Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: May 23, 1980
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 634 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
588
Mixed:
33
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
JerryO.Jun 4, 2007
This film is underrated if you ask me, it's always been one of my favorites if not my favorite horror movies. The best part, I think, is that it manages to be scary even though very few people die, as opposed to modern horror movies This film is underrated if you ask me, it's always been one of my favorites if not my favorite horror movies. The best part, I think, is that it manages to be scary even though very few people die, as opposed to modern horror movies that fail to be scary even though everybody dies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful
8
Trev29Aug 31, 2012
Jack was completely deranged and it was funny and scary at the same time. Not a damn clue at what happened at the very end which pisses me off, but everything was on key for this horror story.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AlessandroOdoJun 28, 2013
This film is a classic, it is one of the best horror movies ever. No matter how many times I see it, it scares me all the time. The effect is perfect, you can note very good performances & of course the excellent music that makes theThis film is a classic, it is one of the best horror movies ever. No matter how many times I see it, it scares me all the time. The effect is perfect, you can note very good performances & of course the excellent music that makes the suspense. My favorite scene is when the kid goes inside the bathroom, what a surprise a had seen. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 29, 2013
A classic horror film for the ages, The Shining's genius (besides being directed by Kubrick) comes solely from the fact that there is no certainty of what is real or what Jack is imagining: and this is what makes the film so intriguing. Plus,A classic horror film for the ages, The Shining's genius (besides being directed by Kubrick) comes solely from the fact that there is no certainty of what is real or what Jack is imagining: and this is what makes the film so intriguing. Plus, Jack Nicholson is his most "Jack-Nicholson-ish" in this movie, making the faces and movements he's so famous for nowadays. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
First and foremost; don't go into this movie expecting a typical horror movie. It's not a jump-out-at-you scary movie. What it does do well is creepiness.
The first time I watched it I was pretty underwhelmed. It was one of, possibly the
First and foremost; don't go into this movie expecting a typical horror movie. It's not a jump-out-at-you scary movie. What it does do well is creepiness.
The first time I watched it I was pretty underwhelmed. It was one of, possibly the only Kubrick film I'd seen that didn't deliver on my expectations. Often a Kubrick film will go above and beyond my expectations. However the more I thought about it, and after watching it a second time, and watching the documentary Room 237. My thoughts on the film have become much more positive and enthusiastic. In a lot of aspects this is some of Kubrick's best work ever. The carefully thought out shots. The way he creates such isolation and hostility for the viewer. You're off in your own world in the Overlook Hotel. Jack Nicholson is fantastic in it. The music in it is very good and effective to adding a whole extra level to the movie. And it'd have to be the most mysterious Kubrick film ever made. Even more than 2001. There are so many questions you'll be asking about this film. The ending won't solve all your questions; it'll add more. You could interpret this movie from so many angles. If you become intrigued in this film even after you watch it, go on the internet and look at the various interpretations and things the film had that you probably missed. This film still remains a mystery three decades on, it's not a total crowd pleasing film but if you're interesting it's definitely worth a watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
willkulkaNov 30, 2013
As far as I'm concerned, this will forever be the best horror story ever written for the screen. Incredibly eerie and creepy. It's great when a film can pull you in and intensify your heart rate without the use of cheap scare tactics. EvenAs far as I'm concerned, this will forever be the best horror story ever written for the screen. Incredibly eerie and creepy. It's great when a film can pull you in and intensify your heart rate without the use of cheap scare tactics. Even over 30 years later, this film truly strikes fear in my heart. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JorjiCostavaJan 25, 2014
This is a truly great horror film. The movie is very different compared to other horror films. It follows Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) who is staying in an old, empty hotel with his family and begins to go mad. The events in this film spinThis is a truly great horror film. The movie is very different compared to other horror films. It follows Jack Torrance (Jack Nicholson) who is staying in an old, empty hotel with his family and begins to go mad. The events in this film spin into the strange and scary. It has many scary moments and it is very creepy. It also boasts excellent acting by Jack Nicholson and Shelley Duvall. It did, however, take a bit of time for the horror to start, and also it was quite long, but it is still great. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Oct 6, 2011
Illustrating the true, crazy countenance of mankind when confronted in extreme isolation and horror, Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is a modern-horror masterpiece that criticizes not only us, but also the disjointed society. (P.S: This wasIllustrating the true, crazy countenance of mankind when confronted in extreme isolation and horror, Stanley Kubrick's "The Shining" is a modern-horror masterpiece that criticizes not only us, but also the disjointed society. (P.S: This was probably the best movie Jack Nicholson performed in. Ever.) Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
House0fWolves_Dec 16, 2011
My favorite film of Kubrick's. You feel like you're becoming as mad as Johnny while watching, building up cabin fever and fear in a mixture of nauseous scenes.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
DezuuuApr 5, 2012
So disturbing, yet exciting. Jack Nicholson plays a perfect role, and this movie loves to mess around with you. It doesn´t have any real scares, but is way more unsettling than any current horror flick. Some great camera work, too.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
ci4o759tyg235p0Jul 27, 2012
A brilliant horror movie!! and certainly one of the best stephen king movies. I really dont know why the critics give this masterpiece a 6.1, but thats out sh*tty generation, good movies are given bad reviews, and bad movies are given goodA brilliant horror movie!! and certainly one of the best stephen king movies. I really dont know why the critics give this masterpiece a 6.1, but thats out sh*tty generation, good movies are given bad reviews, and bad movies are given good reviews, thats just sad. To all people who gave this a good review, you have great taste, to all people who gave it a bad one, suck it! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
jakethesnackOct 29, 2013
Quite possibly the creepiest, most well written movie ever. There are so many creepy moments and Jack Nicholson was an amazing actor few actors could top his performance in this.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BronsonApr 27, 2014
A masterpiece in every form of that word. If you don't like this movie you are living life wrong. Jack Nicholson turns in an amazing and iconic performance while Kubrick uses his brilliant movie magic to craft one of the best Horror movies ever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Jan 7, 2011
My favourite horror film, possibly even my favourite film in general. The atmosphere is immensly creepy from beginning to end. The music, the camera work, all spells dread and impending horror. Those two girls still send shivers down my spineMy favourite horror film, possibly even my favourite film in general. The atmosphere is immensly creepy from beginning to end. The music, the camera work, all spells dread and impending horror. Those two girls still send shivers down my spine whenever I see them. Talk about stmosphere, this film has me gripped from begginning to end every time. Every scene is firmly etched into my mind, every image. Yeah I Ilike it just a bit....to be honest I feel a bit like Jack sometimes...Wendy!! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 27, 2014
A film can often be measured by the lasting impression it makes on an audience. That's where the incomparable Jack Nicholson comes in. Oh, and need I say "redrum"?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
eniguimaAug 8, 2014
A great movie that involves the viewer with its wide variety of details that give each scene a tone of realism that enhances the feeling of suspended activity and it is logical to Jack Nicholson really was incredible, it was possible toA great movie that involves the viewer with its wide variety of details that give each scene a tone of realism that enhances the feeling of suspended activity and it is logical to Jack Nicholson really was incredible, it was possible to perceive anger in every word Jack said. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
horcrux2007Sep 5, 2014
"The Shining" is my personal favorite film from Stanley Kubrick. It's filled with tension and scares, a creepy and isolated atmosphere, and memorable characters. Like all of Kubrick's films, it's beautiful to look at and extremely detailed."The Shining" is my personal favorite film from Stanley Kubrick. It's filled with tension and scares, a creepy and isolated atmosphere, and memorable characters. Like all of Kubrick's films, it's beautiful to look at and extremely detailed. "The Shining" is also one of the scariest movies I've ever seen. Definitely watch this if you're a fan of horror. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
MatthewRJul 4, 2007
Kubrick presented the interchangeable nature of internal disturbance and external terror, establishing an ominous undertone that accompanied the creepiness of the foreground imagery. The film doesn't settle for superficial scare Kubrick presented the interchangeable nature of internal disturbance and external terror, establishing an ominous undertone that accompanied the creepiness of the foreground imagery. The film doesn't settle for superficial scare tactics,instead, it quietly sustains an level of palpable menace throughout the entire piece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BlancoA.May 11, 2007
By FAR, the creepiest, scariest movie I've ever seen. To this day, when I'm in a long, deserted hallway in a hotel, especially staring at an elevator, I think of those two little girls on trikes. Chilling!... Heeeeere's Johnny!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RickLAug 13, 2007
A classic is the only word that can truly define this film. Really well shot, great acting for the most part (some little flaws here and there) and great character development. I highly recommend this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatC.Jun 14, 2007
Each scene is meticulously crafted to perfection as only Kubrick can. Though not a huge hit when it came out, in the test of time it has imparted a host of icons and one liners on to our culture. Towards the end, the rooms full of scary Each scene is meticulously crafted to perfection as only Kubrick can. Though not a huge hit when it came out, in the test of time it has imparted a host of icons and one liners on to our culture. Towards the end, the rooms full of scary things was deviantly anticlimactic, as the real horror was always what was happening in Nicholson's head. But consider the beginning: Kubrick made Glacier Park, the most beautiful place on the planet, the doorway to the 10th level of hell. As a film opening it rates right up there with the first Star Wars movie. It's just totally too good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PaxsterOct 9, 2010
I'll be honest, I hate horror. The Shining is possibly the only horror film that has ever ingnited something within my interest. It's brilliant,daring and most importantly, not cliche. Surely the highlight of the film is the use of steadicamI'll be honest, I hate horror. The Shining is possibly the only horror film that has ever ingnited something within my interest. It's brilliant,daring and most importantly, not cliche. Surely the highlight of the film is the use of steadicam following the child around the place like some haunting ghost. Another superb achievement from Kubrick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Paul_YoonSep 23, 2010
Kubrick fastidiously detailed about the claustrophobic horror and suspenseful and hysteric moments. However, it is true that Kubrick failed to transform the original main point of the novel and deviated to make his own point of view.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MichaelOct 11, 2010
My first viewing of Stanley Kubrick's classic 'The Shining' left me somewhat...underwhelmed. As a 15 year old boy, my underdeveloped, action oriented brain, desired gore and cheap thrills...something that this film avoids. Viewing 'TheMy first viewing of Stanley Kubrick's classic 'The Shining' left me somewhat...underwhelmed. As a 15 year old boy, my underdeveloped, action oriented brain, desired gore and cheap thrills...something that this film avoids. Viewing 'The Shining' as an adult however, was a truly unforgettable experience. So here are my two cents.... Hearing the term 'adaptation of a Stephen King novel' makes me want to vomit. With such duds as 'Storm of the Century', 'Rose Red' and 'Tommyknockers' falling within this category, I was sceptical. But thankfully, Kubrick diverts drastically from the source material, playing down the supernatural elements of horror. The fear of the characters' deteriorating mental health, and the potential of what they could do to one another, is far more terrifying than the threat of ghosts. This makes for a human, relatable, and intelligent horror; more frightening than the typical ghost story. Kudos to the screenwriters for taking a chance. Like most Kubrick films, the performances are strangely enigmatic. Shelly Duvall's portrayal of the seemingly 'desperate to please' Wendy, was irritating in the initial stages of the film. There was a self-consciousness to the performance, that felt slightly superficial. HOWEVER, when the hysteria sets in, Duvall delivers the goods. She is chillingly authentic, and utterly electrifying. It actually heightens the experience in the final third of the film. Apparently Kubrick was a prick to her on set in order to 'push her' into that place...so thankyou for that! It's magic. I find Jack Nicholson a difficult actor to really warm to, and his performance here is no exception to that. It's over the top, comical, frightening...and unpredictably mad. I think I would have preferred Jack Torrance to be a more likeable character in the developing stages, but nonetheless, he is fascinating. And Danny Lloyd would have to go on the list of 'best child performances ever'. The facial expressions, body language, and the eyes, are completely believable and nuanced! They struck gold with him. Typical of Kubrick, the film is a visual spectacle. Even by todays standards, the cinematography is mesmerising - a testament to Kubrick and John Alcott. Visually, the film is so absorbing. The camera rarely stops moving, in inventive (but non-distracting) ways. There is a sense that the characters are being watched by 'another presence' that is constantly tracking their movements. The camera work is subtly unsettling. It is so refreshing for a modern audience to watch a film like this, that relies on a slow and contemplative build up, and resonating images for scares. There is a genuinely creepy tone throughout, and the climax absolutely soars with thrills. And, strangely enough for this genre, 'The Shining' gets better with every single viewing. A well deserved classic! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerOct 17, 2016
Stanley Kubrick's The Shining is a fascinating movie. Both in content and in history. Based on the Stephen King novel, this now horror classic was met with some not so great reception upon it's initial release. King himself has been vocalStanley Kubrick's The Shining is a fascinating movie. Both in content and in history. Based on the Stephen King novel, this now horror classic was met with some not so great reception upon it's initial release. King himself has been vocal about his lack of satisfaction with the changes made to his source material. Saying how some it's important themes were missing in this adaption. Yet, today it stands as one of the most celebrated films in horror. Interesting indeed.

It's not hard to see why it's so celebrated today. I just find it hard to wrap my mind around why it's legacy is now so different than how it was viewed upon creation. Well, enough of that. Time to get on to the actual review.

The Shining stands as an excellent example of how to build up tension. It's odd moments and slow pace add a sense of believability to the mix that make it all the more compelling. The tale itself is filled with many mysteries to keep viewers engaged. The cast is pretty darn excellent.

The movie is worth watching for Jack Nicholson's performance alone. We all know Nicholson can play a crazy person with ease. It's his ability here though, to play a complete nutcase with moments of sheer lucid madness, that really sells the whole thing. There are moments where Nicholson's character is clearly out of his mind. Yet, there are other dispersed in where he appears to be totally in control of his own thoughts. Well aware of the consequences and moving forward anyway with only the slightest bit of manipulation. It's these moments where he comes off as the most menacing. He's a very charismatic psychopath.

The supernatural elements are where the real madness comes from. Psychic powers, ghostly visions, and otherworldly entities at play leave plenty for you to dwell on. They also may leave you with a few frustrations. I know they did for me at least.

There's plenty going on here that is oh so very vague. Some stuff is left open to interpretation, which isn't exactly a problem. There are however important elements of the plot that just don't get touched on. For example, what's the story with the boy living in Danny's mouth? It's pretty darn significant to the plot. Yet, we're given next to no information about it. This wouldn't be so bad if it wasn't tied directly to some of the movie's most important moments. The lack of any sort of insight had me wanting to tear my hair out in frustration at times.

That's really the only issue I can find with it. The Shining is simply a great psychological horror-thriller. One filled with odd moments, compelling drama, and a stunning central performance from Jack Nicholson. It stands one of the most interesting films I've ever watched. One worth searching over multiple times to pull out new secrets. Even if you aren't the type to really dive into analyzing films, it's a great horror film on it's own. Perhaps not a very scary one, but still filled with enough mystery to make for a gripping ride. One with plenty of tension.

8.7/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alzslo08Jun 13, 2011
Great, scary, intense atmosphere and superb Jack Nicholson mixed with the mediocre performance by Shelley Duvall. Anyway, I think that this film was underrated for many years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SindriFeb 20, 2011
Unflinchingly directed - There has certainly been a good number of well made and thrilling horror-films in the last thirty years, but few possesses the psychological tension that Stanley Kubrick created in 1980 with his adaptation of StephenUnflinchingly directed - There has certainly been a good number of well made and thrilling horror-films in the last thirty years, but few possesses the psychological tension that Stanley Kubrick created in 1980 with his adaptation of Stephen King`s novel "The Shining" which he wrote with novelist Diane Johnson, that stringently tells the fictional story about writer, husband and father Jack Torrance, who travels from the city with his wife Wendy and son Danny to attend a job interview during the winter at the Overlook Hotel considering an off-season job as a caretaker. Torrance's intension is to use the remote and isolated hotel to find peace while he is writing, but as he get's into his writing his mental state starts to change.

From the majestic and long opening scene where the camera moves transversal through a dead silent landscape and towards the films main location, to the grand finale, this is a throughout captivating and mind-puzzling tale mostly seen through the eyes of a psychic young boy who receives frightening premonitions about the place his parents have brought him to and a grown man who unknowingly is faced with his own mind's evanescence. This increasingly chilling character study uses repeated imagery, shifts from regular to extreme close ups, concentrated, repetitive and no dialog whatsoever, short and long takes and frequently changes from scenes of eerie silence to scenes of climactic noise.This is the type of film such as, without making any comparison, Peter Weir's "Picnic at Hanging Rock" (1975) or David Lynch's "Eraserhead" (1976), where the mood is crucial for the films atmosphere, and in this case the mood is composed by Jack Nicholson's versatile mood-swings and the classic and orchestral music.

Several stories are intersected in "The Shining", and they differ from the story of a writer's block, a horrible tragedy that happened in the past, a wife unable to reach her husband, a son unable to connect with his father and a man's broadening psychosis. It's impossible to overlook Jack Nicholson's electric presence as he transforms into a character that bewilders himself as far as conceivably possible in an oblivious mind. His multi-layered performance stands as a milestone in acting and Nicholson is as frightening as he is entertaining in his nearly exaggerated interpretation. With that said, this film wouldn't be as good as it is without the performances of Shelley Duvall, Scatman Crothers and Danny Lloyd, who's presence is just as effective as Nicholsons. The ingenious about "The Shining" is that it achieves a high level of tension without being overly violent. Yes, there is a flood of blood, but the greatest horrors of the film is the words, the sounds, the images, the faces, the moods, and how these cinematic elements spark the viewers imagination. This inner an outer mind maze is a vivid examination of supernatural spookiness that truly captures the feeling and perception of fear. Kubrick knew no boundaries as a film maker and his eleventh feature is photographically aesthetic and unflinchingly directed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ImUnavailableJul 10, 2011
An atmospheric, slow-burning horror film that charts a man's descent into madness. Though the directing and writing is top notch, Nicholson is the real star of the show. His character is fantastically deranged and believable and is theAn atmospheric, slow-burning horror film that charts a man's descent into madness. Though the directing and writing is top notch, Nicholson is the real star of the show. His character is fantastically deranged and believable and is the commanding force in each scene he is in. Although not terrifying, the movie effectively builds tension and suspense culminating in a dramatic third act. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PinkFloyd4everJul 25, 2011
This is by far my favorite movie! In my opinion it is more of a thriller than a horror film. Jack Nicholson plays the role amazingly well, Shelley Duvall's portrayal of Wendy is great, even though in the bookthe character is very different inThis is by far my favorite movie! In my opinion it is more of a thriller than a horror film. Jack Nicholson plays the role amazingly well, Shelley Duvall's portrayal of Wendy is great, even though in the bookthe character is very different in the book. The kid is actually very creepy though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 15, 2011
A horror classic. An unforgettable performance by Jack Nicholson as the tortured soul of Jack Torrance. Stanley Kubrick's direction pushes all the right buttons.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews