User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 172 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 172
  2. Negative: 80 out of 172
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    This movie was so cute! The little blue Smurfs are hilarious and adorable. I love Smurfette. I recomend this movie as a movie to see if you have kids that enjoy cute characters and a good villain. This is a great family movie!
  2. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    Don't let my profile name fool you even though i'm a big smurfs fan but this movie are pretty good.
    But still there's a smurf load of things to be improve for the sequel.
    The Smurfs has never about the run of the mill cartoon series back in the days it even one of the most underrated series ever. There's something about the smurfs that make you wanna smile every time you see them that also
    Don't let my profile name fool you even though i'm a big smurfs fan but this movie are pretty good.
    But still there's a smurf load of things to be improve for the sequel.
    The Smurfs has never about the run of the mill cartoon series back in the days it even one of the most
    underrated series ever.
    There's something about the smurfs that make you wanna smile every time you see them that also applies to this movie.
    It's one of the most enjoyable CG animation/live action movie of the 2011.
    I knew what they wanted,tried to reintroduce the smurfs to the younger audiences and also pleases the old fans of the series.
    There are always alot of risks to bring back cartoons form decades ago and make it popular again
    and the smurfs has proved again that they're truly the little people with big hit!
    It's the hollywood writers that made this movie to be so scary close to the same failed formula used
    in many similar films in recent years fortunately,It's the smurfs that's is the star of the show and makes
    you completely forgot about how linear the plot is.
    As I always say months ago that this movie were purely "Saved by The Smurfs!"
    Expand
  3. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    What the Smurf! The critics have really failed to appreciate all the subtle humor in this great film. There is the Smurf family tale and the human family thread spinning through it that gives it depth. I thoroughly enjoyed the setting in NYC as it takes the absurdity of "little blue men," puts it in your everyday life, and validates it. Who wouldn't feel good after leaving the theatre.
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This movie was really really good, it was like Alvin and the chipmunks but in this movie it is Smurf in it :). but i reccomend this movie to everyone because it was funny and many action in it.. It is good that they did this movie with Smurfs i want a Second :D
  5. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    Ok, i just want to get one thing clear before you judge me: i have only seen a couple episodes of the Smurfs. Acknowledging that, i just want to say that it wasn't the best movie, and it wasn't a great movie. BUT! It beat my expectations by a good deal. It isn't a kids movie!!!! Don't say that this is a little kids movie and just not see it at all! Now, if you don't like the smurfs, that'sOk, i just want to get one thing clear before you judge me: i have only seen a couple episodes of the Smurfs. Acknowledging that, i just want to say that it wasn't the best movie, and it wasn't a great movie. BUT! It beat my expectations by a good deal. It isn't a kids movie!!!! Don't say that this is a little kids movie and just not see it at all! Now, if you don't like the smurfs, that's fine. But don't judge a book by it's cover! Expand
  6. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    ...The new story goes something like this. The Smurfâ
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Expand
  8. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    this is a great movie which shows how animation has change throughout the years compared when the smurfs first started i rember watching the smurfs when i was a child brainy was defindaly my favorite becuase he was the smarty pants
  9. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really really like this movie!!! Obviously, it is one of the best mixed films (3D animation plus actors)! Story, graphics, idea of subject - everything is so harmony and interesting, both for kids and grown-ups! So, thank You, creators, for making such good movies for us!!! Expand
  10. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite movie of the year, only because it surprised me in the way that it kept my attention all the way through. And it wasn't blue people racist.
  11. May 31, 2012
    9
    I Really Enjoyed This Movie! Its Great For Adults And The Whole Family!
    Katy Perry Does A A+ Job As Smurfette! In My Opinion One Of The Best Animated Films Of 2011!
  12. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    When I first heard about The Smurfs I wasn't looking forward to it, I've never watched the show and most movies like this turn out crappy, but I was surprised to find that this is a funny and enjoyable family movie that will rolling on the floor, the characters are really likable and the whole movie just has some sort of unique charm to it, it can be predictable at times, but that neverWhen I first heard about The Smurfs I wasn't looking forward to it, I've never watched the show and most movies like this turn out crappy, but I was surprised to find that this is a funny and enjoyable family movie that will rolling on the floor, the characters are really likable and the whole movie just has some sort of unique charm to it, it can be predictable at times, but that never really hindered the experience, so in closing if your looking for a good family movie, or have fond memories of The Smurfs in the past, then I do recommend watching, it's surprisingly great. Expand
  13. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    The Smurfs is a simple that offers you a nice good entertainment with pure cuteness .Compering with films like Alvin and the Chipmunks films , Hop and other films The Smurfs is one of the best entry in this genre(Live action+CGI Family) . Its not a comedy film that all expected but its an amazing family film . The animation was so cute and amazing . The "Cat" was so funny, Neil & JaymaThe Smurfs is a simple that offers you a nice good entertainment with pure cuteness .Compering with films like Alvin and the Chipmunks films , Hop and other films The Smurfs is one of the best entry in this genre(Live action+CGI Family) . Its not a comedy film that all expected but its an amazing family film . The animation was so cute and amazing . The "Cat" was so funny, Neil & Jayma was awesome together . The story is the one who made this film down . If only the would work on the story it would be super . & this is what i am hoping for the sequel . & yeah , i am really excited for the sequel . Hoping that they will work on the story . Collapse
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 2, 2011
    30
    Gosnell directs as if every scene must be either a nauseating roller-coaster ride or a syrupy melodrama, resulting in a seesawing tone that's not stabilized by the presence of Neil Patrick Harris.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jul 29, 2011
    20
    Looking at the obnoxious TV ads for The Smurfs, it's easy to dismiss the film as a shrill, joyless exercise in special effects without substance. It's even easier after actually seeing it.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 29, 2011
    20
    Smurftastic! Now where's that noose?