User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 626 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 626
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SeanH.
    Dec 10, 2007
    3
    Clearly made for commercial rather then creative reasons. It's just a longer version of the new t.v episodes which are poor at best and dectract from the brilliance of the earlier ones. The spider-pig part which is early on in the film and thought of as the best part is not very funny at all and puts the rest of the film into perspective.
  2. shawnqs.
    Dec 26, 2007
    3
    Those critic reviews are bullsh.t. They are judging the movie according to the old episodes of the simpsons, rather than the actual movie. I didn't even chuckle once. I am. well, i was, a simpsons fan but only the old episodes. The new episodes are crap. This movie was just a 2 hour special of the new episodes in my eyes. Two hours of crap.
  3. David
    Jan 25, 2008
    3
    I loved the Simpson's but times have changed. Family guy and south park are fresh funny and of a much higher laugh per second ratio. i giggle twice in this film and cried a little at Bart Simpson naked full frontal. 100 from the Washington post?!?!?!? do they watch the same film that i do>?!
  4. BrendaM.
    Feb 2, 2008
    3
    This wasn't as good as I thought it would be. I think that it could have been better
  5. CharethC.
    Jul 28, 2007
    3
    First of all, ignore Jospeh B, there's nothing particularly offensive about this movie other than the fact that I wasted 15 quid taking my family to see it. The positive reviews that it is receiving, I am assuming, are down to people WANTING to like this film. I know I wanted to, however, when all is said and done, it's just not funny. There are very few jokes for adults and to First of all, ignore Jospeh B, there's nothing particularly offensive about this movie other than the fact that I wasted 15 quid taking my family to see it. The positive reviews that it is receiving, I am assuming, are down to people WANTING to like this film. I know I wanted to, however, when all is said and done, it's just not funny. There are very few jokes for adults and to be honest not a great deal for the kids (I'm not to proud to laugh at people being juvenile, but it just wasn't there). Buy one of the earlier seasons on dvd instead of paying the ticket price, you'll have a much better time. Expand
  6. RobertK.
    Aug 2, 2007
    3
    Apparently this film went through hundreds of re-writes, even in the making. This shows in the equally numerous plot holes. Characters drop out of the film as quickly as they appear and I was constantly asking myself how the entire town of Springfield watched the Simpsons burrow out of the dome and didn't get ideas of their own? Why didn't they all just dig in the first place? Apparently this film went through hundreds of re-writes, even in the making. This shows in the equally numerous plot holes. Characters drop out of the film as quickly as they appear and I was constantly asking myself how the entire town of Springfield watched the Simpsons burrow out of the dome and didn't get ideas of their own? Why didn't they all just dig in the first place? WTF. The entire project lacks cohesion as the movie goes in every single way possible but ultimately goes nowhere. The plots are rehashes of stuff done in episodes - basically Lisa falls in love and Homer's stupidity alienates the family. Also, the humour is all that awkward new Simpsons stuff; full of out of place political satire, reality bending physical gags and Homer being stupid beyond belief. If you are one of the morons who still watches the Simpsons, then you will probably like the film, but if you are one of the fans who dropped out around Season 10 then you will loathe it. Thankfully there is only one Mike Scully-ish celebrity cameo - Greenday, who don't fit in at all. I left the cinema wondering why they even bothered with this film. It was a sinking ship from the start (so many writers, so many rewrites) and it really didn't have a purpose. Boo-urns. Expand
  7. ChrisW
    Aug 6, 2007
    3
    Sigh. If only they'd made a movie 10 years or so ago, it could have been a classic. As it is, not so much. Every scene reminded me of something the show has already done . . . Homer falls for a pig; anybody else remember when he fell for a lobster? Bart feels neglected . . . remember when Maggie wanted to be part of the Flanders? And again and again, deja vu . . . I always thought Sigh. If only they'd made a movie 10 years or so ago, it could have been a classic. As it is, not so much. Every scene reminded me of something the show has already done . . . Homer falls for a pig; anybody else remember when he fell for a lobster? Bart feels neglected . . . remember when Maggie wanted to be part of the Flanders? And again and again, deja vu . . . I always thought the show was at its best when it dealt with small family-oriented bits, like Bart shoplifting, Lisa cheating at school or Homer helping Bart build a soap-box derby car.. Seems now they have some compulsion for Bigger, More Complicated Plots with Wild Locales . . . Boo-urns indeed. Expand
  8. SteveG.
    Aug 16, 2007
    3
    The Simpsons Movie shares all the faults of the last six or seven seasons of this once-great show. Only sporadically funny (the Ralph Wiggum appearance in the first frames is genius), overly reliant on guest stars, and unnecessarily surreal. What happened? The Simpsons used to be, quite simply, the best satirical entertainment on TV. For the last few years the writing has been lazy and The Simpsons Movie shares all the faults of the last six or seven seasons of this once-great show. Only sporadically funny (the Ralph Wiggum appearance in the first frames is genius), overly reliant on guest stars, and unnecessarily surreal. What happened? The Simpsons used to be, quite simply, the best satirical entertainment on TV. For the last few years the writing has been lazy and self-referential, and at times downright cruel. The film makes the mistake of following Homer through his odyssey of self-discovery while largely ignoring the other wonderful characters, who are consigned to bit parts. Even Bart and Lisa are left stranded without a decent storyline. What a waste... Expand
  9. SanjeevB.
    Aug 19, 2007
    3
    I went in kind of excited, given the good reviews. Alas, I was a bit disappointed. Well, fairly disappointed. Okay, lets be honest. I was surprised that the professional critics' reviews were so good. I thought the plot was a copout, and the character stories not so entertaining. When it came down to it, the movie didn't really have anything to say.
  10. TodorL.
    Sep 12, 2007
    3
    Borin ... American animation . I wonder how that can be liked in Europe .. Still some nice graphics but really poor movie .
  11. KelR.
    Oct 1, 2007
    3
    For me this movie is the disappointment of the year. The hype for this movie alludes me, it was preachy and simply not funny unless I assume you're high. Seriously, I found myself shaking my head so many times in sheer disgust while bewildered at why in the world the audience was laughing. I only laughed 3 or 4 times and yes I DO have a sense of humor but have a tendency to laugh at For me this movie is the disappointment of the year. The hype for this movie alludes me, it was preachy and simply not funny unless I assume you're high. Seriously, I found myself shaking my head so many times in sheer disgust while bewildered at why in the world the audience was laughing. I only laughed 3 or 4 times and yes I DO have a sense of humor but have a tendency to laugh at things with wit, irony, and sarcasm- not senseless arbitrary humor that I honestly believe any high school stoner could have written. Prepare to be disappointed. Expand
  12. BobT.
    Nov 6, 2007
    2
    Yes, this movie was, in essence, a longer Simpsons episode... It follows the same exact formula as 90% of said episodes. Homer does something stupid, changes the lives of the family (for the time being, until the end when "everything's back to normal"), (spoiler) Marge leaves Homer and takes the kids (the wedding video thing made me want to shoot myself), Homer comes to his senses Yes, this movie was, in essence, a longer Simpsons episode... It follows the same exact formula as 90% of said episodes. Homer does something stupid, changes the lives of the family (for the time being, until the end when "everything's back to normal"), (spoiler) Marge leaves Homer and takes the kids (the wedding video thing made me want to shoot myself), Homer comes to his senses and fixes everything (here it comes... "everything's back to normal"). The End. All that's different is that it's longer. The formula brought all the fans to see it, and, like mindless drones, they all said it was wonderful, well, I wanted to be wonderful... Expand
  13. Mike
    Dec 16, 2007
    2
    I was sooo disappointed by the Simpson's movie! Yes, the tv has gone worse and worse over the years, to the point where I don't watch it anymore. but, I figured that they would really polish up the movie and it would be great! But all it was, was just a long boring 2 hour Simpson episode. funny? well I laugh once or twice, the worst part was the jokes were shallow and lame. And I was sooo disappointed by the Simpson's movie! Yes, the tv has gone worse and worse over the years, to the point where I don't watch it anymore. but, I figured that they would really polish up the movie and it would be great! But all it was, was just a long boring 2 hour Simpson episode. funny? well I laugh once or twice, the worst part was the jokes were shallow and lame. And the story was just awful... Expand
  14. PeterP.
    Dec 17, 2007
    2
    The film simply doesn't feel like The Simpsons. Worse than expected.
  15. Eldon
    Jan 2, 2008
    2
    Overall, so very lame. zzzzzzzzzz...
  16. HL.
    Jan 28, 2008
    2
    I give this movie a 2 because that is how many times a laughed during this movie. This movie is just crap, and I have lost a lot of respect for the New York times.
  17. MasonW
    Aug 1, 2007
    2
    I have loved the satirical witty humor the simpsons made famous from 91-98. but this movie is awful. mind of mencia type jokes- cliched, stale and done before. i wanted just a few laughs, and got none. it seems like the writers didn't even try to be witty.
  18. BillH.
    Aug 10, 2007
    2
    I didn't go into this movie with any expectations, so I wasn't disappointed. That said, I just don't think it was funny in any way. It was almost sad for me to watch because as good as The Simpsons once was, that's how bad it is now. Don't waste your time with this one.
  19. JerkGuy
    Oct 4, 2007
    2
    I walked out half way through this movie, I just couldn
  20. FrankG
    Nov 5, 2007
    1
    Very boring through. I gave it a 1 b/c i think I laughed once through the whole of the film.
  21. WayneO.
    Nov 6, 2007
    1
    I have to say that I was VERY disappointed in this movie. It amounted to nothing more than an over-extended episode. The plot was fine for a half hour show but did not translate well into feature-length. I actually fell asleep after 45 minutes of this boring movie.
  22. MadsS.
    Nov 24, 2007
    1
    This is not in fact an overextended episode because unlike the episodes they've been making for the past ten years or so, this actually features a story line. It's crap, mind you, but it's a story line which is more than can be said for the episodes of late. A lot of the jokes are of the predictable, rehashed sort and overall just not funny but even more confusing: they This is not in fact an overextended episode because unlike the episodes they've been making for the past ten years or so, this actually features a story line. It's crap, mind you, but it's a story line which is more than can be said for the episodes of late. A lot of the jokes are of the predictable, rehashed sort and overall just not funny but even more confusing: they don't even feel simpsonish (Mr. Burns asking Smithers to kill himself for his amusement, anyone?) You might think that at least the characters would be fleshed out given the format. You'd be wrong. Bart's sudden craving for a father figure feels as tacked on as Lisa's beau. The marriage crisis has been done before and far more believably. I really can't think of a single reason for doing this movie. Expand
  23. RoyP.
    Dec 19, 2007
    1
    I wish I had the time to do a video side by side of how many past episodes this movie shamelessly ripped off. Homer getting a Pig (Homer goes to college), Bart idolizing Flanders (Boy Scoutz 'n the Hood), Lisa crusading for the environment (The Old Man and Lisa), Springfield destroyed by pollution (Trash of the Titans), Homer goes on a hallucinogenic quest (El Viaje Misterioso de I wish I had the time to do a video side by side of how many past episodes this movie shamelessly ripped off. Homer getting a Pig (Homer goes to college), Bart idolizing Flanders (Boy Scoutz 'n the Hood), Lisa crusading for the environment (The Old Man and Lisa), Springfield destroyed by pollution (Trash of the Titans), Homer goes on a hallucinogenic quest (El Viaje Misterioso de Nuestro Homer, and probably a few others), Marge and Homer having marital problems (every 6th episode), and that's all I can think of off the top of my head. Except none of it is as clever or smart or endearing as the show was for the first 10 seasons (more or less). Right about now, the shows creators would trot out the Comic Book Guy and have him point to me and say "Worst Reviewer Ever!", something they seemed to do a few seasons ago, for nearly every episode to deflect all the criticism the show had been receiving, rather than come to their senses. The sad reality is, The Simpsons has long faded from its intelligent, witty, and social relevance years ago. It has sadly devolved into a clichéd, mishmash of recycling old episodes and tired jokes. What's worse is that newer episodes are typically stapled together with potty humor, drug jokes, and chronically arduous slapstick. Something, the series used to sparring incorporate, and mostly for irony. This movie practically drowns in exhaustive slapstick, and includes at least 2 blows to the... "family jewels". Word of mouth and positive reviews gave me hope that years of development time and rewrites could've signaled a return to its brilliant form. It didn't even come close. Expand
  24. MichaelP.
    Jan 7, 2008
    1
    I really tried to like this film.......honest........ but it was just plain boring and not the least bit funny.
  25. RufusJ.
    Jan 12, 2008
    1
    A stroke of genius and hilarious at the same time. Genious that they made averyone believe there is a difference between a movie and a prelonged episode, and hilarious that it has been as successful save your money and wake up from the hypnosis. The simpsons have had their day! P.S I agree spider pig is cringeworthy
  26. JohnF.
    Aug 20, 2007
    1
    President Hilary? Global Warming. Alaska being raped? Dumb President? I thought Michael Moore wrote the script for this movie. Preachy, boring and not very funning. I love the TV Show, but this was a "beat over the head" about current politics and not very subtle.
  27. Jenk.
    Oct 16, 2007
    1
    The Simpsons TV show is intelligent and funny. This movie was not.
  28. Mar 23, 2015
    1
    Epic fail this should have been 2 an half hours long filled with satirical humor and critical insights about humanity but nope we get spider pig . It should have had a R rating since they did not have to deal with TV censorship but nope they went for quick money of pg13 . What a complete waste just think of all the hard critique of society failure got thrown out for profit. This movieEpic fail this should have been 2 an half hours long filled with satirical humor and critical insights about humanity but nope we get spider pig . It should have had a R rating since they did not have to deal with TV censorship but nope they went for quick money of pg13 . What a complete waste just think of all the hard critique of society failure got thrown out for profit. This movie marks when they completely sold-out. The show itself has lost it's sense of fun and commentary because of Al Jean. They could have crammed more jokes in a lot more. Had I been in charge I would have used the actors to help get this movie to be 3 hours long. Expand
  29. poopmgee
    Dec 23, 2007
    0
    I was disappointed. Did not laugh once.
  30. GavinP.
    Dec 24, 2007
    0
    This movie sucked. Even with ten years of bad episodes behind us, this movies surpassed them all. I didn't laugh once. Just end the series now and put us out of our misery.
  31. JamesK.
    Dec 29, 2007
    0
    the simpsons has being getting worse and worse for years now. and spider pig is not funny!
  32. Ianb
    Jan 2, 2008
    0
    A long tv show not a movie....stupid story....same jokes...nothing new = very dull and lifeless.
  33. NelsonP
    Oct 14, 2009
    0
    This is the worst movie I have ever seen. Its boring, its lame and the story is crap. It makes the show look bad.
  34. CS.
    Jul 25, 2007
    0
    The Simpsons have always been heading downhill since the mid 90s, but the hill just got a lot steeper. I did not go into the movie with high expectations, but at least assuming that I would not regret spending 90 minutes watching it. But I did. It was a combination of the preposterous plot, the lack of the jokes that brought the Simpsons to fame in the first place, and the reliance on The Simpsons have always been heading downhill since the mid 90s, but the hill just got a lot steeper. I did not go into the movie with high expectations, but at least assuming that I would not regret spending 90 minutes watching it. But I did. It was a combination of the preposterous plot, the lack of the jokes that brought the Simpsons to fame in the first place, and the reliance on homer continually hurting himself, for example sticking a hammer in his eye. It was because of this that I found myself laughing very rarely, apart from a few flashes of brilliance (the parody using green day of the violinists in "titanic", and the 8 year old kids surrounding me laughing almost non-stop. The Simpsons has long been regarded as a show that will please both children and adults, but I am very worried that it is fast becoming just another kid's cartoon, and that would be a shame. A very great shame. Expand
  35. ColeP.
    Jul 28, 2007
    0
    I wanted to go and get my money back! For that crap, I should have been paid to watch. I did not laugh once, the plot was nonexistent (yes, even a dumb simpsons movie needs a PLOT), and everyone else in the theater was laughing the entire way through. I suggest that anyone with any type of brain to stay away from this movie.
  36. BarkJ.
    Aug 1, 2007
    0
    WHAT A BAD MOVIE! I mean, the story went nowhere and in the end, well, the movie just randomly ended. I have no idea of how these movie critics rate movies. Really, it just boggles my mind. Please, don't make a sequel.
  37. GeoffM.
    Aug 25, 2007
    0
    Anyone who likes this movie is a tool and will die alone. If you are married your wife/husband is more than obviously having an affair with you. Die already.
  38. IndiS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    0
    This film is lame just like the series when they start making it new. If The Simpson's series was canceled instead of Futurama series that will make a better entertainment.
  39. PoopIn
    Nov 4, 2007
    0
    Awful! I was very disappointed.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. It's hard not to like it. And in both senses of the phrase, America keeps asking for it.
  2. 63
    It would be a stretch to call The Simpsons Movie more than a crisper, livelier-looking episode of the series. The change in mediums changes nothing.
  3. The result is two-tiered humor, broad enough to appeal to anybody but overlaid with jokes that will be funnier if you know the show.