The Smurfs 2

The Smurfs 2 Image
Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 122 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The Smurfs team up with their human friends to rescue Smurfette, who has been kidnapped by Gargamel since she knows a secret spell that can turn the evil sorcerer's newest creation - the Naughties - into real Smurfs.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 28, 2013
    70
    The genially goofy shenanigans, incredibly corny punchlines and Hank Azaria’s go-for-broke performance as the incompetent wizard Gargamel are very much the same ― an entirely welcome thing in a summer movie season full of so much apocalyptic Sturm und Drang.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean O’Connell
    Jul 30, 2013
    50
    Almost everything about Smurfs 2 signifies an improvement over the original.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Jul 31, 2013
    50
    Does the world need another movie about a bunch of miniature, blue-skinned humanoids with bulbous noses and perky bobtails; gnomelike creatures who wear floppy caps, live in mushrooms, and use the word “smurf” in every other sentence? Someone apparently thinks so.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Patient Adult Smurfs will be checking their watches as Excitable Child Smurfs lose themselves in the high jinks.
  5. 38
    Filled with Smurf wholesomeness, Smurf puns and posi-Smurf messages about never giving up “on family,” The Smurfs 2 still sucks Smurfberries.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 31, 2013
    25
    In the ’80s, I hated Ronald Reagan, Bob Dylan and the Smurfs. It’s comforting to know I got one thing right.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 31, 2013
    0
    There's so much torture and suffering in this movie, it starts to feel like "Zero Dark Smurfy."

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 32
  2. Negative: 24 out of 32
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This movie is meant for kids and people who love the smurfs tv show not for any adult and it does very well to please this category. The firstThis movie is meant for kids and people who love the smurfs tv show not for any adult and it does very well to please this category. The first movie wasn't great but this is head and shoulders better. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    6
    OK been waiting for months for The Smurfs 2 finally arrived at the land of smiles (just about the most fitting place for Smurfs to live!)
    I'm
    OK been waiting for months for The Smurfs 2 finally arrived at the land of smiles (just about the most fitting place for Smurfs to live!)
    I'm pretty disappointed in this movie as a big smurf fan I'll go straight to the point for the good the bad and the verdict.
    The Good:
    -Improvements in cinematography,it's far more colorful this time around and the camera tricks works brilliantly at most part lighting is about right not too bright and not even one scene look dimmed.
    -Good voice acting...ok for the most part Jonathan Winters did a swansong and each voice actors actually playing against each other now.
    -It got THE HAPPY ENDING,just perfect! too bad it's the best scene in the movie (because it's ending...)
    -The cuteness and chemistry between Clumsy Vanity and Grouchy is literally off the chart!

    The Bad:
    -Inconsistent pacing,it actually all over the place the movie takes way too long to starts and by the time you starts to really get along with the lovely blue buddies you realized it took over an hour mark by that point which is just about the same time movie starts to slow itself down and it drags pretty badly.
    -Very predictable story just like the recent Doraemon movies Smurfs 2 story is all too obvious to the point that i can see what's going to happen next right away coupled with inconsistent pacing makes it a pretty boring movie for anyone above 9 years of age.
    -Messy dialogue often I find the smurfs are way too talkative at the wrong time like a very emotional climatic moment and that's just ruined the moment,everybody tries too hard to steal other smurfs spotlight with series of one liners way too often which is very annoying and it goes one through the whole movie.
    -Oh poor Azrael it's unnecessary to have him at all in the movie since all i see him doing is just fooling around and just there to get beaten for 40 minutes this is just wrong I know he's a bad cat but damn why
    it always have to him to take the beating?
    -Bunch of bad jokes wasted on so many potentially good scenes it interfered the flow leading to its inconsistent pacing.
    -Unfunny Garmagel He just...bored and tired just like Hank Azaria he just stopped being funny and even
    worse stopped being a charismatic villain which we all knew him for.

    The Verdict:
    It's an OK movie for kids pretty boring for adults it just more of the same with the added family elements which is pretty forced and mostly ineffective to most audiences at least they got good message for kids unlike the first movie which it got nothing and The Smurfs 2 fortunately starts to really shines...just few minutes before the credits roll...
    You want The proper smurfs movie look somewhere else stick to both of Sony's recent mini-movies and you watch that you'll realize you just wasted 100+ minutes on the disgrace to the smurfs franchise.
    Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    3
    While I fortunately have no idea how this stacks up in comparison to the first Smurfs movie, The Smurfs 2 is a tragic attempt at familyWhile I fortunately have no idea how this stacks up in comparison to the first Smurfs movie, The Smurfs 2 is a tragic attempt at family storytelling that pales in comparison to the excellent crop of animations from earlier this year. When Smurfette (Katy Perry) is abducted y Gargamel (Hank Azaria) and his new creations, the Naughties, two white Smurfs called Vexy (Christina Ricci) and Hackus (J.B Smoove), Papa Smurf and a small group head to the real world to save her with the help of their human friends. While not completely unwatchable, The Smurfs 2 is a film solely aimed at children so therefore its bright, odd but supposedly wonderful things happen and it all works out in the end. It also means that the grown ups are forced to take their kids to it and must sit through some of the worst dialogue and story ever to grace the big screen as talented actors such as Neil Patrick Harris and Brendan Gleeson are forced to act like irrational buffoons. Harris gets the worst of it as he acts like a spoilt 14 year old boy for most of the movie (with a cringe worthy step father bonding relationship thrown in for good measure.). The voice work is find and the film doesn't drag per se but it doesn't entertain anyone but people who don't know any better and probably the criminally insane. My suggestion is if you have children wait for the DVD and then leave it for them to watch when you are out and the babysitter has to be forced to watch it. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2016
    2
    The first movie was passable yet mediocre kids entertainment. The second movie is so much worse. There given an even worse script this time.The first movie was passable yet mediocre kids entertainment. The second movie is so much worse. There given an even worse script this time. how could this be rated higher than the smurfs which is while not far better is just a generally better acted and paced movie overall. Gone is the sometimes funny antics of gargamels cat, gone is neil patricks harris good acting skills gone is the bumbling yet evil wizard garagmel. Now he is just bumbling and not very evil. once again smurfette is an annoying damsel in distress and were stuck with two horribly portrayed smurf creations. The people behind the making of this were clearly not even trying to make a good movie. Everyone took 3 giant steps back from the last movie. What a forgettable and lame excuse for a children's movie Expand
  5. Aug 9, 2013
    1
    This movie is one of the worst movies I've watched.I mean it has no story at all.And I don't think they should make another smurfs movie causeThis movie is one of the worst movies I've watched.I mean it has no story at all.And I don't think they should make another smurfs movie cause I know that It will be terrible. Collapse
  6. Sep 9, 2015
    1
    I saw this with my friend, and none of us were laughing. Its got bad jokes, a weird story worst of all, the most annoying song EVER! At leastI saw this with my friend, and none of us were laughing. Its got bad jokes, a weird story worst of all, the most annoying song EVER! At least they're not making a third one... wait, they're rebooting it? NOOOOOOOO! Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2015
    0
    everything that was wrong with the first film which was alot like the terrible jokes boring plot ETC is back in ten fold this sequel iseverything that was wrong with the first film which was alot like the terrible jokes boring plot ETC is back in ten fold this sequel is insufferably **** one of the most unfunny films i have ever seen Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.
  2. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: August 24, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Don't Breathe, Hands of Stone, Southside With You, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  3. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: August 23, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  4. Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (8/19): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: August 19, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Denis Villeneuve's buzzy sci-fi film Arrival, plus Terrence Malick’s Voyage of Time, Andrea Arnold's American Honey, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  5. Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking

    Action Heroes: The Definitive Ranking Image
    Published: August 16, 2016
    We rank 22 leading action movie stars by their average Metascores.