User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 635 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 635
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MartinS.
    Aug 20, 2007
    4
    More like 2 Episodes blown up to 90min with not-so-funny sidekicks (spider pig - wtf?) and not-so-ironic father& son stories. Too bad... and as usual - trailers took away most of the really awesome scenes (Moes Bar...)
  2. TimA.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    Highly, Highly over rated by critics and press critics alike. I absolutely love the Simpsons TV series and have watched it for over 10 years. I was almost afraid to go and watch this because I didn't see the point in them making the film when they had resisted for so long. being highly cynical i feel it is one last cash in before they go and count their cash in retirement. The jokes Highly, Highly over rated by critics and press critics alike. I absolutely love the Simpsons TV series and have watched it for over 10 years. I was almost afraid to go and watch this because I didn't see the point in them making the film when they had resisted for so long. being highly cynical i feel it is one last cash in before they go and count their cash in retirement. The jokes (if some of them can truly be called that) can be seen coming a mile off and lack the brilliant suggestion at deeper comment that made the simpsons so popular in the first place. Bart - one of the principal characters spends the whole film craving Flanders as a father figure which renders him completely impotent with regards to the impact that his normally mischievous character would have. I am going to stop before i get started because this film disappointed me more then any of the last five years. You all know that its rubbish really too, you just want it to be good so you pretend it is or you're too afraid to admit it. This is a criminal waste and an insult to the awesome franchise/legacy that they have spent the best part of the last two decades building up. Expand
  3. PaulL.
    Jan 13, 2008
    5
    This movie is a tad better than the writing that's come out of the Simpson's in the last 5 or so seasons. In other words, it just slightly better than crap.
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    5
    The Simpsons Movie is decent yet disappointing. The film feels like an everyday episode of the show but has it's jokes stretched out too thin. Not as good as it should have been.
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    6
    The Simpsons Movie is simply that.
    A good all around movie capturing the eyes of its target audience. Laughs, a little story, and a good bit of fun all around.
  6. Mar 19, 2015
    5
    I grew up watching 'The Simpsons' TV show, you know, like everybody else in the entire world...so when I heard that they were making a movie out of a TV show that's been on for years and that I'm a huge fan of... you can imagine how excited I was feeling.

    Boy was I disappointed...massively disappointed. 'The Simpsons Movie' is a weak comedy that tries to have a big-scale plot and tries
    I grew up watching 'The Simpsons' TV show, you know, like everybody else in the entire world...so when I heard that they were making a movie out of a TV show that's been on for years and that I'm a huge fan of... you can imagine how excited I was feeling.

    Boy was I disappointed...massively disappointed. 'The Simpsons Movie' is a weak comedy that tries to have a big-scale plot and tries to throw in as many twists as possible, but for me, it just backfired.

    The movie's main focus is about the environment and keeping it safe, Homer, however after adopting a pet pig, makes a stupid decision to dump the "Pig Crap" silo into the river and polluting the environment. Meanwhile, Lisa has fallen for a boy named Collin who shares the same interests about keeping the environment safe. Bart, for reasons of his own, has built a relationship with Ned Flanders simply because Homer is not a good enough father and Flanders respects Bart.

    The family get under attack from the Springfield population after hearing what Homer did and because of his idiotic decision, it led Springfield to be trapped underneath the dome. The family manage to escape and reside in Alaska and start a new life there.

    The voice actors do a great job at showing all of the characters' different emotions as you'd expect since they've been doing this throughout the television show. Obviously, one cannot go wrong with the animation as well.

    My only issues with this film include the humor, it's not very funny. The television show had me laughing with the sarcastic humor and slapstick style. But this movie really scraped the bottom of the barrel here, the "Spider Pig" moment was supposed to be the funniest movie moment of 2007, but I had a straight face throughout the entire sequence...it just was not funny at all.

    The plot was just uninteresting and too big-scale, it did not feel like one long "Simpsons" episode, it just felt like a huge Simpsons movie-wannabe and did not pay off in any way.

    I am disappointed, I do not plan on watching this movie again...unless I am REALLY bored.
    Expand
  7. DanielW.
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    OK, but not great. Critics who raved about this should be required to watch the first few seasons of this show again, just to remind themselves of what the Simpsons represented at their peak -- a family just as significant as the Sopranos. My 7 year-old son laughed at the wiener jokes, and I felt depressingly old remembering just how good this show was years before he was born.
  8. Jun 17, 2011
    4
    This movie was pretty bad. There were some laughs, but they were few and far between. The movie couldn't help but feel like an episode of The Simpsons that went on for way too long. The plot was a little ridiculous even for a cartoon. This movie marked the beginning of the end of my love of The Simpsons. If you are a fan of the show, you will most probably love this movie. But for someoneThis movie was pretty bad. There were some laughs, but they were few and far between. The movie couldn't help but feel like an episode of The Simpsons that went on for way too long. The plot was a little ridiculous even for a cartoon. This movie marked the beginning of the end of my love of The Simpsons. If you are a fan of the show, you will most probably love this movie. But for someone who doesn't watch the show, I do not recommend seeing this movie. Expand
  9. Mar 29, 2012
    4
    My advice to all the Simpsons fans out there: take this movie out of context. Imagine there was no Homer, no Bart, no Springfield. Imagine it was the exact same movie, except made by an indie Director. You may start saying: "Wow, that movie was pretty bad! The only reason I liked it was because I like the Simpsons and go fanboy **** over everything that has their name on it!". Matt, cancelMy advice to all the Simpsons fans out there: take this movie out of context. Imagine there was no Homer, no Bart, no Springfield. Imagine it was the exact same movie, except made by an indie Director. You may start saying: "Wow, that movie was pretty bad! The only reason I liked it was because I like the Simpsons and go fanboy **** over everything that has their name on it!". Matt, cancel the Simpsons, go onto new **** You've already lost your fanbase, now try saving Futurama or just make a new franchise before we lose faith in you. Expand
  10. Nov 2, 2010
    5
    The story was random just like almost every episode from 2000 to present. I laughed a few times but a dome going aroung springfield is not believable. I liked the movie 10 years ago but its gone to crap unfortunately. But there were some funny moments thats why it didnt get a 2.
  11. MarkK
    Jan 9, 2009
    5
    The Simpsons are dead. It went stale after season ten and they haven't made a decent episode since then. If this film was the best they could do then why not just make it into a two part episode? It feels a little draged out with a lot of filler lines and jokes (only a few which are funny). Family Guy and South Park are the way to go.
  12. DrewT.
    Mar 4, 2008
    5
    More disappointment than dislike. I would have been completely satisfied if it was split into about 3 or 4 episodes and then put on TV, or if it were released straight to DVD. Homer may have said it perfectly at the beginning when they're watching the Itchy and Scratchy Movie, he said something along the lines of (possibly misquoted) "Why did we pay to see something at the movies More disappointment than dislike. I would have been completely satisfied if it was split into about 3 or 4 episodes and then put on TV, or if it were released straight to DVD. Homer may have said it perfectly at the beginning when they're watching the Itchy and Scratchy Movie, he said something along the lines of (possibly misquoted) "Why did we pay to see something at the movies that we can see for free on TV?" My thoughts exactly. Expand
  13. EricE
    Jan 15, 2008
    5
    It was alright. Typical later years simpsons, thought it was just a long episode.
  14. Dec 14, 2011
    5
    Only funny if you watch it in theaters. You need an audience to appreciate and laugh hard while watching this. It's also only funny the first time. It lacks the charm and everything else that the show has. I was also discussed by the showing of Bart's penis. The writing was okay. My favorite line was "Spiderpig, Spiderpig, does what ever Spiderpig does, can he swing from a web no he can'tOnly funny if you watch it in theaters. You need an audience to appreciate and laugh hard while watching this. It's also only funny the first time. It lacks the charm and everything else that the show has. I was also discussed by the showing of Bart's penis. The writing was okay. My favorite line was "Spiderpig, Spiderpig, does what ever Spiderpig does, can he swing from a web no he can't he's a pig lookout, lookout for Spiderpig." I'm not sure if that is how you write that line but you understand what I'm getting at. Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2014
    6
    Many fans of The Simpsons Movie were very critical of it. While I understand why, the fact is that many of them just don't realize that this film wasn't made for them. Criticism range from the film not being edgy enough, to the fact that the film didn't take place in Springfield and didn't utilize the side characters much, but again, the film wasn't meant for the die hard Simpsons fan.Many fans of The Simpsons Movie were very critical of it. While I understand why, the fact is that many of them just don't realize that this film wasn't made for them. Criticism range from the film not being edgy enough, to the fact that the film didn't take place in Springfield and didn't utilize the side characters much, but again, the film wasn't meant for the die hard Simpsons fan. While the show has been on for more than a quarter century, prior to the films release, ratings for the show were in the toilet, and it was only being kept alive by syndication and merchandising money. The point of the film was to be childish and geared towards a younger audience. While fans of the show were expecting the film to be extreme like the South Park movie, what they got amounted to little more than a children's movie. The fans were upset, but the studios gamble paid off, as the ratings went up and have continued to be much better. For those who didn't see it, the film focuses on Homer, who made the mistake of polluting the town, to a point where the EPA put a big dome over Springfield to separate it from the rest of the country. As angry town folks form a mob, intent on getting Homer, the family escapes and goes on the run. The film is far from being the best the Simpsons has to offer, but it served it's purpose in attracting younger viewers and raising the ratings. Fans may have been upset with Matt Groening, but what he did saved the show for who knows how many future seasons. The film isn't spectacular, but it was good for introducing new fans to the characters we all know and love. Expand
  16. RobB.
    Aug 2, 2007
    5
    Disappointing for sure. You would think the writers would save some of their best gags for this venue, but it really was not even as good as a good Simpsons TV episode. The hardest I laughed was at the very beginning when the cartoon camera zooms through Springfield to spy on some of the characters, and we see Apu changing the expiration date from 2006 to 2008 on a carton of milk. That Disappointing for sure. You would think the writers would save some of their best gags for this venue, but it really was not even as good as a good Simpsons TV episode. The hardest I laughed was at the very beginning when the cartoon camera zooms through Springfield to spy on some of the characters, and we see Apu changing the expiration date from 2006 to 2008 on a carton of milk. That was the highlight for me. You would be much better off renting a Simpsons season DVD from your local video store. Expand
  17. thinkerrific
    Oct 10, 2007
    5
    I have long loved The Simpsons. In the early years, you got both low-brow humor and brilliant, satirical humor that made the show appealing to all types of viewers. Recent seasons, as many have pointed out, have much less of the intelligent, have-to-be-culturally-aware-to-get-it humor that made it a classic, and much more "Dumb and Dumber" type of humor, relying mostly on gratuitous I have long loved The Simpsons. In the early years, you got both low-brow humor and brilliant, satirical humor that made the show appealing to all types of viewers. Recent seasons, as many have pointed out, have much less of the intelligent, have-to-be-culturally-aware-to-get-it humor that made it a classic, and much more "Dumb and Dumber" type of humor, relying mostly on gratuitous violence, and crass sexual humor. And unfortunately, the movie really was like one long episode of the current show, funny in parts, but mostly pandering to the baser, low-brow elements of society. (Can you say "white trash"?) Which means that although there are a few parts that are funny to people with brains, most of the movie is geared towards low-brow humor. It just isn't that great of a movie. The jokes were often forced, the plot not that engaging, and it just wasn't worth the money. I think a lot of us who have loved the Simpsons for a long time are fooling themselves into thinking that it is still as great as it once was... Sorry, guys, it is not the quality that it once was. This is a two out of four stars kind of movie, that's it. I felt like I accidentally walked into the wrong theater and was watching a mediocre kids movie... Expand
  18. JosephB.
    Jul 27, 2007
    5
    I just got back from the midnight showing of "The Simpsons Movie", and I have to be honest, it wasn't that great! It is much more offensive than my wife and I were thinking it would be going in, and we left with a sick feeling in our mouth as we left the theater. I turned to my wife and asked her if she liked it and she said "I hate this movie!" Please don't take your young kids I just got back from the midnight showing of "The Simpsons Movie", and I have to be honest, it wasn't that great! It is much more offensive than my wife and I were thinking it would be going in, and we left with a sick feeling in our mouth as we left the theater. I turned to my wife and asked her if she liked it and she said "I hate this movie!" Please don't take your young kids to see this movie...it is not a cartoon like the Pixar movies. BEWARE CARING PARENTS!!! Expand
  19. BlobbysB.
    Jul 28, 2007
    5
    Some good site gags. Some funny lines. Average movie at best. Except for main 5 Simpsons - everyone else is barely a cameo.
  20. BenW.
    Jul 29, 2007
    6
    Joseph B.'s review was HILARIOUS. Did you think this was a pixar movie or something? Have you ever even seen the TV show? My opinion...the movie just wasn't all that good. The big screen didn't bring anything new to the simpson legacy. and the jokes were of the same caliber as the tv show. so i don't quite understand the point of making a movie at this point. it Joseph B.'s review was HILARIOUS. Did you think this was a pixar movie or something? Have you ever even seen the TV show? My opinion...the movie just wasn't all that good. The big screen didn't bring anything new to the simpson legacy. and the jokes were of the same caliber as the tv show. so i don't quite understand the point of making a movie at this point. it wasn't bad. but it definitely wasn't as good as it could have been. Expand
  21. LiamL.
    Aug 1, 2007
    4
    Good, but the animation was a bit 'fantasia-esque' and the jokes are particularly worn out by the "leaking" on YouTube.
  22. KenC
    Jan 10, 2008
    5
    Ok - Like the later Simpson's episodes - just missing that IT stuff.
  23. TravisS.
    Jan 3, 2008
    5
    Now i am a simpsons fan... I love the Simpsons better than family guy or American Dad. However, the movie wasn't so great. There was only like one scene with "spider pig" and then he became "Harry Plopper". The movie didnt make the jokes funnier like in the show. There would be a joke and little dialog and thats it. They should of kept the movie like the show. And, although i love Now i am a simpsons fan... I love the Simpsons better than family guy or American Dad. However, the movie wasn't so great. There was only like one scene with "spider pig" and then he became "Harry Plopper". The movie didnt make the jokes funnier like in the show. There would be a joke and little dialog and thats it. They should of kept the movie like the show. And, although i love the Simpsons that was one movie i kept falling asleep in. Expand
  24. JulianC.
    Apr 13, 2008
    4
    It's only 83 minutes, but still feels too long. I think it would have made a brilliant two-part episode on TV. There are several very funny parts, but nothing very sustained. It felt like there was a lot of padding added to make it up to feature length. It was reasonably entertaining on the whole. Probably worth renting. Not terrible, but not especially good either.
  25. DanH.
    Nov 28, 2007
    4
    Made out to be the film of the century. When, in fact, it turned out to be big anti climax. They could've done SO much better.
  26. MartinR.
    Dec 25, 2007
    6
    Is this a movie? Not really, but really good.
  27. HeatherJ
    Dec 31, 2007
    5
    Seriously! I was a lil sad...I paused it took a shower and came back. I ended up finishing it becasue nothing else was on. And this is coming from someone whos dad used to steal cable for them just so they could watch the Simpsons when they were little. NOT IMPRESSED!
  28. AndrewG.
    Jul 27, 2007
    4
    There were a few funny parts - spider pig and seeing Bart's penis, in particular - but overall, it seemed very stale. Most of the jokes were a little off for me, even when others in the theater laughed a lot. Definitely not as good as the show.
  29. MarkW.
    Jul 28, 2007
    4
    I agree whole-heartedly with Joseph B. and C.S. ... this movie had flashes of brilliance which only marginally compensated for a lot of unfunny gags. It really wasn't that good at all. The show has been going downhill since around '98, but I was hoping that the movie (written by some of the Simpsons longstanding creators) would redeem the series. Boy, was I wrong. Maybe the show I agree whole-heartedly with Joseph B. and C.S. ... this movie had flashes of brilliance which only marginally compensated for a lot of unfunny gags. It really wasn't that good at all. The show has been going downhill since around '98, but I was hoping that the movie (written by some of the Simpsons longstanding creators) would redeem the series. Boy, was I wrong. Maybe the show set too high a standard, but I don't think that's any excuse for the movie to be less than would it should have ... it was clever, at times, but is wasn't inspired. To quote C.S., about five reviews below mine, "A very great shame." Expand
  30. MatthewF.
    Jul 29, 2007
    6
    Good but not anywhere great. Good movie to watch when bored.
  31. PittmanW.
    Jul 30, 2007
    5
    Lots of funny jokes but as an entire movie very average. Whereas South Park realized greatness through their adventure in cinematic adaptation, the Simpson movie is just an average episode that happens to be 85 minutes long. Homer said it," why would you pay for something you can get for free?" I'm sad that I did.
  32. KevinR.
    Jul 30, 2007
    4
    About 2/3 of the jokes were just cheesy--I mean like "Take my wife, please" level cheesy. Only a few had any satirical bite. The plot was pretty poorly developed and didn't have much more range than a typical TV episode. Underwhelming!
  33. MichelleN.
    Aug 21, 2007
    5
    It was cute and funny! But I think my expectations were a little high, the storyline was a little too sappy for the Simpsons. However, I still find myself singing Spider Pig!
  34. Don
    Aug 26, 2007
    5
    I'm a huge Simpsons fan and this movie was a big letdown for me. There was no edginess to it, the plot was lame. The audience I saw it with barely laughed and I heard people after say it was "terrible". Definitely not worth it.
  35. AMovieCritic
    Aug 4, 2007
    6
    It's....safe. That's the word to describe the Simpsons Movie...it's safe. It really doesn't take any chances, it does nothing different, it really doesn't try to break any new ground...it's basically an extended episode of the series. Which is...I don't know. Obviously critics found this acceptable, but I really can't. When you look at something It's....safe. That's the word to describe the Simpsons Movie...it's safe. It really doesn't take any chances, it does nothing different, it really doesn't try to break any new ground...it's basically an extended episode of the series. Which is...I don't know. Obviously critics found this acceptable, but I really can't. When you look at something like the South Park movie....(released a mere 2 years after the show's debut,) THAT's how you bring an animated show to the screen. It took big risks, (it was an R-rated musical!) and did things not seen on the show and featured an epic soundtrack and battle scenes...it felt like a movie. And it was much funnier than any episodes of the show. (At the time.) The Simpsons Movie, though, despite being based on a show that's been around for nearly 20 years, disappointingly takes no risks. Don't get me wrong, it's about as funny as most episodes of the series...but it's different to sit at home and laugh at a TV show than to pay to see it in a theater with popcorn, etc. You expect MORE. You expect it to be funnier. It just wasn't. I was reminded of Family Guy's straight-to-DVD movie and couldn't help but wonder why this movie didn't feature the same fate. Despite a whopping 70 million budget, this movie actually feels very small-scale, whereas the South Park movie, for example, felt much larger than anything attempted on the show. Not really helping matters are some corny attempts at emotional moments, the extremely predictable the US government jokes, and the fact that every character in the show besides the Simpson family is basically only there for a cameo. Still, there are laughs to be had and some inspired gags. (The best ones borrow well from a scene from Wrongfully Accused and another from Austin Powers.) And on the rare occasion that the movie does take advantage of its PG-13 rating, we get a pretty funny "dirty joke." Overall, it's a pretty amusing movie but not one that I can recommend seeing in a theater. It's really not a movie, it felt like a collection of episodes of the show, and it really fails to deliver any gigantic laughs or anything unexpected or push the envelope in any way. The decision to play it so safe ultimately results in an unmemorable movie. Expand
  36. Nate
    Aug 6, 2007
    5
    The more i think about it, the less i like the movie. the few serious scenes overwhelmed the rest of it, which was funny but nowhere near classic.
  37. JaredC.
    Jan 11, 2008
    6
    While "The Simpsons Movie" is
  38. conors.
    Jan 11, 2008
    5
    The movie provides nothing new.Homer has to learn to appreciate his family again...no belly laughs but some funny moments.
  39. AaronD
    Jan 8, 2008
    5
    This movie is ok, but I prefer the Simpsons as a tv show. I kind of expected it to be over after about 45 minutes, but it just kept going and I didn't care anymore. And it seemed preachy for absolutely no reason.
  40. RaniS.
    Jul 28, 2007
    6
    Average.
  41. MattR.
    Jul 31, 2007
    4
    Through and through, a waste of time. While it entertained and gave me quite a few laughs, I couldn't help feeling very disappointed in the movie. It might just have been acceptable as a Primetime TV Special. The plot is contrived and stale, and instead of getting rich characters we get quick snippet gags. Theres nothing new here for fans who have seen this plot play out countless Through and through, a waste of time. While it entertained and gave me quite a few laughs, I couldn't help feeling very disappointed in the movie. It might just have been acceptable as a Primetime TV Special. The plot is contrived and stale, and instead of getting rich characters we get quick snippet gags. Theres nothing new here for fans who have seen this plot play out countless times before. Instead of introducing new things that would be impossible on TV, the writers lazily kept the same archetypes going about the same things. Its a shame that this once proud show has bottomed out these past 5 years. Its time to call it quits Simpsons. Expand
  42. Marc
    Aug 15, 2007
    6
    This was sometimes amusing, also the social and political criticism is correct, I can't say I laughed though... Of course I didn't see it on wide-screen with many people around (torrents)... It felt too long, really... a too long episode, and most of the Simpsons characters are mainly extras in this "movie", with maybe one line each somewhere and not particularly interesting nor This was sometimes amusing, also the social and political criticism is correct, I can't say I laughed though... Of course I didn't see it on wide-screen with many people around (torrents)... It felt too long, really... a too long episode, and most of the Simpsons characters are mainly extras in this "movie", with maybe one line each somewhere and not particularly interesting nor funny ones... Also, what happens with the pig? And who cares about this pig? Expand
  43. JoshuaE.
    Aug 16, 2007
    4
    Mediocre at best, The Simpson's Movie is a string of average gags and one liners strung together weakly by the most obvious (read easiest) dumb plot the writers could come up with. There was nothing clever about it and none of the quirky character that earlier incarnations of the show had. Many of the great characters that live in this world are left to rot with only one or two words Mediocre at best, The Simpson's Movie is a string of average gags and one liners strung together weakly by the most obvious (read easiest) dumb plot the writers could come up with. There was nothing clever about it and none of the quirky character that earlier incarnations of the show had. Many of the great characters that live in this world are left to rot with only one or two words to say in the whole movie. With all of the great ideas tossed off in half hour episodes over the years, it's a real shame they couldn't come up with, or save, one last good one for this movie. Expand
  44. AndrewK.
    Aug 19, 2007
    6
    well...what can be said about this movie that hasn't been said already? I'll try and keep it brief. All of us real Simpsons fans haven't been able to watch the show without gagging since somewhere around season ten. I wasn't expecting to like this movie at all. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very funny, although it's true that if the movie had well...what can be said about this movie that hasn't been said already? I'll try and keep it brief. All of us real Simpsons fans haven't been able to watch the show without gagging since somewhere around season ten. I wasn't expecting to like this movie at all. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very funny, although it's true that if the movie had been made ten years ago, it would have been so much more relevant and so much more genuinely funny. It's worth the price of a ticket, but don't expect to be blown away. The fact is that The Simpsons will never be what it once was, and we all just have to face it. Also, the little bits in the film that couldn't have been done on TV (bart's penis, Homer giving the finger, Marge swearing) were funny, though I couldn't help feeling they were out of place. While the show has always been on the edge, there has always been the feeling that they wouldn't go any further even if they could. It just goes against the feel of the show. Whereas South Park has always included that kind of stuff on their show, even if it had to be censored. So the film was just an uncensored episode. Not quite the same with The Simpsons. Just my thoughts on a pretty much unimportant aspect of the film. There's plenty of worse movies you could go see. Expand
  45. LiamP-M
    Dec 16, 2007
    5
    look, this movie is funny; i laughed a lot, but the show isn't suitable for a movie. This is a show about the small life in middle class America. There was no reason for this movie, and, while being very funny, I found it dull overall. Whether or not it's good, this movie will be really sucessful, just for the popularity of the TV series. I'm not sure why the family guy look, this movie is funny; i laughed a lot, but the show isn't suitable for a movie. This is a show about the small life in middle class America. There was no reason for this movie, and, while being very funny, I found it dull overall. Whether or not it's good, this movie will be really sucessful, just for the popularity of the TV series. I'm not sure why the family guy movie worked, but it did, and this doesn't. go see a better movie, and wait for The Simpsons Movie to arrive on DVD. Expand
  46. RaduE.
    Dec 21, 2007
    4
    This movies not that great. If your going to see it, dont get your hopes up like i did, you will be disapointed. The plot lacks real depth (homer screws up, total chaos, all back to normal) and most of the jokes and ideas have been done before on the Simpsons Tv series. This bores you half to death and makes you sub-consciously pick up the dvd case to check how long the movie really is. This movies not that great. If your going to see it, dont get your hopes up like i did, you will be disapointed. The plot lacks real depth (homer screws up, total chaos, all back to normal) and most of the jokes and ideas have been done before on the Simpsons Tv series. This bores you half to death and makes you sub-consciously pick up the dvd case to check how long the movie really is. What's worse, this movie losses it's Simpsons feel, after a while. Maybe the Simpsons just weren't mean for the big screen. All in all its an ok movie, but doesnt live up to the hype. (why doesnt the whole town just dig under the dome)? Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. It's hard not to like it. And in both senses of the phrase, America keeps asking for it.
  2. 63
    It would be a stretch to call The Simpsons Movie more than a crisper, livelier-looking episode of the series. The change in mediums changes nothing.
  3. The result is two-tiered humor, broad enough to appeal to anybody but overlaid with jokes that will be funnier if you know the show.