Metascore
34

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.5

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: The Smurfs team up with their human friends to rescue Smurfette, who has been kidnapped by Gargamel since she knows a secret spell that can turn the evil sorcerer's newest creation - the Naughties - into real Smurfs.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 30
  2. Negative: 13 out of 30
  1. Reviewed by: Scott Foundas
    Jul 28, 2013
    70
    The genially goofy shenanigans, incredibly corny punchlines and Hank Azaria’s go-for-broke performance as the incompetent wizard Gargamel are very much the same ― an entirely welcome thing in a summer movie season full of so much apocalyptic Sturm und Drang.
  2. Reviewed by: Sean O’Connell
    Jul 30, 2013
    50
    Almost everything about Smurfs 2 signifies an improvement over the original.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Davis
    Jul 31, 2013
    50
    Does the world need another movie about a bunch of miniature, blue-skinned humanoids with bulbous noses and perky bobtails; gnomelike creatures who wear floppy caps, live in mushrooms, and use the word “smurf” in every other sentence? Someone apparently thinks so.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Patches
    Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Patient Adult Smurfs will be checking their watches as Excitable Child Smurfs lose themselves in the high jinks.
  5. 38
    Filled with Smurf wholesomeness, Smurf puns and posi-Smurf messages about never giving up “on family,” The Smurfs 2 still sucks Smurfberries.
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jul 31, 2013
    25
    In the ’80s, I hated Ronald Reagan, Bob Dylan and the Smurfs. It’s comforting to know I got one thing right.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 31, 2013
    0
    There's so much torture and suffering in this movie, it starts to feel like "Zero Dark Smurfy."

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 24
  2. Negative: 17 out of 24
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This movie is meant for kids and people who love the smurfs tv show not for any adult and it does very well to please this category. The firstThis movie is meant for kids and people who love the smurfs tv show not for any adult and it does very well to please this category. The first movie wasn't great but this is head and shoulders better. Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    6
    OK been waiting for months for The Smurfs 2 finally arrived at the land of smiles (just about the most fitting place for Smurfs to live!)
    I'm
    OK been waiting for months for The Smurfs 2 finally arrived at the land of smiles (just about the most fitting place for Smurfs to live!)
    I'm pretty disappointed in this movie as a big smurf fan I'll go straight to the point for the good the bad and the verdict.
    The Good:
    -Improvements in cinematography,it's far more colorful this time around and the camera tricks works brilliantly at most part lighting is about right not too bright and not even one scene look dimmed.
    -Good voice acting...ok for the most part Jonathan Winters did a swansong and each voice actors actually playing against each other now.
    -It got THE HAPPY ENDING,just perfect! too bad it's the best scene in the movie (because it's ending...)
    -The cuteness and chemistry between Clumsy Vanity and Grouchy is literally off the chart!

    The Bad:
    -Inconsistent pacing,it actually all over the place the movie takes way too long to starts and by the time you starts to really get along with the lovely blue buddies you realized it took over an hour mark by that point which is just about the same time movie starts to slow itself down and it drags pretty badly.
    -Very predictable story just like the recent Doraemon movies Smurfs 2 story is all too obvious to the point that i can see what's going to happen next right away coupled with inconsistent pacing makes it a pretty boring movie for anyone above 9 years of age.
    -Messy dialogue often I find the smurfs are way too talkative at the wrong time like a very emotional climatic moment and that's just ruined the moment,everybody tries too hard to steal other smurfs spotlight with series of one liners way too often which is very annoying and it goes one through the whole movie.
    -Oh poor Azrael it's unnecessary to have him at all in the movie since all i see him doing is just fooling around and just there to get beaten for 40 minutes this is just wrong I know he's a bad cat but damn why
    it always have to him to take the beating?
    -Bunch of bad jokes wasted on so many potentially good scenes it interfered the flow leading to its inconsistent pacing.
    -Unfunny Garmagel He just...bored and tired just like Hank Azaria he just stopped being funny and even
    worse stopped being a charismatic villain which we all knew him for.

    The Verdict:
    It's an OK movie for kids pretty boring for adults it just more of the same with the added family elements which is pretty forced and mostly ineffective to most audiences at least they got good message for kids unlike the first movie which it got nothing and The Smurfs 2 fortunately starts to really shines...just few minutes before the credits roll...
    You want The proper smurfs movie look somewhere else stick to both of Sony's recent mini-movies and you watch that you'll realize you just wasted 100+ minutes on the disgrace to the smurfs franchise.
    Expand
  3. Aug 3, 2013
    4
    I actually liked the first smurfs movie so i was looking forward to seeing what they could do with this and when i saw it i was dissapointedI actually liked the first smurfs movie so i was looking forward to seeing what they could do with this and when i saw it i was dissapointed at how rubbish the film was. I got not many laughs out of this film and some parts where just boring for me. But i will praise the 3D that was really. Even though that i hated it kids still seemed to get a laugh out of it and even some adults will enjoy it with there families i just didnt like it Expand
  4. Feb 7, 2014
    2
    Disappointing in every aspect. Smurfs 2 is a far cry from its predecessor...gone are the wise cracking, scene stealing favorites from theDisappointing in every aspect. Smurfs 2 is a far cry from its predecessor...gone are the wise cracking, scene stealing favorites from the Smurfs first big screen, big city adventure. While the interaction between real life humans and make believe is as smooth as before, this is not nearly enough to make up for rushed scenes, poor character development and an unimaginative story line. Even the youngest critic in our house was bored and uninterested, despite an ongoing love and continuous playing of The Smurfs (1).
    Maybe borrow this one, or wait for NetFlix, definitely not worth the DVD investment.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    2
    I enjoyed The Smurfs for what it was, seeing childhood characters on the big screen, interacting with humans, in a live action 3D animatedI enjoyed The Smurfs for what it was, seeing childhood characters on the big screen, interacting with humans, in a live action 3D animated film, it was funny and entertaining. But The Smurfs 2 recalls everything The Smurfs delivered to us, added with some new story and slapstick humor, it wasn't funny enough and wasn't that much entertaining, in fact, it was boring, recommended for only under 8, for them it will be the event of the year. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2013
    1
    A pathetic unfunny film where it is so obvious that the people behind this had no intention of even trying to make a somewhat decent film. TheA pathetic unfunny film where it is so obvious that the people behind this had no intention of even trying to make a somewhat decent film. The live animation is horrible and kids will certainly not find this even remotely enjoyable. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nutshell review: this movie stinks. Worse than this, buried beneath the all-sortsa-people-make-family message (delivered only sightly less heavy-handedly than the sledgehammered-into-the-frame product placement) was THIS message: The grey Smurfs are 'bad', and worthless to their creator Gargamel. They later become 'good' and of critical value to him, and are subsequently accepted into the Smurf community AFTER THEY CHANGE THE COLOR OF THEIR SKIN. Great message for the kids there, Columbia. I want my money back. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers