Magnet Releasing | Release Date: February 22, 2008
6.1
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 36 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
7
Negative:
10
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
FantasyMar 1, 2008
This Signal is interrupted by ineptitude from the script, directing and acting. Otherwise it is fine! Avoid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MichaelP.Feb 22, 2008
Divided into three segments, each with a different director. The first segment is good enough to give you some hope, but it's quickly crushed by the other two.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
syzygyFeb 24, 2008
Begins with some promise as a fast, edgy, atmospheric flick with possibly something to say about the mindlessly craven zeros television has turned us into, but it it quickly loses focus and degenerates into a sorry, loud mess.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
TomF.Feb 28, 2008
pretty stupid and not as good as some of the critics say
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PaulioGJan 25, 2009
An interesting movie, not a huge movie, but entertaining. The human race, or at least what we see of it in these few characters, have been spiked, and their mostly on a bad trip.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RossTOct 31, 2008
Edgy, scary, unpredictable, funny and really well cast and acted.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoshuaE.Feb 25, 2008
This movie was amazing. People over-exaggerate the blood and gore. Yes there is violence. But I've seen worse. Its also extremely funny. The ending is noth that great though. It just leaves you hanging wondering what happened. But This movie was amazing. People over-exaggerate the blood and gore. Yes there is violence. But I've seen worse. Its also extremely funny. The ending is noth that great though. It just leaves you hanging wondering what happened. But besides that the movie is amazing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BryanBuschFeb 25, 2008
This movie was a headachey torture-fest. Where there should have been action and tension, there was torture, instead.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AndreasW.May 22, 2008
Maybe the best horror movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ChadS.Jun 14, 2008
Maybe it's the effects of the signal, but the characters in "The Signal" find new ways to be stupid. First, there's Mya(Anessa Ramsey), who renders herself incognizant to blind spot attacks by insulating herself with cd player Maybe it's the effects of the signal, but the characters in "The Signal" find new ways to be stupid. First, there's Mya(Anessa Ramsey), who renders herself incognizant to blind spot attacks by insulating herself with cd player headphones(yay! Joy Division!), and then there's Rod(Sahr Ngaujah), who tries to save people from the sonically affected... BY TYING THEM UP?! Still, "Transmission 1: Crazy in Love" is the most successful, the most scary. There's a palpable atmosphere of doom that plays like a poor man's "28 Days Later". "Transmission 2: Jealousy Monster" unravels when Lewis(AJ Bowen) sprays poison in a woman's face, causing her features to deform; then in the mouth, causing her to die in agony. Unfortunately, this is supposed to play like the blackest comedy imaginable. Deadpan, dead woman, deadly unfunny. Her death is gross, and casts a considerable pall over the ensuing proceedings. "Transmission 3: Escape from Terminus" seems unambitious for what it doesn't do, which is, track down the signal. Ben(Justin Welborn) saves Mya from her husband, but we don't know what Lewis was like before he went crazy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SeanF.Jun 14, 2008
A very bad movie, that starts off with some promise, but only gets worse and worse and worse. The critics that actually thought this was ok, should have their heads examined.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JRJun 15, 2008
Don't listen to the naysayers. An excellent, highly original take on a worn-out genre. Very intense - can be tough to watch at times, but still highly, highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Jun 3, 2008
Interesting film, with three stories cleverly incorporated into one film. It can be a bit brutal at all times, but it is engrossing throughout. I liked the middle piece best. I admire the originality of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrentWMay 28, 2009
A good flick to watch when it's about 3 in the morning, you're surrounded by friends, and you're all fans of satire and observational humor. The thriller aspects of the movie are ok, a little over the top as times and absurd A good flick to watch when it's about 3 in the morning, you're surrounded by friends, and you're all fans of satire and observational humor. The thriller aspects of the movie are ok, a little over the top as times and absurd at others, but meshes well with the idea that people'll use whatever they can get the hands on, and some of them might even be creative. The 'humor' mentioned earlier isn't something that everyone's going to find in this movie. You've got to be a Richard Pryor or George Carlin type of fan to notice some of things in the background and be able to bust out laughing at them for no apparent reason. The love story aspect of the movie is...Well, kind of a let down. Love stories are fine and everything, but it just doesn't fit well with the rest of the movie. Conversely, it does work nicely as an extra bit of material for the film. I guess if they had to throw SOMETHING else in, they didn't make the worst possible choice. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SeanRJun 16, 2008
I loved this film. The idea of media saturation weakening our wills and making us susceptible to baser and sometimes murderous impulses caused by a mysterious cross-media signal--its amazing. the tonal shifts added a lot to the enjoyment as I loved this film. The idea of media saturation weakening our wills and making us susceptible to baser and sometimes murderous impulses caused by a mysterious cross-media signal--its amazing. the tonal shifts added a lot to the enjoyment as well. Well done to everyone involved in making this fantastic film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
eiffelJul 31, 2008
Fantastic. original screenplay that doesn't borrow from other movies. smart and evolving. characters stay fresh by being multidimensional. doesn't try to prove anything or teach the viewer but in the end gives a satisfying insight Fantastic. original screenplay that doesn't borrow from other movies. smart and evolving. characters stay fresh by being multidimensional. doesn't try to prove anything or teach the viewer but in the end gives a satisfying insight into the human psych. its funny at times which puts your guard down and it's completely never obvious and keps you guessing. if you liked wristcutters you'll love this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BenjaminCNov 23, 2008
An excellent psychological horror film that I believe will eventually become a cult classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MyffubsAug 14, 2011
The Signal is perhaps one of the best horror films to be released in recent years. It's highlighted by both its experimental nature and its frightening message, that the media will slowly drive us crazy. Well, not slowly, not in this movie.The Signal is perhaps one of the best horror films to be released in recent years. It's highlighted by both its experimental nature and its frightening message, that the media will slowly drive us crazy. Well, not slowly, not in this movie. While watching television, making phone calls, and/or listening to the radio, the citizens of Terminus are susceptible to becoming violent raving lunatics thanks to a mysterious signal. It's reminiscent of body snatcher and zombie films, but there is an eerie sort of twist: those affected by the signal have no idea that anything is wrong with them. Instead, they view others as threats to their life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness. As one of the Affected states, "It's telling me what I should do, what I should want. I want my wife, and I want my home, and I want all you people to stop bothering us." Of course, this is first and foremost a horror film, and The Signal never gets too heavy-handed in the delivery of its message. It's actually quite scary and funny, and often at the same time. The film follows several characters through three loosely-connected chapters (called transmissions, each created by a different director) that vary wildly in delivery. The first transmission is arguably the best, crafting horror around uncertainty and building suspense with a surreal atmosphere. The second takes pitch black humor to the next level, yet also manages to include the film's single most disturbing scene. The third transmission turns the film into a psychological thriller about losing one's mind. Despite this, the film works; it feels like a whole (much more so, in fact, than many other films with just one director). Sure, there are shortcomings; two of the actors are not exactly good enough to carry the dialogue-heavy climax, which will lose some audience members, and the film's budget is apparent in several scenes. Of course, these are minor complaints when looking at the film as a whole. It's an excellent horror film that takes a jarring look at the messages of fear we receive from media sources almost every day: the outside world is a dangerous place, those whose views differ from ours are inherently an enemy of sorts, and we must do what we can to protect the ones we love. With this fear semi-constantly drilled into our minds, how long will it take for people to finally snap? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
FilmVirtueFeb 14, 2014
What a strange and unique movie this was. Something rare to see done. It certainly stands out enough to be interesting but in others ways can just feel like a repeat of films like "The Crazies".
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UrbanlistenerNov 23, 2015
Now this is a something special, this movie is extremely original, it is entertaining, well-acted, well-paced, creepy at times and mostly fascinating. I don't wan't to spoil anything, but in maximum 30 minutes you will get what the movie isNow this is a something special, this movie is extremely original, it is entertaining, well-acted, well-paced, creepy at times and mostly fascinating. I don't wan't to spoil anything, but in maximum 30 minutes you will get what the movie is really about if you dig up a little and it is excellent in that aspect. If you are looking for a scary ride, this is not what you'll wan't to watch, this mostly a romantic, dark-comedy piece of art. And keep in mind that this flick was made with a 50 000$ budget! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews