Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 711 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
542
Mixed:
102
Negative:
67
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
MovieLonely94Nov 2, 2010
spiderpig spiderpig
does whatever a spiderpig does
can he swing from a web
no he can't he's a pig
look out he is a spiderpig
15 of 23 users found this helpful158
All this user's reviews
7
Rox22Feb 12, 2013
While I am an avid Simpsons fan, I do have to admit that this movie did feel more like a really long episode, which was a little disappointment. But, the improved animations and the obvious extra effort from the actors and writers do make forWhile I am an avid Simpsons fan, I do have to admit that this movie did feel more like a really long episode, which was a little disappointment. But, the improved animations and the obvious extra effort from the actors and writers do make for that a bit. For a show that has been on as long as it has, it must be really hard to come up with fresh material. Overall: For the Simpsons it isn't half bad, but this could easily have been cut into a three part episode. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MalamarOct 6, 2014
A wonderful movie, absolutely great any movie with The Simpsons are great its a funny movie with a good story and a great plot i advise you to go see this movie.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
PeterParkerNov 8, 2014
The Simpsons movie it's the best movie of all time.There are all of the characters of the original TV series and a great story with epic events.The best movie ever.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
emlugo123Mar 9, 2015
This movie is freaking hilarious. Probably in my top 10 for the best comedy movies, not kidding. I laughed so hard in some scenes. I overall had a good time with this movie!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
I, personally, could not stop laughing throughout the entire movie. When I got out I realized my parents would not have liked it the least bit (except for the famous Spider Pig scene). Still, it's got some pretty inappropriate stuff in here.I, personally, could not stop laughing throughout the entire movie. When I got out I realized my parents would not have liked it the least bit (except for the famous Spider Pig scene). Still, it's got some pretty inappropriate stuff in here. If you don't care and like stupid stuff, this is definitely your kind of thing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YellowKirbySep 9, 2015
The Simpsons movie is hilarious and has a good story. The only problems are when it gets too random or when it feels like an extended episode. All in all a great movie and a must see for "Simpsons" fans.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
GamecubeLoverJul 26, 2016
I was expecting to give this movie a 10 but I gave it an 8. But the movie is still amazing! Lets talk about why this movie is amazing. One word...spiderpig.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 25, 2011
Probably America's most daring movie ever made....
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
10
libnoDec 11, 2010
This has gotta be one of the best movies ever! It's smart, it's funny, and above all, the story is good. What else do you want from a comedy!?
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JoshiTheCriticJan 26, 2010
This movie was great! It's perfect if you look at the past, and what they did now.
5 of 8 users found this helpful
10
RogerSmith97Apr 24, 2011
1st Of All Thank You Critics!! :)
This Movie Could Not Be Any Better.. So So So So Funny.. I Love The Cast.. This Movie Has Some Moments I Will Never Forget! The Best Movie Of 07! The Writing ROX!
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
7
IsaacVJan 28, 2010
I thought this was pretty funny. 3/5 stars from me!
2 of 4 users found this helpful
8
GavGav96Dec 4, 2010
It may seem more like a prolonged episode than anything else, but it is both way more funny as well as serious, resulting in a great first film for 'The Simpsons'. Both fans (and some who aren't) will adore this movie.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
One Of The Best Movies Of All Time!
The Simpsons Is The Best T.V. Show Of All Time!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
MariofanJan 17, 2015
The Simpsons Movie is one of the best movies of all time! The series has been going on for a long time with great episodes and this movie was awesome. It is really funny. It has a cool storyline. The voice actors are all back. This movie wasThe Simpsons Movie is one of the best movies of all time! The series has been going on for a long time with great episodes and this movie was awesome. It is really funny. It has a cool storyline. The voice actors are all back. This movie was a great movie and I highly recommend you watch it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
sufiHMay 2, 2009
I loved this movie!I am a huge fan of the simpsons and i didnt think there was something to make me like it even more but I was WRONG! It still isnt perfect and i know that they could have made it much better but this is also good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MadMaxFuryRoadOct 30, 2015
The Simpsons Movie! I don't even know what to say... I'm speechless. I was extremely blown away by the amount of humor in this film. I had to pause the T.V. and watch it around 10 times, before it got over it! I have not seen any of theThe Simpsons Movie! I don't even know what to say... I'm speechless. I was extremely blown away by the amount of humor in this film. I had to pause the T.V. and watch it around 10 times, before it got over it! I have not seen any of the Simpsons T.V. shows, and I didn't quite know what to expect, but I was completely satisfied and there was a great amount of heart into it as well. Hope they make a sequel to this and this was near perfect, except for the fact that the film should have been rated PG instead of PG-13 cause it may cause a lot of kids not being able to watch this; but in my opinion, this is ok for them. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
DavidL.Jul 29, 2007
Definitely funny, highly entertaining. There was unfortunately a complete lack of Sideshow Bob and very little Mr Burns. I would say that the writers crossed the line on 3 occasions which was upsetting for this longtime fan. There was no Definitely funny, highly entertaining. There was unfortunately a complete lack of Sideshow Bob and very little Mr Burns. I would say that the writers crossed the line on 3 occasions which was upsetting for this longtime fan. There was no need to see Bart's genitals, Homer giving the middle finger, or Marge using the "G-D" phrase. The writers should be above that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SpongeeeJul 30, 2007
The movie runs parallel with the Simpsons of today. The show reached its prime in the mid to late 90s and has been pretty funny since. The movie itself is pretty funny but fails to reach the prime. Thats ok. It's still way kewl to see The movie runs parallel with the Simpsons of today. The show reached its prime in the mid to late 90s and has been pretty funny since. The movie itself is pretty funny but fails to reach the prime. Thats ok. It's still way kewl to see the Simpsons on large format and the 3D animation really gives it a big world feel which a tv to film transfer needs and deserves. If you liked the Simpsons at any point, go see this movie. Def worth a shot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeG.Jul 30, 2007
Very very funny movie. Simpsons kept constant laughs coming (usually at least once a minute) in its typical style of humor. The only part that was slow was (POSSIBLE SPOILERS) after Homer's family left him in Alaska (END SPOILERS)... Very very funny movie. Simpsons kept constant laughs coming (usually at least once a minute) in its typical style of humor. The only part that was slow was (POSSIBLE SPOILERS) after Homer's family left him in Alaska (END SPOILERS)... But then the movie came back with a hilarious joke (to be continued...). Overall good movie -- but not kid-friendly. A few offensive parts (relating to the Bible and Christianity) but otherwise good. Again, it was FREAKIN HILARIOUS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LuisO.Jul 30, 2007
Give me a break to the person that said "Beware Carig Parents." There is nothing in this movie remotely offensive. And since when is the Simpsons considered a children's show anyway? Most of the jokes on the Simpsons are for a more Give me a break to the person that said "Beware Carig Parents." There is nothing in this movie remotely offensive. And since when is the Simpsons considered a children's show anyway? Most of the jokes on the Simpsons are for a more adult audience and always have been. The only thing this movie does different than the series in that respect is that the jokes can be coupled with more visuals that the uptight sensors at FOX would not approve for normal TV. But nothing offensive in the least. Bottom line, if you already let your kids watch the series, this movie is fine for them. Anyway, I thought the movie was awesome. The characters somehow became alive compared to how they act on TV when it comes to showing real emotion. The movie has some serious scenes and they serve to provide a lot of character development. Much more than what my expectations were for a Simpsons movie I must say. This is not Shakespeare people, it's the Simpsons. This movie will not make converts of people that are not already fans, but if you love the series, you will love the movie, period. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeyK.Aug 10, 2007
