darkest moments of our lives there is always a light that shines within.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jrgass03May 24, 2015
This movie is the best movie ever (in my opinion). It is not too long, great character development and was made brilliantly. This movie will age well. It may not be a classic to some people but it is.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
vicky_logicalJun 22, 2015
A good, a better, the best movie I have ever watched. At the start of the movie there is an excellent background score which till runs inside me. From there till the end I enjoyed the journey of hope, friendship
and freedom.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Bartholomew123Jul 3, 2015
Definitely one of the greatest movies ever put to screen. They must have dipped this film in gold before it came out. Incredibly powerful and emotionally perfect story sends these convicts down a life changing road. A must watch for anyDefinitely one of the greatest movies ever put to screen. They must have dipped this film in gold before it came out. Incredibly powerful and emotionally perfect story sends these convicts down a life changing road. A must watch for any person with eyes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
adamjneveAug 25, 2015
This is the best movie ever made. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are brilliant, and are supported by a full cast of excellent performances. It tells a riveting, emotional, and incredible story of a twenty year friendship and in the scant fewThis is the best movie ever made. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are brilliant, and are supported by a full cast of excellent performances. It tells a riveting, emotional, and incredible story of a twenty year friendship and in the scant few places the narrative asks you to suspend your disbelief, you feel no compulsion to do otherwise. Beautifully shot (which is rare for any movie) and with a masterful pace. It is hard to believe you've been watching for almost 2 and a half hours. This movie would have killed at the Academy Awards had it not been for the more likable, and nearly as good, Forrest Gump. Seeing this movie should be a requirement for citizenship. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RainbowDenixAug 5, 2016
Фантазия Стивена Кинга — это феномен. Может он и не воздвиг себе «памятник нерукотворный», однако помнить его будут еще очень долго. Что же сделал Дарабонт? Колоссальный успех был ожидаем. Фрэнк приобрел право на экранизацию данного фильмаФантазия Стивена Кинга — это феномен. Может он и не воздвиг себе «памятник нерукотворный», однако помнить его будут еще очень долго. Что же сделал Дарабонт? Колоссальный успех был ожидаем. Фрэнк приобрел право на экранизацию данного фильма практически бесплатно, по старой дружбе, так сказать. Скажу кратко, что в фильме есть то, чего в книге недоставало. Конечно, рассказ Стивена Кинга назвать постным язык не поворачивается. Но фильм…! Фильм не оставляет конец открытым, и это очень показательно. Не стану говорить о несостыковках сценария с подлинным источником, соблюдено было почти все, даже композиция.

Что касается игры актеров, то Тим Роббинс вовсе не создавал впечатление надменного заключенного. Напротив, Энди Дюфресн показался мне беззащитным малым. А вот Морган Фриман постарался на славу! Пожалуй, лучшая из его ролей! Не знаю, дело ли в симпатии к дедуле Фриману, или его непоколебимый авторитет таким вот образом вуалирует его казусы, но Ред оказался именно таким Редом, каким и должен был стать наяву.

Фильм прекрасен, как бы я хотел пожать руку и Фрэнку Дарабонту, и Стивену Кингу, и Моргану Фриману, и Тиму Роббинсу, но черт возьми, они так далеко.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
scarfakeJan 20, 2016
this is time wasting                                                                                                                                                 
-
         -
this is time wasting                                                                                                                                                 
-
        
-
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
One of the best movies of all time. Don't deprive yourself of the pleasure of watching such a stellar movie. Go now and watch this movie if you have never seen it. Perfect casting, amazing story, emotional performances. Just perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
voodoolemonMar 17, 2016
The oldest story ever - good vs evil. AND with evil (arguably) masquerading as good, the triumph of the spirit is elevated to a level few other films have managed to achieve. The performances are truly exceptional and having seen both Tim andThe oldest story ever - good vs evil. AND with evil (arguably) masquerading as good, the triumph of the spirit is elevated to a level few other films have managed to achieve. The performances are truly exceptional and having seen both Tim and Morgan in other films, I would suggest that this is the high point of their respective careers. Few films have such an impact as this - decades later and I can still sit down and watch it as if its my first viewing which I believe is the true test of any great film. I'm not sure Mr Darabont will ever direct another film to this standard - his true magnum opus.
Simply put, a joy to watch. Every time... This film in decades to come will probably achieve legendary status alongside "Citizen Kane", "Wizard of Oz" etc. Unbelievable that critics scored it so low at the time of release. Well, what do they know... ;)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MuhammadFalahApr 15, 2016
this is the best movie I've ever seen in my entire life . it's very good drama and surprising end . amazing story and good and perfect acting from Morgan Freeman ,Tim Robbins and Bob Gunton ....it's an amazing movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LoveeLandMay 7, 2016
This is easily one of the greatest films of all time. The acting is superb, Morgan Freeman narrates so ill let you figure that out, and the story itself is immaculate. It leaves you speechless at the end and feeling good when you walk away.This is easily one of the greatest films of all time. The acting is superb, Morgan Freeman narrates so ill let you figure that out, and the story itself is immaculate. It leaves you speechless at the end and feeling good when you walk away. It is a shame that you can only truly see it once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
anonymous133Aug 25, 2016
This movie gave me much needed hope. I'm truly inspired. Never has a movie affected me this much. I normaly don't like narrated movies but of course Morgan Freeman can pull it of.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kobusJun 10, 2016
Í just love the movie plain and simple my favourite movie of all time. I watched it so many times it is just a timeless movie. Yes there are some cliches but who cares everything works the actors , story, ending it just is perfect for me.Í just love the movie plain and simple my favourite movie of all time. I watched it so many times it is just a timeless movie. Yes there are some cliches but who cares everything works the actors , story, ending it just is perfect for me. Please go watch it if you have not seen it i even bought the blu ray after i have seen the movie so many times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
UNARMED_JORDJun 27, 2016
the shawshank redemption truly shows a side of Stephen king you dont usually see, he goes from his usual Horror and jumps to a story with actual meaning and much like the green mile a few tears
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyJan 1, 2017
The Shawshank Redemption is an amazing film about a man named Andy who is given 2 life sentences in prison for being accused of murdering his wife and her new lover. The opening scene of the movie is probably the most captivating opening I'veThe Shawshank Redemption is an amazing film about a man named Andy who is given 2 life sentences in prison for being accused of murdering his wife and her new lover. The opening scene of the movie is probably the most captivating opening I've ever seen. You immediately are hooked into the character and story. The casting and performances from all are top notch and fully make you believe in their character and motivations. And the writing is also brilliant; as it creates interesting characters and relationships, and provides lots of surprises along the way. This is easily one of my favourite movies of all time and is a must see for all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pfonsecaAug 25, 2016
This is the most amazing story ever told in a movie I ever saw in my life! From time to time I do need to review it to regain confidence in human life!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
henryesparzaSep 5, 2016
The first time you watch this movie, it is an easy 10/10. No question about it. The relationship the characters build up makes you absolutely love every single one of them. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman blow it out of the park.
10/10 One of
The first time you watch this movie, it is an easy 10/10. No question about it. The relationship the characters build up makes you absolutely love every single one of them. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman blow it out of the park.
10/10 One of my favorite movies of all time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ThreeboxIndoorsDec 26, 2016
Easily one of the best films of all time. The story, the characters, the acting, the pacing, all of it is top-notch. It has such a heartwarming ending, and a plot twist which will make you want to re-watch it many times. There are some veryEasily one of the best films of all time. The story, the characters, the acting, the pacing, all of it is top-notch. It has such a heartwarming ending, and a plot twist which will make you want to re-watch it many times. There are some very suspenseful scenes, some terrifying scenes, and some heartwarming ones. There is a great message saying that you should never fear anything, and there is always hope no matter what the situation is. You can see the anger on Andy's face, an innocent man convicted of a murder he didn't commit, and now he has to live in a hell he doesn't deserve to be in. But due to that satisfying plot twist, when you watch this movie again, his character becomes even more interesting and the entire movie feels different. This also has to be one of the most well-shot films out there, and it's the same thing with the editing. It is also one of the best films of all time, a great classic, and i'm going to give it a 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
vivekamazinNov 20, 2016
The Greatest Movie of All Time, without a doubt undoubtedly!

The Greatest Movie of All Time, without a doubt undoubtedly!

The Greatest Movie of All Time, without a doubt undoubtedly!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JacquiC.Jul 4, 2007
A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high A seriously good film bringing more meaning into how important life out of prison really is and yet how scary anything all the way to being a grocer assistant can be, especially for ex-cons. This movie was studied by my English class in high school everything even down to the lighting cues and the heightened sounds resembles power: who can dominate and who can't. Outstanding Movie, stinks that they had to add the extra bit at the end, the original ending was way better. but fine, shows you that critics comments do play vital parts on a movies wellbeing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
WilliamTJan 7, 2008
Brings Stephen King's novella to life and even better. The Shawshank Redemption is a fantastic movie and rightfully belongs in the list of The Greatest Movies of all time.
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
ReeceDMar 25, 2009
Although it does seem to go on for too long, there is that much to it that you miss some of it on the first time you watch it. The ending isn't clear until it actually happens, whereas in most films you can usually guess what will Although it does seem to go on for too long, there is that much to it that you miss some of it on the first time you watch it. The ending isn't clear until it actually happens, whereas in most films you can usually guess what will happen. The cleverness behind it all still amazes me every time I watch it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
raVenNov 2, 2003
(9.5) If you like a movie that makes you hate the world and/or feel stupid for watching it, this movie is not for you. If, on the other hand, you think there might be the teeniest hope for humanity yet--by all means, watch this movie again (9.5) If you like a movie that makes you hate the world and/or feel stupid for watching it, this movie is not for you. If, on the other hand, you think there might be the teeniest hope for humanity yet--by all means, watch this movie again and again. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
9
RobinMay 8, 2007
Lots of different issues can be raised from this one movie; corruption, the judicial system, prison life, life after prison, love, human rights, education, determination, hope, security.....the movie is full of meaning. Dufresne the Lots of different issues can be raised from this one movie; corruption, the judicial system, prison life, life after prison, love, human rights, education, determination, hope, security.....the movie is full of meaning. Dufresne the character, is so interesting, it makes the movie an interesting watch. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
KraigJ.Jun 1, 2007
An excellent, near perfect film which helps show us that there can be good in anybody, you finish it feeling all warm inside.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
SantinoS.May 9, 2003
As good or great as this movie is a lot of people tend to overlook 1 major flaw,i.e the very pc race relations potrayed which make this film a little inauthentic,there isn't even a hint of racism in the movie and considering the timeAs good or great as this movie is a lot of people tend to overlook 1 major flaw,i.e the very pc race relations potrayed which make this film a little inauthentic,there isn't even a hint of racism in the movie and considering the time period this movie is set in,america from the late 40's to the late 60's,it feels the director and writer darabont did not want to bring up the racism issue in order to dilute the feel good factor of the film, hence the race relations in this film feel fake. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AndrewM.May 17, 2004
This film can be summed up in one word (or several similar adjectives): resplendent! It is so well conceived, developed and confirmed that unless you were bored by it (!!!) you could not rate it any other way. A totally immersing and rousing This film can be summed up in one word (or several similar adjectives): resplendent! It is so well conceived, developed and confirmed that unless you were bored by it (!!!) you could not rate it any other way. A totally immersing and rousing movie that is one of the finest films I have seen. My belief in this is strengthened by the fact everyone I know feels the same way. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MattyG.Aug 11, 2004
A truly superb movie, that is only let down by the over-optimistic ending. True, characters from the novella are condensed, eliminated or changed, but usually for the better. Still, I feel that the movie should have ended about five minutes A truly superb movie, that is only let down by the over-optimistic ending. True, characters from the novella are condensed, eliminated or changed, but usually for the better. Still, I feel that the movie should have ended about five minutes before it did (with Red still on the road). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
NinjaMafiaNov 10, 2003
[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] I can't remember when I first saw this film but, my god, is it a god damn good film. The film tells the story of a wrongfully imprisoned man trying to live on the inside. He then starts to befriend a lifer that[***PLOT REVELATIONS***] I can't remember when I first saw this film but, my god, is it a god damn good film. The film tells the story of a wrongfully imprisoned man trying to live on the inside. He then starts to befriend a lifer that "knows how to get things". Thus, the wrongfully convicted, Andy Dufresne, begins to live on the inside and try to work on his old hobbies. Andy then helps a guard with some financial trouble which then starts to make other guards want his financial advice. Eventually, The warden wants Dufrenes' help. The warden then starts to launder money but have Andy cover up the tracks by creating a fake person. I don't want to reveal any more of the plot so let me just say this, this is a really good movie about prison, a REALLY good movie. The plot was deep and beleviable. This film could have been a true story for all we know (it isn't but wouldn't that have been awesome). The characters were all deep and showed a lot of human character and emotion except for one guy who played a big part in the role but they didn't work on him a lot. The acting was also really good making every character seem real. The only reason I'm not giving this movie a 10 is for two reasons. 1 Is for the guy who made the movie have a big plot twist but he wasn't developed as much as everyone else. Secondly, the ending was really sappy and didn't fit the movie at all. The ending felt just horrible while the whole movie was a work of art. The Shawshank Redemption is an easily recommendable title with few people actually hating it (but if you do please don't blame me). Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClayJan 25, 2007
Really good movie. Morgan freeman has the perfect narrating voice and it's very well made drama, even if it's a simple prison movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
AouzyNov 8, 2011
This movie is about a prisoner Andy Dufresne (Tim Robins) who gets accused of murdering his wife and her lover. He meets another prisoner named 'Red' (Morgan freeman) who says he know how to get things. How ironic, a â
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JHangoAug 17, 2011
This is one of my top 10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FTWincFeb 24, 2011
This movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 andThis movie is outstanding! It was very entertaining and had me on the edge of my seat the whole time. It didn't have all the key elements sadly but other than that, GREAT! thats all i have to say. if you know more about it, look at the 9 and above reviews. They know what they're talking about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing
Based on a short, non-horror, novel by Stephen King The Shawshank Redemption tells the story of Andy Dufresne, a young banker sentenced to life imprisonment for apparently murdering his wife and her lover.

Shawshank Prison is a depressing place where brutality from guards and other prisoners is commonplace. With help from friend Red (the brilliant Morgan Freeman) he is able to gradually win both prisoners and guards over to his side. Above all this movie is a story of hope but the brilliant central relationship between Andy and Red lifts it well above virtually any other film. Add that to top notch production values and a fantastically satisfying ending and you have one of the best movies in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 10, 2011
"Shawshank Redemption", a sensational movie containing a strong plot, powerful performances, and the ultimate theme of good and evil, is a masterpiece.
16 of 17 users found this helpful161
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxDec 15, 2011
An 80 overall by critics shows how stupid they are. Shawshank Redemption is an amazing film that is a must see for any film buff. Untouchable performanc by Tim Robbins and a great supporting role by Morgan Freeman.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
RegOzApr 5, 2012
A delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...EachA delightful movie. It is not my favourite movie ever but it is one of those I will never forget. In its genre between 8.5 and 9 for me...there was room for improvement I believe. Great performances of both, Freeman and Robbins...Each character was clearly defined. Although, Freeman tends to play well those characters...because he is always performing similar ones.Yet, I would love to see him doing something a bit more daring. That said, I have no doubts that he is an excellent actor, and I applaud his talent! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ExKingDec 6, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is easily one of my all time favorite movies,
other than the fact that it's written by stephen king, it's also one of his best works.
tim robins and morgan freeman were born to play these characters, and the story is not just about the life in prison but it's also about friendship and loyalty and you get so attached to these characters that it's leave an impact on you after the movie ends.
also the escape scene is one of the best scenes in cinema history.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AGoodReviewerMay 30, 2013
Absolutely brilliant. One of the best movies I have ever seen. Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins were both brilliant in their roles, showing the true meaning of friendship.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KivaAug 1, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Shawshank Redemption is a story about a man who goes to jail after they accuse him for killing his wife and her lover. At first when he went to that prison he had problems and they raped him all the time after a while he made probably the best friendship he ever had in that prison. It is an interesting tale about friendship despite the differences of each people my opinion as I think the 'white people' used to have problems with the 'black people'. It will amuse the audience and it will touch you. It is interesting and it keeps you. Morgan freeman as usually he is the narrator. Tim Robbins gave a great performance and in overall The Shawshank Redemption it is a must-watch and probably one of the best of its kind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
KaraokeJul 3, 2013
Few movies can make such an emotional impact on a viewer as this one does. The acting is brilliant and both Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman fit perfectly in their roles. Overall, this is one movie you shouldn't miss!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
abhinabJul 6, 2013
The shawshank redemption is a classic drama which revolves around an innocent man who is imprisoned in a dirty prison. The plot is well developed and character are well played out. The theme is clearly displayed and the director has madeThe shawshank redemption is a classic drama which revolves around an innocent man who is imprisoned in a dirty prison. The plot is well developed and character are well played out. The theme is clearly displayed and the director has made very good scenes with symbolic cuts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heeldavidJul 5, 2014
A beautiful movie about friendship, hope and redemption. It's full of great acting, writing and a nice soundtrack, also nice direction by Frank Darabont. Beautiful Ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SushiStonerAug 15, 2014
A brilliant story about friendship, hope and redemption. Brings together two talented actors Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbin who create a beautiful movie that is simply a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMay 29, 2016
The Shawshank Redemption delivers a constant anticipating feeling, mostly because of how well Morgan Freeman's script was wrote. A great narrator in a film causes a very realistic notion, as if a viewer feels like the narrator is having aThe Shawshank Redemption delivers a constant anticipating feeling, mostly because of how well Morgan Freeman's script was wrote. A great narrator in a film causes a very realistic notion, as if a viewer feels like the narrator is having a conversation with them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PedroAragaoApr 10, 2015
Enquanto demoro pra assistir tantos filmes dos anos 80/90, The Shawshank Redemption (Um Sonho De Liberdade) chamou-me diversas vezes para uma visita, seja em canais de redes sociais ou por críticas positivas de amigos. Um Sonho De Liberdade éEnquanto demoro pra assistir tantos filmes dos anos 80/90, The Shawshank Redemption (Um Sonho De Liberdade) chamou-me diversas vezes para uma visita, seja em canais de redes sociais ou por críticas positivas de amigos. Um Sonho De Liberdade é uma estória de amizade, amizade do meu contato com a obra e de amizade entre Dufresne e Red, dois tipos de personagem tão conhecidos quanto complexos. Dufresne tão presente nas películas mais recentes, esguio, introvertido e ousado (ou imprevisível). Red, o desacreditado em viver e se sentir livre, mas disposto a questionar. A química dos dois personagens é tão crível quanto romântica; em parte credencio a intensidade dessa relação em mais uma atuação irretocável de Morgan Freeman. Além destes personagens destaco o ritmo do filme, carregado por um drama clássico, porém completamente livre das amarras de um título homogêneo, enquanto emociona, Um Sonho De Liberdade provoca o riso, a tensão e provoca as mais diversas teorias nos espectadores. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EddyGregsApr 19, 2015
US Lawyer is sent to Shawshank prison for life, charts his experiences, friendships and influences on the prison whilst maintaining his innocence.

This movie is based on a novella by Stephen King, but don't let that put you off. It's not a
US Lawyer is sent to Shawshank prison for life, charts his experiences, friendships and influences on the prison whilst maintaining his innocence.

This movie is based on a novella by Stephen King, but don't let that put you off. It's not a horror film, rather a thumpingly good ode to friendship, hope, wit, wiles and wisdom, brimming with crackling characters and topped with the most twisteroo of twists since The Crying Game. Found guilty of killing his unfaithful wife and her lover in a fit of passion, sullen accountant Andy Dufresne (Robbins, casting off his goofball image to display more layers than the proverbial onion) is shipped to the gothic wind-swept corridors of the Shawshank State Prison for life. It is here the movie gracefully unfolds. With a beautifully rounded script, writer/director Darabont conjures up a spellbinding personal odyssey stretching through the years from 1946 to 1967.

If you don't love Shawshank, chances are you're beyond redemption. :D
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManiac83Apr 23, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaBlendMay 6, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ultimately, the standout actor is the venerable James Whitmore, doing his finest work in years. Whitmore's Brooks is a brilliantly realized character, and the scenes with him attempting to cope with life outside of Shawshank represents one of the film's most moving - and effective - sequences.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TheMovieDoctorJan 7, 2016
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

William Sadler (as a fellow prisoner), Clancy Brown (as a sadistic guard), and Bob Gunton (as the corrupt warden) all give fine supporting performances. Newcomer Gil Bellows, in a small but crucial role (that was originally intended for Brad Pitt), brings the poise of a veteran to his portrayal of Tommy Williams, Andy's protege.

Ultimately, the standout actor is the venerable James Whitmore, doing his finest work in years. Whitmore's Brooks is a brilliantly realized character, and the scenes with him attempting to cope with life outside of Shawshank represents one of the film's most moving - and effective - sequences.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEdMar 22, 2016
With a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's workWith a legion of titles like Pet Sematary, Firewalker, Sleepwalkers, Maximum Overdrive, and Children of the Corn, it's reasonable not to expect much from Stephen King-inspired motion pictures. Adaptations of the prolific author's work typically vary from mildly entertaining to virtually unwatchable. There are a few notable exceptions, however; two of which (Stand by Me, Misery) were crafted by widely-respected director Rob Reiner. While The Shawshank Redemption is not a Reiner movie per se, it is a production of Castle Rock Pictures (Reiner's film company), and ranks among the best filmed versions of any King stories to date. (This statement has not changed since I first wrote it in 1994.)

Spanning the years from 1947 through 1966, The Shawshank Redemption takes the "innocent man in prison" theme and bends it at a different angle. Instead of focusing on crusades for freedom, the movie ventures down a less-traveled road, concentrating on the personal cost of adapting to prison life and how some convicts, once they conform, lose the ability to survive beyond the barbed wire and iron bars. As one of the characters puts it: "These [prison] walls are funny. First you hate them, then you get used to them, then you start to depend on them."

Filmed on location in a disused Ohio prison, The Shawshank Redemption is set in a place of perpetual dreariness. What little color there is, is drab and lifeless (lots of grays and muted greens and blues), and there are times when the film is a shade away from black-and-white (give credit to cinematographer Roger Deakins, a longtime Cohen brothers collaborator). It's ironic, therefore, that the central messages are of hope, redemption, and salvation.

First time feature director Frank Darabont helms a fleet of impressive performances. Tim Robbins, as Andrew Dufresne, plays the wrongly convicted man with quiet dignity. Andy's ire is internal; he doesn't rant about his situation or the corruptness of the system that has imprisoned him. His unwillingness to surrender hope wins him the admiration of some and the contempt of others, and allows the audience to identify with him that much more strongly.

Ellis Boyd Redding (Morgan Freeman), or "Red" as his friends call him, is the self-proclaimed "Sears and Roebuck" of the Shawshank Prison (for a price, he can get just about anything from the outside). His is the narrative voice and, for once, the disembodied words aid, rather than intrude upon, the story. Serving a life sentence for murder, Red is a mixture of cynicism and sincerity - a man with a good soul who has done a vile deed. His friendship with Andy is one of The Shawshank Redemption's highlights.

William Sadler (as a fellow prisoner), Clancy Brown (as a sadistic guard), and Bob Gunton (as the corrupt warden) all give fine supporting performances. Newcomer Gil Bellows, in a small but crucial role (that was originally intended for Brad Pitt), brings the poise of a veteran to his portrayal of Tommy Williams, Andy's protege.

Ultimately, the standout actor is the venerable James Whitmore, doing his finest work in years. Whitmore's Brooks is a brilliantly realized character, and the scenes with him attempting to cope with life outside of Shawshank represents one of the film's most moving - and effective - sequences.

Unfortunately, following a solid two hours of thought-provoking drama, the movie deflates like a punctured balloon during its overlong denouement. The too-predictable final twenty minutes move a little slowly, and writer/director Darabont exposes a distressing need to wrap up everything into a tidy little package.

"Salvation lies within," advises Warden Norton at one point. It is the presentation of this theme that makes The Shawshank Redemption unique. Prison movies often focus on the violence and hopelessness of a life behind bars. While this film includes those elements, it makes them peripheral. The Shawshank Redemption is all about hope and, because of that, watching it is both uplifting and cathartic.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MovieMasterEddyApr 4, 2016
There are standard ways to stage a prison film and standard ways to tell a story by Stephen King. But "The Shawshank Redemption," based on a King novella and set in the correctional institution of the title, succeeds in avoiding the familiar.There are standard ways to stage a prison film and standard ways to tell a story by Stephen King. But "The Shawshank Redemption," based on a King novella and set in the correctional institution of the title, succeeds in avoiding the familiar.

Without a single riot scene or horrific effect, it tells a slow, gentle story of camaraderie and growth, with an ending that abruptly finds poetic justice in what has come before. The writer and director, Frank Darabont, tells this tale with a surprising degree of loving care.

There are times when "The Shawshank Redemption" comes dangerously close to sounding one of those "triumph of the human spirit" notes. But most of it is eloquently restrained. Despite an excess of voice-over narration and inspirational music, Mr. Darabont's film has a genuine dignity that holds the interest. It is helped greatly by fine, circumspect performances from Morgan Freeman as a rueful lifer named Red and Tim Robbins as Andy, the new kid on the cellblock. The film spans nearly 20 years of friendship between these two.

When Andy is convicted of his wife's murder, the judge pronounces him "a particularly remorseless and icy man." He sustains that chill when he first arrives at Shawshank, remaining aloof from other inmates even when those inmates threaten him with physical harm. "I wish I could tell you that Andy fought the good fight," says Red, who knows Andy has been gang-raped by fellow prisoners, in one of the film's only halfway-brutal episodes. "I wish I could tell you that, but prison is no fairy-tale world."

Needless to say, the heroes of such stories usually do succeed in defending themselves, at least when Hollywood is telling the fairy tale. But "The Shawshank Redemption" has its own brand of iconoclasm, with Mr. Darabont's direction as quiet, purposeful and secretive as Andy is himself.

Eventually Andy begins to fit in, especially after he wows the guards with skills left over from his pre-prison banking career. From the first time he advises one guard to make a one-time-only tax-free gift to his wife, Andy gets a new lease on life as "a convicted murderer who provides sound financial planning."

Andy does special fiscal favors for the warden. ("You know, the funny thing is, on the outside I was an honest man, straight as an arrow," he says about this. "I had to come to prison to be a crook.") He also makes the occasional dramatic gesture, like commandeering the prison's loudspeaker and playing a Mozart aria for all his fellow inmates. The film has a tendency to wax romantic at such moments, but more often it sustains an intelligent reserve.

Mr. Freeman is so quietly impressive here that there's reason to wish Red's role had more range. As written, he spends his time observing Andy fondly and describing prison life. But Mr. Freeman's commanding presence makes him a much stronger figure than that. Mr. Freeman is especially moving when he suggests how dependent Red has become on the prison walls that give shape to his life. Even so, Red has kept his ruefulness. "Only guilty man in Shawshank," he jokes about himself.

Mr. Robbins has the trickier role of someone whose still waters run deep, but whose experience doesn't add up until an exposition-packed denouement. (The film's swift, enjoyably farfetched closing scenes are a sharp reminder of who is the author of this story, after all.) Andy's is the more subdued role, but Mr. Robbins plays it intensely, and he ages effectively from newcomer to father figure during the story. One of Andy's projects is improving the prison library, which once contained nothing but the equivalent of books by Stephen King.

To raise funds for this undertaking, Andy is steady and patient, writing weekly letters to state officials until he gets what he wants. Mr. Darabont, a screenwriter making an impressive directorial debut, works in much the same quietly persistent way. "The Shawshank Conspiracy" takes shape slowly and carefully, displaying an overall subtlety that's surprising in a movie of this genre. In the end, like Andy and Red, it gets to where it wanted to go.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BerCJun 14, 2016
The artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired worldThe artistic medium of film is very subjective. Every audience member has a different set of criteria they use to measure their viewing experience. Not everyone shares the same set of criteria. If we did, what a bland and uninspired world this would be.

What I Personally Liked About "The Shawshank Redemption":
I want to start off by saying Tim Robbins gave so many wonderful performances in the years leading up to this film that to see the culmination of his charming "every man" character must have been extraordinarily gratifying for him. For fans of his work, it's gratifying as well. Sadly, he seemed content with this peak and would never strive as hard to acquire another in later years. Another note in the casting department is that of Morgan Freeman. A better orator has never existed. His voice is completely recognizable, wholly unforgettable, and delivers narration so spot-on you'd think he was born specifically to breathe life into the words of Ellis Boyd Redding. However, it is not just cast members alone that drive this film. The location used for Shawshank prison is truly a soul-crushing penitentiary that seems to seep the enjoyment of life out of the very bones of the movie's audience members. Roger Deakins's cinematography really helps to emphasize that point with its stark angles and looming panoramic shots. Of course, the story itself plays a big part in the entertainment value. I find it funny that Stephen King has made a memorable name for himself as a master of horror when the most monumental visual accomplishments based off of his work ("Stand by Me," "The Green Mile," this) were all squarely located in the dramatic vein. One has to love the honesty in this motion picture's portrayal of its subject matter as well. It doesn't shy away from its depictions of the brutalities, the horrors, and the corruptible influences of prison life. Frank Darabont's screenplay doesn't seek to glorify incarceration, it only glorifies the indomitable spirit true innocence possesses.

What I Personally Disliked About "The Shawshank Redemption":
Even the best of films can contain a flaw and, for me, the flaw to be found here is in the "fantastic coincidence" (to use the production's own term) of Andy Dufresne's wife and her lover being murdered by someone else the night Andy went to confront them. The level of coincidence is just too great for me and it always seems to take me a few minutes to get past that forced beginning and really sink into the naturalness of the remaining two hours the film provides.

My Overall Impression of "The Shawshank Redemption":
This is a grand testament to the concepts of hope and humanity. It definitely deserves the accolades it has been presented with over the years. Who would have thought that a claustrophobic reformatory drama would be such an essential, such a defining piece of cinematic history?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JorisV.Aug 7, 2006
Beautiful. Very good, but not exceptional. 8,5 really.
3 of 8 users found this helpful