The Smurfs

Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
Watch On
  1. 50
    Sitcom star Harris puts his smart-aleck chops to good use as Patrick Winslow.
  2. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    Sure, Smurfs are blue, but who knew that they actually work blue?
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Hartlaub
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    Once you're done trying to conjugate the smurfs, there's a better movie than anyone could have possibly expected, thanks in large part to an honest effort by Harris in a thankless role.
  4. Reviewed by: Scott Bowles
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    Smurfs is utterly kid-friendly.
  5. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    The bottom line: Any movie that gives Jonathan Winters work is doing something right.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    The slapstick is very small-kid friendly and even the most adult-friendly jokes are pretty mild stuff.
  7. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Jul 28, 2011
    50
    Adorable and annoying, patently unnecessary yet kinda sweet, it's a calculated commercial enterprise with little soul but an appreciable amount of heart.
  8. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jul 27, 2011
    50
    I deferred to the wisdom of Grouchy Smurf (George Lopez): "I didn't hate it as much as I expected to. But I still hated it."
  9. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Azaria channels his inner Charles Nelson Reilly, which helps, as does an evil emoting cat. Kids under 7 will likely giggle at some too-harsh pratfalls, not care about a grown man's fear of procreation, not get all the tiny innuendos and possibly miss how the movie is a fairly successful tourism ad for New York.
  10. 40
    For all the digitally enhanced Smurfness, the results are remarkably mirthless.
User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 179 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 51
  2. Negative: 25 out of 51
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    1
    This movie is a monument to everything that's wrong about our society. It uses celebrity clout (Katy Perry, I'm looking at you) to sellThis movie is a monument to everything that's wrong about our society. It uses celebrity clout (Katy Perry, I'm looking at you) to sell tickets instead of actually putting work into the things that matter in a film like clever jokes and character development. Instead, a joke that featured heavily in the film was the - take a word and replace it with 'smurf' - gag which made me want to gouge my eyes out with a rusty spoon. Sure, it was a big part of the TV show as well, but we as a culture have moved on from that kind of entertainment. Overall, this movie met my expectations - very low quality flick produced solely to entertain little kids and give stressed parents a break from their little demons. Full Review »
  2. Aug 5, 2011
    2
    I know the film was going to be dumb but I didn't know it was going to be stupider then Garfield and the Chipmunks combined. Its lame itsI know the film was going to be dumb but I didn't know it was going to be stupider then Garfield and the Chipmunks combined. Its lame its horrible and the amount of references to the word smurf is just annoying. It's smurftarded!!! Full Review »
  3. Aug 3, 2011
    5
    I'm not sure making a smurf movie would be such a good idea, especially in 2011. If it was released back when the smurfs were popular, itI'm not sure making a smurf movie would be such a good idea, especially in 2011. If it was released back when the smurfs were popular, it would of worked out. I'm not saying that I hate them, on the contrary, I used to like the smurfs when I was a kid. I don't understand why they brought them back. It just ruins the reputation of the smurfs. The people who would be interested to see this are little kids, which surprisingly makes a good family movie. It wasn't that bad. This got to be the movie that surprised me the most this year. Of course, there are some flaws. It has '' cheesy '' humor, the villain Gargamel (played by Hank Azaria) was stupid and has other '' cliche '' stuff that you would expect. This kind of entertainment is useless and annoying these days. Hollywood producers, directors or whatever, should stop making these type of movies. Also, has you probably already know, Katy Perry does the voice of Smurfette. She actually did a good job. But it starting to get on my nerves to see singers appearing in movies (it's okay if they can actually act), leave that to the actors. Anyway, I saw this movie with my little brother, and he liked it. So this movie may be enjoyable for kids, even I surprisingly thought it was better then I expected. At some points, I even managed to get entertained a bit. Full Review »