User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 171
  2. Negative: 79 out of 171
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    This movie was really really good, it was like Alvin and the chipmunks but in this movie it is Smurf in it :). but i reccomend this movie to everyone because it was funny and many action in it.. It is good that they did this movie with Smurfs i want a Second :D
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    10
    ...The new story goes something like this. The Smurfâ
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Expand
  4. Aug 19, 2011
    10
    this is a great movie which shows how animation has change throughout the years compared when the smurfs first started i rember watching the smurfs when i was a child brainy was defindaly my favorite becuase he was the smarty pants
  5. Oct 5, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really really like this movie!!! Obviously, it is one of the best mixed films (3D animation plus actors)! Story, graphics, idea of subject - everything is so harmony and interesting, both for kids and grown-ups! So, thank You, creators, for making such good movies for us!!! Expand
  6. Oct 12, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite movie of the year, only because it surprised me in the way that it kept my attention all the way through. And it wasn't blue people racist.
  7. May 31, 2012
    9
    I Really Enjoyed This Movie! Its Great For Adults And The Whole Family!
    Katy Perry Does A A+ Job As Smurfette! In My Opinion One Of The Best Animated Films Of 2011!
  8. Feb 26, 2012
    8
    When I first heard about The Smurfs I wasn't looking forward to it, I've never watched the show and most movies like this turn out crappy, but I was surprised to find that this is a funny and enjoyable family movie that will rolling on the floor, the characters are really likable and the whole movie just has some sort of unique charm to it, it can be predictable at times, but that neverWhen I first heard about The Smurfs I wasn't looking forward to it, I've never watched the show and most movies like this turn out crappy, but I was surprised to find that this is a funny and enjoyable family movie that will rolling on the floor, the characters are really likable and the whole movie just has some sort of unique charm to it, it can be predictable at times, but that never really hindered the experience, so in closing if your looking for a good family movie, or have fond memories of The Smurfs in the past, then I do recommend watching, it's surprisingly great. Expand
  9. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    Ok, i just want to get one thing clear before you judge me: i have only seen a couple episodes of the Smurfs. Acknowledging that, i just want to say that it wasn't the best movie, and it wasn't a great movie. BUT! It beat my expectations by a good deal. It isn't a kids movie!!!! Don't say that this is a little kids movie and just not see it at all! Now, if you don't like the smurfs, that'sOk, i just want to get one thing clear before you judge me: i have only seen a couple episodes of the Smurfs. Acknowledging that, i just want to say that it wasn't the best movie, and it wasn't a great movie. BUT! It beat my expectations by a good deal. It isn't a kids movie!!!! Don't say that this is a little kids movie and just not see it at all! Now, if you don't like the smurfs, that's fine. But don't judge a book by it's cover! Expand
  10. Aug 4, 2011
    8
    What the Smurf! The critics have really failed to appreciate all the subtle humor in this great film. There is the Smurf family tale and the human family thread spinning through it that gives it depth. I thoroughly enjoyed the setting in NYC as it takes the absurdity of "little blue men," puts it in your everyday life, and validates it. Who wouldn't feel good after leaving the theatre.
  11. Jan 24, 2012
    8
    Don't let my profile name fool you even though i'm a big smurfs fan but this movie are pretty good.
    But still there's a smurf load of things to be improve for the sequel.
    The Smurfs has never about the run of the mill cartoon series back in the days it even one of the most underrated series ever. There's something about the smurfs that make you wanna smile every time you see them that also
    Don't let my profile name fool you even though i'm a big smurfs fan but this movie are pretty good.
    But still there's a smurf load of things to be improve for the sequel.
    The Smurfs has never about the run of the mill cartoon series back in the days it even one of the most
    underrated series ever.
    There's something about the smurfs that make you wanna smile every time you see them that also applies to this movie.
    It's one of the most enjoyable CG animation/live action movie of the 2011.
    I knew what they wanted,tried to reintroduce the smurfs to the younger audiences and also pleases the old fans of the series.
    There are always alot of risks to bring back cartoons form decades ago and make it popular again
    and the smurfs has proved again that they're truly the little people with big hit!
    It's the hollywood writers that made this movie to be so scary close to the same failed formula used
    in many similar films in recent years fortunately,It's the smurfs that's is the star of the show and makes
    you completely forgot about how linear the plot is.
    As I always say months ago that this movie were purely "Saved by The Smurfs!"
    Expand
  12. Jul 29, 2011
    7
    This movie was so cute! The little blue Smurfs are hilarious and adorable. I love Smurfette. I recomend this movie as a movie to see if you have kids that enjoy cute characters and a good villain. This is a great family movie!
