Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: August 6, 1999
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 556 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
528
Mixed:
20
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ZabzK.Mar 3, 2006
Bit boring. To predictable. Wont recommend it to anyone.We spent 3 lessons watching it, kept on falling asleep.
2 of 7 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Jun 2, 2007
How the heck does this movie get such a poor review by Metacritic!?!?! AWESOME movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarcusL.Jan 5, 2009
This movie was great. The twists and turns that kept wondering what is going to happen next keeping you very interested in the movie the whole time. It was very creepy at parts, and its opening and closing scenes were great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamApr 1, 2006
The Sixth Sense may not be the most effective thriller created, (It's no "The Shining") but it's most certainly close.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HimathD.Feb 13, 2007
The best movie I ever watched. Held me so captivated throughout the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TettoB.Jul 2, 2008
The king of suspense is not the creator of this wonderful film, is the film itself. Powerfully acted and written.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnthonyC.Aug 11, 2008
The reason why I like this movie is because it's one of those rare horror films that once you walk out of the theatre. You will be in shock by anywhere you go by the reality of a sixth sense. It's a terrifying, kind of slow, but The reason why I like this movie is because it's one of those rare horror films that once you walk out of the theatre. You will be in shock by anywhere you go by the reality of a sixth sense. It's a terrifying, kind of slow, but truly amazing. One of the greatest horror films ever made. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardB.Apr 5, 2009
Simply one of the best movies of all time and I don't understand the critics who claim that the acting's bad, the writing's bad and all the other stuff is bad because all these aspects are on an unbelievably high level. The Simply one of the best movies of all time and I don't understand the critics who claim that the acting's bad, the writing's bad and all the other stuff is bad because all these aspects are on an unbelievably high level. The only sad thing about it is that you may only once experience it for the first time because this one time is really special. But still I love watching this film again and again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PatrickM.Mar 19, 2006
This is a fantastic movie that is very unpredictable, suspenseful, and entertaining! I definitly recommend this movie to everyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KenG.Aug 15, 2006
The masterpiece that fooled us all into thinking its director was a talented film-maker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CerbionniM.Jul 3, 2008
This great movie is one of my top 10 favorites of all times.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DiegoC.Aug 11, 2008
Bruce Willis is amazing. I was moved emotionally and intensely. A terrifying masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobC.Aug 11, 2008
Excellent and believable horror. It has a perfect sensation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JackS.Dec 17, 2008
I was truely amazed with Bruce Willis. Every movie he plays in is always pretty good. This movie was outstanding. The ending was great the middle scenes were suspencful. The dead people walking around was a little disturbing, but it kept you I was truely amazed with Bruce Willis. Every movie he plays in is always pretty good. This movie was outstanding. The ending was great the middle scenes were suspencful. The dead people walking around was a little disturbing, but it kept you watching. I say this is more of a suspence movie rather then a horror. It wasn't that scary, more starteling. A little messed up and creepy at parts, but that was the main part of the movie. The little child in this movie did a great job. I can always see that he was scared. I liked the beggining, middle, and end of this suspenceful film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PriyanThAug 13, 2010
Love it so much especially the ending. Haley Joel Osment's acting is so good and he deserves the Oscar nomination, too bad the movie didn't win any Oscar though it had 6 nominations.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
tvbuffJan 12, 2011
Pretty good movie. When it first came out more people seemed to find it scary. I just thought it was plain good. The ending while obvious in hindsight was actually covered up just enough throughout.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
One of the best movie twists ever. Unfortunately my sister spoiled it for me and told me before I ever saw it and really, that IS the movie. Done very well and great acting.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
The one successful movie M. Night Shyamalan has to his name, TSS is one of the most frightening, thought provoking and most genius thrillers to entertain audiences in recent years. Bruce Willis gives a cold performance that makes you believeThe one successful movie M. Night Shyamalan has to his name, TSS is one of the most frightening, thought provoking and most genius thrillers to entertain audiences in recent years. Bruce Willis gives a cold performance that makes you believe he is a ghost himself. Haley Joel Osment and Toni Collete also give good performances. The twist at the end is utter genius and smacks you right between the eyes , making you think you should have seen it coming all along. The best of its kind. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
drlowdonMay 24, 2013
Following an assault from an ex-patient psychologist Malcolm Crowe meets a young child named Cole, who suffers from the same diagnosis as the ex-patient and claims he can see dead people. Determined to help the boy Malcolm attempts to teachFollowing an assault from an ex-patient psychologist Malcolm Crowe meets a young child named Cole, who suffers from the same diagnosis as the ex-patient and claims he can see dead people. Determined to help the boy Malcolm attempts to teach Cole to overcome his fears.

Throughout the film M. Night Shyamalan creates an eerie atmosphere making for fascinating viewing. It is difficult to say much more about The Sixth Sense without spoiling the finale for those that have not seen the movie (although there can't be many people who are unaware of how the film ends) but it certainly is one of those rare films that is almost better when watched for the second time when you know what to look out for. As for the cast Bruce Willis puts in another good acting performance but Hayley Joel Osment steals the show in, what I believe, was his movie debut making for an almost perfect movie package.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaAug 8, 2011
A unbelievably well thought out story balanced out with enough chills and shock as well as suspense for the audience to leave the theater completely satisfied.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
CRLAug 9, 2011
I can't classify this as a horror film, because it never really scared me. In truth, I'm not sure exactly what to classify it as. Maybe the best thing to do is just not to lump it together in a category and instead realize that with itsI can't classify this as a horror film, because it never really scared me. In truth, I'm not sure exactly what to classify it as. Maybe the best thing to do is just not to lump it together in a category and instead realize that with its famed twist ending and Oscar-worthy performance by Haley Joel Osment, The Sixth Sense is a film that really isn't like any other. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Oct 16, 2011
M. Night Shyamalan's "The SIxth Sense" is a masterfully created horror movie that, with solid care, actually scares you and tears you the same time. It's a great movie that will make you think throughout the whole time, especially with theM. Night Shyamalan's "The SIxth Sense" is a masterfully created horror movie that, with solid care, actually scares you and tears you the same time. It's a great movie that will make you think throughout the whole time, especially with the shocking twist at the end. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
CooterPatooterMar 20, 2012
A truly great suspense film. Shyamalan hits every nail on its head perfectly and creates a masterpiece of tension, timing and terror. It was a long and embarrassing downhill tumble for him after this, however...
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
CharlieBrown8Jun 6, 2013
A milestone of the genre, and probably the best psychological thriller of the decade, with stunning performances of both Willis and Osmond. Quite sad to see that many critics at the time didn't see this masterpiece for what it was.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
sLmOct 5, 2012
The mother practically made me break down in tears, and not to mention the awesome ending. Amazing film.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJun 3, 2015
The Sixth Sense is a truly great film, though since it has been 16 years since it was released, I knew the twist, so that portion of it was spoiled for me sadly, but all the same, I really, really enjoyed this one. Well directed by M. NightThe Sixth Sense is a truly great film, though since it has been 16 years since it was released, I knew the twist, so that portion of it was spoiled for me sadly, but all the same, I really, really enjoyed this one. Well directed by M. Night Shyamalan, this one manages to be scary, touching, and above all, incredibly entertaining. There are numerous scenes here that manage to do all three, but above all, I found this film to be incredibly moving. A study of ghosts (and what they want), as well as the mind of troubled children, The Sixth Sense manages to really move its audience in a truly unexpected way. I did not expect to be practically moved to tears by this one, but there I was, fighting back tears towards the end. Bruce Willis, Haley Joel Osment, and Toni Collette, are all great here, especially Osment who really shows how talented of an actor he is. It also underscores how sad it is that Shyamalan lost his magic touch, since this one shows so much talent. Truly a great film, The Sixth Sense is another top-notch entry in what was a fantastic year for film in 1999. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineOct 2, 2013
A decent thriller with a nice story. The beginning is intriguing, the middle is so-so and the ending is really intense! I liked Bruce Willis, Haley Joel Osment and Toni Collette screenplay. There was one annoying thing the loud "screamers"A decent thriller with a nice story. The beginning is intriguing, the middle is so-so and the ending is really intense! I liked Bruce Willis, Haley Joel Osment and Toni Collette screenplay. There was one annoying thing the loud "screamers" in the most scary moments, I do not like this kind of method to make suspence. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Speed4RunsDec 10, 2012
Superb movie with great plot. It is good to watch, scary (sometimes) and it keeps you watching it because it hardly makes you bored (if you get the movie meaning).
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Apr 24, 2017
True, this first blockbuster from writer/director M. Night Shyamalan's may be the downbeat responsible for the deluge of twist endings that eventually consumed his - now infamous - filmography. However, what "The Sixth Sense" also doesTrue, this first blockbuster from writer/director M. Night Shyamalan's may be the downbeat responsible for the deluge of twist endings that eventually consumed his - now infamous - filmography. However, what "The Sixth Sense" also does outside of its game-changing final reveal is simply tell a compelling story. In fact, the plot threads and characters in play are so frightfully addicting to watch that I knew full well what the twist was going in and I still had an unmitigated blast seeing everyone get to that final, cathartic revelation. This is a rich, jet black study of death and the macabre, the dangers of psychological trauma and isolation, the raw power behind human regret and reconciliation, and how all the aforementioned thematic devices can influence one another in life. It really is a carefully-constructed, laser-focused achievement in cinematic storytelling, with a stunning collection of lead performances (especially from that of young Haley Joel Osment) and, yes, a wallop of an ending. Make no mistake though, this didn't make over a half of a billion dollars because of its final two minutes. Indeed, with "The Sixth Sense," it's all about the journey. For me, the destination, seems like a footnote in comparison to all the beauty at hand throughout this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
Its an instant horror classic and will definetly go down in my history as one of the best horror films of all time. As for Shyamalan, he goes down in my history as the guy who did 3 awesome films and then was forgetten for just ruining his career.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews