Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 23, 1980
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 584 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
539
Mixed:
32
Negative:
13
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
LansdenrsJun 18, 2013
Really not that good. Boring, dull, lifeless. Acting wasn't the best and the directing was terrible. The only reason I didn't give this a zero is because it scared me
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
googolendtimesDec 23, 2014
"The Shining" is an unfortunate missed opportunity. Stanley Kubrick's adaptation squanders its source material, sacrificing the complex characterisation, themes and nuance that made Stephen King's novel so distinctive and compelling. Given"The Shining" is an unfortunate missed opportunity. Stanley Kubrick's adaptation squanders its source material, sacrificing the complex characterisation, themes and nuance that made Stephen King's novel so distinctive and compelling. Given the sheer brilliance of what it had to work with, and the immense talent attached to it, the film should have turned out to be far more than what it was: a disappointingly basic and stunted "chiller" does not do any semblance of justice to King's masterpiece. It lacks any form of suspense, thrills or chills, manages only to be slightly and sporadically unnerving. "Here's Johnny" and "Room 237" are memorable vignettes. But the film as a whole is forgettable. I will concede Jack Nicholson is excellent - the role of Jack Torrance is a perfect showcase for his talents. But even he cannot override the film's waste of potential. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Jason_DriverJul 10, 2014
I think this is a fine film when it comes to the entertainment value. Other than that it's very overrated to me. I mean it's bland at more than one point in the movie and it seemed like Kubrick was just trying to make a shocking film asI think this is a fine film when it comes to the entertainment value. Other than that it's very overrated to me. I mean it's bland at more than one point in the movie and it seemed like Kubrick was just trying to make a shocking film as opposed to doing Stephen Kings book justice. I have to it credit for how gorgeous it was shot and how well acted it was (beside Shelly Duvalls horrible performance) overall a fun movie to watch with friends to me but nothing special at all. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
MoNtEnEgRiNFeb 21, 2015
Pretty bad movie. I just watched it first time and it's not what i expected. First, that woman is annoying. I hate her running style, its like from some parody, maybe first 30 minutes she was mysterious and interesting, then later shePretty bad movie. I just watched it first time and it's not what i expected. First, that woman is annoying. I hate her running style, its like from some parody, maybe first 30 minutes she was mysterious and interesting, then later she totally lost herself. Jack did awesome work, he laugh and he's angry in same time, change many faces in one scene so we can actually read his mind, which is pretty cool. Kid was pretty awesome too, one of best kid acting i saw lately in horror movies. But, i dnt think this is horror, it's more like drama. There was few really long scenes, that dnt really need to be that long. Anyways, worst thing about movie is music. You cant focus on scene because you need to take off your headphones because music become too loud on some scenes, and music is just random and weird, i really didn't liked that part. Not to mention that black guy traveled a lot to get one hit in chest after he just walked in hotel lobby. Pretty lame, he got involved in story too much, and he didnt had even one line when he arrived at hotel. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
spacecaptainAug 4, 2011
One of the most over-rated horror pictures, yet based on one of Stephen King's finest novels. How could it go wrong? The primary problem is that the film simply isn't scary. I'll give it creepy, but only mildly. And only one scene standsOne of the most over-rated horror pictures, yet based on one of Stephen King's finest novels. How could it go wrong? The primary problem is that the film simply isn't scary. I'll give it creepy, but only mildly. And only one scene stands out as being anything close to King's vision of supernatural fear ("Room 237"). Sure Nicholson is fun, and really, the cast is fine. But the secondary problem this film has is a critical fail: the movie's aim and thrust is completely muddled. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
5
csw12Nov 26, 2015
Great, scary, intense atmosphere and superb Jack Nicholson mixed with the mediocre performances by everyone else. The ending is a little hard to understand but overall a very scary film. Horrible boring ending
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheApplegnomeAug 14, 2015
A classic, memorable and humanitarian Stanley Kubrick-creation -- it might not have the universal acclaim from my behalf, but it stands out as a clever, somewhat scary horror flick. It's by all means beautifully directed, clever and of courseA classic, memorable and humanitarian Stanley Kubrick-creation -- it might not have the universal acclaim from my behalf, but it stands out as a clever, somewhat scary horror flick. It's by all means beautifully directed, clever and of course very memorable with its scary and relatable moments. The Shining isn't just another horror installment, it's much more than that. It got much to tell about the nature of the human self, and its humanitarian aspect like insanity, supernatural phenomenons and obsession. It's also extremely well written and visualized. But it's boring, and less entertaining throughout the whole movie, most of the time. The acting is another aspect, and Shelley Duvall is such a horrible actor. But Jack Nicholson is flawless. So it's an overall boring and slow movie, but that got some scary moments. But it never felt like all the build-ups really payed off, and the climax never comes. But the ending was kinda plot-twisty so it was great! But it's still a boring and slow horror-flick.

6.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
CinemassacreMar 13, 2016
With everything to work with, director Stanley Kubrick has teamed with jumpy Jack Nicholson to destroy all that was so terrifying about Stephen King’s bestseller.

In his book, King took a fundamental horror formula – an innocent family
With everything to work with, director Stanley Kubrick has teamed with jumpy Jack Nicholson to destroy all that was so terrifying about Stephen King’s bestseller.

In his book, King took a fundamental horror formula – an innocent family marooned in an evil dwelling with a grim history – and built layers of ingenious terror upon it. The father is gradually possessed by the demonic, desolate hotel.

With dad going mad, the only protection mother and child have is the boy’s clairvoyance – his ‘shining’ – which allows him an innocent understanding and some ability to outmaneuver the devils. But Kubrick sees things his own way, throwing 90% of King’s creation out.

The crazier Nicholson gets, the more idiotic he looks. Shelley Duvall transforms the warm sympathetic wife of the book into a simpering, semi-retarded hysteric.

However i have to praise the cinematography.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews