Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Sep 26, 2014
    60
    Still, there's more here to like than to dislike in what ends up being a feel-good movie about a feel-bad topic, a la "Little Miss Sunshine."
  2. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Sep 9, 2014
    60
    It helps that Milo (Hader) and Maggie (Wiig) are cranky adult siblings, sharing a whip-crack shorthand that longtime skit partners know how to muster effortlessly.
  3. Reviewed by: Cory Everett
    Jan 27, 2014
    58
    It may not always work as a drama but The Skeleton Twins proves to be a fine showcase for Wiig and Hader, showing they are both capable of dramatic material.
  4. Reviewed by: Kimberley Jones
    Sep 24, 2014
    50
    It’s worth a watch to see these two reliably comic actors do some heavy dramatic lifting and tenderly spot for each other.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Sep 11, 2014
    50
    The Skeleton Twins has a pair of terrific, sharply etched lead performances, a polished, autumnal look, and some affecting moments where its protagonists bond. But to borrow a water-based metaphor from the film’s overflowing stock of them, The Skeleton Twins just lies there, cold and clammy, like a dead fish.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 75 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. Sep 28, 2014
    6
    After a gay man (Bill Hader) attempts suicide, he moves in with his estranged, but formerly close sister (Kristen Wiig). The majority of theAfter a gay man (Bill Hader) attempts suicide, he moves in with his estranged, but formerly close sister (Kristen Wiig). The majority of the film is spent trying to get the twosome back to the warm and loving relationship of their youth. Most of this story deals with drama and dysfunction in their lives, which becomes tiresome and repetitive. Luckily, this twosome brings their comic chops to the roles (especially Hader), which add to the appeal. While there's lots of promise and the performances are decent, the film's gloomy nature hobbles it's potential. Full Review »
  2. Dec 5, 2014
    9
    This flick made me wince, laugh, cry, sing, dance and enjoy life just a little bit more than before I had watched it.

    I think the overall
    This flick made me wince, laugh, cry, sing, dance and enjoy life just a little bit more than before I had watched it.

    I think the overall sentiment of this flick is life is **** but its how you deal with it that makes it. Most people have been touched by depression or crap parenting or loves lost or life just being generally ****ty and not allowing childhood dreams to ever reach fruition. This flick covers a multitude of social stigma and ailments and rolls em all up into a ball and hits that ball clean outta the ball park!

    Overall I rate this as an excellent 9 outta 10 which I know I will want to watch again and again.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2014
    5
    Bill Hader makes a strong case for being the best actor to come out of SNL in years. Kristen Wiig is predictably Wiigish. A mostly forgettableBill Hader makes a strong case for being the best actor to come out of SNL in years. Kristen Wiig is predictably Wiigish. A mostly forgettable affair--save one particular scene in a dentist office. Full Review »