Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: July 27, 2007
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 721 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
552
Mixed:
102
Negative:
67
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
ArthurXJan 21, 2008
I came for laughs, and this movie delivered. The first 30 minutes alone is worth the ticket/movie price.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LincLinkJan 21, 2008
I LOVED the film. I am especially thrilled when they deal with Shamanism, or anything Spiritual and/or Psychedelic on the show...and the Northern Shamanita was GREAT; funny, moving and gorgeous animation to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
WilliamTJan 25, 2008
Although funny and clever at times, The Simpsons Movie is basically just an extended episode. No giant plot twists, and you feel that some of the characters have been left out or given a very brief moment on screen. Then again, over 20 years Although funny and clever at times, The Simpsons Movie is basically just an extended episode. No giant plot twists, and you feel that some of the characters have been left out or given a very brief moment on screen. Then again, over 20 years of Episodes means that it might be just a bit hard to fit them into 80 minutes. If you love everything Simpson, watch this but be prepared to be a tad disappointed. If you aren't a fan, then you'll just be watching some other animated movie. Not bad, it just has way too much legacy to live up to for it to become a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TravisS.Jan 3, 2008
Now i am a simpsons fan... I love the Simpsons better than family guy or American Dad. However, the movie wasn't so great. There was only like one scene with "spider pig" and then he became "Harry Plopper". The movie didnt make the Now i am a simpsons fan... I love the Simpsons better than family guy or American Dad. However, the movie wasn't so great. There was only like one scene with "spider pig" and then he became "Harry Plopper". The movie didnt make the jokes funnier like in the show. There would be a joke and little dialog and thats it. They should of kept the movie like the show. And, although i love the Simpsons that was one movie i kept falling asleep in. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PriyanthT.Jan 31, 2008
really funny but still not like the tv show.the advantage is that it is longer than the tv show and its a good entertainer.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichelleT.Jan 4, 2008
Yoyu people are crazy. What the hell is wrong withyou. The Simpsons was hella funny. you guys have no sense of humor. You are crazy to rate the Simpsons a 2 or a 3. Just Crazy
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JulianC.Apr 13, 2008
It's only 83 minutes, but still feels too long. I think it would have made a brilliant two-part episode on TV. There are several very funny parts, but nothing very sustained. It felt like there was a lot of padding added to make it up It's only 83 minutes, but still feels too long. I think it would have made a brilliant two-part episode on TV. There are several very funny parts, but nothing very sustained. It felt like there was a lot of padding added to make it up to feature length. It was reasonably entertaining on the whole. Probably worth renting. Not terrible, but not especially good either. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaryH.May 10, 2008
Fresh and entertainingly hilarious but limited with its run time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HarlenMJul 27, 2008
Like watching a ninety minute-long episode of the Simpsons, but a bit funnier.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanD.Nov 12, 2007
You people who rated it badly are retarded. That is all. I, ost of the critics, and everyone in the theater laughed all the way through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BenCNov 17, 2007
It was so cool to finally see the Simpsons on the big screen. The good and bad thing about this film is that it's basically just an extended episode of the show, the earlier seasons mind you. If you're a fan of the show you'll It was so cool to finally see the Simpsons on the big screen. The good and bad thing about this film is that it's basically just an extended episode of the show, the earlier seasons mind you. If you're a fan of the show you'll probably get some enjoymnet out of this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DanH.Nov 28, 2007
Made out to be the film of the century. When, in fact, it turned out to be big anti climax. They could've done SO much better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
PoopInNov 4, 2007
Awful! I was very disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankGNov 5, 2007
Very boring through. I gave it a 1 b/c i think I laughed once through the whole of the film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BobT.Nov 6, 2007
Yes, this movie was, in essence, a longer Simpsons episode... It follows the same exact formula as 90% of said episodes. Homer does something stupid, changes the lives of the family (for the time being, until the end when "everything's Yes, this movie was, in essence, a longer Simpsons episode... It follows the same exact formula as 90% of said episodes. Homer does something stupid, changes the lives of the family (for the time being, until the end when "everything's back to normal"), (spoiler) Marge leaves Homer and takes the kids (the wedding video thing made me want to shoot myself), Homer comes to his senses and fixes everything (here it comes... "everything's back to normal"). The End. All that's different is that it's longer. The formula brought all the fans to see it, and, like mindless drones, they all said it was wonderful, well, I wanted to be wonderful... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SuperManNov 7, 2007
Longer, Darker, Funnier, BETTER than ANY Simpsons episode.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SteveKOct 19, 2007
Repeat after me, parents... This is NOT a kids movie. This is NOT a kids movie. Just because it's animated does NOT make it a kids' movie. The first 30 minutes are incredibly hilarious, it drags a bit, but then again we've Repeat after me, parents... This is NOT a kids movie. This is NOT a kids movie. Just because it's animated does NOT make it a kids' movie. The first 30 minutes are incredibly hilarious, it drags a bit, but then again we've never seen a feature-length Simpsons before. The audience hasn't been primed for a Simpsons experience this long or drawn out. In the end, it is an entertaining movie with some nice little treats for those who've followed the Simpsons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonmous]Dec 21, 2007
Better than expected. Along the lines of some of the funniest classic episodes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
poopmgeeDec 23, 2007
I was disappointed. Did not laugh once.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinR.Dec 25, 2007
Is this a movie? Not really, but really good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HeatherJDec 31, 2007
Seriously! I was a lil sad...I paused it took a shower and came back. I ended up finishing it becasue nothing else was on. And this is coming from someone whos dad used to steal cable for them just so they could watch the Simpsons when they Seriously! I was a lil sad...I paused it took a shower and came back. I ended up finishing it becasue nothing else was on. And this is coming from someone whos dad used to steal cable for them just so they could watch the Simpsons when they were little. NOT IMPRESSED! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
XavierJDec 8, 2007
The Simpsons Movie was a good movie but I didn't find some other things funny like "spider pig", thought that was just silly. But the film is worth seeing, especially after the first half.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CooelDec 9, 2007
Officially the funniest film I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JerkGuyOct 4, 2007
I walked out half way through this movie, I just couldn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PabloR.Jul 27, 2007
The Simpsons the movie is like a long, great episode. Much better than most episodes we've seen in the recent years. It has great animation, lots of humour, some novelties for the family, but basically it builds on all that we get to The Simpsons the movie is like a long, great episode. Much better than most episodes we've seen in the recent years. It has great animation, lots of humour, some novelties for the family, but basically it builds on all that we get to love about the Springfield family in these almost 20 years. It makes fun of itself brilliantly and has some nasty humour we didn't get to see on the TV series. If you are a fan you will laugh from start to finish, but I am not so sure that people than aren't into think kind of humour will like it. This is more like an adult cartoon, but I think that most kids nowadays love The Simpsons too. This is probably a movie that most people will love, just like Homer falls in love with that pig! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AndrewG.Jul 27, 2007
There were a few funny parts - spider pig and seeing Bart's penis, in particular - but overall, it seemed very stale. Most of the jokes were a little off for me, even when others in the theater laughed a lot. Definitely not as good as the show.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MK.Jul 27, 2007
Just returned from a midnight showing... Simply, It was funny, in the Simpsons way. It basically makes fun of itself using previously established ideas from "Simpsons" on TV. When you can make fun of yourself and make your old friends laugh, Just returned from a midnight showing... Simply, It was funny, in the Simpsons way. It basically makes fun of itself using previously established ideas from "Simpsons" on TV. When you can make fun of yourself and make your old friends laugh, you deserve some respect (esp using medium differences). It's a great mix of slapstick humor and good writing. Visually, it the best looking Simpsons ever with 3D models for objects and backgrounds. Although it may feel like a long special episode of Simpsons without commercials, it's pulls some jokes you cant really DO on TV. If you love Simpsons, you cant miss it... it's an instant classic. I really liked it, but I just cant shake off the feeling of watching a long episode of Simpsons without those nasty commercials. It's a good thing and a bad thing at the same time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
guy!Jul 28, 2007
Funniest movie you'll ever see, I guarantee it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VEKTAJul 28, 2007
Funniest Movie Ever! A continuous laugh out loud riot. Even the story was comical. This is an instant favorite, a film to see again an again. I guess you can call this "The Simpsons like you never seen them before. Overall this is 11/10 Funniest Movie Ever! A continuous laugh out loud riot. Even the story was comical. This is an instant favorite, a film to see again an again. I guess you can call this "The Simpsons like you never seen them before. Overall this is 11/10 film. Best movie all summer. Best movie ever! Extremely Recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
steveJul 28, 2007
Haven't watched the last 5 or so seasons, but this film did not disappoint. Highly recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JanS.Jul 28, 2007
Just watched the movie yesterday evening and found it pretty good. First i feared that i wouldn't like the design, artwork and drawings, but in the end i was really satisfied with all of these points. Yes and the movie was a real lot of Just watched the movie yesterday evening and found it pretty good. First i feared that i wouldn't like the design, artwork and drawings, but in the end i was really satisfied with all of these points. Yes and the movie was a real lot of fun, couldn't stop laughing for like 10 minutes in the beginning. All together one of the best movies in cinema for some time. 9/10 from me Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewA.Jul 28, 2007
Best. Episode. Ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MarkW.Jul 28, 2007
I agree whole-heartedly with Joseph B. and C.S. ... this movie had flashes of brilliance which only marginally compensated for a lot of unfunny gags. It really wasn't that good at all. The show has been going downhill since around I agree whole-heartedly with Joseph B. and C.S. ... this movie had flashes of brilliance which only marginally compensated for a lot of unfunny gags. It really wasn't that good at all. The show has been going downhill since around '98, but I was hoping that the movie (written by some of the Simpsons longstanding creators) would redeem the series. Boy, was I wrong. Maybe the show set too high a standard, but I don't think that's any excuse for the movie to be less than would it should have ... it was clever, at times, but is wasn't inspired. To quote C.S., about five reviews below mine, "A very great shame." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KrysA.Jul 28, 2007
Great movie. This will please all Simpson's fans.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
TylerD.Jul 28, 2007
Epic? No. Good? Yes. The Simpsons movie had a wonderful story that unfolded almost perfectly. It had its share of great laughs, too. It was definitely worth the money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
sReJul 28, 2007
Nothing short of brilliant satire that will fly over middle America's heads, but has enough pig crap and fat jokes to satisfy its base.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
WaldysP.Jul 29, 2007
The movie is excellent, I laughed from beginning to end. I recommend it to anyone who understand Homer and his fellows. Go to watch it, you won't be disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
GaborA.Jul 29, 2007
(7.5) When this movie's on its on fire. Unfortunately it can't keep this up for the entirety and there are long stretches where the jokes die down but at least never become embarrassing like in many of the new episodes. Its also (7.5) When this movie's on its on fire. Unfortunately it can't keep this up for the entirety and there are long stretches where the jokes die down but at least never become embarrassing like in many of the new episodes. Its also interesting to watch an episode of the Simpsons with a crowded theater. You get a little insight into why the humor went down the toilet. Every hilariously, satirical joke I found myself and four others laughing. But when Homer hurts himself for the fifteenth time in the movie the theater goes wild. The writers knew this and ended the movie on such a note. Its just a shame that it might have been their last joke, though, it is fitting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MatthewF.Jul 29, 2007
Good but not anywhere great. Good movie to watch when bored.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidH.Jul 30, 2007
Funnier than the show has been in a long time, though not quite up to the quality of early seasons. Relies a little too heavily on slapstick, but I suppose that's only to help it play to a broader audience much of which were not brought Funnier than the show has been in a long time, though not quite up to the quality of early seasons. Relies a little too heavily on slapstick, but I suppose that's only to help it play to a broader audience much of which were not brought up on Gen-X cynicism. Enjoyable, but doesn't fully take advantage of the cinematic medium. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrentD.Jul 31, 2007
The Simpsons movie was brilliant. I loves the new crisper look, it looked great! I would differently go and buy the DVD when it comes out. Many, many funner jokes throughout the movie kept me laughing the entire time. Very impressed. Now The Simpsons movie was brilliant. I loves the new crisper look, it looked great! I would differently go and buy the DVD when it comes out. Many, many funner jokes throughout the movie kept me laughing the entire time. Very impressed. Now will they make an Itchy and Scratchy Movie?????? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PittmanW.Jul 30, 2007
Lots of funny jokes but as an entire movie very average. Whereas South Park realized greatness through their adventure in cinematic adaptation, the Simpson movie is just an average episode that happens to be 85 minutes long. Homer said it," Lots of funny jokes but as an entire movie very average. Whereas South Park realized greatness through their adventure in cinematic adaptation, the Simpson movie is just an average episode that happens to be 85 minutes long. Homer said it," why would you pay for something you can get for free?" I'm sad that I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DF.Jul 31, 2007
As a life long Simpsons fan i went in with high expectations. Unfortunately, the script seems like it could have just as easily been a normal, 22 minute episode. I find it hard to believe this story would have been years in the making. The As a life long Simpsons fan i went in with high expectations. Unfortunately, the script seems like it could have just as easily been a normal, 22 minute episode. I find it hard to believe this story would have been years in the making. The lack of lines from several of Springfield's key residents (skinner, burns) was also disappointing. Aside from these miscues, it still is The Simpsons and is worth seeing for that reason alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CL.Jul 30, 2007
Personally I absolutely loved it! people who call the movie "offensive" should wear extra padding on their helmets; fluffy mittens; and an extra layer of sunblock to protect their delicate skin from the harsh rays emanating from the sun. Personally I absolutely loved it! people who call the movie "offensive" should wear extra padding on their helmets; fluffy mittens; and an extra layer of sunblock to protect their delicate skin from the harsh rays emanating from the sun. that "sick feeling" in your stomach -Joseph B.- is probably your head. to alleviate it, just place your hands on your butt cheeks and push. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThomasC.Jul 30, 2007
I'm not quite sure what Joseph B. was thinking when he suggested not to take young kids to see this movie. This is The Simpsons, and unless you've been in a hole for the past 18 years, the comedic stylings of Mr. James L. Brooks I'm not quite sure what Joseph B. was thinking when he suggested not to take young kids to see this movie. This is The Simpsons, and unless you've been in a hole for the past 18 years, the comedic stylings of Mr. James L. Brooks and the rest of the team are those of witty, intellectual tones. The movie is rated PG-13 for a reason: Most kids under the age of 13 won't see this as anything more than a visual roller coaster ride. This movie was worth waiting the 18 years for. Jokes were carefully crafted and characters filled their roles exactly how we've come to know them over 400+ episodes. If you are not a fan of The Simpsons, you may not enjoy this movie. That being said, any Simpsons fan would be foolish not to see it! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinR.Jul 30, 2007
About 2/3 of the jokes were just cheesy--I mean like "Take my wife, please" level cheesy. Only a few had any satirical bite. The plot was pretty poorly developed and didn't have much more range than a typical TV episode. Underwhelming!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SanjeevB.Aug 19, 2007
I went in kind of excited, given the good reviews. Alas, I was a bit disappointed. Well, fairly disappointed. Okay, lets be honest. I was surprised that the professional critics' reviews were so good. I thought the plot was a copout, I went in kind of excited, given the good reviews. Alas, I was a bit disappointed. Well, fairly disappointed. Okay, lets be honest. I was surprised that the professional critics' reviews were so good. I thought the plot was a copout, and the character stories not so entertaining. When it came down to it, the movie didn't really have anything to say. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MichelleN.Aug 21, 2007
It was cute and funny! But I think my expectations were a little high, the storyline was a little too sappy for the Simpsons. However, I still find myself singing Spider Pig!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RobertK.Aug 2, 2007
Apparently this film went through hundreds of re-writes, even in the making. This shows in the equally numerous plot holes. Characters drop out of the film as quickly as they appear and I was constantly asking myself how the entire town of Apparently this film went through hundreds of re-writes, even in the making. This shows in the equally numerous plot holes. Characters drop out of the film as quickly as they appear and I was constantly asking myself how the entire town of Springfield watched the Simpsons burrow out of the dome and didn't get ideas of their own? Why didn't they all just dig in the first place? WTF. The entire project lacks cohesion as the movie goes in every single way possible but ultimately goes nowhere. The plots are rehashes of stuff done in episodes - basically Lisa falls in love and Homer's stupidity alienates the family. Also, the humour is all that awkward new Simpsons stuff; full of out of place political satire, reality bending physical gags and Homer being stupid beyond belief. If you are one of the morons who still watches the Simpsons, then you will probably like the film, but if you are one of the fans who dropped out around Season 10 then you will loathe it. Thankfully there is only one Mike Scully-ish celebrity cameo - Greenday, who don't fit in at all. I left the cinema wondering why they even bothered with this film. It was a sinking ship from the start (so many writers, so many rewrites) and it really didn't have a purpose. Boo-urns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JoeAug 2, 2007
One word sums up this hilarious film: Spiderpig.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomE.Aug 2, 2007
This is the funniest movie ever period. I was laughing pretty much every second and the story is perfect for the movie. And homer swearing at the towns people is the icing on the cake!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DannyV.V.Aug 2, 2007
I think the Simpsons movie way overshot my expectations, as they were very low. The last few seasons can be called "disappointing" at best. The movie was pretty funny, but sometimes, especially at the beginning, it tries to cram too many I think the Simpsons movie way overshot my expectations, as they were very low. The last few seasons can be called "disappointing" at best. The movie was pretty funny, but sometimes, especially at the beginning, it tries to cram too many jokes into one scene, making it look like it was trying too hard. Overall, the movie was very touching and hilarious at moments, although if you really want to laugh your a** off, go watch Borat. [***SPOILER***] Can't wait for, as maggie says at the end, the "sequel". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JDAug 24, 2007
One thing you need to understand going into this movie is that it holds little resemblance to what the legendary, historic, landmark television show did for the first 18 years. That being said, I've NEVER laughed as loud and One thing you need to understand going into this movie is that it holds little resemblance to what the legendary, historic, landmark television show did for the first 18 years. That being said, I've NEVER laughed as loud and consistently than I did during the SIMPSONS movie. One word of caution : the raunchy matches the riot. This movie is much more crass than I'd expected. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DonAug 26, 2007
I'm a huge Simpsons fan and this movie was a big letdown for me. There was no edginess to it, the plot was lame. The audience I saw it with barely laughed and I heard people after say it was "terrible". Definitely not worth it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticAug 4, 2007
It's....safe. That's the word to describe the Simpsons Movie...it's safe. It really doesn't take any chances, it does nothing different, it really doesn't try to break any new ground...it's basically an extended It's....safe. That's the word to describe the Simpsons Movie...it's safe. It really doesn't take any chances, it does nothing different, it really doesn't try to break any new ground...it's basically an extended episode of the series. Which is...I don't know. Obviously critics found this acceptable, but I really can't. When you look at something like the South Park movie....(released a mere 2 years after the show's debut,) THAT's how you bring an animated show to the screen. It took big risks, (it was an R-rated musical!) and did things not seen on the show and featured an epic soundtrack and battle scenes...it felt like a movie. And it was much funnier than any episodes of the show. (At the time.) The Simpsons Movie, though, despite being based on a show that's been around for nearly 20 years, disappointingly takes no risks. Don't get me wrong, it's about as funny as most episodes of the series...but it's different to sit at home and laugh at a TV show than to pay to see it in a theater with popcorn, etc. You expect MORE. You expect it to be funnier. It just wasn't. I was reminded of Family Guy's straight-to-DVD movie and couldn't help but wonder why this movie didn't feature the same fate. Despite a whopping 70 million budget, this movie actually feels very small-scale, whereas the South Park movie, for example, felt much larger than anything attempted on the show. Not really helping matters are some corny attempts at emotional moments, the extremely predictable the US government jokes, and the fact that every character in the show besides the Simpson family is basically only there for a cameo. Still, there are laughs to be had and some inspired gags. (The best ones borrow well from a scene from Wrongfully Accused and another from Austin Powers.) And on the rare occasion that the movie does take advantage of its PG-13 rating, we get a pretty funny "dirty joke." Overall, it's a pretty amusing movie but not one that I can recommend seeing in a theater. It's really not a movie, it felt like a collection of episodes of the show, and it really fails to deliver any gigantic laughs or anything unexpected or push the envelope in any way. The decision to play it so safe ultimately results in an unmemorable movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ComicBookGuyAug 6, 2007
Best movie adaption of a cartoon series ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
ChrisWAug 6, 2007
Sigh. If only they'd made a movie 10 years or so ago, it could have been a classic. As it is, not so much. Every scene reminded me of something the show has already done . . . Homer falls for a pig; anybody else remember when he fell Sigh. If only they'd made a movie 10 years or so ago, it could have been a classic. As it is, not so much. Every scene reminded me of something the show has already done . . . Homer falls for a pig; anybody else remember when he fell for a lobster? Bart feels neglected . . . remember when Maggie wanted to be part of the Flanders? And again and again, deja vu . . . I always thought the show was at its best when it dealt with small family-oriented bits, like Bart shoplifting, Lisa cheating at school or Homer helping Bart build a soap-box derby car.. Seems now they have some compulsion for Bigger, More Complicated Plots with Wild Locales . . . Boo-urns indeed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NateAug 6, 2007
The more i think about it, the less i like the movie. the few serious scenes overwhelmed the rest of it, which was funny but nowhere near classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TodorL.Sep 12, 2007
Borin ... American animation . I wonder how that can be liked in Europe .. Still some nice graphics but really poor movie .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ABSep 7, 2007
Considering the fact that "The Simpsons Movie" is based on one of the most hilarious shows ever created, the execution of this high concept is a slight disappointment. The movie is generally great, but, at times, the dialogue and stereotypes Considering the fact that "The Simpsons Movie" is based on one of the most hilarious shows ever created, the execution of this high concept is a slight disappointment. The movie is generally great, but, at times, the dialogue and stereotypes become clichéd. Thankfully, some great moments keep "The Simpsons Movie" far from mediocrity. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AndrewNNov 10, 2008
Brilliant for the first 30 minutes but slid into relative mediocrity after that.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JaredC.Jan 11, 2008
While "The Simpsons Movie" is
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
conors.Jan 11, 2008
The movie provides nothing new.Homer has to learn to appreciate his family again...no belly laughs but some funny moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
VinothJan 12, 2008
not the funniest simpson compared to the TV show
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
hollycJan 5, 2008
Unexpectedly laughed quite a bit during The Simpson's Movie---I have to admit, after about the first 6 or 7 seasons, I stopped watching the TV show religiously (I catch it from time to time), so my expectations weren't too high for Unexpectedly laughed quite a bit during The Simpson's Movie---I have to admit, after about the first 6 or 7 seasons, I stopped watching the TV show religiously (I catch it from time to time), so my expectations weren't too high for the movie. However, I was very surprised at the caliber of stuff in the film--even though, by most movie standards, I don't think they were aiming that high. Still though, "spiderpig" had me rolling---especially with the full backing choral orchestra doing it. Bravo to the Simpson's crew and Matt Groening--on making a really enjoyable film. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AaronDJan 8, 2008
This movie is ok, but I prefer the Simpsons as a tv show. I kind of expected it to be over after about 45 minutes, but it just kept going and I didn't care anymore. And it seemed preachy for absolutely no reason.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TravisR.Mar 16, 2008
This movies is exactly what its title implies; The humor and characterizations are almost exactly the same as in the show, and the storyline doesn't feel too much like a Simpson's episode that you wonder how they turned it into a This movies is exactly what its title implies; The humor and characterizations are almost exactly the same as in the show, and the storyline doesn't feel too much like a Simpson's episode that you wonder how they turned it into a movie. Now as a Simpson's fan, I could appreciate the themes also, because they're so reminiscent of the earlier seasons. If you've never seen the show, some of it might go over your head, but it won't be anything that'll stop you understanding the movie or its jokes. A must see for fans and non-fans alike. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Jenk.Oct 16, 2007
The Simpsons TV show is intelligent and funny. This movie was not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TommyN.Dec 18, 2007
True that The Simpsons Movie beats Bigger, Longer and Uncut. And South Park... make sure to swear it right to make it funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BrandonS.Dec 19, 2007
It was an enjoyable movie, but hardly amazing. Better than South Park, but not as good as Beavis and Butt-head Do America.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PeterJ.Dec 28, 2007
Goodsolid movie. I was not expecting it to be as good as it actually was. I took away 1 point for the penis scene though...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
willa.Dec 31, 2007
Good but they could have done better by including more deleted scences and more behind the scenes stuff but still worth the 20$ when on sale.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RickyQ.Jul 27, 2007
I just came back from the theater and I must say the movie was really good, but not as amazing as it could have been. I'm not saying I'm disappointed because I never expected this to be perfect, it just doesn't achieve the I just came back from the theater and I must say the movie was really good, but not as amazing as it could have been. I'm not saying I'm disappointed because I never expected this to be perfect, it just doesn't achieve the classic status of the episodes from the earlier seasons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EricC.Jul 27, 2007
I'm reading some of these reviews and I'm thinking...Are these people on crack? I thought the movie was wonderful. Yeah it's very PG-13 (not PG-13 so it sounds cooler and edgier ...cough ...Harry Potter) The jokes were funny, I'm reading some of these reviews and I'm thinking...Are these people on crack? I thought the movie was wonderful. Yeah it's very PG-13 (not PG-13 so it sounds cooler and edgier ...cough ...Harry Potter) The jokes were funny, the plot sustained itself for 90 minutes, and it actually built on what we love about the show. Ignore the Comic Book Guys and Ned Flanders of the world. This is a move both Homer and Lisa could like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrianA.Jul 27, 2007
The Simpsons moves brilliantly from the small screen to the large screen in one of the funniest films of the year.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BartSimpsonJul 28, 2007
i really liked it, the best episode of the simpsons i have ever seen, good jokes, and it was just fun to watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyK.Jul 28, 2007
Yes! CARING PARENTS BEWARE! Your children need to be sheltered from anything remotely satirical or offensive! Then, they can turn into normal well adjusted emotional cripples. There is nothing in this very funny, very satisfying Simpsons Yes! CARING PARENTS BEWARE! Your children need to be sheltered from anything remotely satirical or offensive! Then, they can turn into normal well adjusted emotional cripples. There is nothing in this very funny, very satisfying Simpsons movie that you aren't already familiar with from the 400+ episodes of the series. Save one memorable scene with Bart skateboarding, that is. Let your kids see it, they'll be better off for it. It's a poignant funny big screen debut for Homer and Co. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TylerG.Jul 28, 2007
Being a Simpsons lover from the beginning. This movie met all my expectations. I didn't know how it would turn out, but I hardly stopped laughing the whole time. I'm going back to the movies to watch this movie again no doubt. It Being a Simpsons lover from the beginning. This movie met all my expectations. I didn't know how it would turn out, but I hardly stopped laughing the whole time. I'm going back to the movies to watch this movie again no doubt. It was non-stop laughs, a must-see for anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChrisK.Jul 28, 2007
Everything a Simpsons fan would love, and a little more heart and plot than a regular episode. I had mixed expectations from the commercials but the movie far outshone my expectations. All Simpsons fans must go see this movie. Some of the Everything a Simpsons fan would love, and a little more heart and plot than a regular episode. I had mixed expectations from the commercials but the movie far outshone my expectations. All Simpsons fans must go see this movie. Some of the animation is so nicely done that it makes it worth seeing it on the big screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JessalR.Jul 28, 2007
Does this movie redeem the tv series from its mediocrity in the past years? No...but it comes close. This movie has all the wit and hidden jokes you'd come to expect from the Simpson's at their greatest but also has those stupid Does this movie redeem the tv series from its mediocrity in the past years? No...but it comes close. This movie has all the wit and hidden jokes you'd come to expect from the Simpson's at their greatest but also has those stupid humor consisting of homer hurting himself for no reason. If the didn't show all the jokes on the trailer and tv spots this would have been much more funny but in the end this was a great movie in the Simpson's library of great shows. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlanK.Jul 28, 2007
The Simpson Movie has most of the great qualities of the TV series - pointed iconoclastic social satire (digs at religion, bureaucracy, crass materialism), clever slapstick humor, dialog that is both intelligent and intelligently dumb, and The Simpson Movie has most of the great qualities of the TV series - pointed iconoclastic social satire (digs at religion, bureaucracy, crass materialism), clever slapstick humor, dialog that is both intelligent and intelligently dumb, and great visual gags (esp in the first 15 minutes). Much of the humor references some of the best specific scenes from various episodes (probably only long-time fans will understand these jokes). The film is basically a good (not great) episode extended to 90 min - that's both reassuring and a slightly disappointing: Reassuring because it reaffirms the seemingly infinite versatility and mutability of the show's formula, but also a little disappointing because the writers/producers/etc don't take as many chances with the formula as I would've liked. I was hoping for something that would transcend the TV show the way South Park: Bigger, Longer, and Uncut, took that that show's bawdy, offensive humor to new levels, then transformed it into a statement and big middle-finger at the MPA for it's misguided priorities and hypocrisy. The Simpson Movie never goes much farther than the TV show - the PG-13 rating does enable the writers to be a little more naughty with some of the jokes, but not in a way that enhances the TV show's insight or irreverence. As an ardent fan maybe I'm being too hard on the film and expecting too much. The series has been on so long and lampooned virtually every aspect of Western culture (and numerous others), maybe there just isn't anywhere left for the creative team to go they haven't at least touched on already. Taken as it is The Simpson movie is an intelligently written, visually clever satire. And even if it's not as potent as the best episodes it's still entertaining for both casual and avid fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RaniS.Jul 28, 2007
Average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ColeP.Jul 28, 2007
I wanted to go and get my money back! For that crap, I should have been paid to watch. I did not laugh once, the plot was nonexistent (yes, even a dumb simpsons movie needs a PLOT), and everyone else in the theater was laughing the entire I wanted to go and get my money back! For that crap, I should have been paid to watch. I did not laugh once, the plot was nonexistent (yes, even a dumb simpsons movie needs a PLOT), and everyone else in the theater was laughing the entire way through. I suggest that anyone with any type of brain to stay away from this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JC.Jul 29, 2007
I just went and saw the movie this weekend and its a funny movie the whole theater was cracking up. Its a good movie but it could have been better. But hay don't listing to anyone who thinks its a bad movie. Go see it and see what you I just went and saw the movie this weekend and its a funny movie the whole theater was cracking up. Its a good movie but it could have been better. But hay don't listing to anyone who thinks its a bad movie. Go see it and see what you think about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeanP.Jul 29, 2007
Brilliant. Loved it........with tons of one-liners and excellent sight gags.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkL.Jul 29, 2007
The characters in the movie have much more depth and evolve to a greater degree than any of the single episodes could possibly accomplish in a half hour. Bravo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelL.Jul 29, 2007
Caring parents be warned?? Huh? SInce when has The Simpsons EVER been geared to the Pixar set? It's bright, caustic social commentary with just enough sophomoric humor to keep us oldsters laughing in spite of ourselves. Though the movie Caring parents be warned?? Huh? SInce when has The Simpsons EVER been geared to the Pixar set? It's bright, caustic social commentary with just enough sophomoric humor to keep us oldsters laughing in spite of ourselves. Though the movie runs out of steam after the first brilliant 45 minutes, it's still smarter, funnier, wiser and more topical than all of the Adam Sandler, Robin Williams, and Jim Carrey dreck combined. And, no, this isn't for the Scooby Doo set. Does that really need to be said? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ArthurC.Jul 31, 2007
Funny. And that is what you want a Simpsons movie to be. It sort of drags in the middle, but when the jokes are flying, they work. It reminds me a lot of what made the show so great in the first place. Smart comedy mixed with the lowbrow, Funny. And that is what you want a Simpsons movie to be. It sort of drags in the middle, but when the jokes are flying, they work. It reminds me a lot of what made the show so great in the first place. Smart comedy mixed with the lowbrow, mixed with genuine human emotions, mixed with Duff Beer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MattR.Jul 31, 2007
Through and through, a waste of time. While it entertained and gave me quite a few laughs, I couldn't help feeling very disappointed in the movie. It might just have been acceptable as a Primetime TV Special. The plot is contrived and Through and through, a waste of time. While it entertained and gave me quite a few laughs, I couldn't help feeling very disappointed in the movie. It might just have been acceptable as a Primetime TV Special. The plot is contrived and stale, and instead of getting rich characters we get quick snippet gags. Theres nothing new here for fans who have seen this plot play out countless times before. Instead of introducing new things that would be impossible on TV, the writers lazily kept the same archetypes going about the same things. Its a shame that this once proud show has bottomed out these past 5 years. Its time to call it quits Simpsons. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GregM.Jul 31, 2007
BEWARE CARING PARENTS! Go take your kids to a crappy Disney flick. This is by no mean the Simpsons' best, but these old scribes can still muster up some venom once in a while. Much better than most of the crap out there, as the Simpsons BEWARE CARING PARENTS! Go take your kids to a crappy Disney flick. This is by no mean the Simpsons' best, but these old scribes can still muster up some venom once in a while. Much better than most of the crap out there, as the Simpsons have always been. Drags toward the end and pulls a few punches, but all in all fun and worthwhile. The series of writers who have passed through the Simpsons family is impressive and the series still has a ways to go, if it wants to. I'll be watching... but on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarcAug 15, 2007
This was sometimes amusing, also the social and political criticism is correct, I can't say I laughed though... Of course I didn't see it on wide-screen with many people around (torrents)... It felt too long, really... a too long This was sometimes amusing, also the social and political criticism is correct, I can't say I laughed though... Of course I didn't see it on wide-screen with many people around (torrents)... It felt too long, really... a too long episode, and most of the Simpsons characters are mainly extras in this "movie", with maybe one line each somewhere and not particularly interesting nor funny ones... Also, what happens with the pig? And who cares about this pig? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JoshuaE.Aug 16, 2007
Mediocre at best, The Simpson's Movie is a string of average gags and one liners strung together weakly by the most obvious (read easiest) dumb plot the writers could come up with. There was nothing clever about it and none of the Mediocre at best, The Simpson's Movie is a string of average gags and one liners strung together weakly by the most obvious (read easiest) dumb plot the writers could come up with. There was nothing clever about it and none of the quirky character that earlier incarnations of the show had. Many of the great characters that live in this world are left to rot with only one or two words to say in the whole movie. With all of the great ideas tossed off in half hour episodes over the years, it's a real shame they couldn't come up with, or save, one last good one for this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewK.Aug 19, 2007
well...what can be said about this movie that hasn't been said already? I'll try and keep it brief. All of us real Simpsons fans haven't been able to watch the show without gagging since somewhere around season ten. I well...what can be said about this movie that hasn't been said already? I'll try and keep it brief. All of us real Simpsons fans haven't been able to watch the show without gagging since somewhere around season ten. I wasn't expecting to like this movie at all. So I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was very funny, although it's true that if the movie had been made ten years ago, it would have been so much more relevant and so much more genuinely funny. It's worth the price of a ticket, but don't expect to be blown away. The fact is that The Simpsons will never be what it once was, and we all just have to face it. Also, the little bits in the film that couldn't have been done on TV (bart's penis, Homer giving the finger, Marge swearing) were funny, though I couldn't help feeling they were out of place. While the show has always been on the edge, there has always been the feeling that they wouldn't go any further even if they could. It just goes against the feel of the show. Whereas South Park has always included that kind of stuff on their show, even if it had to be censored. So the film was just an uncensored episode. Not quite the same with The Simpsons. Just my thoughts on a pretty much unimportant aspect of the film. There's plenty of worse movies you could go see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ScottW.Aug 24, 2007
The first Simpson movie is a winner. Funny, smart and very simply done. Not the funniest movie of 2007 but, anyone can enjoy this film with the way its been crafted together, even if some how you have never seen or been into the show on tv.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GatsbyJ.Aug 31, 2007
-Like most people who went to see this movie, I've been a fan of the show for ages. I think a lot of people will agree that the older seasons are definitely better than the newer. The older episodes were hilarious, clever, often -Like most people who went to see this movie, I've been a fan of the show for ages. I think a lot of people will agree that the older seasons are definitely better than the newer. The older episodes were hilarious, clever, often brilliant, with focused stories, interesting twists, and the deepest cast of stereotypical characters any viewer could want. -I really dislike some of the newer episodes, though there are a few gems here and there. And I've been waiting for a movie to come out for years. But since this movie released when the show was past its 18th season, I was scared it would suck-diddly-uck. I went into the theater with a queasy feeling and a nagging voice that kept telling me that I was going to be majorly disappointed with the movie. -It started off decent, but then took off well. There was a through-line which ran across the movie and kept it together. Some viewers were disappointed saying that the movie focused too much on Homer and his family and also didn't try anything radical with the story. However, I think that for the FIRST Simpsons movie this is the perfect choice. This is how the show first started off, and this is how the first movie should be, because it is called "The Simpsons" and not "The Simpsons and Friends." I think in the sequels it'll be more about the community. But they needed a simple plot for the first movie, nothing totally unique. Homer messing up and endangering his family and whole town is true to the series, both in the earlier and later seasons. -Yes, some of the humour was immature, and there weren't too many moments that had the crystal brilliance of the earlier seasons, but it was still funny. A few minutes into it I realized I wasn't going to let down and just sat back and enjoyed it. The music was wonderful (thank you Hans Zimmer), the animation clear and beautifully drawn (any fan of the show, regardless if they liked or hated this movie, should be glad it was done in traditional 2-D and not 3-D). The story was simple and various parts of it were well connected and came together nicely (i.e. Homer with the motorcycle in the cage and at the end when he uses it to save Springfield). And for those who say the movie went through so many revisions and many changes were made right up to it's release: this doesn't mean there's anything wrong with the movie, because what matters is the final product. -Best of all, there weren't a huge cast of celebrities which would take attention away from Homer and the rest of his family. -This is just my personal opinion, but overall I felt this movie was a success. S-U-C-E-E-S, that's the way you spell success. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DeezN.Aug 31, 2007
This movie was sooofunny, one of the best of the summer. The entire sold out movie theater was cracking up throughout.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
RufusJ.Jan 12, 2008
A stroke of genius and hilarious at the same time. Genious that they made averyone believe there is a difference between a movie and a prelonged episode, and hilarious that it has been as successful save your money and wake up from the A stroke of genius and hilarious at the same time. Genious that they made averyone believe there is a difference between a movie and a prelonged episode, and hilarious that it has been as successful save your money and wake up from the hypnosis. The simpsons have had their day! P.S I agree spider pig is cringeworthy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HL.Jan 28, 2008
I give this movie a 2 because that is how many times a laughed during this movie. This movie is just crap, and I have lost a lot of respect for the New York times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MadsS.Nov 24, 2007
This is not in fact an overextended episode because unlike the episodes they've been making for the past ten years or so, this actually features a story line. It's crap, mind you, but it's a story line which is more than can This is not in fact an overextended episode because unlike the episodes they've been making for the past ten years or so, this actually features a story line. It's crap, mind you, but it's a story line which is more than can be said for the episodes of late. A lot of the jokes are of the predictable, rehashed sort and overall just not funny but even more confusing: they don't even feel simpsonish (Mr. Burns asking Smithers to kill himself for his amusement, anyone?) You might think that at least the characters would be fleshed out given the format. You'd be wrong. Bart's sudden craving for a father figure feels as tacked on as Lisa's beau. The marriage crisis has been done before and far more believably. I really can't think of a single reason for doing this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BrianS.Nov 25, 2007
So funny your guts will pop out
0 of 0 users found this helpful