Everything that a reasonable person should expect from a Simpsons Movie. Not a great, innovative, or typical film, but the TV show transformed into a feature film in the only way that would work. The humor, while not the absolute best that Everything that a reasonable person should expect from a Simpsons Movie. Not a great, innovative, or typical film, but the TV show transformed into a feature film in the only way that would work. The humor, while not the absolute best that The Simpsons has to offer, hearkens back to the prime of the show. I haven't really watched the show in ages. It got stale, preachy, and unfunny. But this movie really reminded me of how the show used to be great. And good news, all the social and political commentary is right where it belongs: tucked away in snarky comments sprinkled throughout the movie. *Homer flipping through the Bible* "This book doesn't have any answers!" If you ever liked The Simpsons, you'll enjoy this movie, but it's nothing amazing. It's The Simpsons in movie form. That's all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Jo-AnneM.Aug 17, 2007
Enjoyed it so much. Laughed a lot, plan to see it again to catch what I didn't the first time around. Lots of big broad humour, but sly bits tucked in here and there to catch you up and make you roar with hilarity! Tell everyone to see this!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanF.Aug 6, 2007
The first half is a 10, as I was completely involved and laughing hysterically the whole time. (Just about busted a gut when Homer said, "I helped a little".) The sharpness and angles available on the big screen were definitely new and fun. The first half is a 10, as I was completely involved and laughing hysterically the whole time. (Just about busted a gut when Homer said, "I helped a little".) The sharpness and angles available on the big screen were definitely new and fun. But the second half gets a 6, because the jokes are fewer and the plot doesn't have the weight to carry the movie. So 8 it is... It could have been condensed and made into two of the greatest Simpsons episodes of all time, but it was still worth seeing in the theater. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MatthieuRAug 6, 2007
The Simpsons movie was better than I expected, but, as others have pointed out, not quite as good as a top-tier episode. It's true that certain characters are barely in it, while others are too present, but overall this was a lot of The Simpsons movie was better than I expected, but, as others have pointed out, not quite as good as a top-tier episode. It's true that certain characters are barely in it, while others are too present, but overall this was a lot of fun. This movie was bound to be divisive (just read Robert K's tantrum below), but if you like the simpsons, you owe it to yourself to go see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanKellyAug 9, 2007
Smart, sassy and equally moronic The Simpsons Movie is everything a Simpsons fan could have wanted. A few gags where a bit generic but overall I was so happy that the film could achieve this level of quality considering the expectations that Smart, sassy and equally moronic The Simpsons Movie is everything a Simpsons fan could have wanted. A few gags where a bit generic but overall I was so happy that the film could achieve this level of quality considering the expectations that where heaped on it's shoulders., Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FelizN.Sep 9, 2007
Best movie in history of America! As a movie critic, this is kind of an amateur thing, but i highly recommend this film as a great movie! While your at the movies buy some billsberries! I gave it a 100 in my review for the Los Angeles Times, Best movie in history of America! As a movie critic, this is kind of an amateur thing, but i highly recommend this film as a great movie! While your at the movies buy some billsberries! I gave it a 100 in my review for the Los Angeles Times, thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Phil&RoxeeJan 8, 2008
This movie was very funny and crazy and weird and cool ans hot and cute and beautiful and pretty and yellow and long and not long and dark and blue and red and orange and green and purple and that it !!! Good luck to understand !!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexG.Apr 11, 2008
I am very annoyed with people who say that Th Simpsons are staling, ok a couple of the recent episodes haven't been up to the usual standards but they are still going strong this superb film is evident proof that the Simpson are better I am very annoyed with people who say that Th Simpsons are staling, ok a couple of the recent episodes haven't been up to the usual standards but they are still going strong this superb film is evident proof that the Simpson are better than ever before, pure brilliance right down to the last detail. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChuckBDec 2, 2007
Film worth seeing. Real rating would be 8,5, but wanted to give better rating just because some retards are giving it such a low score.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SophieM.Oct 7, 2007
A great movie, and one of the standouts of the summer. Not only is it great to see your favourite characters on the big screen, it's refreshing to see a cartoon in the cinema that isn't computer animated. Is it as good as the early A great movie, and one of the standouts of the summer. Not only is it great to see your favourite characters on the big screen, it's refreshing to see a cartoon in the cinema that isn't computer animated. Is it as good as the early Simpsons episodes? No, but aside from Futurama, nothing else is. The movie does a sublime job of reminding you of the wit and good humour of earlier episodes, and that makes a good movie in itself. I highly recommend this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillieM.Oct 9, 2007
Bloody hell, this movie rocks!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SimpleGuyJul 27, 2007
Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected Good Movie.. Mel presented Westerners as the Saviours at the end of the Movie but in fact they were they real invaders and conquerers.. And he also presented the Mayans as Savages when these people respected each other and also respected nature.. Really disappointed at Mel.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyFake_dudeJul 27, 2007
Best. Movie. Ever. I laughed until it hurt, then laughed some more. Then I watched a second showing of the film. This is, in my opinion, the best motion picture ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BJN.Jul 27, 2007
So much fun and laughs a plenty.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattAJul 27, 2007
Being a longtime simpson fan, i can just say that hearing anything about this movie put my stomach in knots. Luckily, this movie met all my expectations, and the writers always had a knack for getting laughs out of the unexpected. The laughs Being a longtime simpson fan, i can just say that hearing anything about this movie put my stomach in knots. Luckily, this movie met all my expectations, and the writers always had a knack for getting laughs out of the unexpected. The laughs are genuine, and often, not low-brow. I couldn't of asked for more. Job well done! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveS.Jul 28, 2007
First half of the movie was non-stop laughs in the theater. The laughs slowed down some in the second half, but not sure they could have (or should have) sustained the pace set earlier. Very funny, very well done, very Simpsons!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottJul 28, 2007
Nearly perfect. Hilarious through and through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TimJul 29, 2007
Flawlessly hilarious.
Ima go see it 1 or 2 more times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jul 30, 2007
I thought it was pretty funny. It easily kept my attention because of all the jokes and excitement. People who're easily offended may not like the movie, it's not made by Pixar and is not supposed to be a Pixar movie so don't I thought it was pretty funny. It easily kept my attention because of all the jokes and excitement. People who're easily offended may not like the movie, it's not made by Pixar and is not supposed to be a Pixar movie so don't expect it to be one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidT.Jul 30, 2007
Brilliant. A breath of fresh air after a lack luster summer of formula-driven unoriginal sequels.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ScottS.Jul 30, 2007
Excellent. Those offended have not been paying attention to the TV show, or don't understand what The Simpson's are about. America's first family make their leap to the big screen in the exact manner they should: wittily, Excellent. Those offended have not been paying attention to the TV show, or don't understand what The Simpson's are about. America's first family make their leap to the big screen in the exact manner they should: wittily, lovingly, and, of course, subversively. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanPAug 14, 2007
I haven't been a fan since the 11th season ended with more and more mindless stupidity and poor writing, but the film was a pleasant surprise. Still dumb and random and not nearly as intelligent as Season 4 or 5, but at least it was I haven't been a fan since the 11th season ended with more and more mindless stupidity and poor writing, but the film was a pleasant surprise. Still dumb and random and not nearly as intelligent as Season 4 or 5, but at least it was along the same level as season 9 or 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WalterAug 15, 2007
I am a Simpson's fanatic...this was a good movie, not a great one. It's basically a long Simpson's episode. It was funny, not hysterical, good not great, and recommendable, but not must-see. For a script that took so many I am a Simpson's fanatic...this was a good movie, not a great one. It's basically a long Simpson's episode. It was funny, not hysterical, good not great, and recommendable, but not must-see. For a script that took so many years to put together, it might've been better, but overall a good movie with good laughs, just not great laughs. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RienyeNAug 15, 2007
I have to admit i had high expectations for this movie and even though it didn't disappoint, i still feel there was something missing...or it felt like an ultra-long episode of the series. All in all, it was great for laughs and very I have to admit i had high expectations for this movie and even though it didn't disappoint, i still feel there was something missing...or it felt like an ultra-long episode of the series. All in all, it was great for laughs and very entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RockPaperScissorsAug 2, 2007
The critics should go back and upgrade the Simpsons movie to universal acclaim status. Because this is hilariously delicious movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisVAug 21, 2007
Its an ok movie, not great, but... ill definitely buy it on dvd when it comes out.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
dd.Aug 26, 2007
The best and nothing short of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JexxaS.Aug 30, 2007
I don't think there were any flaws in the film. It wasn't like a normal Simpsons episode because it was a bigger adventure but it was just as funny. I feel that the writers were more daring than normal in some of their gags such as I don't think there were any flaws in the film. It wasn't like a normal Simpsons episode because it was a bigger adventure but it was just as funny. I feel that the writers were more daring than normal in some of their gags such as when Bart was skateboarding or when Homer was going down the sandpit. A great film and I will definitely be getting it on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackB.Aug 9, 2007
I thought this was a good movie, some of it was inappropriate for kids, and some of it was kid-friendly. The main plot of the story was global warming. One flaw of this movie was they milked spider-pig so much, he was only in the movie for I thought this was a good movie, some of it was inappropriate for kids, and some of it was kid-friendly. The main plot of the story was global warming. One flaw of this movie was they milked spider-pig so much, he was only in the movie for about 5 minutes. overall, I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
OligamiSep 1, 2007
I really like the show, and the movie doesn't dissapoint. I expected more jokes though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ColinCSep 5, 2007
Good fun. I you like the Simpsons, you'll enjoy this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeremyXJan 18, 2008
I agree, some of the newer Simpsons episodes of the last 3 series' have been pretty bad, but I know I will watch them again and realise that it is really funny. I thought that the Simpsons was getting bad since around series 13 or so, I agree, some of the newer Simpsons episodes of the last 3 series' have been pretty bad, but I know I will watch them again and realise that it is really funny. I thought that the Simpsons was getting bad since around series 13 or so, but I watch the episodes again and found that the jokes are among the funniest. The Simpsons should keep going, and this film has proven this. The film itself had a laugh almost every minute until it became more and more serious, but you can tell that even then the writers didn't take it too seriously. The Simpsons Movie was produced by almost all the executive producers has ever had and even though some of us expected better, I'm sure they will make up for it in the next movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ArthurXJan 21, 2008
I came for laughs, and this movie delivered. The first 30 minutes alone is worth the ticket/movie price.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LincLinkJan 21, 2008
I LOVED the film. I am especially thrilled when they deal with Shamanism, or anything Spiritual and/or Psychedelic on the show...and the Northern Shamanita was GREAT; funny, moving and gorgeous animation to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamTJan 25, 2008
Although funny and clever at times, The Simpsons Movie is basically just an extended episode. No giant plot twists, and you feel that some of the characters have been left out or given a very brief moment on screen. Then again, over 20 years Although funny and clever at times, The Simpsons Movie is basically just an extended episode. No giant plot twists, and you feel that some of the characters have been left out or given a very brief moment on screen. Then again, over 20 years of Episodes means that it might be just a bit hard to fit them into 80 minutes. If you love everything Simpson, watch this but be prepared to be a tad disappointed. If you aren't a fan, then you'll just be watching some other animated movie. Not bad, it just has way too much legacy to live up to for it to become a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PriyanthT.Jan 31, 2008
really funny but still not like the tv show.the advantage is that it is longer than the tv show and its a good entertainer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleT.Jan 4, 2008
Yoyu people are crazy. What the hell is wrong withyou. The Simpsons was hella funny. you guys have no sense of humor. You are crazy to rate the Simpsons a 2 or a 3. Just Crazy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryH.May 10, 2008
Fresh and entertainingly hilarious but limited with its run time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarlenMJul 27, 2008
Like watching a ninety minute-long episode of the Simpsons, but a bit funnier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Nov 12, 2007
You people who rated it badly are retarded. That is all. I, ost of the critics, and everyone in the theater laughed all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenCNov 17, 2007
It was so cool to finally see the Simpsons on the big screen. The good and bad thing about this film is that it's basically just an extended episode of the show, the earlier seasons mind you. If you're a fan of the show you'll It was so cool to finally see the Simpsons on the big screen. The good and bad thing about this film is that it's basically just an extended episode of the show, the earlier seasons mind you. If you're a fan of the show you'll probably get some enjoymnet out of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SuperManNov 7, 2007
Longer, Darker, Funnier, BETTER than ANY Simpsons episode.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveKOct 19, 2007
Repeat after me, parents... This is NOT a kids movie. This is NOT a kids movie. Just because it's animated does NOT make it a kids' movie. The first 30 minutes are incredibly hilarious, it drags a bit, but then again we've Repeat after me, parents... This is NOT a kids movie. This is NOT a kids movie. Just because it's animated does NOT make it a kids' movie. The first 30 minutes are incredibly hilarious, it drags a bit, but then again we've never seen a feature-length Simpsons before. The audience hasn't been primed for a Simpsons experience this long or drawn out. In the end, it is an entertaining movie with some nice little treats for those who've followed the Simpsons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonmous]Dec 21, 2007
Better than expected. Along the lines of some of the funniest classic episodes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
XavierJDec 8, 2007
The Simpsons Movie was a good movie but I didn't find some other things funny like "spider pig", thought that was just silly. But the film is worth seeing, especially after the first half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CooelDec 9, 2007
Officially the funniest film I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PabloR.Jul 27, 2007
The Simpsons the movie is like a long, great episode. Much better than most episodes we've seen in the recent years. It has great animation, lots of humour, some novelties for the family, but basically it builds on all that we get to The Simpsons the movie is like a long, great episode. Much better than most episodes we've seen in the recent years. It has great animation, lots of humour, some novelties for the family, but basically it builds on all that we get to love about the Springfield family in these almost 20 years. It makes fun of itself brilliantly and has some nasty humour we didn't get to see on the TV series. If you are a fan you will laugh from start to finish, but I am not so sure that people than aren't into think kind of humour will like it. This is more like an adult cartoon, but I think that most kids nowadays love The Simpsons too. This is probably a movie that most people will love, just like Homer falls in love with that pig! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MK.Jul 27, 2007
Just returned from a midnight showing... Simply, It was funny, in the Simpsons way. It basically makes fun of itself using previously established ideas from "Simpsons" on TV. When you can make fun of yourself and make your old friends laugh, Just returned from a midnight showing... Simply, It was funny, in the Simpsons way. It basically makes fun of itself using previously established ideas from "Simpsons" on TV. When you can make fun of yourself and make your old friends laugh, you deserve some respect (esp using medium differences). It's a great mix of slapstick humor and good writing. Visually, it the best looking Simpsons ever with 3D models for objects and backgrounds. Although it may feel like a long special episode of Simpsons without commercials, it's pulls some jokes you cant really DO on TV. If you love Simpsons, you cant miss it... it's an instant classic. I really liked it, but I just cant shake off the feeling of watching a long episode of Simpsons without those nasty commercials. It's a good thing and a bad thing at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
guy!Jul 28, 2007
Funniest movie you'll ever see, I guarantee it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VEKTAJul 28, 2007
Funniest Movie Ever! A continuous laugh out loud riot. Even the story was comical. This is an instant favorite, a film to see again an again. I guess you can call this "The Simpsons like you never seen them before. Overall this is 11/10 Funniest Movie Ever! A continuous laugh out loud riot. Even the story was comical. This is an instant favorite, a film to see again an again. I guess you can call this "The Simpsons like you never seen them before. Overall this is 11/10 film. Best movie all summer. Best movie ever! Extremely Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
steveJul 28, 2007
Haven't watched the last 5 or so seasons, but this film did not disappoint. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanS.Jul 28, 2007
Just watched the movie yesterday evening and found it pretty good. First i feared that i wouldn't like the design, artwork and drawings, but in the end i was really satisfied with all of these points. Yes and the movie was a real lot of Just watched the movie yesterday evening and found it pretty good. First i feared that i wouldn't like the design, artwork and drawings, but in the end i was really satisfied with all of these points. Yes and the movie was a real lot of fun, couldn't stop laughing for like 10 minutes in the beginning. All together one of the best movies in cinema for some time. 9/10 from me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewA.Jul 28, 2007
Best. Episode. Ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrysA.Jul 28, 2007
Great movie. This will please all Simpson's fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Jul 28, 2007
Epic? No. Good? Yes. The Simpsons movie had a wonderful story that unfolded almost perfectly. It had its share of great laughs, too. It was definitely worth the money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sReJul 28, 2007
Nothing short of brilliant satire that will fly over middle America's heads, but has enough pig crap and fat jokes to satisfy its base.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WaldysP.Jul 29, 2007
The movie is excellent, I laughed from beginning to end. I recommend it to anyone who understand Homer and his fellows. Go to watch it, you won't be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jul 29, 2007
(7.5) When this movie's on its on fire. Unfortunately it can't keep this up for the entirety and there are long stretches where the jokes die down but at least never become embarrassing like in many of the new episodes. Its also (7.5) When this movie's on its on fire. Unfortunately it can't keep this up for the entirety and there are long stretches where the jokes die down but at least never become embarrassing like in many of the new episodes. Its also interesting to watch an episode of the Simpsons with a crowded theater. You get a little insight into why the humor went down the toilet. Every hilariously, satirical joke I found myself and four others laughing. But when Homer hurts himself for the fifteenth time in the movie the theater goes wild. The writers knew this and ended the movie on such a note. Its just a shame that it might have been their last joke, though, it is fitting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidH.Jul 30, 2007
Funnier than the show has been in a long time, though not quite up to the quality of early seasons. Relies a little too heavily on slapstick, but I suppose that's only to help it play to a broader audience much of which were not brought Funnier than the show has been in a long time, though not quite up to the quality of early seasons. Relies a little too heavily on slapstick, but I suppose that's only to help it play to a broader audience much of which were not brought up on Gen-X cynicism. Enjoyable, but doesn't fully take advantage of the cinematic medium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentD.Jul 31, 2007
The Simpsons movie was brilliant. I loves the new crisper look, it looked great! I would differently go and buy the DVD when it comes out. Many, many funner jokes throughout the movie kept me laughing the entire time. Very impressed. Now The Simpsons movie was brilliant. I loves the new crisper look, it looked great! I would differently go and buy the DVD when it comes out. Many, many funner jokes throughout the movie kept me laughing the entire time. Very impressed. Now will they make an Itchy and Scratchy Movie?????? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DF.Jul 31, 2007
As a life long Simpsons fan i went in with high expectations. Unfortunately, the script seems like it could have just as easily been a normal, 22 minute episode. I find it hard to believe this story would have been years in the making. The As a life long Simpsons fan i went in with high expectations. Unfortunately, the script seems like it could have just as easily been a normal, 22 minute episode. I find it hard to believe this story would have been years in the making. The lack of lines from several of Springfield's key residents (skinner, burns) was also disappointing. Aside from these miscues, it still is The Simpsons and is worth seeing for that reason alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CL.Jul 30, 2007
Personally I absolutely loved it! people who call the movie "offensive" should wear extra padding on their helmets; fluffy mittens; and an extra layer of sunblock to protect their delicate skin from the harsh rays emanating from the sun. Personally I absolutely loved it! people who call the movie "offensive" should wear extra padding on their helmets; fluffy mittens; and an extra layer of sunblock to protect their delicate skin from the harsh rays emanating from the sun. that "sick feeling" in your stomach -Joseph B.- is probably your head. to alleviate it, just place your hands on your butt cheeks and push. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasC.Jul 30, 2007
I'm not quite sure what Joseph B. was thinking when he suggested not to take young kids to see this movie. This is The Simpsons, and unless you've been in a hole for the past 18 years, the comedic stylings of Mr. James L. Brooks I'm not quite sure what Joseph B. was thinking when he suggested not to take young kids to see this movie. This is The Simpsons, and unless you've been in a hole for the past 18 years, the comedic stylings of Mr. James L. Brooks and the rest of the team are those of witty, intellectual tones. The movie is rated PG-13 for a reason: Most kids under the age of 13 won't see this as anything more than a visual roller coaster ride. This movie was worth waiting the 18 years for. Jokes were carefully crafted and characters filled their roles exactly how we've come to know them over 400+ episodes. If you are not a fan of The Simpsons, you may not enjoy this movie. That being said, any Simpsons fan would be foolish not to see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeAug 2, 2007
One word sums up this hilarious film: Spiderpig.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomE.Aug 2, 2007
This is the funniest movie ever period. I was laughing pretty much every second and the story is perfect for the movie. And homer swearing at the towns people is the icing on the cake!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DannyV.V.Aug 2, 2007
I think the Simpsons movie way overshot my expectations, as they were very low. The last few seasons can be called "disappointing" at best. The movie was pretty funny, but sometimes, especially at the beginning, it tries to cram too many I think the Simpsons movie way overshot my expectations, as they were very low. The last few seasons can be called "disappointing" at best. The movie was pretty funny, but sometimes, especially at the beginning, it tries to cram too many jokes into one scene, making it look like it was trying too hard. Overall, the movie was very touching and hilarious at moments, although if you really want to laugh your a** off, go watch Borat. [***SPOILER***] Can't wait for, as maggie says at the end, the "sequel". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JDAug 24, 2007
One thing you need to understand going into this movie is that it holds little resemblance to what the legendary, historic, landmark television show did for the first 18 years. That being said, I've NEVER laughed as loud and One thing you need to understand going into this movie is that it holds little resemblance to what the legendary, historic, landmark television show did for the first 18 years. That being said, I've NEVER laughed as loud and consistently than I did during the SIMPSONS movie. One word of caution : the raunchy matches the riot. This movie is much more crass than I'd expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ComicBookGuyAug 6, 2007
Best movie adaption of a cartoon series ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ABSep 7, 2007
Considering the fact that "The Simpsons Movie" is based on one of the most hilarious shows ever created, the execution of this high concept is a slight disappointment. The movie is generally great, but, at times, the dialogue and stereotypes Considering the fact that "The Simpsons Movie" is based on one of the most hilarious shows ever created, the execution of this high concept is a slight disappointment. The movie is generally great, but, at times, the dialogue and stereotypes become clichéd. Thankfully, some great moments keep "The Simpsons Movie" far from mediocrity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewNNov 10, 2008
Brilliant for the first 30 minutes but slid into relative mediocrity after that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VinothJan 12, 2008
not the funniest simpson compared to the TV show
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hollycJan 5, 2008
Unexpectedly laughed quite a bit during The Simpson's Movie---I have to admit, after about the first 6 or 7 seasons, I stopped watching the TV show religiously (I catch it from time to time), so my expectations weren't too high for Unexpectedly laughed quite a bit during The Simpson's Movie---I have to admit, after about the first 6 or 7 seasons, I stopped watching the TV show religiously (I catch it from time to time), so my expectations weren't too high for the movie. However, I was very surprised at the caliber of stuff in the film--even though, by most movie standards, I don't think they were aiming that high. Still though, "spiderpig" had me rolling---especially with the full backing choral orchestra doing it. Bravo to the Simpson's crew and Matt Groening--on making a really enjoyable film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisR.Mar 16, 2008
This movies is exactly what its title implies; The humor and characterizations are almost exactly the same as in the show, and the storyline doesn't feel too much like a Simpson's episode that you wonder how they turned it into a This movies is exactly what its title implies; The humor and characterizations are almost exactly the same as in the show, and the storyline doesn't feel too much like a Simpson's episode that you wonder how they turned it into a movie. Now as a Simpson's fan, I could appreciate the themes also, because they're so reminiscent of the earlier seasons. If you've never seen the show, some of it might go over your head, but it won't be anything that'll stop you understanding the movie or its jokes. A must see for fans and non-fans alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TommyN.Dec 18, 2007
True that The Simpsons Movie beats Bigger, Longer and Uncut. And South Park... make sure to swear it right to make it funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrandonS.Dec 19, 2007
It was an enjoyable movie, but hardly amazing. Better than South Park, but not as good as Beavis and Butt-head Do America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterJ.Dec 28, 2007
Goodsolid movie. I was not expecting it to be as good as it actually was. I took away 1 point for the penis scene though...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
willa.Dec 31, 2007
Good but they could have done better by including more deleted scences and more behind the scenes stuff but still worth the 20$ when on sale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickyQ.Jul 27, 2007
I just came back from the theater and I must say the movie was really good, but not as amazing as it could have been. I'm not saying I'm disappointed because I never expected this to be perfect, it just doesn't achieve the I just came back from the theater and I must say the movie was really good, but not as amazing as it could have been. I'm not saying I'm disappointed because I never expected this to be perfect, it just doesn't achieve the classic status of the episodes from the earlier seasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful