User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 76
  2. Negative: 17 out of 76

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 22, 2014
    5
    The Sitter is a sometimes funny, mildly enjoyable "potty-mouth movie" that tries to garner its appeal from its star Jonah Hill. And in that right, the movie almost succeeds.
  2. Aug 6, 2013
    6
    Esta pelicula no me gusto tanto, me hizo reir pero la pelicula no tuvo sentido, el tema de la pelicula me parecio ridiculo y el guion no estuvo tan bien armado.
  3. May 2, 2013
    5
    A comedy that follows a similar plot that has been seen many times before and in most cases it's not as good. Jonah Hill still shows his comedic talent here, but the interaction with the kids fails in many ways.
  4. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Jonah Hill is one of the funniest and most underrated comedic actors in all of Hollywood. I am not a huge fan of comedies, in fact, most of the films people consider to be the funniest movies of all time, I didn't like. Hill's films are one of the exceptions. I have to see every movie he is in because he is truly hysterical and makes everything he is in exceptional. The sitter didn't have a very strong plot, but it was a hysterical movie that worked because of Hill. Everyone around him just follows his lead and plays off his energy and it was evident here. Hill along with three kids he's babysitting go on an unbelievable and hysterical adventure in NYC. It's one of those films you don't believe and that initial comes across as stupid, but it's also a film you can't stop watching because you want to see what happens next. Hill was fantastic, the three kids were great, and for once I actually enjoyed a comedy with Sam Rockwell in it. This film isn't going to change any lives or win any awards, but it was damn good and a lot of fun, I highly recommend it. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    5
    It has to be said that The Sitter is not without it's funny moments. I'm sure that plenty of people laughed along in places. Any film in which Hill is on camera for it's entirety is bound to have some decent gags. It's just that for the most part the 'jokes' are either pretty lame or unoriginal. Think True Romance for the old 'fighting over a bag of coke until it tears open all over the face of a car's occupant' scene. I get that the children are supposed to be annoying for the sake of laughs, but they are really annoying in a particularly unfunny sense. Jonah Hill does his best to lead the film while things fall down around him but it's too much for his broad shoulders to cope with and the film lurches through some awkward scenes in which Hill provides sincere fatherly advice to the children to it's finish inside of 80 minutes. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    If you liked harold and kumar go to white castle, beerfest,supertroopers,etc you will lvoe this movie. Dont listen to all the people giving this movie negative reviews. If you go in expecting a gross out hilarious comedy with no plot you will be very happy. If you watch it expecting to see the next godfather, you will be disappointed. Simple as that.
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Using foul-mouthed children for comedic effect is growing old on me quickly; however, Jonah Hill saves the film from being a complete disaster and generates virtually every laugh.
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    2
    Awful flick. Honestly...this is one of those movies where I can honestly say you'd have to pay me money to watch it again. Poorly acted. Jokes were stale. I think I might've chuckled once or twice. At least I didn't pay money to watch this.
  9. Rfa
    Aug 18, 2012
    0
    This film is definitely a plagiarism made ​​of Adventures in Babysitting. Full of curses and bad jokes, which is but a poor attempt to imitate the great movie: Adventures in babysitting.
  10. Jul 10, 2012
    8
    My dad wanted to get a new film and I say the 5.4 review and laughed wondering if he was having me on. But no, I ws very surprised at the many times that I just laughed out loud during this film. Though many may say the acting is woody and the plot is downright stupid, I partly agree but think that the high laugh factor I accumulated from it cancelled that all out.
  11. Jun 30, 2012
    3
    As people have said, this movie is not good or bad in particular. Its hard to judge because there are many times I have laughed hysterically. Jonah Hill said things to kids that I only dream of saying (stupid morals). The only thing that is getting in the way of the comedy is the **** plot. Its not just bad, it is REALLY bad. Like... REALLY bad. If anyone out there is a writer looking for comedy inspiration, I would suggest watching it, this is what not to do with plot in comedy. However, anyone else should avoid it and look up clips or something. Expand
  12. May 3, 2012
    9
    Hilarious, if your looking or a good laugh and don't mind some slightly vulgar humor and more than a few f-bombs this is for you, surprisingly it also touching at times and had some thought into making the characters with some depth, when I first heard about this movie I was dying to see it as I knew it was going to be fantastic, the surprising thing is it actually surpassed my expectations, as long as your cool with the more adult content this is truly a must watch. Expand
  13. May 2, 2012
    10
    Jonah Hill is not funny. This movie is tastless I like raunchy movies actually love them this piece of garbage is an insult to movies like American pie, miss march and so on. Having little kids curse every few minutes is just offensive and gross. The scenes that try to be heartbreaking and get you to feel for the characters is ridicalous
  14. Apr 26, 2012
    5
    Not bad but not particularly good either. Jonah Hill is always good but the story isn't anything special. I wouldn't watch it again. Who knows why method man did that little part haha
  15. Apr 15, 2012
    3
    If I said to my friends that this movie sucked, they will give me hell about it. So I now without any of my friends knowing that I i'm gonna talk trash about this movie. This movie is so bad I could go back in time and kill the director[ JK] but its not very smart if you ask me. It fails to do that. The Sitter 3.4/10
  16. Mar 6, 2012
    6
    It was ok. The huge problem I had with it is that it was very short (only 80 mins), It made the film very fast paced and didnt allow for any real developement. Thats what hurt the film imo but still, It wasnt that bad. Definently better then what the critics say though.
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    8
    It really wasn't a bad movie. Shallow plot with unusual characters makes the movie something out of the ordinary and was enjoyable. Not knee-slapping funny, but it will get a chuckle out of you.
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    1
    Some say this is clever and vulgar, but it is not. Once you get outside of its inane plot, this is a generic film attempting to be funny and failing featuring wooden performances, a misplaced soundtrack, and unbalanced direction. I usually am a fan of director David Gordon Green, but I can only see him benefiting from the irony of making a film he grew up loving as a 10-year-old, meant for adults. Unfortunately, I was neither high, drunk, hungover or pre-pubescent, and I wasn't entertained in the least at any point during the movie. Expand
  19. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    In THE SITTER, Jonah Hill stars as Noah, a jobless twenty-something slacker that lives at home with his mom and spends his days at the constant beck and call of his trashy, self-centered "girlfriend" Marisa (Ari Graynor). When he accepts an offer to babysit his neighbor's three children, he anticipates a relaxing evening followed by some easy cash, but an unexpected phone call from Marisa results in Noah bundling the children into Mom and Dad's minivan and heading off into the city on an errand to score some drugs for a party. What Noah doesn't count on is that each of these children are ridiculously messed up. Slater is completely dependent on anxiety medication and may or may not be having questions about his sexuality, Blithe is obsessed with celebrity gossip and idolizes the likes of Paris Hilton and Lindsay Lohan, and the adopted Rodrigo has a penchant for thievery and blowing up toilets. Noah is forced to balance all of these complications while simultaneously trying to deal with a "misunderstanding" that results in Karl the coke dealer (Sam Rockwell) and his sidekick trying to kill him and the children. From a performance standpoint, my complaints are minor. Hill does what he does best, playing the same sort of character he always plays. The child actors are all excellent, particularly Max Records as the conflicted Slater, and Sam Rockwell steals the show as Karl, turning a one-note character into a constant source of hilarity thanks to his bizarre interpretation of the role. JB Smoove also gets honorable mention as Karl's right-hand man, with a handful of lines that you'll most likely be quoting for weeks after seeing this film. Unfortunately, despite the praise I have for the cast, everything else is a mess. THE SITTER is obviously trying very hard to be ADVENTURES IN BABYSITTING, but falls miserably short of those aspirations, as this film lacks the heart of the 80ââ Expand
  20. Feb 8, 2012
    3
    I like movies that are vulgar, offensive, disgusting etc, but only if it's funny. This movie isn't... at all. I honestly didn't have a one genuine laugh watching this. There were some moments where I smiled, or even chuckled a little, but not one moment where I laughed out loud. It's almost painful to watch. The movie bounces from one scene to the next so sloppily, I wonder if they filmed this entire movie in less than a week. So dissapointed because the previews made the movie look good, or at least decent. This movie is neither.... it's terrible. Expand
  21. Jan 24, 2012
    4
    This movie was really bad because of the kid actors not Hill. They could not really act even though I have seen records before. If they kept the real life problems out it would have been better. It was not that nasty and could have been more raunchy.
  22. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    Critics have been too harsh on this film, for every cheesy joke, there's at least ten hilarious gags to keep you on the edge of your seat. This raunch-filled babysitting movie does a great job at whats it's trying to do. It is a refreshing step-up from Jonah Hill's horrible Allen Gregory and David Gordon Green's ignorant Your Highness.
  23. Jan 2, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A real blues audience would have torn Chris Parker apart. On stage with her charges, it's not hard to miss the condescension in the suburban girl's words. She tells the bandleader that "we didn't mean to interrupt your little concert here." What gives her the right to call the concert "small"? Instead of being peeved, the bandleader says, "Nobody gets out of this place without singing the blues," because in Adventures in Babysitting, black people are either criminals or entertainers, and stupid ones to boot. Released in 1986, the Chris Columbus film arrived in theaters just as the Beastie Boys made rap safe for the 'burbs with their debut album License to Ill. Sure enough, we see black music being appropriated with a white sensibility, in which Chris wails about her boyfriend and how "it's so hard babysitting these guys." Just like Gary Busey, who as Buddy Holly, wins over a skeptical audience at the Apollo with a killer rendition of "Oh Boy" in "The Buddy Holly Story", Chris also gets the crowd on her side, despite the fact that she turns the blues into the stuff of novelty. It's hard to believe that her middle-class angst would win over these hardcore fans. The ease in which the sheltered girl trades hi-fives with audience members on her way out the door seems to indicate a lesson learned about racial equality. At the outset, before Chris starts to testify, she raises the mike(read: black people are small), and Daryl make a clumsy attempt at the black idiom, adding, "Ain't no doubt," to "The Babysitting Blues". But, alas, all those good vibes evaporate once they're outside the club. When asked about where they're going, Chris sourly answers, "Anywhere but here." Nothing has changed. Earlier in the evening, when riding with a car thief, Chris asserts her racial superiority, declaring, "I'm still in control here," then insults the driver, obviously harmless, by making him promise that he won't hurt the children. As a correction to the racist overtones that plague Adventures in Babysitting, this time, the car thief, also black(in The Sitter), has a good reason for stealing the minivan. When both Tina and Noah went to high school together, the white boy threw up in an urn containing the ashes of the black girl's grandmother, and judging by her retaliation, she never received a proper apology. The Sitter is less blurry about race. Adventures in Babysitting made it perfectly clear that Chris had very little, if any, contact with minorities. She leaves the safety of the suburbs only to rescue Brenda, her best friend, who is stranded at the bus station, after getting cold feet about running away from home. Without her eyeglasses(of course, a homeless black woman steals it), Brenda picks up a giant rat, mistaking the rodent for a cat, but not before we unmistakably make out the fuzzy Coke machine in a POV shot. Coca-Cola becomes cocaine in The Sitter. Noah heads toward the city so he can score drugs for his girlfriend, with kids in-tow. Whereas Chris was pure as snow, Noah is flawed, which gives the filmmaker some leeway in portraying African-Americans in a less-than-flattering light. The filmmaker, as an act of self-penance for this common practice(the marginalization of blacks), directs like an apologist for its cinematic progenitor, by having Noah, later on, at a bar, inviting the wronged former classmate to punch him in the face. While Noah may not be truly sorry(maybe he just wants the vehicle back), perhaps, the filmmaker is. Sadly, the man behind All the Real Girls and Snow Angels once aspired to portray African-Americans as real people. While the NYC of The Sitter is a far more progressive diegetic space than Elizabeth Shue's Chicago, it's a far cry from the North Carolina utopia shown in the filmmaker's 2000 debut "George Washington", where abject poverty eradicates the color line. Still, echoes of his auteur days abound in The Sitter, starting with those dinosaur eggs that Karl, a drug lord, uses to stash away the coke. Compared often to Terrence Malick, the T. rex eggs simultaneously references The Tree of Life(Malick's Park) and the alleged acolyte's George Washington, where the dinosaur manifests itself in the form of a mask that Buddy wears while delivering a soliloquy, and in death. Also, firecrackers link the mentor and student, but whereas George Washington features sparklers(held by Buddy and a grown-up), Julio, of The Sitter, blows toilets up with firecrackers, as opposed to wildlife, a frog, that the father's oldest son kills in The Tree of Life. Evidently, Malick is not his hero anymore. In the 1986 film, the young girl entrusted to Chris' care, worshiped Thor. Blithe, her counterpart, doesn't believe in such magic; she'd rather be a celebrity, just like the filmmaker, perhaps. Those halcyon days in Winston-Salem are long-gone. Back when Nasia babysat a cat named Nancy for a vacationing friend. It was an adventure in filmmaking. Expand
  24. Dec 27, 2011
    5
    It was okay. Some parts were pretty funny and Sam Rockwell was great, but kids just aren't funny. Also, the movie suffered from some serious moments. I don't want this sort of comedy to try and teach me a lesson. I just want to laugh at how stupid everything is.
  25. Dec 18, 2011
    6
    One of that things that I love about this site is that it moderates my expectations. In this case, I was fired up to see The Sitter from the first trailer I saw - with Jonah Hill talking crap about "treat it, don't beat it" with the bouncer at the club. When I saw that the critics strongly disliked it as evidenced by the 38 Metascore, I decided NOT to see it opening weekend, but caught it a couple of weeks out, and had a lot of fun with it. It was the lowered expectations that helped me. The movie clearly surpassed those modest expectations I had for it. But really, the movie has a heart, it's sweet, and it's really funny. Is it a classic comedy that we'll be talking about like we do about Old School, Wedding Crashers, and Animal House?? HELL no. But it's fun. Check it out for a few innocuous laughs. Expand
  26. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Not jonah hill's best work, but it was clever to make a raunchy film that basks in its own raunchiness to satirize this age old plot. if you watch it with the mindset that it is making fun of the typical "family high jinks" movie you can get a lot of laughs from it
  27. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    The Sitter sets the benchmark for filth. It is gross, disgusting, demeaning, insulting... and that's why I lvoe it. This movie may put off most critics for the sheer vulgarity of it, but I've always found movies like this great. Gross-Out R-Rated Comedies like this and many others are my specialty. I love 'em, even the critically loathed ones (and this just adds to the list).
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
  1. 60
    The Sitter feels slapdash and quick, but you might not want to have it any other way.
  2. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Dec 15, 2011
    40
    For a comedy, The Sitter is frightfully spare on full-bodied laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: A. A. Dowd
    Dec 13, 2011
    20
    After "Pineapple Express" and "Your Highness," is Green now contractually obligated to revive every dead comedic subgenre of the '80s? What's next, a stoner-friendly "License to Drive"?