The Silence of the Lambs Image
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 458 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In pursuit of one serial killer, ambitious FBI student Clarice Starling (Foster) is forced to enlist the aid of another notorious killer, the incarcerated ex-psychiatrist known as "Hannibal the Cannibal" Lecter (Hopkins).

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Los Angeles Times
    Reviewed by: Sheila Benson
    100
    Hopkins' insinuating performance puts him right up there with the screen's great bogymen. [13 February 1991, Calendar, p.F-1}
  2. 100
    The superbly crafted suspense thriller…slams you like a sudden blast of bone-chilling, pulse-pounding terror.
  3. 100
    A mesmerizing thriller that will grip audiences from first scene to last.
  4. A smart, restrained entertainment, it doesn't splash around in blood and hysteria. It doesn't have to.
  5. 89
    At long, long last: the real thing.
  6. 88
    Chilling and creepy, and there's no denying that the most celebrated aspect of the film -- the Clarice/Hannibal connection -- could not have been accomplished with greater skill.
  7. The plot is squeezed dry in this bloody Valentine from Hollywood and becomes annoyingly predictable. Thriller stumbles on its own success

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 82
  2. Negative: 2 out of 82
  1. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    A fantastic, haunting experience. You won't be scared in the traditional horror movie sense, but you will be terrified in the psychologicalA fantastic, haunting experience. You won't be scared in the traditional horror movie sense, but you will be terrified in the psychological horror sense. Anthony Hopkins is absolutely haunting as Hannibal Lecter, and he pulls the roll off very well. A classic movie that no sane person will want to miss. It may be slow, but your attention will not be lost. One of the best films of the last 50 years, easily. Collapse
  2. Jul 23, 2014
    10
    It is definitely one of the best films in the 90s and one of the rare films that well deserved its oscars.Demne tells the story veryIt is definitely one of the best films in the 90s and one of the rare films that well deserved its oscars.Demne tells the story very patiently through proper character development. this a thriller and they can't go through every single details of the characters . However the film explains the psychology behind crime and the motivations of Clarice Starling very well. See Jodie Foster in the very final scene while buffalo bill is wearing his night vision goggles . Truly terrifying scene and Jodie's performance is just amazing, Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    This is an intense, entertaining, and truly great film that totally deserved the Oscar for Best Picture in 1991! This movie is absolutelyThis is an intense, entertaining, and truly great film that totally deserved the Oscar for Best Picture in 1991! This movie is absolutely amazing, and is brilliant in every possible way. The dreary, moody soundtrack by Howard Shore is astonishing, and all of the performances are brilliant! Anthony Hopkins is wonderfully creepy as the cannibal Hannibal Lector, Jodie Foster is great as Clarice, and Ted Levine steals every scene he's in with his slightly melancholy, mildly humorous, and quite terrifying performance as Buffalo Bill. "The Silence of the Lambs" is a disturbing crime genre that is masterful filmmaking in every possible way. Expand
  4. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Wow. I don't know why I haven't seen this sooner!

    I really loved this. The film was complex, but never to the point that you got completely
    Wow. I don't know why I haven't seen this sooner!

    I really loved this. The film was complex, but never to the point that you got completely lost. I found myself getting confused about where we were, and then it would all click a few seconds later. It was very clever at making sure you were aware of which character was who.

    The direction is very interesting in this film, with the contrast of the dark and gritty world of the FBI, and what happens when a character is put in prison, but when this then goes against the killer's room, I loved the designs, with all the colours etc.

    But lets face it. We all know why this film works so well.

    Anthony Hopkins. I bow down to you.

    I heard he was only in the film for about 15 minutes. That was a lie. He was just brilliant. The perfect mix of charm and menace to create a truly unforgettable villain. Hannibal Lecter really is the standout of the film, and will have you on the edge of your seat, whenever he is on the screen.

    I think the thing that kept me interested the most here was that it was simply a great story. An involving and original story that had me in it's bloody palms from start to finish.
    Expand
  5. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    The Silence of the Lambs feels more like the Silence of the Audience during its time. Anything other than that, I'm sure this movie couldThe Silence of the Lambs feels more like the Silence of the Audience during its time. Anything other than that, I'm sure this movie could start entertaining you just as these users and critics did. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2015
    9
    My friend always said a thriller should have a psychological facet in a movie. Well, me and him watched this together and I could not be moreMy friend always said a thriller should have a psychological facet in a movie. Well, me and him watched this together and I could not be more pleased with what this movie had to offer.. Believe me, alot of thriller movies have done a good job emulating this film without trying to exactly copy it. I love the acting, the plot, and the literal thrill of suspense. Im a music guy so I do pay attention to the musical score and lets just say the Munich Symphony Orchestra made me check the curtains and grab an extra layer of sheets.

    Jonathan Demme deserves credit for directing this and so does Ted Tally for writing the screenplay.
    It's weird but I get the sense that this movie could really happen in real life. I got annoyed at some of the acting but it won best actor and actress so don't take my word for it. Last thing I want to mention is that this movie tackled on some really tough issues like homophobia and sexual orientation. That is BIG considering the 80s was a really rough period for the LGBT community.

    Treat yo self and watch this movie. If the US Library of Congress approves and you don't, you're not appreciating American work. Just kidding but I love a smart, bad-ass villain
    Expand
  7. TedK.
    Jun 20, 2008
    2
    Anthony Hopkins gives the most overrated performance of all time. He way overplayed it. Aside from that, the movie is really quite dull and Anthony Hopkins gives the most overrated performance of all time. He way overplayed it. Aside from that, the movie is really quite dull and unexceptional. I'm mystified by the positive reviews and never understood this movie's appeal. Expand

See all 82 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked

    25 Can't-Miss Movies About Bad Guys, Ranked Image
    Published: July 15, 2016
    We rank over two dozen very good movies featuring very bad protagonists.
  2. 28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best

    28 Best Picture Oscar Winners, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: February 18, 2016
    We rank the best picture winners of the past three decades.
  3. Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV

    Best of September 2016: Top Albums, Games, Movies & TV Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Browse our handy guide to the best entertainment of the past month, with lists of the highest-scoring albums, video games, TV shows, and films released during September.
  4. Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/30): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 30, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and new films from Denzel Washington, Jim Jarmusch, Mike Mills, Warren Beatty, Olivier Assayas, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: October 2016 Image
    Published: September 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of October, including The Night Of, Ghostbusters, X-Men: Apocalypse, and more.
  6. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 28, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Deepwater Horizon, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, Masterminds, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.