The Sitter Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A comedy about a college student on suspension who is coaxed into babysitting the kids next door, though he is fully unprepared for the wild night ahead of him. (20th Century Fox)

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 14 out of 29
  1. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Dec 9, 2011
    75
    It's smart, funny, agreeably perverse and simultaneously abrupt and exhausting.
  2. Reviewed by: Alison Willmore
    Dec 8, 2011
    65
    The Sitter's a lazy ramble of a movie that's amusing enough to hold your gaze for 81 minutes while leaving you feeling a little cheated when it's over.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Dec 12, 2011
    50
    The Sitter is sort of an "Adventures in Babysitting" with a potty mouth.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Dec 15, 2011
    40
    For a comedy, The Sitter is frightfully spare on full-bodied laughs.
  5. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Dec 8, 2011
    38
    There's nothing wrong in the setup: It worked fine in films like "Adventures in Babysitting" and "Uncle Buck." But director David Gordon Green populates the movie with so many soap opera asides it's hard to keep count.
  6. Reviewed by: Andrew Lapin
    Dec 9, 2011
    30
    None of it is inherently funny - as evidenced by how many scenes depend for a punchline on Hill swearing at one child or another.
  7. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Dec 8, 2011
    0
    The Sitter is not (Funny). At all. By any definition, although an argument might be made for the alternate meanings "perplexing," "deceptive" and "slightly unwell."

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 29
  2. Negative: 7 out of 29
  1. May 2, 2012
    10
    Jonah Hill is not funny. This movie is tastless I like raunchy movies actually love them this piece of garbage is an insult to movies likeJonah Hill is not funny. This movie is tastless I like raunchy movies actually love them this piece of garbage is an insult to movies like American pie, miss march and so on. Having little kids curse every few minutes is just offensive and gross. The scenes that try to be heartbreaking and get you to feel for the characters is ridicalous Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2016
    9
    A crass, but sweet nod to Uncle Buck, flavored with funny characters, a few sparks of drama, and a few too many cliches.

    Watch this movie
    A crass, but sweet nod to Uncle Buck, flavored with funny characters, a few sparks of drama, and a few too many cliches.

    Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-21738b-The-Sitter-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
    Expand
  3. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Jonah Hill is one of the funniest and most underrated comedic actors in all of Hollywood. I am not a huge fan of comedies, in fact, most ofJonah Hill is one of the funniest and most underrated comedic actors in all of Hollywood. I am not a huge fan of comedies, in fact, most of the films people consider to be the funniest movies of all time, I didn't like. Hill's films are one of the exceptions. I have to see every movie he is in because he is truly hysterical and makes everything he is in exceptional. The sitter didn't have a very strong plot, but it was a hysterical movie that worked because of Hill. Everyone around him just follows his lead and plays off his energy and it was evident here. Hill along with three kids he's babysitting go on an unbelievable and hysterical adventure in NYC. It's one of those films you don't believe and that initial comes across as stupid, but it's also a film you can't stop watching because you want to see what happens next. Hill was fantastic, the three kids were great, and for once I actually enjoyed a comedy with Sam Rockwell in it. This film isn't going to change any lives or win any awards, but it was damn good and a lot of fun, I highly recommend it. Collapse
  4. Apr 26, 2012
    5
    Not bad but not particularly good either. Jonah Hill is always good but the story isn't anything special. I wouldn't watch it again. Who knowsNot bad but not particularly good either. Jonah Hill is always good but the story isn't anything special. I wouldn't watch it again. Who knows why method man did that little part haha Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    5
    The Sitter is a sometimes funny, mildly enjoyable "potty-mouth movie" that tries to garner its appeal from its star Jonah Hill. And in thatThe Sitter is a sometimes funny, mildly enjoyable "potty-mouth movie" that tries to garner its appeal from its star Jonah Hill. And in that right, the movie almost succeeds. Expand
  6. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Using foul-mouthed children for comedic effect is growing old on me quickly; however, Jonah Hill saves the film from being a complete disasterUsing foul-mouthed children for comedic effect is growing old on me quickly; however, Jonah Hill saves the film from being a complete disaster and generates virtually every laugh. Expand
  7. Oct 21, 2015
    0
    The movie was just off somewhere else, I like Hill he's a great actor but it's just different with this movie. I read someone said it was likeThe movie was just off somewhere else, I like Hill he's a great actor but it's just different with this movie. I read someone said it was like Adventures in Babysitting, I think that would've been great though if Shue was in this movie. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: August 5, 2011
    This week, watch new trailers for R-rated comedy "The Sitter," thriller "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy," and alien invasion film "The Darkest Hour." Plus, get the latest details on "Man of Steel," "Die Hard 5," and more upcoming films.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (9/23): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: September 23, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Passengers, Ghost in the Shell, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  4. What to Watch Now on Netflix

    What to Watch Now on Netflix Image
    Published: September 22, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Netflix streaming, updated frequently. You can also find a list of titles expiring soon.
  5. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: September 21, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The Magnificent Seven, Storks, Queen of Katwe, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.