  13. Dec 17, 2011
    7
    The Smurfs is a simple that offers you a nice good entertainment with pure cuteness .Compering with films like Alvin and the Chipmunks films , Hop and other films The Smurfs is one of the best entry in this genre(Live action+CGI Family) . Its not a comedy film that all expected but its an amazing family film . The animation was so cute and amazing . The "Cat" was so funny, Neil & JaymaThe Smurfs is a simple that offers you a nice good entertainment with pure cuteness .Compering with films like Alvin and the Chipmunks films , Hop and other films The Smurfs is one of the best entry in this genre(Live action+CGI Family) . Its not a comedy film that all expected but its an amazing family film . The animation was so cute and amazing . The "Cat" was so funny, Neil & Jayma was awesome together . The story is the one who made this film down . If only the would work on the story it would be super . & this is what i am hoping for the sequel . & yeah , i am really excited for the sequel . Hoping that they will work on the story . Expand
  14. Aug 31, 2011
    6
    It's hard to screw up voice acting but the smurfs did it. This film's dialogue is garbage and so is the acting. However I did find the movie to be slightly entertaining because some of the humor was quite witty and smart. All in all the director failed but the screenwriter saved him.
  15. Jul 30, 2011
    6
    this movie will do a decent home entertainment business. good theatrical opening assures that there will be a number of people who rent the dvd and watch it on television. also likely to have a decent international debut.
  16. Aug 23, 2011
    6
    I liked the movie! he's nice to relive the days of the smurfs, I did not watch the drawing I only have 13 years had already heard and liked and I was pretty excited to watch the movie it is fun for children but more a short film to''family ''
  17. Jan 7, 2013
    6
    Aunque no sea una gran pelicula visualmente es perfecta. Es divertido ver a los pitufos de toda la vida tan reales interaccionando con nuestra realidad. Bello el pueblo Pitufo. No desmerecen los personajes humanos. Y bien definidos los Pitufos elegidos.
  18. Sep 28, 2012
    6
    The movie wasn't all that bad. but i think the story should have taken place in their own world. instead of new york. but what the h- smurf
  19. Jun 15, 2013
    6
    Cool, fast and family, this is a summary of Smurfs.

    A well made movie, but can not be considered a good movie, the effects of poor quality, the Smurfs were well produced, is a movie made for adults children 1980! There is a wonder, but the continuation will be well accepted.
  20. Oct 3, 2013
    6
    I was born 10 years after the TV show finished and I watched this movie knowing about Papa Smurf and Smurfette, but nothing else. There were a few parts that were strictly for people half my age, but I really enjoyed this, mostly for the fun of watching the animation. The Smurfs are all adorable, even Grouchy. They look pretty real, and really have spot-on voices, especially Katy Perry asI was born 10 years after the TV show finished and I watched this movie knowing about Papa Smurf and Smurfette, but nothing else. There were a few parts that were strictly for people half my age, but I really enjoyed this, mostly for the fun of watching the animation. The Smurfs are all adorable, even Grouchy. They look pretty real, and really have spot-on voices, especially Katy Perry as Smurfette. The story is familiar but I'd prefer it over an adventure with Gargamel as the only human. I also liked the 2 Scooby-Doo live action films dircted by Raja Gosmell, and I really think he really knows what the target audience wants in a cartoon adaptation. Expand
  21. Aug 3, 2011
    5
    I'm not sure making a smurf movie would be such a good idea, especially in 2011. If it was released back when the smurfs were popular, it would of worked out. I'm not saying that I hate them, on the contrary, I used to like the smurfs when I was a kid. I don't understand why they brought them back. It just ruins the reputation of the smurfs. The people who would be interested to see thisI'm not sure making a smurf movie would be such a good idea, especially in 2011. If it was released back when the smurfs were popular, it would of worked out. I'm not saying that I hate them, on the contrary, I used to like the smurfs when I was a kid. I don't understand why they brought them back. It just ruins the reputation of the smurfs. The people who would be interested to see this are little kids, which surprisingly makes a good family movie. It wasn't that bad. This got to be the movie that surprised me the most this year. Of course, there are some flaws. It has '' cheesy '' humor, the villain Gargamel (played by Hank Azaria) was stupid and has other '' cliche '' stuff that you would expect. This kind of entertainment is useless and annoying these days. Hollywood producers, directors or whatever, should stop making these type of movies. Also, has you probably already know, Katy Perry does the voice of Smurfette. She actually did a good job. But it starting to get on my nerves to see singers appearing in movies (it's okay if they can actually act), leave that to the actors. Anyway, I saw this movie with my little brother, and he liked it. So this movie may be enjoyable for kids, even I surprisingly thought it was better then I expected. At some points, I even managed to get entertained a bit. Expand
  22. Nov 27, 2011
    5
    The Smurfs first movie is enjoyable for the younger audiences, though most adults will think this is a complete waste of time. I got to give the film some credit that they at least tried to make this movie heartwarming and fun. The Smurfs universe looks awesome, though you only see it for less than 15 minutes, while everything else is in New York City. There were many useless scenes,The Smurfs first movie is enjoyable for the younger audiences, though most adults will think this is a complete waste of time. I got to give the film some credit that they at least tried to make this movie heartwarming and fun. The Smurfs universe looks awesome, though you only see it for less than 15 minutes, while everything else is in New York City. There were many useless scenes, really corny humour and the ending was all cut and paste that ended too quickly. The only thing I liked about The Smurfs was Gargamel (played by Hank Azaria) and Azrael (voiced by Frank Welker). Those two practically got me entertained than the rest of the cast, even though some dumb and repetitive jokes felt pretty forced from those villains. The Smurfs is a film I will definitely skip. It's bad, but not extremely terrible. Expand
  23. Dec 17, 2011
    5
    The smurfs had an incredible talented cast and voice cast, who give fantastic performances, but the childish humor is so childish it ruins it. Even if it does have some clever jokes here and there. I give this film a 58% of a good movie.
  24. Jan 30, 2013
    5
    The characters are very well done by computer, but what could have been a great movie, is a copy of 'Enchanted'.
  25. Sep 7, 2011
    4
    I feel Hollywood stole my childhood ripped in open and filled it with promises of fame and glory, they have turned the Smurfs into little cam whores and mutilated a once great t.v show for kids beside they can never beat the best Smurf film ever........AVATAR (points for camera work, and effects)
  26. Mar 30, 2014
    4
    its been a while since i saw smurfs . here's what i half to see smurfs comedy is way bad but is kinda cute . how could children like this ?
    Grade C-
  27. Jan 22, 2012
    3
    Keeping in mind that this film is mainly catering to a younger audience, I gave the film a 3. In reality, it deserves a zero. And that statement isn't even true - it's geared at the actually older audiences who actually watched The Smurfs as kids, since that's a very very old cartoon and today's generations probably don't even know them. Anyway, the film is just awful. There is nothingKeeping in mind that this film is mainly catering to a younger audience, I gave the film a 3. In reality, it deserves a zero. And that statement isn't even true - it's geared at the actually older audiences who actually watched The Smurfs as kids, since that's a very very old cartoon and today's generations probably don't even know them. Anyway, the film is just awful. There is nothing positive about it. It uses pathetic acting (mainly Gargamel and Sofia Vergara who is playing Gloria from "Modern Family" basically - or is she just playing Sofia Vergara?), horrible screenplay - the dialogue is pathetic - and it is just not very funny. There is something to be said about a film in which a character makes fun of "how annoying" the theme song is. The sad thing is - the song is very annoying (at least in the rendition in the film), as is the whole picture. As I said, I'd give it a zero, but realising that kids films are usually stupid as it is, I gave it a 3. Avoid it if you can, for your own good. Expand
  28. Oct 19, 2011
    3
    A real disappointment of a story. I used to watch the Smurfs and they were fun to watch. It is scary that they have announced a further two sequels.
  29. Oct 26, 2011
    3
    Wow. Movie was bad but not horrible. The humor was childish. "Smurf" replaced every word (What the smurf?) And forever after that movie I have the urge to sing that horribly catchy Smurf song. Overall, this movie met my expectations - very low quality flick produced solely to entertain little kids and give stressed parents a break from their little demons. Nicely put GregTehBunny. BadWow. Movie was bad but not horrible. The humor was childish. "Smurf" replaced every word (What the smurf?) And forever after that movie I have the urge to sing that horribly catchy Smurf song. Overall, this movie met my expectations - very low quality flick produced solely to entertain little kids and give stressed parents a break from their little demons. Nicely put GregTehBunny. Bad budget, worse movie. Expand
  30. Jan 18, 2012
    3
    That movie is awful, it's humor isn't funny and the characters are really annoying. Smurfs were cool once, but their time is over, to be clear there were only two reasons, why I've watched it: Neil Patrick Harris and Neil Patrick Harris, only because of him, I'm giving this film 3 of 10, cause if there would be no Neil, I would give it 1 of 10
    P.S.
    The film is terrible
Metascore
30

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 22
  2. Negative: 11 out of 22
  1. Reviewed by: Nick Schager
    Aug 2, 2011
    30
    Gosnell directs as if every scene must be either a nauseating roller-coaster ride or a syrupy melodrama, resulting in a seesawing tone that's not stabilized by the presence of Neil Patrick Harris.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jul 29, 2011
    20
    Looking at the obnoxious TV ads for The Smurfs, it's easy to dismiss the film as a shrill, joyless exercise in special effects without substance. It's even easier after actually seeing it.
  3. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jul 29, 2011
    20
    Smurftastic! Now where's that noose?